.

WELCOME TO BRUCE FORSYTH'S CANADIAN MILITARY HISTORY PAGE


**CELEBRATING 11 YEARS ON THE INTERNET 1998-2009**


**IMPORTANT NOTICE**


**GEOCITIES IS CLOSING ON OCTOBER 26, 2009**

Due to Yahoo's decision to close GeoCities later this year, this web site will be moving to a new domain, which will be announced shortly. Unlike this current web page, there will be a monthly fee for the web page. For those of you who have enjoyed this web site, and who continue to use it as a resource, if you would please consider donating money to the monthly maintenance of this site, that would be greatly appreciated. Some of this money will go into (finally) upgrading this web site with pictures and links (instead of having it on one annoyingly long scroll). Please send any donations to: Bruce Forsyth, P.O. Box 197, Durham, Ontario, Canada, N0G 1R0.

Thank you.

*********************************************************************

Index Of Topics:



1) A SHORT HISTORY OF ABANDONED AND DOWNSIZED CANADIAN MILITARY BASES


a) The Past

i) Abandoned Bases
ii) Closed Bases That Still Have A Military Presence
iii) Bases That Have Downsized or Changed Their Function

b) Abandoned Armouries

c) The Northwest Staging Route

d) The Future

2) CAMP BORDEN AND THE RCAF


3) THE ROYAL CANADIAN NAVAL AIR SERVICE


4) THE BRITISH COMMONWEALTH AIR TRAINING PLAN


5) CANADIAN ARMY TRAINING CENTRES OF WORLD WAR II


6) ROYAL CANADIAN CORPS OF SIGNALS STATIONS


7) THE AVRO ARROW



8) SOO KEE DELIVERS THE "LAUNDLEE"



9) MAJOR CANADIAN BATTLES OF WORLD WAR I



10) MY NEWSPAPER ARTICLES - Visit my new web site at www.reocities.com/brucerants



*********************************************************************

About the author:

Bruce Forsyth has served in the Canadian Navy Reserve for 13 years (1987-2000 & 2008-present). He served with units in Toronto, Hamilton, Windsor & Borden, and trained or worked at CFB Esquimalt, CFB Halifax, CFB Petawawa, CFB Kingston, CFB Toronto, Camp Borden, The Burwash Training Area and LFCA Training Centre Meaford.

*********************************************************************

The information contained in this page is as accurate as the source material that I have used. If you have any additional information, spot any errors in my information or just want to comment on this web page, please E-mail me at: bforsyth811@hotmail.com.

If you prefer snail-mail, send your letters to: Bruce Forsyth, P.O. Box 197, Durham, Ontario, Canada, N0G 1R0.

THIS PAGE IS COPYRIGHTED BY BRUCE FORSYTH 1998 - 2009.

This site was last updated on 29 August 2009.

Note: Some web sites have plagiarized word for word parts or all of my histories of former bases:

www.jfchalifoux.com

www.jproc.ca (Does give credit for some of my work. I thank you for that Jerry.)

It would appear that it is hard to police this kind of cribbing on the internet, but I do wish it known that some information that is found on these web sites is the result of MY HARD WORK. Although I am flattered that my web site has obviously become a valuable resource for military researchers, anything on these web sites that is word for word simmilar to my web site, was written by me and copied on the above listed web sites.

*********************************************************************

Recommended web sites:

The Royal Hamilton Light Infantry at www.rhli.ca (my father's regiment).

The National Aviation Museum at www.aviation.technomuses.ca/eng/english_home.html

The Pinetree Line web site at www.pinetreeline.org

The Canadian Warplane Heritage Museum at www.warplane.ca

Read the books: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontario", "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume II: Quebec" and "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

Interesting Fact: the famous "Red Baron", Baron Manfred Von Richthofen, almost didn't become a pilot. It took him three attempts to pass his flying exams. He was killed on 21 April 1918 by Canadian pilot Captain A. Roy Brown, serving with No. 9 Squadron of the Royal Naval Air Service.

*********************************************************************

Author's note: Some people visiting my web site have noted bases that are missing from my list, particularly from Ontario. In some cases, I have not heard of these former bases, but most likely it is due to the fact that this is a very time consuming project. I am doing this in my spare time and I simply don't have enough time to research everything. As well, I am trying to avoid duplicating too much the good work of Paul Ozorak in his books "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontario, Volume II: Quebec & Volume III: Atlantic". Although I do plan one day to include short histories of the major bases he covers in his books (compiled through my own researching), as I want to make my web site as comprehensive as possible, I am concentrating my efforts at this time on bases that Mr. Ozorak has not yet covered (eg: CFB Toronto, CFB London, Camp Ipperwash, all of which closed after his book was published).

*********************************************************************

A SHORT HISTORY OF ABANDONED AND DOWNSIZED CANADIAN MILITARY BASES


The Past


Once upon a time in Canada, there was a Royal Canadian Navy, Royal Canadian Air Force and Canadian Army. For those who don't know the story, between 1964 and 1968, the three service branches were merged into a single entity, "The Canadian Armed Forces", unified under a single Chief of Defence Staff and a single Defence Staff. Although there would still Army, Navy and Air Force elements, they were no longer individual entities. Navy and Army pilots became a thing of the past in Canada, as did the RCAF Marine (patrol boat) Squadrons.

The Air Force permanently lost their own rank structure, and to this day, it remains identical to the Army ranks. The Navy temporarily lost their own rank structure, but managed to get it restored in 1972. The traditional uniforms of each service branch were replaced with identical green uniforms, the only the exception being the highland infantry regiments, who were allowed to keep their traditional uniforms. This however changed in 1987, when the distinctive environmental uniforms were restored, although drastically different from the pre-Unification uniforms.

The "Unification of the Forces" did not come without a lot of resentment as traditions were lost and the roles of service personnel changed. Several high-ranking officers, such as Rear-Admiral W.M. Landymore, Rear-Admiral J.V Brockand and Air Chief Marshal F.R. Miller were fired by the Minister of National Defence, Paul Hellyer for their refusal to support unification. Many more voluntarily resigned from the forces, rather than serve under this new defence plan.

The above, however, is simply an introduction. The focus of this web page is the bases, camps, stations, barracks and depots at which the men and women of Canada's military served their country. If you look at a map of Canadian military bases, you will only see a small fragment of the bases that once were in existence. You won't see RCAF Station Edgar, No. 5 Service Flying Training School or Camp Hagersville. Most people know of the Ontario Police College in Aylmer, Ontario, but don't know why there are two buildings that look suspiciously like airplane hangers. That's because the site was once known as RCAF Station Aylmer. During the Second World War numerous Air Force Bases were established under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The Canadian Army established training bases for the growing Non-Permanent Active Militia to train their new recruits. Various POW camps were established throughout Canada. Canada even had it's own spy school, Special Training School 103, but better known as "Camp X", near Oshawa. Many of these bases were closed or downsized to storage areas for surplus war equipment, but many stayed open for years after the war, some even becoming Canadian Forces Bases. Anybody out there remember serving at these bases?

*********************************************************************


PRE-UNIFICATION TO POST-UNIFICATION

Prior to the Unification, military establishments across the country were identified as either Royal Canadian Air Force Station for the Air Force, His/Her Majesty's Canadian Ship or Naval Radio Station for Naval shore stations or Camp or Barracks for the Army.

Eg: RCAF Station Rockcliffe, HMCS Stadacona, Naval Radio Station Aldergrove, Camp Borden, Work Point Barracks.

After Unification all military establishments were classed as either Canadian Forces Base, for establishments with 2 or more major units, or Canadian Forces Station, for establishments with only one major unit, such as a radar station. Eg: CFB Toronto, CFS Kamloops.

Today, although most bases are still officially Canadian Forces Bases or Canadian Forces Stations, there appears to be somewhat of a push towards re-establishing a separate service identity for Canada's military bases. Air Force Bases are now also referred to as "Wings". Army bases are referred to as "Barracks", "Garrison", "Camp" or "Area Training Centre" in their name. Even Canada's two major Navy bases have made their former names prominent once again.

Eg: Canadian Forces Base Trenton is now commonly known as 8 Wing Trenton.

Canadian Forces Base Edmonton (the former RCAF Station Namao) is now referred to as Steele Barracks. Two of the Army's Training Centres are Camp Wainwright and Land Force Central Area Training Centre Meaford.

The sign outside CFB Halifax (formerly HMCS Stadacona) reads "Maritime Forces Atlantic Stadacona". Although CFS Mill Cove closed, the radio unit that ran the station was re-named Naval Radio Section Mill Cove to reflect its Naval heritage.

*********************************************************************

When some bases close, the military pulls up stumps and moves out completely, as with RCAF Station Aylmer. Other times, the base simply downsizes, as with 12 Wing Shearwater or even if the base has officially closed, a small presence remains, as with CFB Gimli's Royal Canadian Air Cadet Gliding School, or a small portion of the former base is sectioned off and still operates as a military establishment, as with Wolseley Barracks. Therefore, I have arranged this web page to correspond with the following:

Abandoned Bases

Closed Bases That Still Have A Military Presence

Bases That Have Downsized or Changed Their Function

*********************************************************************

Abandoned Bases


ALBERTA


Royal Canadian Air Force Station Edmonton:

Opened on 5 July 1940 at the Blatchford Field Airport as No. 2 Air Observer School (2 AOS), part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, with World War I flying ace Capt W.R. "Wop" May installed as the civilian manager of the station. By November 1940, No. 16 Elementary Flying Training School also opened at the aerodrome, remaining until it closed in 1942.

After the closure of No. 2 AOS on 14 July 1944, the station was re-named RCAF Station Edmonton and become the home to Northwest Air Command Headquarters. The station closed in May 1945, but this would be short-lived as it re-opened in October 1946.

Units posted to RCAF Station Edmonton at this time were the Northwest Air Command Composite Flight, 435 Transport Squadron, 418 Tactical Bomber Squadron (Auxiliary), 453 Transport Squadron, the RCAF Winter Experimental Establishment, No. 10 Construction & Maintenance Unit, No. 2 Trade & Advancement Board and RCAF Det Grand Prairie. Later a B-29 Bomber Detachment of the United States Army Air Force (USAAF) and a Survival Training School would occupy space at RCAF Station Edmonton.

1 Air Movements Squadron formed on 1 October 1947 at the station. The Squadron was re-designated 1 Air Movements Unit on 1 April 1951 and assigned to Air Transport Command.

As RCAF Station Edmonton grew in the post-war years, so did the surrounding civilian community. It became apparent that flying activities were becoming hazardous at Blatchford Field when a USAAF transport aircraft crashed into a row of homes shortly after take-off. As a result, the RCAF decided to vacate Blatchford Field and concentrate its activities at the nearby RCAF Station Namao.

RCAF Station Edmonton closed 1 October 1955 and the station's units re-located to RCAF Station Namao. The aerodrome reverted to a civilian airport, the Blatchford Field Airport. 418 "City of Edmonton" Squadron remained at the airport until 1957 when it too departed for Namao.

Today, only one BCATP era hangar remains, designated Provincial Heritage Resource in 2000. Currently this hangar, the only remaining double width / double depth BCATP hangar left in Canada, is occupied by 180 Royal Canadian Army Cadet Corps, 504 Royal Canadian Air Cadet Squadron & the Alberta Aviation Museum, who work to preserve the memory of the BCATP and the RCAF in Edmonton.

The airport is now known as the Edmonton City Centre Airport.

Source Material: information supplied by Jenelle Turpin, Communications Officer - Council Services, City of Edmonton, the "Wings Over Alberta" web site - http://collections.ic.gc.ca/flyboys/homefront/bcatp_sites.htm (1999), Grandville Island Publishing web site - http://www.granvilleislandpublishing.com/profile/sportscarracing/contents.shtm, the personal recollections of the author (2004), History of Canadian Airports by T. M. McGrath & the CFB Edmonton web site - www.cfbedmonton.hstone.com.

*********************************************************************

42 Radar Squadron Cold Lake:

Established south of Cold Lake on 1 August 1954 as the Cold Lake Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron (AC&W), home of 42 Radar Squadron Cold Lake. The Squadron was not part of the Pinetree Line, instead it was used to provide radar control of CF-100 aircraft and as a radio transmission centre. The site was later renamed simply 42 Radar Squadron.

As a result of Department of National Defence (DND) budget reductions, the site occupied by 42 Radar Squadron closed in 1992. 42 Radar Squadron re-located to 4 Wing Cold Lake and the squadron's radar equipment was moved to the Primrose Lake Air Weapons Range. The former station sat abandoned and neglected until 1998, when the Cold Lake Museum opened.

Today, all of the station's five buildings (with the catwalk that joined them), plus the guardhouse and pumphouse remain. The former operations building contains displays profiling the Air Force, RCAF Station/CFB Cold Lake and 42 Radar Squadron, including a full-size Hight Finder Radar unit. The other buildings feature The Oil & Gas Interpretive Centre, Alberta Heritage Museum and the Aboriginal Museum. None of the three radar towers remain today.

Source material: 42 Radar Squadron Cold Lake web site - http://www.4wing.coldlake.dnd.ca/42.html, personal recollections of the author (2004) & information supplied by Captain Leah Wilson, Wing Public Affairs Officer, 4 Wing Cold Lake (1999).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Airdrie:

Opened north of Calgary in 1940 as the No. 1 Relief landing Field for No. 3 SFTS in Calgary. The Detachment closed in 1945.

In 1954, the abandoned runways were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing.

Today the former detachment operates as a the Airdrie Airport and industrial complex. The Airdrie Country Club of the Air operated at the airport from the early 1970s until the mid 1980s, when the club disbanded. In the spring of 2005, the club was reserected and continues to promote general aviation in the Calgary area.

A significant portion of the former Detachment remains today. A number of the maintenance sheds remain, some in use, some not. One of the former barracks is used as the office for Airdrie Mini Self Storage and the hangar is occupied by the Alberta Pallet Company, a wood products manufacturing company. The original runways remain but are abandoned, with only one of the three is still intact, along with the taxi-way. The other two are broken up and only the outlines can be seen. A new runway was built in 2002 down the middle of the original triangle airfield.

Source Material: information supplied by Captain D. Sweeney, Deputy Commanding Officer, Area Support Unit Calgary (1998), "Wings For Victory - The Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada", by Spencer Dunmore & the personal recollections of the author (2004)

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Claresholm:

Opened west of Claresholm on 9 June 1941 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan as No. 15 Service Flying Training School, with Relief Landings Fields at Woodhouse & Pultney. No. 2 Flight Instructor School also operated at the Aerodrome from April-September 1942, when it re-located to Vulcan. No. 15 SFTS closed on 30 May 1945 and the station, although not abandoned, was left with only a small caretaker staff. RCAF Detachments Woodhouse & Pultney were abandoned.

The post-war growth of the RCAF resulted in many WWII stations being re-activated. RCAF Station Claresholm re-opened in 1951 as a NATO pilot training centre run by No. 3 Flying Training School, but it would be short-lived.

The station closed again in 1958, this time for good. No. 3 FTS re-located to RCAF Station Gimli. From 1958-1961, the abandoned runways were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing.

The former station is now the Claresholm Industrial Airport. All seven original hangars remain, as do some of the station's former buildings, including the fire hall, maintenance garages and four post-war PMQ houses. Trus Joist MacMillan Ltd, an engineered lumber products company, occupies three of the hangars and one is owned by the town for maintenance of small aircraft. The majority of the property contains only empty fields and abandoned roadways, but some new buildings are popping up on site. Only one runway remains in use; the other two were abandoned years ago.

The abandoned airfield at Woodhouse also remains.

A memorial cairn was placed at the airport and a Harvard airplane stands in Centennial Park in Claresholm as a monument to the men and women who served at RCAF Station Claresholm and No. 15 SFTS.

Source Material: Town of Claresholm web site - http://www.town.claresholm.ab.ca/communityprofile.htm#HISTORY, "Canada Flight Supplement 1999", "Portage La Prairie - Fifty Years of Flying Training: 1940-1990" by Major G.E.I. Greavette, CD, Grandville Island Publishing web site - http://www.granvilleislandpublishing.com/profile/sportscarracing/contents.shtm, the personal recollections of the author (2004) & "The Plan" by James Williams.

*********************************************************************

No. 5 Elementary Flying Training School (High River):

The aerodrome north of High River was originally opened in 1921 by the Canadian Air Force, predecessor to the RCAF, as the High River Air Station. With the creation of the RCAF in 1924, the station was re-named RCAF Station High River. The station was utilized for parachute training and new aircraft testing.

In 1931, RCAF Station High River closed and the aerodrome became a storage depot. Flying activities were limited to the Calgary Aero Club.

The outbreak of World War II lead to the creation of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan and the establishment of No. 5 EFTS near Lethbridge in 1940, but the school re-located to High River in June 1941. Originally the WWI Bessemer hangars were used until a new hangar was built, along with drill halls, offices and barracks, with new asphalt runways replacing the grass ones. Later in the war, a second one built. A Relief Landing Field was also constructed at Frank's Lake.

No. 5 EFTS closed on 15 Dec 1944, having graduated 97 classes of airmen, and so did RCAF Detachment Frank's Lake. The Calgary Flying Club remained at the aerodrome until the late 1940s, when the club re-located to McCall Field in Calgary.

Only one hangar, now occupied by Willow Creek Homes, the old cistern and the abandoned runways remain today at the old aerodrome. A new airport was established south of High River. The station auditorium was moved into High River and is still used today.

In August 2002, monuments were erected at both the airport and in downtown High River as a tribute to the men and women who served at No. 5 EFTS.

Source Material: information supplied by Regena R. Johnson, Airport Landfill / Road Closure Coordinator (2001), information supplied by Melissa Chamber, local resident of High River (2000), Lancaster Museum web site - http://www.lancastermuseum.ca/highriver.html, the "Wings Over Alberta" web site - http://collections.ic.gc.ca/flyboys/homefront/bcatp_sites.htm, the personal recollections of the author (2004), The Calgary Flying Club - http://www.calgaryflyingclub.com/clubhistory_1940-1945.asp & information supplied by Norm Lund, local resident of High River (2001).

Read the book "Life and legends: A History of the Town of High River", By Lillian Knupp for more information.

*********************************************************************

No. 31 Elementary Flying Training School:

Opened 13 kms east of De Winton, Alberta under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan as a Royal Air Force school on 18 June 1941, with a Relief Landing Fields at Gladys (grass runways) and Shepard (asphalt). The school closed on 25 September 1944, as did RCAF Detachments Gladys and Shepard.

For several years, the abandoned runways were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing.

The former school is still listed as a private aerodrome, the South Calgary Airport, although there are no aviation activities currently operating at the site and the runways are in poor shape with some obstructions. The Calgary Ultra-light Flying Club used one runway for "touch & go" training for student pilots for a period, but does not currently use the airfield. The Alberta Motor Association uses one runway as a driver training centre for private and commercial drivers.

Except for the pump-house, no buildings remain in their wartime position on the property. Most of the building foundations do remain however, including both hangar pads. The former administration building, garage and guardhouse were moved and patched together to create a private residence on the property. As well, the original windsock, flag pole, gunnery backstop and water reservoir also remain.

The abandoned runways at RCAF Detachment Shepard were used as as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing, known as the Shepard Raceways, from 1958 - 1970 and then the Calgary International Raceway in the mid 1970s. The former north-south runway was used as drag race strip until it closed around 1983, when the construction of Deerfoot Trail cut across the old runway. The Alberta Motor Association then used the runway as a driver training facility.

The SE-NW runway and east-west runways were torn up in the early 1970s with construction of Shepard landfill.

Today, nothing remains of the Shepard Detachment. In the early 2000s, the property was redeveloped into an industrial complex. A "Flying J" truck stop now occupies part of the property where the airfield used to be.

Nothing remains of RCAF Detachment Gladys.

Source Material: "Canada Flight Supplement 1999", David Harris, local resident of De Winton (July 2001) as posted on "As You Were - War Years: News", the Calgary Ultra-light Flying Club web site - http://www.cufc.ca, July 2001 Edition - http://www.angelfire.com/trek/rcaf/ammq0107.html, information supplied by Jesse Knight, property owner DeWinton Aerodrome (2004), information supplied by Rick Lang, Operations Manager, Alberta Motor Association (2004), information provided by Tim Harris, local resident of De Winton (2004), information provided by Francois Arseneault, History & Heritage Committee, Army Cadet League of Canada (2007), the personal recollections of the author (2004) & Grandville Island Publishing web site - http://www.granvilleislandpublishing.com/profile/sportscarracing/contents.shtm.

*********************************************************************

No. 32 Elementary Flying Training School:

Opened west of Bowden, Alberta under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan on 12 July 1941. A Relief Landing Field was also constructed at nearby Netook, which featured grass runways. The school closed on 8 September 1944, as did RCAF Detachment Netook. No. 1 Surplus Holing Unit was established 1 May 1945 at the Bowden Aerodrome to store surplus was equipment. After the unit shut down, the property was used as a reform school and then became its present day facility, a Federal Prison: Bowden Institution.

Only the administration building remains today.

Source Material: Netook Air Cadet Gliding School web site - http://www.netook.aircadets.ca/history.php3, the "Wings Over Alberta" web site - http://collections.ic.gc.ca/flyboys/homefront/bcatp_sites.htm & "Wings For Victory - The Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada", by Spencer Dunmore & the personal recollections of the author(2004).

*********************************************************************

No. 36 Elementary Flying Training School / No. 3 Air Observer School / No. 2 Flight Instructors School:

Opened by the Royal Air Force north of the Village of Pearce on 30 March 1942 as No. 36 Elementary Flying Training School, part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The school had a brief existence as it closed on 14 August 1942.

No. 3 Air Observer School of Regina, Saskatchewan opened a Detachment at the aerodrome on 12 September 1942. The school operated at the Pearce aerodrome until 6 June 1943 when both the Pearce and Regina schools closed.

No. 2 Flying Instructors School, originally from Vulcan, re-located to Pearce on 3 May 1943. The school closed on 20 January 1945.

Although the airfield was abandoned, the former school continued to be used as a storage depot and scrap yard. Many WWII bombers met their final fate at the Peace Depot. The Depot closed in 1960.

For several years, the abandoned runways were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing.

Today, very little remains of the former air station; only some foundations, the crumbling airfield and the old cistern, now used for manure storage. The former station is now a farm, known as "The Airport Dairy". A monument was erected at the site, using a chunk of concrete from one of the hangars, as a tribute to the men and women who served at the wartime school.

The Village of Pearce no longer exists either. Gone are the General Store, two grain elevators and Pearce School District School House #1686. A memorial to the old shcoolhouse sits on the Pearce Road, just north of the former Village.

Source Material: "Wings For Victory - The Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada", by Spencer Dunmore, the "Wings Over Alberta" web site - http://collections.ic.gc.ca/flyboys/homefront/bcatp_sites.htm, Grandville Island Publishing web site - http://www.granvilleislandpublishing.com/profile/sportscarracing/contents.shtm, the personal recollections of the author (2004) & The Lancaster Museum web site - http://www.lancastermuseum.ca/bcatpalberta.html.

*********************************************************************

No. 7 Service Flying Training School:

Opened near the west end of Fort MacLeod under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan on 9 December 1940, with a Relief Landing Field at Granum. The School closed on 17 November 1944, as did the RCAF Detachment Granum.

After the war, the station became No. 1 Repair Equipment and Maintenance Unit for a period before the RCAF abandoned the site.

For several years, the abandoned runways were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing.

Today, the aerodrome is the Fort Macleod airport. One can still see the abandoned original triangle-pattern airfield, but it is rapidly crumbling. A new 3000 ft runway was build across the top of the triangle.

Many of the World War II-era buildings remain including four hangars, an administration building, one of the barracks (currently a private residence), the drill hall and the old water cistern. Two of the hangars are occupied by Albicanlis Lumber and the former HQ building is now a recreation hall, used by 2309 Royal Canadian Army Cadet Corps.

Falcan Industries and an auto scrap yard also occupy part of the property, as does a new home development, "Airfield Properties", that sits in the centre of the former airfield.

A monument was erected in Memorial Park in Fort MacLeod as a tribute to the men and women who served at the wartime school.

The abandoned airfield also remains at RCAF Detachment Granum, but the property is now used for farming.

Source Material: "Wings For Victory - The Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada", by Spencer Dunmore, the "Wings Over Alberta" web site - http://collections.ic.gc.ca/flyboys/homefront/bcatp_sites.htm, Grandville Island Publishing web site - http://www.granvilleislandpublishing.com/profile/sportscarracing/contents.shtm, the personal recollections of the author (2004) & "Canada Flight Supplement 1999.

*********************************************************************

No. 19 Service Flying Training School & No. 2 Flight Instructor School:

The aerodrome south-west of Vulcan (located at Section 10, Township 16, Range 25, west of the 4th meridian) was originally the site for two different schools during World War II. Opened under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan on 3 August 1942 as No. 2 Flight Instructor School, with Relief Landing Fields at Ensign & Champion. 2 FIS graduated 750 students before it re-located to Pearce, Alberta on 3 May 1943.

The same day, No. 19 Service Flying Training School opened at the aerodrome. By the time the school closed on 29 March 1945, 860 pilots had earned their wings.

The station's last Commanding Officer, B.C. Andrews AFC, said to the final graduating class, "The RCAF has been the backbone of a great air training plan which in the space of a few short years has changed the course of world history. The enemy is well aware that the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan has accomplished a tremendous achievement. The aims and objects to provide personnel to maintain air supremacy in every theatre of war has been accomplished. Every member of this great service can be rightfully proud of their participation."

Although many RCAF stations closed after the war, the Vulcan aerodrome remained active as a storage depot and scrap yard for surplus airplanes. Many WWII bombers met their final fate at the Vulcan Depot, which finally closed in the late 1950s.

For a while the site operated as the Vulcan Industrial Airport, but it now sits abandoned. Six of the original seven hangars remain, but only two are in use for storage of heavy equipment and farm machinery. The empty fire station, the gunnery backstop, the cistern, part of the transport building and the abandoned & crumbling airfield also remain. Cattle now graze where most of the buildings once stood.

All that remains of RCAF Detachment Ensign are the abandoned and crumbling runways remain today. Nothing remains of RCAF Detachment Champion.

On 15 July 2000, a reunion of former staff and students was held at the Vulcan Airfield. A commemorative monument, built using a portion of the foundation from the guardhouse, was dedicated on the site as a tribute to the service men and women of No. 19 SFTS and No. 2 FIS.

Some windows and doors from the Vulcan hangars are now being used at the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan Museum in Brandon, Manitoba.

Source material: information supplied by Marge Weber, Town of Vulcan (2002), the personal recollections of the author (2004), "Stay Out Of Those Hangars - Little Boys and Big Bombers" by Elgin Keith Jones CD and the Lancaster Museum web site - www.lancastermuseum.com/lancaster.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Ensign:

Opened in 1942 as a Relief Landing Field for the BCATP school at Vulcan. The Detachment was abandoned after the War. The abandoned and crumbling runways remain today.

Source material: Places to Fly web site - http://www.copanational.org/PlacesToFly.

*********************************************************************

No. 34 Service Flying Training School:

Opened on the site of the Medicine Hat Exhibition and Stampede Grounds, south-east of town, as a Royal Air Force school on 8 April 1941, part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The school also had Relief Landing Fields along the Holsom County Road (paved runways) & in the District of Whitla (grass runways). The RCAF would later take control of the school.

The school closed on 17 November 1944, as did RCAF Detachments Holsom & Whitla.

The aerodrome is now the Medicine Hat Municipal Airport. Only two of the original six runways remain in use, one expanded to 5000 ft. Only the fomer fire hall, now used as a meeting hall and one hangar pad remain today.

A monument was erected at the airport as a tribute to the men and women who served at the wartime school.

Nothing remains of RCAF Detachment Whitla, which was returned to farming.

RCAF Detachment Holsom's runway was ploughed under for farming as well, but a few chunks of asphalt can still be seen.

Source Material: the City of Medicine Hat web site - http://www.city.medicine-hat.ab.ca/, the "Wings Over Alberta" web site - http://collections.ic.gc.ca/flyboys/homefront/bcatp_sites.htm, "Canada Flight Supplement 1999", the personal recollections of the author (2004) & information provided by Cuyler J. Green, Airport Superintendent, Medicine Hat Airport.

*********************************************************************

No. 37 Service Flying Training School:

Originally established at McCall Field in Calgary, named in honour of World War I Hero Captain Fred McCall, by the Royal Air Force on 22 October 1941. A Relief Landing Field was also constructed at Shepard. The school was later taken over by the RCAF. Additionally, a detachment of the United States Army Air Corps occupied space at the airport from 1941-1944 as part of the Alaska Staging Route.

Student pilots at No. 37 SFTS would spend the last three weeks of their air training course with the Advanced Training Unit at RCAF Detachment Shepard, where bombing training was conducted.

No. 37 SFTS closed on 10 March 1944, as did RCAF Detachment Shepard. The airfield reverted to a civilian airport in 1949, using the original RCAF buildings. A new terminal was built in 1956, replacing the outdated original terminal. The airport became known as the Calgary International Airport in 1966.

Only one of the five World War II era hangars remain today, and the Calgary Aerospace Museum occupies the former drill hall. As well, one of the original arch-style hangars, built in 1938 for Trans Canada Airlines, the predecessor of Air Canada, also remains.

From 1958-1970, the abandoned runways at RCAF Detachment Shepard were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing. An industrial complex now occupies the site of the former aerodrome.

Nothing remains of RCAF Detachment Shepard today.

Source material: the "Wings Over Alberta" web site - http://collections.ic.gc.ca/flyboys/homefront/bcatp_sites.htm & Canadian Racer web site - www.motorsportcentral.com, information supplied by Bill Watson, Manager of the Calgary Aerospace Museum (2004) & the personal recollections of the author (2004).

*********************************************************************

RCAF Detachment Innisfail:

Opened in 1941 as a Relief Landing Field for No. 36 SFTS at Penhold. The aerodrome closed in 1945.

In 1960, the Innisfail Flying Club was established at the airfield.

Military flying training returned to the former RCAF Detachment Innisfail when a Regional Air Cadet Gliding School was established at RCAF Station Penhold in the summer of 1966. Flying training was conducted at both Penhold and Innisfail.

In the early 1980s, the Air Cadet Gliding School began making use of the former RCAF Detachment Netook as an alternate airfield to the Gliding School at Innisfail. By 1986, the Gliding School moved permanently to Netook. The Innisfail aerodrome remains today and is still used by the Innisfail Flying Club. All the original runways remain, but only one is still in use. An old water cistern also remains. A new club house/terminal building was officially opened on 10 June 1984.

Source Material: information provided by the Innisfail Flying Club (2004) & the personal recollections of the author (2004).

*********************************************************************

No. 2 Wireless School:

Opened by the Royal Canadian Air Force on 16 September 1940 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan on the grounds of Alberta Provincial Institute of Technology and Art (PITA). No. 2 Wireless School would eventually become one of the biggest wireless training schools in the British Commonwealth, graduating thousands of radio operators.

The school also utilized the RCAF Detachment Shepard for air training.

The school closed on 14 April 1945 and the Provincial Institute of Technology and Art re-opened. Many war veterans attended the school as part of their return to civilian life.

No. 2 Wireless School's temporary buildings were demolished years ago, but the historic PITA building does remain. The school was re-named the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology in 1965.

Source material: the "Wings Over Alberta" web site - http://collections.ic.gc.ca/flyboys/homefront/bcatp_sites.htm.

*********************************************************************

No. 131 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre:

With the outbreak of World War II, the Non-permanent Active Militia found itself in need of new training camps to train recruits. In 1940, the Camrose Fairgrounds were taken over for use as a Basic Training Centre. The old grandstand was demolished and over a dozen buildings sprung up. The old Camrose Normal School building, vacated the year before, was taken over as the camp�s Headquarters. The Training Centre officially opened 9 October 1940.

When the war ended, the fairgrounds and all the camp's buildings were returned to the city.

Some of the former camp's H-huts were sold and moved off site as homes. The Royal Canadian Legion bought one for use as its meeting hall. Several of the camp's old buildings do remain on the site, such as the old drill hall, which is used by the local Air Cadet Squadron and Army Cadet Corps.

Source Material: information provided by the Camrose Canadian newspaper (2003) & information supplied by Penny Kinnee, City Clerk's Office, City of Camrose (2003).

*********************************************************************

No. 133 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre:

Opened on 28 January 1942 at the Wetaskiwin Fair Grounds as an Infantry Training Centre. The school closed in August 1945 and the camp was converted to a Sortation unit, tasked with the process of releasing returning members from the RCAF.

The camp itself finally closed in January 1946 when the Sortation Unit relocated to Calgary.

All that remains today is the drill hall, now part of the Wetaskiwin Civic Centre.

Source Material: "Siding 16: The History of Wetaskiwin, 1930 to 1960" by A. Bert Reynolds & the personal recollections of the author (2004).

*********************************************************************

No. 2 Special Wireless Station Grande Prairie:

Opened in 1942 as No. 2 Special Wireless Station. The station was originally supposed to be a part of Canada's National Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization, but instead was operated by Air Force Headquarters.

The station was deemed surplus and closed in 1947.

Source Material: Canada's National Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization web site - www.tscm.com.cse.html & information supplied by Mary Nutting, Archival Assistant, Grande Prairie (2002).

*********************************************************************

No. 2 Canadian Women's Army Corps Training Centre:

Opened in 1942 on the grounds of the Vermilion School of Agriculture, which closed for the duration of the war. Lady Eaton of the Eaton's Department Store, served as the Commanding Officer of the training centre. Every six weeks, 500 young ladies would commence a new training course.

No. 2 CWACTC closed in 1944 and the school returned to its pre-war use.

Today, the former agriculture school is known as Lakeland College. Only the drill hall, now the Auto Mechanic building, and the former Officers' Barracks, now Alumni Hall, remain today.

Source Material: the personal recollections of Bob Maggs, local resident of Vermillion (2004) & the personal recollections of the author (2004).

*********************************************************************

The Northwest Staging Route:

Grande Prairie Airport:

Originally opened by the US Army Air Force in 1942. The aerodrome was taken over by the RCAF in 1945 and then by the Department of Transport in 1951.

*********************************************************************

Dog Creek Airport:

Opend during WWII as a RCAF supplementary aerodrome. The aerodrome was taken over by Department of Transport in 1946.

Activities at the Dog Creek Airport was drastically reduced when the Williams Lake Airport opened in 1960. Most of the staff and facilities were moved to Williams Lake.

One gravel runway remains in use, but the other two were abandoned. The aerodrome was purchased lby Circle "S" Cattle Company in 1962 for use by hunters and fishermen.

*********************************************************************

BRITISH COLUMBIA


No. 24 Elementary Flying Training School:

Opened on 6 September 1943 near Abbotsford, with a Relief Landing Field near Sumas. No. 24 EFTS had a brief existence as it closed on 15 August 1944.

No. 5 Operational Training Unit took over the aerodrome, operating detachments at both Abbotsford and Boundary Bay. RCAF Detachment Sumas was too small for No. 5's requirements and was simply abandoned. No. 5 OUT continued operation until it too closed 31 October 1945. The aerodrome then became No. 7 Reserve Equipment Maintenance Satellite, later changed to Reserve Equipment Maintenance Unit until 1946, at which time the station finally closed for good.

In 1949, the abandoned aerodrome became the first racetrack for sport cars in Canada, with racing events hosted by the Sports Car Club of B.C. until 1958, when the racetrack closed. The airport was taken over by Transport Canada in 1958 and re-opened as the Abbotsford Airport.

Today, the Royal Canadian Air Cadets Pacific Region Gliding School operates a summer Regional Gliding Centre at the airport.

Nothing remains of RCAF Detachment Sumas today.

Source Material: Source Material: information supplied by Sharon Jones, Airport Clerk, Abbotsford Airport (2001) & information supplied by Michael DesMazes, Local Historian (2002).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Smithers:

Opened in 1941, the station initially was used mainly as a storage depot and an emergency field for the RCAF. As the war progressed, RCAF Station Smithers became quite a busy air base. Supply aircraft made regular trips to coastal defence stations along the west coast of British Columbia and U.S. Army Air Force planes made occasional stops at Smithers enroute to Alaska.

A new 4400 foot asphalt runway was completed by May 1943. The station became No. 17 Staging Unit on 1 April 1945

RCAF Station Smithers closed in August 1945.

The aerodrome was taken over by the Town of Smithers in 1946, but saw little use until 1953, when Canadian Airlines began regular passenger service. Today the former station is known as the Smithers Airport.

One WWII era hangar remains today, used today by Central Mountain Air as does an unknown building that used as a generator building by a local construction company. The Royal Canadian Air Cadets occasionally use the airport for gliding training.

Source Material: Highway 16 Magazine Web site - http://www.hiway16.com/fp/jim/smiair/smiair2.htm & information supplied by Tracy Berry, Smithers Airport (2005).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Terrace:

Opened in 1943, the station was part of the costal defence network, as well as an aircraft ferry station. The RCAF closed the facility in 1945 and the airfield was transferred to the Department of Transport the following year.

The aerodrome is now the Northwest Regional Airport, owned and operated by the Terrace-Kitimat Airport Society. The airfield remains, but only two of the original three runways remain in use, as does the gunnery backstop and one of the WWII hangars.

Source Material: information supplied by the Terrace-Kitimat Airport Society (2004).

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Ladner:
(Vancouver Wireless Station)
(Royal Canadian Air Force Station Boundary Bay)

Originally opened on 10 April 1941 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan as Royal Canadian Air Force Station Boundary Bay, the home of No. 18 Elementary Flying Training School. The airport was also built to accommodate Lancaster bombers in the defense of coastal B.C. against a perceived Japanese attack. A Relief Landing Field was constructed near Langley.

No. 18 EFTS had a brief existence as it closed on 25 May 1942. The aerodrome was then taken over by No. 5 Operational Training unit, operating detachments at both Boundary Bay and Abbotsford until 31 October 1945. The aerodrome itself closed in 1946. In it's heyday, the station had a population of 4000 personnel.

In 1949 the site was re-activated as the Vancouver Wireless Station, run by the Royal Canadian Corps of Signals and utilizing the old RCAF buildings. The station acted as a radio station in Canada's National Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization. The Operations site, a large 3 story concrete building, was built in the middle of the abandoned airfield, surrounded by a large antenna field between runways 01-19 & 12-30.

With the Unification, the name of the station was changed to Canadian Forces Station Ladner.

CFS Lander closed on 15 July 1971 and its area of responsibility was taken over by CFS Masset.

From 1971-1983, the abandoned runways were used for a variety of uses including race cars, model aircraft flying and driver training.

By the mid 1970s, Vancouver Airport was becoming so congested that a reliever airfield became necessary to handle small aircraft traffic. On 11 July 1983, the former RCAF station re-opened as the Boundary Bay Airport, marking the first time in 35 years that airplanes had graced the runways. Two of the three main runways (07-25 & 12-30) were re-opened, with a smaller runway being used as a taxiway.

From 1998-2005, the Boundary Bay Driving Centre used the abandoned third runway for driving training and drag racing. This runway is now scheduled to re-open to flying activities.

Today, besides the airfield, all that remains from the airport's military days are RCAF "arch-style" hangar, the abandoned roadways and the Operations building used by the communications station. Current tenants at the airport include the Canadian Flight Centre, Flightec, Macleod Aviation, Montair Aviation, the Professional Flight Centre and the Pacific Flying Club. A new industrial park currently occupies part of the property.


On 6 May 2005, 828 "Hurricane" Royal Canadian Air Cadet Squadron dedicated a monument honouring the men & women who served at RCAF Station Boundary Bay.

A plaque and Cenotaph was dedicated to all those who served and trained at Boundary Bay during World War II.

The airfield also remains at the former RCAF Detachment Langley, which is now the very busy Langley Regional Airport. The Royal Canadian Air Cadets Pacific Region Gliding School operates a summer Regional Gliding Centre at the airport, carring on the tradition of training young airmem & airwomen at Langley.

Source Material: Canada's National Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization web site - www.tscm.com.cse.html, "History of Canadian Airports" by T.M. McGrath, the Boundary Bay Airport web site - http://www.czbb.com & the Vancouver Wireless Station web site - http://www.troywoodintarsia.com/vws/vws.htm.

*********************************************************************

RCAF Detachment Langley: Opened in 1941 as the Relief Landing Field for No. 18 Elementary Flying Training School at Boundary Bay. The Detachment closed in 1945.

The Township of Langley aquired the airport and today, the former RCAF Detachment Langley is the very busy Langley Township Regional Airport. The Royal Canadian Air Cadets Pacific Region Gliding School operates a summer Regional Gliding Centre at the airport, carring on the tradition of training young airmem & airwomen at Langley.

Source Material: Langley Regional Airport - www.langleyairport.bc.ca/html/c_07_a.htm, History of Canadian Airports" by T.M. McGrath & the Boundary Bay Airport web site - http://www.czbb.com.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Vancouver:
(Royal Canadian Air Force Station Sea Island):

Established beside the Vancouver Airport on 22 July 1940 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan as No. 8 Elementary Flying Training School. Originally RCAF pilots had grass runways on which to land, but these were eventually replaced by a Congo Mat (Steel Mesh Mat) runway.

No. 13 Operational Training Squadron was also established at the aerodrome in 1940, but its stay was brief as it re-located to RCAF Station Patricia Bay in November 1940. No. 8 EFTS re-located to Boundary Bay and became part of No. 18 EFTS in January 1942.

The aerodrome became was home to No. 22 Repair Depot from 1944-45.

The station remained open after World War II and was re-named RCAF Station Sea Island, but this was later changed to RCAF Station Vancouver. 442 Squadron was re-activated as a 442 "City of Vancouver" Auxiliary Fighter Squadron at Sea Island 15 April 1946, but was later re-designated an Auxiliary Transport Squadron. 123 Rescue Flight and 121 Composite Flight (KU) were also formed at Sea Island. By 1948, Sea Island's runways were linked up with those of the Vancouver Airport

On 1 December 1951, 442 Squadron was split in half to form 443 "City of New Westminster" Squadron.

With the impending Unification in the mid 1960s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed and as a result, RCAF Station Vancouver closed on 31 March 1964.

121 KU Squadron moved to RCAF Station Comox, where in 1968, it was renamed 442 Transport and Rescue Squadron, but 442 Squadron and 443 Squadron disbanded. The PMQ houses became part of the Army Camp at Jericho Beach until 1973, when they were sold and moved onto First Nations Reserves along the Georgia Strait.

Very little remains of the former station. Only the footings of the old base water reservoir and the wooden pump house shack remain today. The former RCAF Recreation Centre was demolished in 2003.

Source Material: 442 Squadron history web site - http://www.comox.dnd.ca/squadrons/442/442hist.htm, 440 Squadron history web site - http://www.440sqn.com/frames.htm, 19 Wing Comox web site - http://www.comox.dnd.ca, information supplied by Sherry Eastholm, Manager, Sidney (B.C.) Museum (1999), the Pinetree Line web site - http://www.pinetreeline.org/articles/resarth.html, information supplied by Doug Eastman, President, Sea Island Heritage Society (2004), the personal recollections of Vince Bissonnette, former Commanding Officer CF Detachment Jericho Beach (2004) & "Jericho Beach and the West Coast Flying Boat Stations" by Chris Weicht.

*********************************************************************

Royal Roads Military College:

Opened 13 December 1940 as His Majesty's Canadian Ship Royal Roads, on the grounds of Hately Park near Esquimalt, the past residence of James Dunsmuir, former Premier and Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia. Royal Roads served as the officer training centre for the Royal Canadian Navy Volunteer Reserve (RCNVR) - the "Wavy Navy" as it was affectionately known.

After World War II ended in 1945, Royal Roads training programs were scaled back, as the RCN no longer needed to train a large number of officers. The future of the college was in doubt until the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) expressed an interest in a training facility for their officer cadets. In 1947, Royal Roads was re-designated as the RCN-RCAF Joint Services College, but this would be short lived.

In 1948, admission was opened to Army officer cadets and Royal Roads, again re-named the Canadian Services College Royal Roads, began training officer cadets from all three service branches in a two year college program. Those officers wishing to pursue a university degree eventually moved onto either Royal Military College in Kingston, Ontario or le College Militaire Royal (opened in 1952) in St Jean, Quebec. It was not until 1975 that Royal Roads was given royal assent to grant university degrees.

Due to Department of National Defence budget reductions in the early 1990's, it was decided that only one military college was needed to meet officer-training requirements. As a result, both Royal Roads and le College Militaire Royal closed in 1995. Royal Roads is now a private university, appropriately named Royal Roads University.

Source material: DND press release from February 1994 and the Royal Roads University web site - http://www.royalroads.ca.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Kitsilano:

Opened during World War II, the station remained open after the war, becoming part of the post-war RCAF.

RCAF Station Kitsilano was the home of No. 2 Supply Depot, No. 19 (Auxiliary) Wing, No. 9 Construction Maintenance Unit headquarters and the RCAF Police Investigation Department. 135 "Vancouver Squadron" Royal Canadian Air Cadets moved to the station in the 1950s.

With the impending Unification in the mid 1960s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed and as a result, RCAF Station Kitsilano closed in 1964 and was sold to the City of Vancouver for parkland.

The site is now Vanier Park, home to the Vancouver Museum, the Maritime Museum and the H.R. MacMillan Space Centre.

Source Material: information supplied by Liz Wright, Archivist, City of Vancouver (2000), 135 "Vancouver Squadron" Royal Canadian Air Cadets web site - http://www.reocities.com/Pentagon/9334/history.html, the Pinetree LIne web site - http://www.pinetreeline.org/rds/detail/rds99-1.html & "Jericho Beach and the West Coast Flying Boat Stations" by Chris Weicht.

*********************************************************************

West Coast Flying Boat Stations:

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Ucluelet:

Established 1 May 1940 as the home of No. 4 Bomber-Reconnaissance Squadron. No. 4 (BR) Squadron re-located to RCAF Station Tofino in August 1944. The station closed on 15 October 1944.

Source Material: "Jericho Beach and the West Coast Flying Boat Stations" by Chris Weicht.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Alliford Bay:

Established 13 May 1940 as the new home of No. 6 Bomber-Reconnaissance Squadron, who re-located from RCAF Station Jericho Beach. RCAF Station Alliford Bay had the distinction of being the most isolated of all the West Coast Flying Boat Stations. In November 1942, the station swapped squadrons with RCAF Station Bella Bella - No. 6 (BR) Squadron departed and No. 9 (BR) Squadron arrived. In November 1943, the station also added No. 7 (BR) Squadron. The station closed 25 July 1945.

Source Material: "Jericho Beach and the West Coast Flying Boat Stations" by Chris Weicht.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Prince Rupert:

Established November 1941 as the home of No. 7 Bomber-Reconnaissance Squadron. No. 7 (BR) Squadron re-located to RCAF Station Alliford Bay in April 1944. The role of the station changed to an administrative base, but this was short-lived as it closed in September 1944.

Source Material: "Jericho Beach and the West Coast Flying Boat Stations" by Chris Weicht.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Coal Harbour:

Established 10 December 1940 as the home of No. 120 Bomber-Reconnaissance Squadron. The British Columbia Regiment was also posted to Coal Harbour for station defence purposes. No. 120 (BR) Squadron disbanded on 23 April 1944, and shortly afterwards, No. 6 (BR) Squadron re-located to the station from RCAF Station Alliford Bay. The station closed in August 1945.

Source Material: "Jericho Beach and the West Coast Flying Boat Stations" by Chris Weicht.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Bella Bella:

Originally established in 1938 as a temporary detachment of RCAF Station Jericho Beach, reporting on weather conditions. A permanent station was established in December 1941 as the home of No. 9 Bomber-Reconnaissance Squadron. The station closed in August 1944, re-opening briefly in the spring of 1945 as a meteorological section.

Source Material: "Jericho Beach and the West Coast Flying Boat Stations" by Chris Weicht.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Smith River:

Opened April 1945.

Closed July 1956.

*********************************************************************

Camp Terrace:

Opened in 1942 as an Army training centre. The military population quickly ballooned up to 3,500, almost nine times the size of the Town of Terrace.

The Camp closed in 1945 and the property taken over by the town of Terrace. Many of the barracks were turned into residential community, now known as Glenwood.

Source Material: Heritage BC web site - http://www.heritagebc.ca/military.htm.

*********************************************************************

Special Training School Commando Bay:

Opened 24 March 1944 by the British Security Coordination specifically to train Chineese Canadians as secret operatives for Operation Oblivion, a part of the war in the Pacific. The camp, located on Commando Bay in the Okanagan Valley, approximately tem miles north of Penticton, trained students in wireless operation, small arms, demolition, unarmed combat, sabatage, survival techniques, propaganda and other skills of a covert operative.

The camp had a short life, as it closed in September 1944. As it was a tented camp, nothing remains today. The former camp is now part of the Okanagan Mountain Provincial Park.

Source Material:

*********************************************************************

Camp Alberni:

Opened during WWII.

In November 1946, the former camp was turned over to the City of Alberni. Several former barracks buildings were sectioned off and used as housing for returning veterans and their young families. This area is now known as the Glenwood area.

Source Material: the City of Alberni web site - http://www.city.port-alberni.bc.ca/fire/History/pa-pream.htm.

*********************************************************************

West Coast Radio Units:

In July 1942, network of radio stations was established on the West Coast for surveillance. The line was operational from November 1943 until mid 1945. There is no military presence at the former West Coast Radio stations today. The Radio units were:

No. 7 Patricia Bay
No. 8 Sea Island
No. 9 Spider Island
No. 10 Cape Scott
No. 11 Ferrer Point
No. 13 Amphitrite Point
No. 26 Langara Island
No. 27 Marble Island
No. 28 Cape St. James
No. 33 Tofino

*********************************************************************

MANITOBA


Canadian Forces Base Winnipeg (South) - Kapyong Barracks

Opened prior to World War II as Fort Osborne Barracks, this was the home of The Lord Strathcona's Horse, the 2nd Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (2 PPCLI) and C Battery of the Royal Canadian Horse Artillery. After the war, the newly formed Prairie Command Headquarters took up residence on site and by 1957, Fort Osborne's role was to provide support services for Army units under control of Prairie Command.

As a result of the Unification in 1968, Fort Osborne Barracks merged with RCAF Station Winnipeg to form CFB Winnipeg. The barracks were officially designated as CFB Winnipeg (South), although the name Fort Osborne Barracks remained in use. On 17 May 1973, Fort Osborne Barracks was re-named Kapyong Barracks, after the battle of Kapyong, fought by 2 PPCLI in Korea in 1951.

As a result of massive cutbacks to the Department of National Defence, CFB Winnipeg's Kapyong Barracks began downsizing in the mid 1990s, leaving the base with only 65 hectares. Some of the PMQs were sold to civilians at that time.

The downsizing was only the beginning of the end for Kapyong Barracks, however. The withdrawl of the German Army and the closure of the German Army Training Establishment at nearby CFB Shilo in 2000 lead to the need to consolidate Defence assets in Manitoba. The Department of National Defence decided that it no longer needed to maintain two Army bases in such close proximity. As Kapyong Barracks had aging infastructure, was small in size and was now completely surrounded by development compared to CFB Shilo's newer facilites, remote location and larger size, it became obvious which base should close.

Kapyong Barracks closed in June 2004 and 2 PPCLI re-located to new facilities at CFB Shilo. A formal march-out ceremony and parde was held at the end of June 2004 to commemorate the men and women who served at Kapyong Barracks. The former base was turned over to the Canada Lands Corporation for disposal.

Recently, the abandoned Kapyong Barracks has been used as an urban "close quarter combat" training area for Winnipeg area milita troops.

Of the 350-plus PMQs, about two-thirds are still rented to soldiers and their families. Local politicians have been trying to convince Ottawa to rent out some of the vacant homes at Kapyong to low-income families or recent immigrants. However, the process of disposal at Kapyong has been paralyzed by red tape and a First Nations land claim.

Source material: "The Maple Leaf" Vol 4, Nov 15 2001, DND press release from May 1989, "Sentinel" Magazine from June 1973, pg. 27, Legion Magazine January - February 2005, "The Maple Leaf" Vol 4, April 26, 2006, The Winnipeg Free Press from 2 April 2009 & the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Base Rivers:

Originally opened as RCAF Station Rivers in May 1942 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan when No. 1 Air Navigation School (No. 1 ANS) re-located to Rivers from RCAF Station Trenton, becoming No. 1 Central Navigation School (No. 1 CNS). As the war progressed, Rivers also became a training centre for Army pilots and flying instructors from the Army, RCN and RCAF. Additionally, the Royal Canadian Corps of Signals and the Air Dispatch School made Rivers their home.

By the time No. 1 CNS disbanded in August 1945, No. 1 ANS and No. 1 CNS had trained a combined total of 11, 406 Commonwealth navigators.

RCAF Station Rivers closed around the end of 1945, but the closure would be short lived as the station reopened 2 years later. Several new units began operations at Rivers in 1947, including theParachute School. The Canadian Parachute Training Centre, originally established at Camp Shilo in 1942, merged with the Airborne School of the Canadian Joint Air Training Centre and re-located to RCAF Station Rivers, making the station Canada's main para-training centre.

Also in 1947, the Army Aviation Tactical Training School was established at Rivers to provide pilot training to Army aviators, as well as helicopter instructor training for the Army, RCN and RCAF. No. 6 Signal Regiment, Royal Canadian Corps of Signals and the Air Support Signals Unit provided communications duties at Rivers. 444 Air Observation Post Squadron was formed on 1 October 1947, but had a brief stay at the station as it disbanded 1 April 1949.

In 1948, the Joint Air Photo Interpretation School opened at RCAF Station Rivers. The school closed in 1960 and its personnel merged with the Air Photo Interpretation Centre at RCAF Station Rockcliffe, who became fully responsible for training photo-interpreters.

The Basic Helicopter Training Unit (BHTU) was established at RCAF Station Rivers in August 1953, initially to train RCAF pilots, but by 1956, Army helicopter pilots were also training at Rivers at the Army Air Tactical Training School (AATTS). After the closure of the helicopter school at RCN Air Station HMCS Shearwater, the Royal Canadian Navy began sending trainees to Rivers as well, making the BHTU the first tri-service flying training unit in Canada.

In 1956, with the Royal Canadian Navy having recently aquired its first fighter jet, the F2H3 Banshee, pilots from VF 870 and VF 871 Squadrons were also sent to Rivers for training. The RCN training program at Rivers continued until the disbandment of VF 871 Squadron in 1962.

The first helicopter employed by military forces in Canada was the RCAF's Sikorsky H-5 (S-51) in 1947. RCAF Station Rivers used the H-5 as a rotary wing trainer, but it was also used by the Royal Canadian Air Force in search and rescue roles.

In December 1963, No. 1 Transport Helicopter Platoon (No. 1 THP), a unit of the Royal Canadian Army Service Corps, was established at RCAF Station Rivers, along with their fleet of CH-113A Voyageur transport helicopters and one CH-112 Nomad. The platoon's function was to support the Army on field exercises. No. 1 THP moved to RCAF Station St. Hubert in 1966, but also established a detachment at RCAF Station Namao. In 1968, No. 1 THP was re-designated 450 (Heavy Transport) Helicopter Squadron.

408 Tactical Fighter Squadron, whose primary functions were reconnaissance and weapons delivery, moved to Rivers in 1964 from RCAF Station Rockcliffe, and remained until disbanded on 1 April 1970.

As a result of the Unification, RCAF Station Rivers was re-named CFB Rivers.

The Canadian Airborne Regiment was formed at Rivers in I968. With the coming of the Canadair CF-5 Freedom Fighter into service, the runways at Rivers proved to be too short to handle the new jet. No. 4 Fighter Training School (formerly the BHTU and the AATTS) re-located to CFB Portage La Prairie in July 1970 and the Canadian Parachute Training Centre moved to CFB Edmonton, precipitating the eventual demise of the base itself.

CFB Rivers was declared surplus to defence needs and as a result, the station closed in September 1971.

In September 1972, the land was turned over to the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development for use as an industrial training centre for Manitoba Indians, the Oo-Za-We-Kwun Centre. The Rivers Gliding School, a summer Air Cadet glider camp opened at the former base in 1974, remaining until 1984, when it re-located to CFB Gimli.

The Oo-Za-We-Kwun Centre closed in 1980 and the land was sold by the Federal Government. Larry and Bonnie Friesen opened Hangar Farms Ltd. at this site in 1988. The Friesen's continue to operate a hog farm at this location today.

Only small parts of the old air station remain today including old supply buildings, two Second World War era hangars, a 1950s era arch-style hangar, power plant, fire hall, some two-story H-huts, ruins of the messes and five permanent married quarters. The entire airfield remains although a reservoir sits across one of the runways. It sees occasional use by crop dusting airplanes and drift racing practice groups.

In the mid 1990s, the RCAF returned to Rivers with the help of some movie magic in the film "For The Moment", a film about an Australian pilot who comes to Manitoba to train under the BCATP, starring Russell Crowe. While most of the movie was filmed at the Brandon Airport, scenes of the actors standing outside their barracks were filmed at Rivers, requiring a fresh coat of green paint to be applied to the old buildings.

Source Material: Sentinel Magazine March 1966, pg 1, March 1967, pg 1, April 1967, pg 14, April 1968, January 1967, April 1970, pg **, 1972 & April 1973, pg 28, the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan site - http://www.ualberta.ca/EDMONTON/CONTRIB/airmuseum/aambcatp.html, Communications, the personal recollections of Colonel J.C. Forsyth, OBStJ, CD, Honorary Colonel, Royal Hamilton Light Infantry - 1993-2007 (1999) & Electronics Museum site - www.c-and-e-museum.org, the Air Cadets Glider Training web site - http://www.mts.net/~rgspra/hist.html, information supplied by Michael Turnbull, Chief Constable, Rivers Police (1999), 450 Squadron web page - www.totavia.com/terry/cyow/uplands/450sqn.htm, The Town of Rivers web sites - http://www.techplus.com/rivers, http://www.townofrivers.mb.ca/history.htm#history, History of the 400 Series Squadrons - http://www.airforce.dnd.ca/airforce/eng/history_400s/rcafsqns.htm & Canada's Air Force At War & Peace Vol 3- by Larry Mulberry, information supplied by Larry Friesen, Owner, Hanger Farms Inc. (2003), Canadian Forces Air Navigation School history - www.cfans.com, the CF Intelligence Branch web site - http://www.intbranch.org/inthist.htm & the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Portage La Prairie - MacDonald Detachment:

Opened on 10 March 1941 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan as No. 3 Bombing & Gunnery School. The school and the station closed on 17 February 1945.

The post-war expansion of the RCAF resulted in several WWII aerodromes being re-activated. Royal Canadian Air Force Station MacDonald re-opened in 1951 as the home of No. 4 Advanced Flying School and No. 1 Air Gunnery School (re-designated 2 years later as No. 1 Pilot Weapons School). No. 2 Advanced Flying School (No. 2 AFS) was established to train RCAF and NATO pilots, first setting up operations at RCAF Station MacDonald on a temporary basis, then re-locating to Portage La Prairie in October 1952. However, RCAF Station MacDonald's re-birth would be short lived.

RCAF Station MacDonald closed on 31 May 1959 and storage depot for Air Maintenance Command was established at the former station. RCAF Station Portage La Prairie assumed responsibility for the Detachment, which continued operating until 30 November 1963 when the Depot closed. The property was turned over to the Crown Assets Disposal Corporation who sold the property for farming.

From 1965-1970, the abandoned runways were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing.

Since 1972, the former aerodrome has been "Airport Colony Farms", a grain and livestock farm run by a "Hutterite Colony", a German speaking Christian religious sect.

Today, some of the PMQs remain, as do assorted buildings like the old recreation building, the maintenance building, transportation buildings, gunnery backstop and one of the hangars, although it is scheduled to be torn down sometime in the future. The airfield is also gone; ploughed under for crops long ago.

Source Material: "Sentinel" Magazine June 1986. Pg 6-9, the personal recollections of Harry Palmer, Photographer (2001), "Portage La Prairie - Fifty Years of Flying Training: 1940-1990" by Major Gordon Greavette, CD, information supplied by Airport Colony Farms, Ltd (2003), Grandville Island Publishing web site - http://www.granvilleislandpublishing.com/profile/sportscarracing/contents.shtm, Canadian Racer Web site - www.motorsportcentral.com & the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Fort Churchill:

Originally established in 1 August 1943 south of the town of Fort Churchill as Naval Radio Station Fort Churchill, a radio station in Canada's National Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization. A second auxiliary location for was established for the station, but it sat unused as it was very difficult to access the site in winter.

The station's name changed to His Majesty's Canadian Naval Radio Station Fort Churchill in 1950, and later changed to simply Her Majesty's Canadian Ship Fort Churchill in July 1956. In additon to its SIGNET duties, the station was also a multi-force, multi-national arctic testing and training base.

Due to remote nature, the station had its own airfield, with planes constantly coming and going up north to deliver large equipment for the construction of the DEW Line stations.

As a part of the Unification, the name was changed to Canadian Forces Station Fort Churchill, but this would be short-lived. In the early to mid 1960s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several Army, Navy and RCAF bases were either downsized, merged or closed. As a result, CFS Fort Churchill closed in 1968.

Today Wat'chee Lodge, a vacation lodge teaching aboriginal culture, currently occupies the former station's little used auxiliary site.

Source Material: "Badges of the Canadian Navy" by LT (N) Graeme Arbuckle, Wat'chee Lodge web site - http://www.watcheelodge.mb.ca, http://www.creighton.edu/~hutchens/cr/cr020.html, the personal recollections of Ian MacPherson, former student worker at NRS Churchill (2004), the RCSigs web site - http://www.rcsigs.ca/ViewPage/History/Canadian-CESM-History/Page/7/ & Canada's National Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization web site - http://www.tscm.com/cse.html.

*********************************************************************

No. 19 Elementary Flying Training School:

Opened under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan on 16 May 1941 north of the Town of Virden. A Relief Landing Field was constructed near Lenore in the fall of 1943.

No. 19 EFTS closed on 15 December 1944, as did RCAF Detachment Lenore.

The former aerodrome later became home to 2 different manufacturing companies. First Walden Industries, a farm machinery manufacturer, set up a plant on the property. After Walden Industries closed, WedgCor Inc, a manufacturer of steel buildings and aviation hangars, purchased the land and opened their own plant. With the passing of the North American Free Trade Agreement, WedgCor closed their Virden plant. The hangar now sits abandoned.

Very little remains of the former school today. In addition to the sole remaining hangar, a quonset hut, the gunnery backstop and a samll, broken portion of the taxi-way also remain. The original airfield was abandoned and a new runway and hangar were constructed at the north end of the property in 1999. A new industrial park is slated to be build on the south-east section on the property.

All that remains of RCAF Detachment Lenore is the concrete base for the maintenance building (there was no hangar) and the roadway into Detachment. The airfield was ploughed under long ago for crops.

Source Material: information supplied by Clare Cawston, Royal Canadian Legion Branch 8, Virden, Manitoba (2001), "Wings For Victory - The Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada", by Spencer Dunmore, information supplied by Bob Andrew, Andrew Agencies, Virden Manitoba (2003), Town of Virden web site - http://www.virden-wallace.mb.ca/ed6.htm & the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

No. 33 Service Flying Training School:

Opened near the town of Carberry on 26 December 1940 by the Royal Air Force under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, with Relief Landing Fields at Oberon and Petrel. No. 33 SFTS was one of the few double-sized training schools, with a double-sided airfield of six parallel runways. The school closed 17 November 1944, as did RCAF Detachments Petrel and Oberon.

Post-war, the aerodrome was used for a period as a military vehicle storage depot before the RCAF abandoned the station. The property was later sold to the Carberry Community Development Corporation.

From 1955-1957, the abandoned runways were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing, afterwhich the runways fell into disuse.

Today former aerodrome is the site of McCain Foods Canada, and their world class potato processing plant. Some of the former school's buildings remain including one hangar, now incorporated into the current facility (the old control tower is now an office). The abandoned airfield also remains, but is severely deteriorated and closed to all flying activities.

All that remains of RCAF Detachment Petrel are roadways, the hangar pad and two of the asphalt runways, though severely deteriorated. The remainder of the property is used for farming.

Nothing remains of RCAF Detachment Oberon.

Incidentally, one of Carberry's most famous former residents is first World War flying hero Wilfrid Reid "Wop" May, who was awarded a DFC for his service and had a part in shooting down the legendary World War I German pilot Baron Manfred von Richthofen, the infamous "Red Baron".

Source Material: Town of Carberry web site - http://www.townofcarberry.ca/War.htm, "Wings For Victory" by Spencer Dunmore, "Canada Flight Supplement 1999", the Midwest Foods Products Ltd web site - http://www.townofcarberry.ca/Midwest.htm, Grandville Island Publishing web site - http://www.granvilleislandpublishing.com/profile/sportscarracing/contents.shtm, Canadian Racer Web site - www.motorsportcentral.com & the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

No. 35 Elementary Flying Training School (Neepawa) & No. 26 Elementary Flying Training School:

The aerodrome at Neepawa was originally opened by the Royal Air Force when No. 35 EFTS, originally founded in Moncton, re-located to Neepawa on 30 May 1942. A Relief Landing Field was built near the Village of Eden. No. 35 EFTS closed on 30 January 1944 and No. 26 EFTS stood up in its place, run by the RCAF. No. 26 would have a short life as it too closed on 25 August 1944. The aerodrome was then used as a storage depot until 1945, when the RCAF abandoned the site.

Today very little remains of the former school. One of the hangars, the drill hall, rifle range building and a small section of the maintenance building are the only remaining structures. The control tower was destroyed in a fire several years ago. Many of the buildings were torn down for material or moved following the closure of the school. Most of the property, including the hangar, is occupied by Prairie Forest Products. The remainder of the property is occupied by Provost Signs and Knight Upholstery.

The former station is now the Neepawa Airport, although the original runways were abandoned when a new 3510 foot runway was constructed in 1994. The Neepawa Flying Club uses this airfield.

At RCAF Detachment Eden, the abandoned airfield and the hangar, now covered in metal sheeting, are all that remain. The property is now used for farming.

Source Material: information supplied by Cecil Pittman, Historian, Neepawa, Manitoba (2002), "Wings For Victory" by Spencer Dunmore & the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

No. 10 Service Flying Training School:

Opened under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan on 5 March 1941, four kilometers south of Dauphin, with Relief Landing Fields at North Junction & Valley River.

The school closed on 25 March 1945.

For several years, the abandoned runways were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing.

The aerodrome was eventually re-activated and is now the LCol W.G. (Billy) Barker, VC, Airport, with Perimetre Airlines and Keystone Airlines as the two aviation tenants. All that remains of the former school are the gunnery backstop and three of the WWII era hangars, but only one of the hangars remains in used for aviation. Two of the three original runways also remain in use, one expanded to 5000 feet. The others house Purolator Courier and A.G. Storage.

RCAF Detachments North Junction & Valley River were abandoned after the war and no longer exist today.

Source Material: "Canada Flight Suplement 1999", "Wings For Victory - The Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada", by Spencer Dunmore, Grandville Island Publishing web site - http://www.granvilleislandpublishing.com/profile/sportscarracing/contents.shtm & Town of Dauphin web site - http://www.town.dauphin.mb.ca/NWRegion/wartime.html.

*********************************************************************

No. 12 Service Flying Training School:

Opened near Brandon on 10 May 1941 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, with relief landing fields at Chater and Douglas. The School consisted of five hangars and forty-two buildings.

The School closed on 30 March 1945, as did RCAF Detachment Douglas.

The aerodrome became the Brandon Airport on 1 June 1948. Only one of the original runways remains in use, expanded to 6500 feet.

Only two of the War II era hangars and three administration buildings remain today. The British Commonwealth Air Training Plan Museum opened at the Brandon Airport in 1981 in one of the hangars. Four H-hut barracks were recently acquired and moved to the Brandon Airport. Future plans by museum staff include recreating part of the former flying school with vintage buildings; essentially a life-size diorama of the former No. 12 SFTS.

Other tenants at the airport are Maple Leaf Aviation and the Brandon Flying Club.

In the mid 1990s, the RCAF returned to the Brandon Airport, with the help of some movie magic, in the movie "For The Moment", a film about an Australian pilot who comes to Manitoba to train under the BCATP, starring Russell Crowe. Some scenes were also filmed at the former CFB Rivers.

RCAF Detachment Douglas was abandoned at the end of WWII and all that remains today is the transportation building.

Source Material: The British Commonwealth Air Training Plan Museum web site - www.airmuseum.ca, "Wings For Victory - The Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada", by Spencer Dunmore, information supplied by Stephen Hayter, Executive Director, British Commonwealth Air Training Plan Museum (2001), "History of Canadian Airports" by T.M. McGrath, Canadian Racer Web site - www.motorsportcentral.com & the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Chater:

Opened in 1941 as the No. 1 Relief Landing Field for No. 12 Service Flying Training School at Brandon.

With the closure of No. 12 SFTS in March 1945, RCAF Detachment Chater briefly became a storage depot before the RCAF abandoned the Detachment.

From 1967-1974, the abandoned runways were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing.

The abandoned and crumbling airfield remains today, as does the hangar (with the control tower), which is now used to store grain and farm vehicles. A small bunker, possibly the ammo dump also remains. The land is now used for farming.

Source Material: The British Commonwealth Air Training Plan Museum web site - www.airmuseum.ca, "Wings For Victory - The Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada", by Spencer Dunmore, information supplied by Stephen Hayter, Executive Director, British Commonwealth Air Training Plan Museum (2001), Canadian Racer Web site - www.motorsportcentral.com & the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

No. 17 Service Flying Training School:

Opened near Souris on 8 March 1943 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, with Relief Landing Fields at Hartney and Elgin. The school and the airfield closed on 30 March 1945.

From 1963-1964, the abandoned runways were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing.

The former RCAF Station is now the Souris-Glenwood Airport.

All six runways and the taxi-way remain today, but only one runway is still in use. The gunnery backstop also remains, but all buildings were demolished. The airport is used by Adventure Sky Diving of Winnipeg and occasionally by the Royal Canadian Air Cadets for gliding training.

All that remains of RCAF Detachment Hartney is the abandoned and crumbling airfield and a quonset hut. The barracks stood until the-mid 1980s when they burned down. The property itself is used for farming.

At RCAF Detachment Elgin, all that remains are one shed and the barracks, now part of the current owner's house.

Source Material: "Wings For Victory - The Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada", by Spencer Dunmore, "Canada Flight Supplement 1999", information provided by Ralph Jewell, Board Member, Souris Glenwood Airport Commission (2003), information provided by Margaret Robbins, Elgin & District Historical Museum (2004), Canadian Racer Web site - www.motorsportcentral.com, Grandville Island Publishing web site - http://www.granvilleislandpublishing.com/profile/sportscarracing/contents.shtm & the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Netley:

Opened in 1943 as a Relief Landing Field for No. 18 Service Flying Training School at Gimli. RCAF Detachment Netley was abandoned in 1945.

The abandoned runways were used as a race track for sports cars from 1954-1958. For a period, up to the late 1980s, Netley was still being actively used by ultra-lights and crop-dusters, after which two of the runways were chopped up. All that remains of RCAF Detachment Netley today is one crumbling runway and the taxi-way, still occasionally used by crop-dusters, although the outline of the other two runways are still visible. A hangar stands on the property, used to store farm equipment, but it isn't of wartime vintage.

Source Material: "Wings For Victory - The Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada", by Spencer Dunmore, "Canada Flight Supplement 1999", information provided by the Gimli Gliding Centre (2003), COPA web site - www.copanational.org/PlacesToFly/airport_view.php?pr_id=4&ap_id=323 & the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

No. 7 Bombing & Gunnery School:

Opened near Paulson on 23 June 1941 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The school and the airfield closed on 2 February 1945.

From 1959-1962, the abandoned runways at Paulson were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing.

Today, only the abandoned runways and the gunnery backstop remain.

Source Material: information provided by the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan Museum (2003), Grandville Island Publishing web site - http://www.granvilleislandpublishing.com/profile/sportscarracing/contents.shtm, Canadian Racer Web site - www.motorsportcentral.com & "Wings For Victory - The Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada", by Spencer Dunmore.

*********************************************************************

Churchill Airport:

Originally opened by the US Army Air Force in 1942. The aerodrome was taken over by the RCAF in 1945 and then by the Department of Transport in 1964.

*********************************************************************

No. A-4 Canadian Artillery Training Centre:

Opened at the Brandon Exhibition Grounds on 15 February 1941. The camp made use of the existing Provincial Exhibiton Display building and the Agriculture Extension building, as well as a stately mansion at nearby 1129 Queens Ave.

After the war, the Exhibiton Grounds and its buildings were returned to the City of Brandon. All the above mentioned buildings remain, as does the motor transport building on Queens Ave.

Source Material: The Canadian Army WWII Training Establishments web site - www.canadiansoldiers.com/wwiitrain.htm & the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

Camp Hughes Transmitter Station:

Opened in 1909 as Camp Sewell, a summer military training camp nine miles west of Carberry. The camp became a year round training facility in 1915.

Re-named Camp Hughes in honour of Major General John Hughes, GOC in 1916, the camp had all the amenities - freight sheds were built for hay and oats, a telephone system was installed, a hospital, two theatres, a jewelry store, a barber shop, two cafes, and two banks.

Also in 1916, a trench system was dug at the camp to teach trench warfare. Camp Hughes trench system accurately replicated the scale and living arangements trenches in Eurpoe.

By the time the training school re-located to Brandon and Winnipeg in 1917, when Camp Hughes reverted to a summer training camp, 30,000 troops had trained at the camp. Many of the soldiers who trained at Camp Hughes later distinguished themselves at the battle of Vimy Ridge, in April 1917. Camp Hughes remained open after WWI, but finally closed in 1934 after the newly constructed Camp Shilo opened. Some of the buildings from Camp Hughes were moved to Shilo, while others were dismantled and the material used in the construction of new buildings at Shilo. Except for occasional use as a training area during World War II for troops from Camp Shilo, the former camp sat unused.

In the early 1960s, the site was re-activated as a remote transmitter station for the main communications centre at CFB Shilo. An underground communications bunker was constructed at the former camp. Both bunkers were staffed by the Manitoba Signal Troop, who were later re-designated 731 Communications Squadron. By the end of the cold war in 1991, the bunker's usefulness had passed. In 1992, the bunker was closed and sealed up. It has since been demolished.

All that remains of Camp Hughes and the Transmitter Site today are the outlines of the old World War I trench system, roadways and some old building foundations.

Source Material: Information supplied by Scott Aikens, Surveyor for the Manitoba Military Historical Society (2000), Town of Carberry web site - http://www.townofcarberry.ca/War.htm, The Military History Society of Manitoba web site - http://www.taniwha.mb.ca/MHSMb/hughes/hughes.html, the personal recollections of the author (2003) and "Bunkers Bunkers Everywhere" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

NEW BRUNSWICK


East Coast Radio Units:

In July 1942, network of radio stations was established on the West Coast for surveillance. The line was operational from November 1943 until mid 1945. There is no military presence at the former East Coast Radio stations today. The Radio units were:

No; 21 Radio Detachment (Plymouth): 1943-1944. Nothing remains today. more to be added

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Moncton:

Originally established at the Moncton Airport in 1940, under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, as RCAF Station Lakeburn. The staiton featued 40 buildings including a 40 bed hospital, 5 double-sized hangars, barracks, mess halls and recreation facilities.

No. 8 Service Flying Training School (No. 8 SFTS) opened at the station on 23 December 1940, operating under contract by the Moncton Flying Club on behalf of the RCAF. Relief Landing Fields were constructed at Sailsbury and Scoudouc, although the later became No. 4 Repair Depot in September 1941.

No. 8 SFTS moved to Weyburn, Saskatchewan in January 1944, where it remained until it closed in 1944.

No. 164 Heavy Transport Squadron was formed at Lakeburn in January 1943 and one year later, the base was re-named RCAF Station Moncton, coinciding with the establishment of No. 21 Repair Depot. Both units remained at RCAF Station Moncton until 1945, when No. 164 (Heavy Transport) Squadron relocated to RCAF Station Dartmouth and No. 21 RD disbanded. No. 6 Reserve Equipment Maintenance Unit briefly assumed No. 21's duties before it too disbanded.

With the end of the war, activity at RCAF Station Moncton was greatly reduced. The station reverted to a civilian airport, but the RCAF maintained a presence at the station. During the 1960s, No. 8 Air Movements Unit also maintained a detachment in the terminal building.

No. 5 Supply Depot, located in downtown Moncton, maintained a detachment in three of the old hangars; a detachment that would survive until the 1990s, when the Air Force finally left the Moncton Airport.

The airport is now officially known as the Greater Moncton International Airport.

Only one of the original seven World War II era hangars remain, utilized by Irving Oil. All other buildings are long gone. The gunnery backstop remained standing until 2003, when it was finally demolished. Only two of the original six runways (Moncton had a double-runway triangle pattern airfield) remain in use, with a third used as a taxiway. The other runways were eventually broken up. A new Terminal building was opened at the airport in 2002 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

Source material: DND press releases from May 1989 & February 1994, information supplied by John Allain Corporation of the City of Moncton (1999), information supplied by Claude Despres, Corporation of the City of Moncton (1999), "History of Aviation in the Greater Moncton Area" by Jim Kinne (1987), information supplied by Bill Soucoup, Constable, RCMP Patrol Section Codiac Regional RCMP Detachment Moncton (1999), Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak, the Greater Moncton Airport Authority web site - http://www.gma.ca/english/corp/history.asp, "The History of Monction 1855-1965" by Lloyd Machum & information supplied by Don McClure, Greater Moncton Airport Authority (2003).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Sailsbury:

Opened in 1940 as a Relief Landing Field for No. 8 SFTS at Lakeburn. The Detachment closed at the end of WWII.

The former RCAF Detachment Sailsbury is now owned by Irving Oil, who built a Big Stop car and truck service center on part of the property, along with a helicopter pad. Unlike most Relief Landing Fields, there were no buildings or hangars at the Detachment.

Source material: DND press releases from May 1989 & February 1994, information supplied by John Allain Corporation of the City of Moncton (1999), information supplied by Claude Despres, Corporation of the City of Moncton (1999), "History of Aviation in the Greater Moncton Area" by Jim Kinne (1987), information supplied by Bill Soucoup, Constable, RCMP Patrol Section Codiac Regional RCMP Detachment Moncton (1999) & information supplied by Don McClure, Greater Moncton Airport Authority (2003).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Scoudouc:

Originally established in 1940 as a relief landing field for No. 8 SFTS at Lakeburn. In September 1941, the aerodrome changed its function when it became the home of No. 4 Repair Depot, which later re-located to RCAF Station Dartmouth, and No. 1 Radio Direction Finding Maintenance Unit** (No. 1 RFD MU), a top-secret maintenance unit. In 1943, No. 1 RFD MU merged with No. 1 Repair Depot's Radio Repair Section.

**(during WWII, radar work was referred to as radio direction finding).

In 1945, the station was re-named RCAF Station Scoudouc. A new repair depot was formed at the site, as was No. 1 Maintenance Wing and No. 101 RCAF Equipment Park. These units were short-lived however, as they disbanded on 1 November 1945. The RCAF departed and the aerodrome was abandoned.

The post-war growth of the RCAF resulted in many WWII stations being re-activated and as a result, Scoudouc was re-activated in 1951 as a Detachment of RCAF Station Chatham. No. 5 Supply Depot, located in downtown Moncton, opened a seciton at the newly christened RCAF Detachment Scoudouc. While RCAF Station Chatham's runways were being repaired, No. 1 (Fighter) Operational Training Unit temporarily occupied space the detachment and 2 years later, the Royal Canadian Navy did the same while RCN Air Station Shearwater's airfield was being repaired.

As the decade progressed, RCAF activity at the detachment was being reduced. In 1956, the now abandoned runways were being used by the Maritime Motor Transport Annual Rodeo and by 1958, 27 unoccupied buildings had been removed.

With the impending Unification in the mid 1960s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed and as a result, RCAF Detachment Scoudouc closed on 1 January 1965.

Today, the abandoned and crumbling airfield remains. From 1959 until the early 1990's, the runways were used by the Atlantic Motorcycle Competition Riders Association as a race track.

The drill hall and a storage shed also remain, but of the original seven hangars, only two remain, extensively renovated for industrial use. None of the other World War II era buildings remain. The former station is now the Scoudouc Industrial Park.

Source material: "History of Aviation in the Greater Moncton Area" by Jim Kinne (1987), information supplied by Claude Despres, Corporation of the City of Moncton (1999), Human Resources Development Canada - http://www.nb.hrdc-drhc.gc.ca/moncton/lmi/community.shtml#h39, the Atlantic Motorcycle Competition Riders Association web site - http://www.procycle-hdd.com/amcra/gridsheet/2000feb.html, Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak & information supplied by information supplied by Don McClure, Greater Moncton Airport Authority (2003).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Saint John:

Established in 1939 at the Millidgeville Airport, near Saint John, where hangars and other buildings were built for the RCAF. No. 2 (Army Cooperation) Squadron was posted to the station until 1940. No. 118 (Coastal Artillery Co-operation) Squadron from replaced No. 2 ACS until April 1944, when the squadron was made unnecessary by army radar equipment. No 118 CAC transferred to RCAF Station Dartmouth and later disbanded.

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Saint John closed in early 1944, although a small six member Detachment remained behind until May 1947, when the Millidgeville Airport was returned to the City of Saint John.

The revived Millidgeville Airport would have a short life however, as an increase in air traffic necessitated construction of a new airport. The Millidgeville Airport closed in March 1951.

All that remains of the Detachment today is one hangar. A residential community and the M. Gerald Teed School, built in September, 1963, occuipy the former detachment.

Source Material: New Brunswick Military Heritage Project - http://www.unb.ca/nbmhp/02_NBMHPsites.htm, New Brunswick Community College - http://www.saintjohn.nbcc.nb.ca/~Heritage/Aviation/GoneButNotForgotten.htm, Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak. & M. Gerald Teed School web site - http://mgeraldteed.nbed.nb.ca/default.htm.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Coverdale:

Established near Moncton as Naval Radio Station Coverdale in 1941, part of the Canada-United States Atlantic High Frequency Direction Finding Network. The network was responsible for coordinating radar activities during search and rescue operations in the Atlantic area.

In 1949, NRS Coverdale was re-named His Majesty's Naval Radio Station Coverdale and PMqs were built. By 1956, the station was commissioned and again re-named His Majesty's Canadian Ship Coverdale.

One of Coverdale's claims to fame came in the early 1950's when a typographical error in the Moncton area phone book listed the station as "Naval Ladies Station Coverdale."

As a result of the Unification, Naval Radio Station HMCS Coverdale was again re-named CFS Coverdale.

The station closed in June 1971 and CFB Gander assumed CFS Coverdale's duties as the back-up control station for the Atlantic HF-DF network. The Station's personnel were eventually transferred to CFB Gander to become part of 770 Communications Research Squadron.

Some of the former station's buildings remain, including the PMQs, the Recreation Centre, some barracks, the Chief's & Petty Officer's mess and the water tower.

Source Material: "Sentinel " Magazine from July-August 1971, the RCAF Station Gander web site - www.watserv1.uwaterloo.ca/~brobinso/gander.html., New Brunswick Military Heritage Project - http://www.unb.ca/nbmhp/02_NBMHPsites.htm, hte HMCS Coverdale web site - http://webhome.idirect.com/~jproc/rrp/coverdale.html, "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak & "Badges of the Canadian Navy" by LT (N) Graeme Arbuckle

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Base Gagetown - Chatham Detachment:

Opened in 1940 under the British Commonwealth Air training Plan as RCAF Station Chatham. Two schools were established at the station: No. 21 Elementary Flying Training School on 3 July 1941 and No. 10 Air Observer School on 21 July 1941. No. 21 EFTS remained at Chatham until 30 May 1942, when it relocated to Neepawa, Manitoba and became No. 35 EFTS.

In 1942, a detachment of No. 113 bomber Squadron from RCAF Station Yarmouth was posted to Chatham to conduct anti-submarine patrols.

No. 10 AOS closed 30 April 1945 and the station itself also closed shortly afterwards. Only a small storage depot remained behind.

Post-war growth of the RCAF saw the re-activation of several WWII aerodromes. RCAF Station Chatham re-opened in 1949 and 2 Air Defence Control Centre (2 ADCC) was established at the site to support 421 (Fighter) Squadron and No. 1 Fighter Training School.

No. 2 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron was also formed at the station, but with the formation of the Pinetree Line, the squadron transferred to No. 21 AC & W Squadron at RCAF Station St. Margarets.

In 1959, RCAF Station Chatham became the home base of the newly formed RCAF Golden Hawks aerobatic team, the predecessor to today's "Snowbirds". The golden hawks would have a short stay at Chatham, as they re-located to RCAF Station Trenton in 1962.

In 1961, RCAF Station Chatham ceased being a fighter training base and instead became an Initial Training Centre only. This new function continued until 1968.

In 1966, RCAF Station Chatham was merged with RCAF Station St Margarets and the Royal Canadian Naval Ammunition Depot at Renous and re-named CFB Chatham.

The Miramichi Municipal Airport opened in 1974, providing commercial air flights from the Chatham airfield.

In 1985, change was in the wind at CFB Chatham. The base was transferred to the Army's Mobile Command, thus ending 45 years of Air force control of the base. Also in 1985, the base became the new home to the Air Defence Artillery School, originally from CFB Gagetown and 434 Tactical Fighter Squadron from CFB Baggotville.

In the mid 1980s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed and as a result, CFB Chatham was downsized to a Detachment of CFB Gagetown in 1989. The Air Defence Artillery School and 119 Low Level Air Defence Battery remained at Chatham, but the St Margarets detachment closed.

The airfield at Chatham ceased military operations in 1990, but the Miramichi Municipal Airport continued operating the airfield. The New Brunswick Fire Protection Agency flies out of the airport during the summer months.

The downsizing of CFB Chatham was only the beginning of the end for the former fighter training base. In September 1995, CF Detachment Chatham finally closed. The Air Defence Artillery School and 119 Low Level Air Defence Battery re-located to CFB Gagetown.

Today, the former base is the Skypark Miramichi Industrial Park and most of it remains. One of the current tenants is the office of the Federal Gun Control Registry. The recreation centre and the base school are still used as such. As well, oday, The Royal Canadian Air Cadets Atlantic Region Gliding School operates a summer Regional Gliding Centre at the airport. Most of the airfield was abandoned, with only a 5900 ft section of runway 27-60 still in use.

Source material: DND press release from May 1989, Sky Park Miramichi Web site - http://www.mibc.nb.ca/sky-park/current/issue/frame.html, http://www.legion.ca/english/reveille/may/, http://members.nbci.com/101RCAirCS/flying.htm, "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak & "Wings For Victory" by Spencer Dunmore.

*********************************************************************

Tracadie Range:

Opened in 1939 as an Artillery and Air Weapons Range firing range associated with the flying training schools in Chatham. The range consisted of more than 18,000 hectares of land and waterways near the town of Tracadie-Sheila.

After World War II, the range remained open as a Detachment of RCAF Station Chatham. The range closed in 1994.

Source material: New Brunswick Dept of Natural Resources - http://www.gnb.ca/0263/tracadie_range-e.aspb.

*********************************************************************

Camp Utopia:

An Canadian Infantry Training Center (CITC A-30) from the early 1940s to the late 1950s. Today, the training grounds are blueberry fields and only a few ruins remain, as well as the main rifle ranges. The army base was also to assist the nearby RAF/RCAF air station (located southeast) if there was a Germany attack on Canada.

*********************************************************************

No. 2 Air Navigation School & No. 34 Operational Training Unit:

The airfield at Pennfield Ridge originally opened on 21 July 1941 under the British Commonwealth Air training Plan as No. 2 Air Navigation School. The station came complete with over 40 buildings including 4 large hangers, an observation tower, barracks, drill hall, mess halls and classrooms.

No. 2 ANS would be short-lived at Pennfield Ridge, as it disbanded less than a year later, but it would later be revived at Charlottetown in February 1944. On 1 June 1942, No. 34 Operational Training Unit was established at the station. The station also had a radio communications section, one that also contained a Royal Canadian Naval contingent from 1941-1942.

No. 34 OTU closed on 19 May 1944. The station remained an active training station, however, with transportaion and operaitonal training courses, including survival training. The station finally closed in 1945.

The aerodrome was taken over for use as a municipal airport for the Saint John area. When the current Saint John Municipal Airport opened in 1950, the Pennfield Ridge airport closed.

From 1973-1977, the abandoned runways were used as a drag racing strip by the New Brunswick Drag Racing Association.

All that remains of the former station today are the roadways, the gunnery backstop and the abandoned runways, two of which are used to dry out seaweed for use in fertilizer production. The third runway remains in use for small aircraft.

Source Material: Pennfield Ridge Air Base web site - http://www.reocities.com/blacksharbour/pennfield.html, "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak & Canadian Racer Web site - www.motorsportcentral.com.

*********************************************************************

No. 7 Area Ordnance Depot:

Opened in February 1943 on Rothesay Road west of Saint John by the Royal Canadian Ordnance Corps (RCOC). The Depot featuring 36, 000 square feet of warehouse space and 48, 000 square feet of workshops.

The personnel stregth of the Depot would eventually be reduced when several stores groups relocated to the Depot at Amherst, but Coldbrook was still a busy establishment. When the Royal Canadian Electrical Mechanical Engineer Corps separated from the Ordnance Corps, it took over the Workshop area.

The Depot remained opened after the war, becoming part of the post-war RCOC. During 1945 and 1946, the Depot also served as a storage depot for surplus Army vehicles. In November 1946, the Headquartes for No. 7 Militia District relocated to Fredericton.

In the mid-1950s, military establishments in New Brunswick were consolidated. As a result, No. 7 Area Ordnance Depot relocated to Camp Gagetown in 1957, abandoning it's WWII site.

In 1963, StresCon Concrete opened a manufacturing plant at the former Depot. Parts of the original ordnance complex do remain; the office building is original, but with a new interior, and both the Old Pipe Plant and the Warehouse have still have parts of the original buildings, but have been extensively re-built and remolded.

Source Material: New Brunswick Military Heritage Project - http://www.unb.ca/nbmhp/02_NBMHPsites.htm, information supplied by StresCon Concrete (2006) & "A History of the RCOC in Saint John", by Major G.H MacDonald (ret'd), supplied by Bert MacDonald (2004).

*********************************************************************

No. 32 Ordnance Depot:

Opened in 1942 on Highway #8 in the Village of McGivney as No. 1 Magazine Company, a Detachment of No. 7 Ordnance Depot. The depot, run by the Royal Canadian Ordnance Corps, consisted of 24 buildings.

The Depot remained open after WWII and was re-named No. 2 Ordnance Depot, but not long after, it was changed to No. 32 Ordnance Depot. Permanent Married Quarters were added in the 1950s.

As a result of the Unification, the Depot was re-named No. 32 Canadian Forces Ammunition Depot in 1966, but this would be short-lived. The Unification lead to the consolidation of numerous military establishments. No. 32 CFAD was deemed redundand and as a result, closed in 1969.

Today some of the Depot's buildings remain, including the ammunition storage bunkers and less than half of the PMQs. The camp chapel is now a Baptist Church and Sergeants' Mess was relocated off site, for use as the South Portage Recreation Center.

Source Material: New Brunswick Military Heritage Project - http://www.unb.ca/nbmhp/02_NBMHPsites.htm & "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

No. 70 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre:

Opened on 9 October 1940 at the Wilmont Park Exhibition Grounds near Fredericton as a Non-Permanent Active Militia Training Centre, but later became a basic infantry training centre. The Camp closed in 1945.

Today, only the roadways and the parade ground remain, the former of which is currently used by student driving instruction. The original firehall and the mess hall stood until around 2003, when they burned down. A number of the camp's buildings were moved the University of New Brunswick, although most of them are now gone. Other camp buildings were sold to the City of Fredericton.

Source Material: New Brunswick Military Heritage Project - http://www.unb.ca/nbmhp/02_NBMHPsites.htm & "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic " by Author Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

Renous Naval Ammunition Depot:

Opened in 1943 near Renous as a Detachment of HMC Dockyard Halifax. The Depot would remain open as a part of the post-war RCN.

As a result of the Unification, the Depot was re-named Canadian Forces Ammunition Depot (CFAD) Renous and made a Detachment of CFB Chatham.

In 1973, CFAD Renous was declared redundant, and its functions were slowly taken over by CFAD Bedford, outside Halifax. By 1978, CFAD Renous finally closed.

Much of the former CFAD remains today. The site was taken over by the Correctional Service of Canada, who opened the Atlantic Institution in 1987. Most of the ammunition bunkers remain, but none of the PMQs.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic " by Author Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

MACHQ (Maritime Air Command HQ) Halifax. It was located at 17 South Street on the corner of Barrington and South.

*********************************************************************

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR


Royal Canadian Air Force Station Torbay:

Established by the RCAF on 15 December 1941 as the home of No. 11 Bomber Reconnaissance (BR) Squadron. No. 5 Coastal Artillery Co-operation Flight was established at the station in April 1942, disbanding in 1945. Other units occupying RCAF Station Torbay at various times during WW II were No. 125 Bomber Squadron, No. 145 (BR) Squadron, No. 128 (Fighter) Squadron and No. 5, No. 113 (BR) & No. 160 (BR) Squadrons The Royal Air Force and the United States Army Air Corps also maintained detachments at the station until December 1946.

RCAF Station Torbay closed on 1 April 1946 and although the airport became a civilian airport, United States Air Force personnel remained on site.

The post-war expansion of the RCAF resulted in many former aerodromes being re-opened and RCAF Station Torbay was re-activated on 15 April 1953. No. 107 Rescue Unit, formerly a detached unit of 103 RU located at RCAF Station Greenwood, was established at Torbay in 1954. No. 107 operated three converted Lancasters as search and rescue aircraft.

The United States Air Force continued to maintain a presence at the station, that being the 6600th Operations Squadron, until 1958 when they finally departed.

RCAF Station Torbay closed again in 1963, this time for good. The former station is now the St. John's Airport.

Only two buildings remain from the Air Force era and both are currently being used as storage. All other buildings were torn down long ago.

Source Material: "Sentinel " Magazine from January 1984, Aviation in Newfoundland & Labrador, Torbay web site - www.home.thezone.net/~ainal/torbay, the St. John's International Airport web site - http://www.stjohnsairport.com/sitemap/default.htm, information supplied by Walter Butt, Commercial Development Officer, St. John's International Airport Authority Inc (2004) & Wings For Victory by Spencer Dunmore.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Botwood:

Opened in 1941 as an anti-submarine patrol station.

Source Material: "History of Canadian Airports" by T. M. McGrath

*********************************************************************

Bull's Bay Naval Base:

Opened in 1943 south of St. John's as a naval repair depot. The base closed in September 1945. Only 2 wooden sheds remain.

Source material: "Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

No. 31 Personnel Depot:

Opened in the summer on 1941 as a stop-over station for airmen awaiting assignment to training schools and active service squadrons. The Depot closed on 31 January 1945.

The depot then became No. 10 Release Centre shortly after War's end. No. 10 RC closed in 1946. The former depot is now Victoria Industrial Park. A few buildings, including the drill hall, remain today.

Source material: "History of Aviation in the Greater Moncton Area" by Jim Kinne (1987) & "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

NORTH-WEST TERRITORIES


Canadian Forces Station Inuvik:

Opened on 12 March 1961 as Naval Radio Station Inuvik, replacing the former NRS Aklavik. Located 123 miles north of the Arctic Circle, NRS Inuvik served as a communications research station, part of Canada's National Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization, and a search and rescue centre for the northern region. On 10 September 1963, the name was changed to Her Majesty�s Canadian Ship Inuvik.

As a result of the Unification, the station was re-named CFS Inuvik in 1966.

CFS Inuvik closed on 1 April 1986. The site was transferred to Department of Transport for use as a telecommunications station.

Source material: "Sentinel" Magazine from August 1974 & "Badges of the Canadian Navy" by LT (N) Graeme Arbuckle, Communications & Electronics Museum site - www.c-and-e-museum.org & Canada's National Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization web site - http://www.tscm.com/cse.html.

*********************************************************************

Naval Radio Station Aklavik:

Opened in 1949 as a radio station in Canada's National Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization. The station closed in March 1961 and personnel transferred to the new facility at NRS Inuvik. The property was turned over to the Department of Transport on 9 August 1961.

Nothing remains of the former station today.

Source Material: Canada's national Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization web site - http://www.tscm.com/cse.html, Communications & Electronics Museum site - www.c-and-e-museum.org. & information supplied by the Aklavik Band Council.

*********************************************************************

NOVA SCOTIA


Naval Radio Station Albro Lake:

Opened near Dartmouth in 1942, Naval Radio Station Albro Lake served as a Naval radio communications station for the Atlantic Coast, with transmitter facilities located at Newport Corner, 50 kilometres northwest of Dartmouth.

The growth of Dartmouth from a small town into a city created problems for receiving radio signals at Albro Lake. The Navy decided to relocate the radio station and as a result, Naval Radio Station Albro Lake closed in 1968. A new radio communications station, Canadian Forces Station Mill Cove, was opened 40 miles southwest of Halifax.

The Newport Corner transmitter facilities remained operational in conjunction with CFS Mill Cove, and remain today.

The former station is now a housing development and parkland. The station's PMQs remain, but were transferred sevaral years ago to the Canada Lands Company. They are currently vacant.

Source Material: "Sentinel" Magazine from March 1968, pg 14 and April 1968, "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak, information supplied by Phil Steeves, Manager of Real Estate Services, Canadian Forces Housing Authority (2005) & information supplied by Walter R. Fitzgerald, Mayor, City of Halifax (1999).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Yarmouth:

Originally opened in 1940 as 3 separate training sites (the East Camp, the West Camp and the Air Base) under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, but known collectively as RCAF Station Yarmouth.

The East Camp was home to a detachment of the Royal Air Force's No. 34 Operational Training Unit (from Pennfield Ridge), who trained Bomber crews, as well as the Royal Navy's No. 1 Naval Air Gunners School from 1 January 1943 - 30 March 1945.

The West Camp was home to the RCAF's Anti-Submarine Bomber Reconnaissance and several Eastern Air Command Bomber Reconnaissance Squadrons.

The Air Base was home to the 9th Light Anti-Aircraft Artillery, various RCAF and RAF Bomber Squadrons and an Army Co-operation Reconnaissance Flight. Its primary function was as an administrative and logistical support base to the RAF and RCAF squadrons in the area, in addition to providing a Weather Information Section, an Armament Section and a firing range.

Several smaller installations associated with the air station were located in the area: a bombing range at Port Maitland, a fuel depot at Digby, and radar detachments at Plymouth, Tusket and Bear Point, Port Mouton and Rockville.

In 1944, a detachment of the US Navy briefly came to Yarmouth to test the effectiveness of a blimp service. After a crash, the RCAF decided against this venture.

RCAF Station Yarmouth closed in 1945. The airfield was sold to the Department of Transport in 1946 and became the Yarmouth Airport.

From 1952-1969, a portion of the runways were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing.

All the RCAF buildings were moved or demolished shortly after the war, except for two hangars at the West Camp. Two other hangars that were moved off site became hockey rinks for the Towns of Digby and Liverpool. One of the remaining hangars was used for the airport emergency vehicles, a carpentry shop and storage. The other hangar was used for the airport administration offices, as well as serving as the passenger terminal for Trans Canada Airlines, later known as Air Canada. This terminal remained in use for almost forty years, before a new terminal opened at the airport. Both hangars were later demolished.

Former airport manager Robert Romkey has written a book on the complete history of Yarmouth Airport.

Source Material: The RCAF Station Yarmouth web page - www.ycn.library.ns.ca/ycn/rcaf & "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Maitland:

Opened in 1940 as a Relief Landing Field for No. 31 Operation Training Unit at Debert. As with all RLFs, the Detachment had a hangar, barracks and the standard triangle-pattern runways.

In January 1944, the Detachment changed functions when it became the home to No. 1 Aircrew Graduates Training School. No. 1 AGTS closed on 1 November 1944 and the aerodrome was abandoned.

All that remains today are the abandoned runways, now used for sports car racing, and the gunnery backstop.

Source material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Shelburne:

Opened in 1942, directly south of HMCS Shelburne, originally for the U.S. Army Air Force. The Americans decided against occupying the station, and it instead became a Detachment of No. 3 Operational Training Unit.

No. 116 (BR) Squadron began training at the station, but returned to their original home base at Botwood, NFLD in June 1943. For much of the rest of 1943, the station only saw occasional usage by No. 117 (BR) Squadron and No. 6 Coast Artilliary Co-operation Detachment. The station was taken over by the Royal Canadian Navy in 1944, but later closed.

All that remains of the station today is the sea-plane slipway.

Source material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

No. 17 Elementary Flying Training School:

Opened near Stanley on 17 March 1941 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The school closed 14 January 1944.

The aerodrome is now operated by Stanley Sport Aviation and the Bluenose Soaring Club. The N.S. Department of Lands and Forests also leases space at the airfield.

Besides the airfield, only the hangar, the officer's mess and a garage remain today. The hangar had been in use until 2002, but has now been condemned and will eventually be demolished.

Source Material: the Stanley Airfield web site - http://www.chebucto.ns.ca/Recreation/BSC/stanhist.html & information supplied by Boris de Jonge, Secretary, Bluenose Soaring Club (2002).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Sydney:

Opened in 1940 as a station for bomber reconnaissance aircraft conducting anti-submarine operations. The station closed on 31 December 1945 and three months later, the former station was turned over the Department of Transportation.

Today the former station is the Sydney Airport. Nothing remains from the airport's wartime days.

Source material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Shelburne:

Opened in December 1941 as His Majesty's Canadian Ship Shelburne, a joint Royal Canadian Navy/United States Navy acoustic sensor and oceanographic research station (aka, spy listening station). In 1944, HMCS Shelburne took over the neighbouring former RCAF Seaplane base. The station closed in 1946.

An industrial park was created out of the former Navy buildings. Twenty-four were sold, but the remainder were leased out to various companies.

By the early 1950s, the rising tensions of the Cold War resulted in many Canadaian military bases being re-opened. As early as 1950, 23 of the former Navy buldings were reaquired by the RCN. In 1955, HMCS Shelburne re-opened, although only a small portion of the wartime station was re-occupied. The station became the home of the Canadian Forces Oceanographic Operator School and as a top-secret submarine detection base, the Sound Surveillance System, run in co-operation with the U.S. Navy, who posted a detachment of USN personnel to the station.

As a result of the Unification in 1968, the station was re-named CFS Shelburne.

In the mid 1990s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed and as a result, CFS Shelburne closed on 13 March 1995. The station's oceanographic duties were taken over by CFB Halifax (Stadacona). Re-named Shelburne Park, the property was turned over to first the Shelburne Park Development Agency, then the South West Shore Development Authority who developed the property into a full-service movie studio.

The Shelburne Film Production Centre, which opened for business on 9 July 2000, features over 30,000 square feet of studio and production space.

Source material: The Shelburne Film Production Centre web site - http://www.shelburnestudios.com, "Sentinel " Magazine from February 1984, Jeff Rense web page - http://www.rense.com/general6/truthoutthere.htm, South West Shore Development Authority - http://www.swsda.com/releases/July16.html, "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak & DND press release from February 1994.

*********************************************************************

Her Majesty's Canadian Ship Protector:

Opened in Sydney on 28 August 1939, as a RCN shore establishment. The station, commissioned His Majesty's Canadian Ship Protector (HMCS) PROTECTOR, served as the home base for Atlantic convoy ships and their escorts.

The station remained open after WWII as part of the post-war RCN. In 1952, the station's name officially became Her Majesty's Canadian Ship Protector, corresponding with the ascension of Queen Elizabeth to the throne.

In the early to mid 1960s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several Army, Navy and RCAF bases were either downsized, merged or closed. As a result, HMCS Protector closed in 1965.

Little remains of the former HMCS Protector today.

Source Material: Canada's Navy - The First Century by Marc Milner, "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak & "Ships who bore the name PROTECTEUR in the Commonwealth Navies 1750-1968" - http://www.navy.dnd.ca/protecteur/about/ship_about_e.asp?category=92.

*********************************************************************

Point Edward Naval Base:

Opened by the Royal Canadian Navy on 15 March 1943, across the harbour from HMCS Protector, as a ship repair depot. The station also served as a naval recruit depot until 1943, when the recruit school re-located to HMCS Cornwallis.

After WW II, Point Edward Naval Base remained open as a part of the post-war RCN, becaming a storage for surplus naval vessels, as well as an armament and supply depot.

The Royal Canadian Sea Cadet Corps established HMCS Acadia Summer Training Centre at the Point Edward Naval Base on 30 May 1956.

In the early to mid 1960s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several Army, Navy and RCAF bases were either downsized, merged or closed. As a result, Point Edward Naval Base closed in 1964.

HMCS ACADIA was closed around the same time as the base and Sea Cadet training was then transferred to HMCS Cornwallis. However, the name HMCS Acadia wouldn't follow the cadet camp. The name HMCS Acadia was revived as the name of the Cornwallis cadet school in 1978.

In 1965, the Canadian Coast Guard College was established at the former Naval Base, and remains there today.

In 1969, the former base became the Sydport Industrial Park. All that remains today are the old workshops, used by various companies such as East Coast Lumber.

Source Material: The Crowsnest of Newfoundland - www.crowsnestnf.ca, "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak, The Royal Canadian Sea Cadets web stie - http://www.cadets.net/atl/acadia/history_e.asp & The Canadian Coast Guard College - www.cgc.gc.ca/CGC.php?l=e&m=14&p=38.

*********************************************************************

No. 6 Radar Station:

Established in 1942 as a detachment of RCAF Station Sydney, the station was responsible for tracking ships and planes over the Atlantic. The station closed on 2 September 1945.

Source Material: Louisbourg Institute web site - http://w3.uccb.ns.ca/search/VEDay.html.

*********************************************************************

Camp Amherst:

Opened at the Amherst Fairgrounds on 23 October 1939 as the home to the North Nova Scotia Highlanders. By 1941, the North Nova Scotia Highlanders re-located to Camp Debert and the camp became No. 8 Ordnance Detachment, a name that was changed to the Amherst Ordnance Depot in 1942.

The Depot closed in 1944. Only one building remains today.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

No. 61 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre (Camp Parkdale):

Oringinally opened in October 1940 as No. 61 Non-Permanent Active Militia Training Centre, but later changed to No. 61 CA(B)TC, at an old clay products plant and racetrack/fairgrounds.

The camp closed in September 1944.

All that remains of the former camp is the drill hall and a few of the barracks, but not the old racetrack.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

NUNAVUT TERRITORY


*********************************************************************

ONTARIO


Canadian Forces Base Toronto - Avenue Road Detachment:

Originally opened in 1939 as the RCAF Institute of Aviation Medicine, a military laboratory, on the grounds of the Eglington Hunt Club. The Institute's purpose was to conduct secret research on the psychological effects of combat flying. It was here that Dr. Wilbur Franks, under the direction of Sir Frederick Banting, developed the first anti-gravity flying suit and the first human centrifuge for the allied armies. The facility also doubled as the home of No. 1 Initial Training School, who moved here shortly afterwards to train recruits for the war. Administrative offices and barracks were constructed to house the school.

After WWII, the Institute became a Detachment of the newly established RCAF Station Toronto (Downsview).

In 1946, the Headquarters unit of 400 RCAF (Auxiliary) Squadron was formed at the Avenue Road Detachment. The unit remained until 1964 when it moved to RCAF Station Downsview to join the flying section of the squadron. Also at the Avenue Road Detachment were the RCAF Personnel Applied Research Unit, part of the Aircrew Selection Unit at RCAF Station Downsview, the Flying Personnel Medical Establishment and the Institute of Aviation Medicine.

The RCAF Staff School, re-named the Canadian Forces Staff School after 1968, occupied space at the Detachment from 1959 - 1994. The Army's Toronto District Headquarters, formed at Moss Park Armoury in 1970, moved to the Avenue Road Detachment in the mid-1980s and remained until it again moved to Downsview in 1994.

The Avenue Road Detachment closed on 30 June 1994. The Marshall McLuhan Catholic Secondary School currently occupies the former administrative building, extensively renovated and expanded, one of only two buildings that remain. The other, a pre-WWII building, has been converted into condominiums.

The only indicators to the property's past is an old section of fence on the eastern edge of the property that still has a "DND - Do Not Trespass" sign; a sign that is almost completely hidden behind a new wooden fence separating the former detachment and a private residence.

As an interesting historical note, the nosecone section of Avro Arrow RL-206, currently on display at the National Aviation Museum, was smuggled out of the Avro Aircraft plant in Malton and hidden at the Avenue Road Detachment for many years. The Commanding Officer of the Flying Personnel Medical Establishment, Wing Commander Roy Stubbs, provides this prologue to the former aircraft:

"One day after a change of government, the new RCAF Chief of the Air Staff came to inspect our facilities and programs and after lunch, I asked if he would like to see something special. I showed him a piece of the Arrow; cockpit section and engine nacelles and a few other bits. I asked him what we should do with it and he said to keep it hidden until the climate in Ottawa was right, and then he would arrange to have it placed in the National Aeronautical Museum in Ottawa. Eventually this was done and at least a bit of history was saved."

Source Material: DND Press release from August 1988, the Toronto Military Family Resource Centre web site - http://www.pathcom.com/~tmfrc/, 8 Wing Trenton's web site - http://www.8wing.trenton.dnd.ca/archives/news110897.htm, "The Downsview Family Tree. - A Historical Summary of the Downsview Lands" by Wayne Kelly (1998), the personal recollections of the author (1999 & 2004), information provided by the Western Canada Aviation Museum (2003) & "The Garrison" newspaper from March 1995.

*********************************************************************

Leaside Aerodrome:

Opened in early 1917 by the Royal Flying Coprs, one of three in the Toronto area, for training of pilots, mechanics and maintenance crews, as well as the School of Artillery Cooperation. Located on 220 acres of land between the present Wicksteed and Eglinton Avenues, the aerodrome featured nine hangars, instructional and repair buildings, a mess hall and a hospital building. Student pilots received instruction on the basics of flight, aerial reconnaissance and aerial combat.

Leaside also has the distinction of being the final destination for the first air-mail flight in Canada.

After the World War I, the airfield was taken over by the Toronto Flying Club, making it the first flying club in Canada to have their own aerodrome. The club used the airfield until it closed in 1931.

Nothing remains of the aerodrome today, the last hangar having been demolished in 1971. The Leaside Business Park and a housing Development curently occupy the site of the former aerodrome.

On another historic note, the Leaside Aerodrome was also the starting point of the first "Air-mail" delivery in 1918, with a final destination of Montreal. A plaque commemorating this event sits at the corner of Broadway and Brentcliffe, formerly the north-west end of the airfield.

Source Material: the Lost Rivers web site - http://www.lostrivers.ca/points/air.htm, the National Archives of Canada - http://www.archives.ca/05/0518/05180203/0518020303_e.html, information provided by Jane Pitfield, Councillor, City of Toronto (2005), the Leaside Business Park Association - http://www.leasidebusinesspark.com & the personal recollections of the author (2004).

*********************************************************************

Long Branch Aerodrome:

The Long Branch Aerodrome has the distinction of being the first Aerodrome in Canada and home to the first flying training school. The aerodrome, situated on a 100 acre property on Lakeshore Road, just west of Dixie Road in Mississauga, opened on 20 May 1915 by Curtiss Aeroplanes and Motors Company for the Royal Flying Corps. Aircraft such as the Curtiss JN-4 soon became a common sight at the airfield, which included 3 aircraft hangars.

In January 1917, the newly designated Royal Flying Corps, Canada, the forerunner to the Royal Canadian Air Force, opened the RFC Training Centre at Long Branch. The Long Branch training centre also provided instruction on flying boats at nearby Hanlon's Point in Toronto Harbour, the first seaplane base in Canada.

By July 1917, the flight school re-located to the Armour Heights Aerodrome. Long Branch became the Cadet Ground Training School for the Royal Flying Corps. Both the school and the aerodrome closed in 1919.

Not the slightest trace remains of the airfield today. From 1962 - 2005, the property was Ontario Power Generation's Lakeview Generating Station. The only remnants of the aerodrome's facilities are the water tower, a concrete wall (possibly one the backstop for the small arms range) and some wooden walls (possibly part of an obstacle course).

In September 1969, a plaque was erected at the site to commemorate Canada's first Aerodrome.

Source Material: http://www.waynecook.com/apeel.html - Historic Plaques of Peel, information provided by Eric Gibson, The Mississauga Heritage Foundation (2004), the personal recollections of Tim Baetz, resident of Midland area (2004), "History of Canadian Airports" by T. M. McGrath, Ontario Power Generation web site - www.opg.com/ops/lakeviewfinal.pdf & the personal recollections of the author (2004).

*********************************************************************

Beamsville Aerodrome:

Opened in early 1918 on a 282 acre property by the Royal Flying Corps as the home of the School of Aerial Fighting and the School of Aerial Gunnery. The aerodrome had 12 hangars for it's fleet of aircraft. The schools closed in March 1919.

The aerodrome continued to be used as a civilian airfield through to the 1930's.

In 1942, the RCAF considered re-acitvating the Beamsville aerodrome as a Relief Landing Field for No. 9 EFTS at St. Chatharines, but this never came to be.

All that remains of the former aerodrome is one hangar, slightly modified with new siding a small additon and one administrative building, both now occupied by Global Horticultural Inc.

Source Material: "History of Canadian Airports" by T. M. McGrath, informaition supplied by Global Horticultural Inc. - http://www.globalhort.com (2005) & the personal recollections of the author (2005).

*********************************************************************

Rathburn Aerodrome:

Royal Flying Corps camp opened during WWI. One partial hangar remains today, converted into a private residence.

Source Material: "History of Canadian Airports" by T. M. McGrath. *********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Hamilton:

Opened west of Mount Hope on 9 June 1941 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan as the home to two schools: No. 33 Air Navigation School, which trained air navigators, air gunners and telegraphers, and No. 10 Service Flying Training School.

No. 10 SFTS re-located to Pendleton in 1942, while No. 33 ANS continued operations until it closed on 6 October 1944.

With the end of the war, activity at the station was greatly reduced and most of the RCAF Squadrons re-located elsewhere. However, RCAF Station Hamilton was to play an important role in the post-war RCAF.

424 (Light Bomber) Squadron (Auxiliary), remained and the Hamilton Aero Club took up residence in several vacant buildings. The Royal Canadian Naval Reserve's No. 1 Training Air Group began flying training at RCAF Station Hamilton in 1949 for members of HMCS STAR's Air Arm. No. 16 Wing (Auxiliary) was formed to serve as the parent unit for the Hamilton area RCAF Auxiliary squadrons.

On 1 October 1950, the RCAF established No. 2424 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron (Auxiliary) to train reserve personnel for duties at Pinetree Line radar stations, with a Detachment at the James Street Armoury in downtown Hamilton. A year later, control of No. 2424 AC & W Squadron fell under Air Defence Command. Slowly, however, RCAF Station Hamilton was being converted to civilian use. By the mid 1950s, two thirds of the air traffic at the airfield was civilian.

In the early to mid 1960s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several Army, Navy and RCAF bases were either downsized, merged or closed. As a result, RCAF Station Hamilton closed in 1964. No. 16 Wing and No. 2424 AC & W Squadron disbanded. Today, 16 Wing Borden carries on its predecessor's traditions.

For many years afterwards, the airport was known as the Mount Hope Airport. Today, as the John C. Munro Hamilton International Airport, it is a premier centre for passenger and cargo air traffic. Some of the tenants at the airport are the Piper Flite Centre, the Hamilton Flying club, Glandford Aviation and WestJet.

All of the World War II era hangars and one H-hut, now occupied by 447 RCAF Wing remain. Anyone who served at the old school would hardly even recognize the place. The airport's military heritage is kept alive by the Hamilton International Air Show each year and by the presence of the Canadian Warplane Heritage Museum (www.warplane.com).

Source Material: The Hamilton Airport web site - http://www.hamiltonairport.com/index.shtml, "HMCS STAR - A Naval Reserve History" by Commander Robert J. Williamson, CD, Commanding Officer, HMCS STAR - 1985-1988, the personal recollections of the author (1998) & "Wings For Victory" - The Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada, by Spencer Dunmore.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station London:

Originally opened at the Crumlin Airport on 24 June 1940 as the home of No. 3 Elementary Flying Training School and No. 4 Air Observer School of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The expansion of No. 4 AOS necessitated the closing of No. 3 EFTS on 3 July 1942. By the time No. 4 AOS closed in December 1944, 4439 students had graduated from the school.

RCAF Station Crumlin would remain open after WWII, eventually becoming part of the post-war RCAF. Several RCAF Auxiliary would be formed at RCAF Station Crumlin, including 420 (Fighter) Squadron of the RCAF Auxiliary, in September 1948 (remaining until disbanding in September 1956), 22 Wing (Auxiliary) and 2420 AC&WS, both in 1956, as well as 4004 Medical Unit and 3049 Technical Training Unit of the RCAF Auxiliary.

Sometime after WWII, the name of the station changed to RCAF Station London.

RCAF Station London would also become the home of the Officers Selection Centre, the NATO Training & Induction School (in 1950) and No. 1 Officers School (in 1951). The NATO school re-located to RCAF Station Centralia in 1954.

Decreasing requirements for pilot training lead to the closure of RCAF Station London closed in 1958. The former station is now the London International Airport. Only one WWII era hangar remains today.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak, "History of Canadian Airports" by T. M. McGrath & the personal recollections of the author (2001).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Centralia:

Originally opened in July 1942 when No. 9 Service Flying Training School re-located from Summerside, PEI. Relief Landing Fields were constructed at Grand Bend and St. Joseph. The school closed 30 March 1945.

The station itself also closed briefly, but later re-opened as RCAF Station Centralia.

In the early to mid 1960s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several Army, Navy and RCAF bases were either downsized, merged or closed. As a result, RCAF Station Centralia closed again on 31 March 1967, but this time for good.

Most of the former station remains as it was the day it closed and now known as the Huron Industrial Park and Centralia International Academy. The airfield remains in use as the Centralia Airport. The Royal Canadian Air Cadets Central Region Gliding School operates one of eight summer Regional Gliding Centre at the airport.

On the weekend of 5-7 June 1992, a monument was dedicated the men and women who served at the both the war-time school and RCAF Station Centralia by the Royal Canadian Legion Branch #167.

RCAF Detachment St. Joseph closed after the war and no longer exists.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak, the Grand Bend Motorplex web page - http://www.grandbendmotorplex.com, the personal recollections of the author (2001) & "The Canada Flight Supplement 1999".

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Clinton:

Established by the Royal Air Force in 1941, as the home to the No. 31 Radio Direction Finding School (No. 31 RDF), a part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. As RADAR was a strickly guarded secret at that time, RCAF Station Clinton was listed as a communication training facility.

In July 1943, No. 31 RDF closed and No. 5 Radio School was formed in its place by the Royal Canadian Air Force. The station was re-named RCAF Station Clinton.

In June 1944, No 5 Radio School was transferred to the RCAF's Home War Operations Training command.

RCAF Station Clinton remained open at the end of the Second World War, becoming part of the post-war RCAF. In November 1945, Clinton became home to the No. 1 Radar and Communications School (No. 1 R&CS), which maintained a detachment at nearby RCAF Station Centralia.

RCAF Station Clinton was also home to other units, including No. 12 Examination Unit, No. 1 Air Radio Officer School, School of Food Services, and the Aerospace Enginering Officer School.

As a result of the Unification, RCAF Station Clinton was re-named Canadian Forces Base Clinton.

In the early to mid 1960s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several Army, Navy and RCAF bases were either downsized, merged or closed. CFB Clinton was one that was marked for closure.

CFB Clinton closed on 30 August 1971. The Canadian Forces Radar and Communications School re-located to CFB Kingston.

Today, the former base is known as the Village of Vanastra. Most of the base remain, but some parts are abandoned, with the buildings crumbling.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak, the personal recollections of the author (1997 & 2004).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Grand Bend:

Opened in 1942 as a Relief Landing Fields for No. 9 Service Flying Training School at RCAF Station Centralia.

RCAF Detachment Grand Bend remained open after World War II as Centralia's relief field. With the reformation of the Flying Control Branch in early 1951, RCAF Detachment Grand Bend also served as the home to No. 1 Flying Control School from 1951-1957.

In 1961, the Detachment was briefly handed to the Canadian Army for their use, but by 1962, it was back in RCAF hands. RCAF Detachment Grand Bend closed in 1963.

Today, very little remains from the RCAF Days. The Grand Bend Motorplex uses one of the three runways and the taxi area as a drag racing track. The remainder of the airfield operates as the Grand Bend Airport, utilized by the Grand Bend Sport Parachuting Center. The only building that remains is the hangar, with the control tower perched on top.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak, the Grand Bend Motorplex web page - http://www.grandbendmotorplex.com, the personal recollections of the author (2001), Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RCAF_Detachment_Grand_Bend, Air Traffic Control web site - http://www.rcaf-atc.org & "The Canada Flight Supplement 1999".

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Aylmer:

Originally opened on 3 July 1941 as No. 14 Service Flying Training School, under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. Relief Landing Fields were constructed at St. Thomas and Tillsonburg.

The Woman's Division Service Police School was also established at Aylmer in 1942.

No. 14 SFTS re-located to Kingston in August 1944.

No. 1 Flight Engineer School was formed at the station on 1 July 1944. This school closed on 31 March 1945.

The station was re-named RCAF Station Aylmer and remained open after World War II, becoming an important and very busy part of the post-war RCAF. Aylmer served as a Technical Training Centre for support and maintenance trades, including the RCAF Technical and Engineering School (later redesignated No. 1 Technical Training School or TTS) (April 1945 - May 1955), Academic Training School (May 1949 - Oct. 1950), Composite Training School, No. 11 Examination Unit (Sept. 1951 - Nov. 1952), the Aeronautical Engineering School (June 1952 - Nov. 1953), the RCAF Ground Control Approach School (1953 - 1957), the RCAF Fire-Fighting School (1951 - 1961) and the Support Services School (1960).

No. 2 Manning Depot and No. 1 Personnel Selection Unit (PSU) were located at Aylmer from 1949 - 1950.

RCAF Station Aylmer closed in 1961. The former station was taken over the following year by the Ontario Government, who established the Ontario Police College at the site.

Until the mid 1970s, most of the original building remained in use by staff and police recruits.

Today, all that remains of the former RCAF Station Aylmer are 2 hangars, one re-sided in metal and the other bricked over. Most of the airfield also remains, although it is rapidly crumbling (some parts have already been obliterated). Only the taxi area of the airfield remains completely intact, now used as part of the police vehicle driver training track. A memorial sits at the main entrance to the college as a tribute to the airmen and airwomen who served at No. 14 SFTS and RCAF Station Aylmer.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak & the personal recollections of the author (2000).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Tillsonburg:

Opened as a Relief Landing Field for No. 14 SFTS at Aylmer, the aerodrome had three 2,600 ft. grass runways in a standard triangular pattern. The aerodrome also served as a Radio Navigation Training School. The end of World War II saw the closure of many RCAF stations, but RCAF Detachment Tillsonburg would remain open until 1948, when the RCAF finally withdrew.

From 1949 until 1973, Hicks & Lawrence Limited, run by Merv Hicks and Tom Lawrence, operated a flying school, aerial spraying and agricultural operation from the airport. In 1973, the Town of Tillsonburg took control of the Airport. All of the RCAF buildings were torn down. The Town paved the primary runway, built a terminal building, aircraft hangars and fuel facilities. Three additional hangars were added in the early 1980s One prominent tenant at the Tillsonburg Airport is the Canadian Harvard Aircraft Association, preserving the memory of this RCAF training aircraft.

Source Material: The Town of Tillsonburg web site - http://www.town.tillsonburg.on.ca/airport.asp & information provided by former Hicks & Lawrence employee Rick Lee (2004).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment St. Thomas:

Opened in 1941 as a Relief Landing Field for No. 14 SFTS at Aylmer and No. 4 Bombing & Gunnery School at Fingal. The aerodrome had such amenities as a small hospital, barracks, maintenance facilities and a small hanger.

The end of World War II saw the closure of many RCAF stations, but RCAF Detachment St. Thomas would remain open until 1948, when the RCAF finally withdrew.

The airport then became the St. Thomas Municipal Airport. The east-west runway was extended from 3,000 to 5,050 ft in 1982.

Of the original war-time buildings, only the hangar remains, still pretty much as it was back then. One of the Tenants is the St. Thomas Flight Centre.

Source Material: St. Thomas Flight Centre - http://www.learntofly.on.ca/CYQSAirport.htm & information provided by Dale B. Arndt, Airport Superintendent (2004).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Carp:

Opened in 1940 as a Relief Landing Field for No. 2 SFTS at Uplands (Ottawa). The RCAF abandoned the aerodrome in 1945.

In May 1946, the former staiton was taken over by Huntley township and became the Carp Airport, a local commercial airport.

In 2003, a proposal was made to turn the Carp Airport into a multimillion-dollar industrial park with a nearby residential flying community. Also in 2003, the Carp Airport was used as the training grounds for the RCMP's new Sky Marshall Service.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak, the Ottawa Business Journal web site - http://www.ottawabusinessjournal.com/302779236314434.php, "History of Canadian Airports" by T.M. McGrath & the personal recollections of the author (2000).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Edwards:

Opened in 1940 as a Relief Landing Field for No. 2 SFTS at Uplands (Ottawa). The aerodrome closed in 1945 and no longer exists today.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

No. 10 Elementary Flying Training School (Pendleton):

Originally opened at Mount Hope, the school re-located to Pendleton in 1942. A Relief Landing Field was constructed near Limoges. The school closed in 1945.

The Gatineu Gliding Club, originally founded in 1942 in the Gatineau hills, north of Ottawa, moved to Pendleton airfield in 1950. The club officially purchased the airfield in 1961.

The original triangle-pattern runways still exist, although some are crumbling. As well, several of the original WWII buildings and the main hangar remain today.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak & the Gatineu Gliding Club web site - http://www.gatineauglidingclub.ca.

*********************************************************************

No. 12 Elementary Flying Training School:

Opened on 14 October 1940 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan at the Sky Harbour Airport near Goderich to train RCAF and RAF pilots. In the summer of 1943, the school switched to training pilots from the Royal Navy's Fleet Air Arm. The school closed on 14 July 1944.

Source Material: the personal recollections of the author (2001), "The Legacy" newsletter, published by the Huron County Museum & "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Limoges:

Opened in 1942 as a Relief Landing Field for the No. 10 Elementary Air Training School near Pendleton. The airfield was located on Concession 11, lots 21, 22 and 23 in Clarence Township.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada - Volume 1: Ontario" by Paul Orzorak.

*********************************************************************

No. 13 Elementary Flying Training School:

Opened near St. Eugene on 28 October 1940 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, with a Relief Landing Field located at Hawksbury. The school moved to St. Jean, Quebec in 1945.

The only remnants of RCAF Detachment Hawkesbury is the outline of the cross-runway.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada - Volume 1: Ontario" by Paul Orzorak.

*********************************************************************

Edenvale Transmitter Station (RCAF Detachment Edenvale):

Opened in October 1941 on Lots 13, 14 & 15, Concession 10 in Sunnidale Township as the No. 1 Relief Landing Field for No. 1 Service Flying Training School at RCAF Station Camp Borden, a part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. RCAF Detachment Edenvale consisted of three 3000 ft asphalt runways and a total of 12 buildings including a single hangar and barracks, airmen's mess and administration building.

Edenvale had its first recorded landing on 8 August 1941, even before the Detachment was fully operational.

Due to construction at No. 1 SFTS at Camp Borden, No. 2 Squadron of the SFTS had to find new accommodations, so they were sent to Edenvale. Soon the sound of Harvards buzzed through the air.

The Detachment was also the site of the Advanced Tactical Training Unit, a sub-unit of No. 1 SFTS, which conducted bombing training. Students spent 3 weeks at the ATU, living in the original farmhouse on the property, while the instructors stayed in the barracks.

Training at Edenvale ceased in February 1945, although a small caretaker staff remained behind. The last recorded flying operation at Edenvale was an accident at the field on 9 August 1945. Edenvale was formally closed 10 September 1945.

Some RCAF airfields became, or reverted to municipal airports, like the Oshawa Airport, the Kingston Airport and even Pearson International Airport in Toronto. Other airfields, like RCAF Detachment Edenvale, were simply abandoned.

Several proposals for usage of the aerodrome were bounced around. RCAF Station Camp Borden indicated that they wanted to use the site for storage of flying club aircraft and the Barrie Flying Club also expressed interest in the aerodrome for club flying, but none appear to have materialized.

On 17 January 1946, Edenvale was turned over to the Department of Transport, with an agreement that the RCAF could use it as a relief field.

In 1950, the former RCAF Detachment Edenvale was sold to Summervale Farms.

Also in 1950, the site came back to life as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing, organized by the Canadian Automobile Sports Club. Known at various times as the Stayner Speedway and the Edenvale Raceway, the former airfield continued in this capacity until 1959, when it was once again abandoned.

In 1962, the site was re-activated by the Canadian Army as a remote radio communications station for Camp Borden. A single level underground bunker was constructed beside one of the old runways for communications personnel, a smaller version of the Provincial Government's Emergency Operations Centre Bunker at Borden. Personnel from Royal Canadian Corps of Signals, and post-Unification 700 Communications Squadron, staffed the facility. The bunker was vacated in 1988 and finally closed in 1994 when once again, the property was abandoned.

In 2002, Toronto businessman Milan Kroupa purchased Lots 13 & 14 from the Federal Government (Lot 15, where the RCAF buildings, hangar and the taxiway once sat remains owned by other interests). By 2004, the old aerodrome came back to life when Kroupa opened his newest business venture, the Edenvale Flying Club (www.edenflight.com). Initially only runway 08-26, the east-west runway, was re-opened and a new 50" x 150" x 14" steel-sided hangar was built alongside.

In 2006, 2 new hangars were constructed proving 40 new spaces for aircraft. In 2009, a new paved 4500 foot runway opened opened alongside one of the original abandoned runways. A 17,000 square foot manufacturing facility was also build on the west edge of the property. Future plans will see the construction of a residential fly-in community of houses adjacent to the air field. As well, a hotel, fine dining restaurant and rental car service is expected for 2012.

Other than the airfield, very little remains of the former RCAF Detachment Edenvale today. The roadways and the hangar pad also remain, but all other RCAF buildings were either demolished or re-located. The pumping station was moved to Cannington and the hangar to Collingwood. Nine other buildings were sold to a neighbouring farmer.

For many years, the original farmhouse was the Sweetbriar Lodge Nursing home, but it now serves as the administration building for the Edenvale Flying Club. The communications bunker also remains, but was sealed up in the late 1990s.

The Edenvale Radio Control Flyers Club (www.edenvaleflyers.ca) uses a small section of abandoned runway on the west side fo the property for flying model aircraft.

Source Material: Edenvale Radio Control Flyers Club web site - www3.sympatico.ca/fhybrmodels, "Bunkers, Bunkers Everywhere" by Paul Ozorak, "The Barrie Examiner", dated 9 May 1940 pgs 1 & 8, the personal recollections of Ken Copeland, CFB Borden (2001), the personal recollections of Robert Biggs, CFB Borden (2001), the personal recollections of Flying Officer Laurie Sutherland, RCAF (Ret'd) (2002), the personal recollections of the author (2000 - 2005), information supplied by Milan Kroupa, Edenvale Flying Club - www.edenflight.com (2004) & the Canadian Racer web page - www.motorsportscentral.com/edenvale.asp.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Alliston:

Opened in July 1940 near the village of Alliston (Lots 6, 7 & 8, Concession 11, Tecumseth Twp), this small aerodrome served as the No. 2 Relief Landing Field for No. 1 SFTS at RCAF Station Camp Borden. The airfield at RCAF Detachment Alliston consisted of 3 runways in a standard triangular pattern, but unlike RCAF Detachment Edenvale, they were compressed grass runways and there were no lights for night landings.

The end of WWI RCAF Detachment Alliston was abandoned. The former aerodrome was sold and returned to its original function as farmland.

Today, not the slightest trace remains of RCAF Detachment Alliston.

Source Material: "The Barrie Examiner" dated 9 May 1940 pg 1 & 8, "The Alliston Herald" 2 May 1940, the personal recollections of the author (2003) & "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

Leach's Field:

In the late 1920s, the Royal Canadian Air Force approached farmer John Leach about developing an auxiliary landing strip in one of his fields, to be used in conjunction with the flying training school at RCAF Station Camp Borden. The L-shaped airstrip was pretty rudimentary. It was simply a pasture field with no actual construction going into creating it. Unlike some aerodromes that had turf runways, the "runways" at Leach's Field utilized the existing ground surface. The airfield was essentially the farm-lane leading west from County Road 10 into the field and up to a flat strip of land that made up the north-south section of the "airfield".

Leach's Field was not used very often, but was essentially a practice airfield that also doubled as an emergency landing site. There were no hangars or aviation facilities of any kind. John Leach still used the field for grazing his livestock, although he was required to have the animals off the field by 8 o'clock in the morning.

Provisional Pilot Officers (pilot trainees) primarily used this airstrip for touch-and-go flying, which is where the pilot comes down as if to land and then lifts off again just prior to touching the ground. When pilots did land, they had to be careful to stay on the "runways". One unfortunate pilot who landed at Leach's Field in April, when the ground was still soft, found himself stuck when he steered his airplane off the "runway". John Leach hitched up a team of horses to the airplane and pulled it out, saving the pilot the embarrassment (and possible ridicule) of having to contact a recovery crew from Camp Borden, which was the proper procedure.

During World War II, Leach's Field was used very briefly for air gunnery target practice, with camera guns being used instead of real guns.

Although the Federal Government had taken a 90 year lease on Leach's Field, the Royal Canadian Air Force ceased using the field sometime in the early 1950s. Today, absolutely nothing exists to indicate that the land was once used as an airfield. Even the late John Leach's house and farm buildings are gone; replaced by modern buildings.

Source material: a local resident of the Alliston area (2007).

*********************************************************************

Brentwood Transmitter Site:

Opened in the early 1960s along with the bunker at Camp Borden, the site consisted of a single steel frame building and several transmitter towers. The site closed in early 1988. All that remains is the building, eerily empty.

Source Material: the personal recollections of the author (2001), the personal recollections of Ken Copeland, CFB Borden (2001) & "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

No. 20 Elementary Flying Training School:

Opened in June 1941 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. Student flyers used Tiger Moth aircraft and were trained by civilian instructors from the Oshawa, Kingston, and Brant-Norfolk flying clubs. A relief landing field was located at Whitby.

The school closed in December 1944. The airport is still in use as the Oshawa Airport.

All that remains are 2 former administaration buildings, a quonset hut and a shed, which now houses the R. Stuart Aviation Museum.

*********************************************************************

No. 5 Service Flying Training School:

Opened near Brantford on 11 November 1940 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan to train Air Force bomber and transport pilots. The school closed on 3 November 1944 having graduated 2143 pilots.

No. 4 Reserve Equipment Maintenance Unit was established on the site to hold surplus war equipment, but closed in 1946. The site is now the Brantford Municipal Airport.

Only three of No. 5 SFTS's hangars remain today. All the other buildings have long since been demolished. Part of the former school is occupied by the Blue Bird Coach Lines terminal.

Source Material: the personal recollections of the author (2001) & (2004) & "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

No. 6 Service Flying Training School:

Opened on 5 November 1940 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan near Dunnville. No. 6 SFTS closed on 1 December 1944, but the station continued to be used by the RCAF as a repair depot until it closed in 1964. The station then briefly became a storage depot before the RCAF finally withdrew.

For the next 30 years, the former airbase was owned by Cold Springs Turkey Farm.

On 8 July 2000, Businessmen Vic Powell and Dan Silverthorne re-opened the former aerodrome as the Dunnville Airport. Tenants include No. 6 RCAF Association and Museum, Dunnville Flight School, Rockett Lumber, Niagara Skydive, G. McFeeters Enterprises and Waterford Crushing & Screening. All the barracks are long gone, but all the hangars and several other buildings remain. Only runways 05-23 & 27-60 remain in use.

In July 2004, the lower portion of the airfield near the hangars was turned into a race track, named the Dunnville Autodrome.

The No. 6 RCAF Dunville Museum opened at the airport on 5 July 2004, preserving the memory of the RCAF in Dunnville.

Source Material: the Dunnville Airport web site - www.dunnvilleairport.com, the personal recollections of the author (2001) & "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Welland:

Opened in 1940 at Welland as the No. 1 Relief Landing Field for No. 6 SFTS. The aerodrome closed in 1944.

The former school is now the Welland-Port Colbourne Airport. Only the hangar and the airfield remain today. No. 87 Royal Canadian Air Cadet Squadron holds their weekly training at the aerodrome and The Royal Canadian Air Cadets Central Region Gliding School operates one of eight summer Regional Gliding Centre at the airport.

Source Material: the Dunnville Airport web site - www.dunnvilleairport.com, the personal recollections of the author (2001) & (2004) & "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

No. 16 Service Flying Training School:

Opened on 8 August 1941 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan near Hagersville, with Relief Landing Fields at Kohler and Dufferin. No. 16 SFTS closed on 30 March 1945. The station was taken over by the Army on 21 September 1940.

Camp Hagersville, as it was re-named, was used by the Royal Canadian Electrical Mechanical Engineer Corps as a maintenance facility and the Royal Canadian Ordnance Corps as a depot facility.

In 1961, the camp was also designated the Target Area Headquarters (a nuclear contingency plan) for the Hamilton area.

In the early to mid 1960s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several Army, Navy and RCAF bases were either downsized, merged or closed. As a result, Camp Hagersville closed in 1964.

The former camp is now the White Oaks Industrial Park. All the hangars, the drill hall and the PMQs remain. The abandoned and crumbling airfield and the gunnery backstop also remain.

RCAF Detachment Kohler also closed in 1945. Today the former aerodrome has two new occupants: the Haldimand Agriculture Centre, which is housed in the only remaining H-hut and the Toronto Motorsports Park, which uses old airfield as a drag strip.

Nothing remains of RCAF Detachment Dufferin.

Source Material: the personal recollections of the author (1997) & (2005), the Toronto Motorsports Park web site - http://www.torontomotorsportspark.com & "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Mohawk:

Originally opened in early 1917 on a 350 acre property by the Royal Flying Corps as as a training school. After WWI, the aerodrome remained in use as a civilian airport.

With the outbreak of WWII, the aerodrome was taken over by the RCAF for use as and Instrument Flying School and as the No. 1 Relief Landing Field for the Central Flying School at RCAF Station Trenton.

After WWII, the aerodrome reverted back to a civilian airport, although the RCAF would continue to use the airfield for drone testing until 1953.

Today the site is known as the Mowhawk Airport. Several of the WWII-era buildings remain, including two hangars, the maintenance garage and two other buildings. One of the tenants at the airport is the Mowhawk Bus Lines.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak, "History of Canadian Airports" by T.M. McGrath & the personal recollections of the author (2004).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Gananoque:

Opened as a Relief Landing Field No. 31 SFTS in 1940. The Detachment closed in September 1945.

Today, the airport is operated by the Gananoque Sport Parachuting Club. Only the airfield, with crumbling sections, and the hangar with the control tower perched atop, remain today.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak & the personal recollections of the author (2004).

*********************************************************************

No. 4 Bombing and Gunnery School:

Opened near Fingal on 25 November 1940 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The school also consisted of bombing ranges were located near Dutton, Melbourne, Frome and on Lake Erie (which also had a gunnery range), and a Marine Section at Port Stanley.

By the time the school closed on 17 February 1945, more than 6000 aircrewmen had graduated from the school.

The aerodrome then became No. 9 Surplus Equipment Holding Unit, for the storage and disposal of surplus aircraft. The Depot closed in the early 1960's and the RCAF finally withdrew.

In 1965, the Federal Government sold the land to the Ontario Department of Lands and Forests, now the Ministry of Natural Resources, as a wildlife management area.

Today, very little remains of the former station. Scattered amongst the trees and vegetation are the concrete pads from the firehall and hangar 7, two fire hydrants and the concrete remains of 4 incinerators and the guardhouse. The old roadways and the runways, now devoid of the asphalt, are walking trails.

In 1992, a commemorative plaque was dedicated at the site to the men and women who served at the wartime school.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak, War Monuments in Canada web site - http://www.cdli.ca/monuments/on/sheddengun.htm & the Fingal Wildlife Management web site - http://www.naturallyelgin.org/fwma.shtml.

*********************************************************************

No. 31 Air Navigation School:

Opened by the RAF near Port Albert on 18 November 1940 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The school closed on 17 February 1945.

Only the abandoned airfield, the incinerator building & some fencing remain today.

Source Material: "The Canada Flight Supplement 1999", the personal recollections of the author (2001) & "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Gloucester:

Opened in 1943 as Gloucester Naval Radio Station, it served as a wireless-intercept station and a training station for members of the Royal Canadian Navy's Special Communications Branch.

The station was re-named HMCS Gloucester in 1950 and CFS Gloucester in 1966.

The station was closed in 1972 as part of the plan to centralize communications training at CFB Kingston.

All that remains of the former station today is the recreation centre, the sports field and the abandoned roadway in the PMQ area. The recreation centre bulding now houses the Royal Canadian Legion Branch 627 and 2951 Royal Canadian Army Cadet Corps.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak and the personal recollecitons of the author (2006).

*********************************************************************

No. 3 Flight Instructor School:
Opened near Arnprior in 1942, with a Relief Landing Field located at Pontiac, Quebec. The station closed in 1944.

Today the former school is the Arnprior Airport (formerly the South Renfrew Municipal Airport). Several of the WWII era buildings remain.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak and informaiton supplied by Daniel Lynch, Arnprior Airport (2006).

*********************************************************************

Ipperwash Range and Training Area:

Originally opened on 28 January 1942 on the shore of Lake Huron adjacent to Ipperwash Provincial Park as A29 Canadian Infantry Training Centre. In a contentious move, the land was expropriated by the Department of National Defence from the Chippewas of Stoney Point First Nation. Barracks, messes, drill halls and administrative buildings and a firing range were constructed at the camp.

When A29 CITC ceased operations in 1945, DND indicated it was willing to return the majority of the expropriated land, leasing back parts of the camp still required for training, but this deal fell through. As a result, Camp Ipperwash remained open as a training centre for the Regular Force, Reserves, as well as the summer home of the Central Command Cadet Camp, established in 1948.

During the Korean War, Camp Ipperwash served as the Home station for the 2nd Canadian Rifle Battalion, later re-named The Queens Own Rifles of Canada. The 4th Battalion, Canadian Guards, were posted to Ipperwash from 1954 until disbanded in 1957.

The Unification of the Forces in 1968 saw Camp Ipperwash retain its name, unlike many other bases that were re-named Canadian Forces Base or Canadian Forces Station (CFS). During the 1970s, activity at Camp Ipperwash was greatly reduced and was re-designated the Ipperwash Range and Training Area. The Army Cadet Summer Training Centre re-located to CFB Borden in 1984.

Members of the Kettle and Stony Point First Nation Band, from whom the land had been expropriated during WWII, began an occupation of the camp in May 1993, setting up tents on the firing ranges.

Training at Camp Ipperwash ceased the same year, but a caretaker staff remained until 29 July 1995, when the Army withdrew from the camp.

On 18 June 1998, the Canadian Government officially returned the land the Stony Point Native Band.

Most of the camp's World War II era "temporary" buildings remain, some still occupied by Stony Point Native Band and some in better condition than others.

Source Material: "The Royal Canadian Army Service Corps Yearbook" - 1961, DND press release from February 1994, Reuters News Service 18 June 1998, the RCAC web site - http://www.reocities.com/Heartland/Plains/1390/rcacchistory.html, Department of Indian And Northern Affairs News Release of 18 June 1998, http://www.reocities.com/nsatqk/1971-1979.html, "CHRONOLOGY RETURN OF FORMER CAMP IPPERWASH LANDS" - http://www.ainc-inac.gc.ca/nr/prs/m-a1998/RFCIL.html, Army Cadet Summer Camp web site - http://www.hsbcadets.ca/ge_Ipperwash.htm, the personal recollections of the author (2001), "Sixty Years of War - The Official History of the Canadian Army in World War II Volume 1" by Colonel C.P. Stacey and "The Garrison" newspaper from March 1995.

*********************************************************************

Camp Niagara:

One of Ontario's oldest Military establishments, the camp was originally opened in 1814 as Butler's Barracks. The site continued to be used as a training camp over the years.

During World War II, the camp was used as a training centre for various regiments in the Hamilton Niagara Peninsula Command, as well as the Canadian Provost Corps' No. 84 Military Detention Barracks.

The camp closed after World War II, but was re-activated in 1953 as a Militia training camp. The camp was re-christened with it's historic name - Butler's Barracks.

The camp closed in 1967. The former camp is now the Butler's Barracks National Historic Site.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Volume I - Ontario" by Paul Ozarak.

*********************************************************************

Special Training School #103 (Camp X) / No. 2 Oshawa Wireless Station:

Despite the current mission in Afghanistan, many Canadians still think of Canada as a "peacekeeper nation". Our military personnel have served or are currently serving on numerous missions world-wide as members of United Nations and NATO peacekeeping forces. However, during the Second World War, Canada played a significant role in many aspects of the war effort and distinguished itself in numerous battles and campaigns during the war. Not well publicised though, was Canada's contribution to "Secret War": Camp X.

In 1940, Great Britain and the Commonwealth were on the brink of defeat. The United States had not yet entered war and it was looking very grim for the Allied Forces. The Royal Air Force had fought a brave battle, The Battle of Britain, and held off a German invasion of the British Isles, but defeat at the hands of the Nazi war machine was a very real possibility. British Prime Minister Sir Winston Churchill saw what was happening and decided something had to be done. He instructed his friend, the head of the British Security Co-ordination (BSC), Canadian born World War I hero Sir William Stephenson, otherwise known as 'The Man Called Intrepid", to establish a training camp in Canada for the purpose of training secret operatives in the art of espionage.

The camp, officially known as Special Training School #103 but commonly referred to as "Camp X", was established on 280 acres of land east of Toronto, on the shore of Lake Ontario near the border between the Towns of Oshawa and Whitby. This location was chosen as it provided the seclusion needed for the camp's clandestine operations, it was only 30 miles straight across the lake to the United States and the lake itself provided a suitable training area for marine assault training. However, very few people knew the true purpose of Camp X. The Minister of National Defence Colonel James Ralston and RCMP Commissioner Stuart Taylor Wood were let in on the secret, as was the head of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, since the public were told that the radio antennas dotting the property were CBC broadcast antennas. However, Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie-King was left out of the loop since BSC feared he would shut down the camp as a violation of Canada's sovereignty by Great Britain. Not even the Prime Minister of Canada knew about Camp X!

Another purpose for establishing the camp was to unite Great Britain and the United States. At the time Camp X was being constructed in the summer of 1941, the U.S. was still refusing to join the war effort, a war that some Americans saw as a European problem. However, others saw this as a mistaken position as evidenced by the over 30,000 Americans who crossed the border to join British and Canadian armed forces. Even before the United States entered the war on December 7, 1941, agents from America's intelligence services expressed an interest in sending personnel for training at the soon to be opened Camp X. Agents from the FBI and the Office of Strategic Services (fore-runner of the CIA) secretly attended Camp X. Most notable was Colonel William "Wild Bill" Donovan, war-time head of the OSS, who credited Sir William Stephenson with teaching Americans about foreign intelligence gathering.

Camp X officially opened for training on December 6, 1941, the day before the bombing of Pearl Harbor. Trainees at the camp learned sabotage techniques, subversion, intelligence gathering, lock picking, explosives training, radio communications, encode/decode, recruiting techniques for partisans, the art of silent killing and unarmed combat. Camp X offered no parades for its graduates and none were ever publicly recognised for their accomplishments. There was only brutal torture or anonymous death if they were captured in the course of their duties.

By the time Special Training School #103 terminated training operations in 1944, up to 2000 students had graduated from the camp.

The camp also served as a link in the HYDRA network, a radio communications relay system that linked Washington, Ottawa, Toronto, Montreal, New York and Great Britain. When STS #103 closed, the camp continued operating as a HYDRA radio station.

In 1945, Igor Gouzenko the Soviet Embassy cypher clerk whose defection exposed the Soviet spy threat in North America, was hidden at Camp X along with his family for two years.

Post-war, the camp was re-named the Oshawa Wireless Station and turned over to the Royal Canadian Corps of Signals as a wireless intercept station, military talk for a spy listening station.

The Oshawa Wireless Station continued operations until 1969 when it too closed. All remaining buildings were demolished or relocated elsewhere and the property abandoned. Records pertaining to Camp X were either locked away under the Official Secrets Act or destroyed after World War II.

Even the end of the war brought no parades or official recognition for Camp X veterans. They simply went home and did as they were required to do during the war; they kept their mouths shut. It's only been in recent years that many Camp X veterans have felt comfortable talking about their experiences.

Today, the former site of Camp X is a passive park, appropriately named "Intrepid Park". A monument was erected in 1984 to honour the men and women of Camp X, a camp that many in the intelligence world consider to be the finest espionage training camp of the Second World War. This monument and an information display erected by the Camp X Historical Society are the only evidence of the property's clandestine past.

The Camp X Historical Society recently located an original Camp X building on a property in Whitby, Ontario. Future plans call for the building to be moved back to Intrepid Park as part of a proposed museum and interpretative centre complex that will finally pay an overdue tribute to Camp X veterans. At the end of the war, there were no parades or official recognition. The Camp X veterans simply went home and did as they were required to do during the war; they kept their mouths shut. It's only been in recent years that many Camp X veterans have felt comfortable talking about their experiences.

For more on Camp X, visit the Camp X Historical Society at www.camp-x.com, the Camp X Museum at http://webhome.idirect.com/~lhodgson/canadaspymuseum.html, or read "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak and "Inside Camp X" by Lynn Philip Hodgson.

Other famous Camp X alumnus:

James Bond author Ian Fleming, who reportedly based the character of "M" on Sir William Stephenson. Fleming, a Royal Navy Intelligence Officer, initially didn't seem to have the cold-blooded ability to be a covert agent. While at Camp X, Fleming reportedly was set up to shoot a "captured enemy spy". Not knowing that the "spy" was actually an instructor and the pistol contained blanks, Fleming refused to shoot an unarmed and disadvantaged opponent. One could say that sadly, he later learned to do just that. Such was just one of the harsh realities of war and perhaps one reason why some veterans are reluctant to talk about their experiences.

Paul Dehn, who later became a noted Hollywood screenwriter of films such as Murder on the Orient Express, The Spy Who Came In from the Cold and the James Bond film Goldfinger.

Author Roald Dahl, writer of such children's books as James and the Giant Peach, Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory and Fantastic Mr. Fox.

Captain William Fairburn, a former Shanghais Policeman, who was brought aboard as a self-defence instructor. Fairburn was the creator of the "Fairburn Style", a hand-to-hand fighting style that he developed while working the mean streets of Shanghais. The "Fairburn Style" was essentially a "win at all cost" style, as Fairburn had a "dislike of anything that smacked of decency in fighting." (Quote taken from the book "The True Intrepid" by Bill MacDonald). Fairburn was also the co-creator of the double-edged commando knife.

*********************************************************************

No. 26 Central Ordnance Depot:

With the outbreak of the Cold War, came a need for new bases and additional ordnance depots.

Opened in 1952 in Cobourg, the Depot had all the amenities of a regular base including 6 warehouses, a central heating plant, firehall, permanent married quarters, and administrative buildings.

A reorganization and consolidation of the Canadian Military in the 1960s resulted in several Army, Navy and RCAF bases were either downsized, merged or closed. As a result, No. 26 Central Ordnance Depot closed on 31 August 1970.

Most of the former Depot remains as it did when it closed.

Source Material: Cobourg: "Early Days and Modern Times" by John Spilsbury, "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontairo" by Paul Ozorak. and the recollections of the author.

*********************************************************************

PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND


No. 10 Bombing & Gunnery School:

Opened in 1940, the aerodrome near Mount Pleasant was originally a Relief Landing Field for No. 9 SFTS at Summerside. As with all RLFs, the aerodrome had a single hangar and barracks.

On 20 September 1943, the station changed its funciton and became the home of No. 10 B&G School. Two firing ranges were also constructed, one on the base and the other at nearby Higgins Wharf. At its peak, the school had 44 buildings, including 5 hangars, and was home to over 1800 personnel.

No. 10 B&G School closed 6 June 1945. The station served briefly as a storage depot before the RCAF departed in 1947. The airfield was sold as surplus.

Only the runways remain from the war-time school today. Highway #2 runs along the former hangar line.

Today two of the three runways (13-31 & 26-80) remain in use by the Experimental Aircraft Association.

Source Material: Near Forgotten Airfield, No. 10 Bombing & Gunnery School web site - http://www.peicaps.org/ffway/index.htm, "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak, information provided by Marilyn Garnett, AirScapes International Inc (2006) & Canada Flight Supplement (1999).

*********************************************************************

No. 31 General Reconnaissance School & No. 2 Air Navigation School:

The aerodrome near Charlottetown was originally opened on 1 May 1941 by the Royal Air Force as No. 31 General Reconnaissance School, under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. A total of forty-three buildings were constructed, including six hangars. Originally No. 5 Bombing and Gunnery School was supposed to be housed at the aerodrome, but this was changed due to objections from local lobster fishermen as the bombing range would have necessitated closing valuable lobster grounds.

The No. 31 GRS closed 11 February 1944 and was the station was turned over to the RCAF. No. 2 Air Navigation School, disbanded at Pennfield Ridge in 1942, was re-activated at the aerodrome in its place. No. 2 ANS closed on 7 July 1945. The aerodrome was used briefly as No. 1 Aircraft Holding Unit, closing before the end of the year.

The aerodrome was transferred to the Department of transportation on 1 February 1946 and became the Charlottetown Airport and an industrial complex.

Other than the airfield, nothing remains of the war-time station today. The last surviving building, hangar no. 4, which post-war housed the maintenance garage and fire hall for Department of Transport, was demolished in 1979.

A memorial at the airport pays tribute to the airmen and airwomen who served at the wartime school.

Source Material: "Sentinel" magazine from July 1970, PEI Transportation and Public Works web site - http://www.gov.pe.ca/tpwpei/index.php3?number=1001860&lang=E, "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak & information supplied by Marilyn Bell, Provincial Archivist, Charlottetown, PEI (2001).

*********************************************************************

No. 62 Artilliary Training Centre:

OPened 9 Oct 1940 near Charlottetown as No. 62 Non-permanent Active Militia Training Centre. The camp changed to solely an artilliary training centre in Novenber 1943.

The camp closed on 31 January 1945. All that remains is one small building.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

QUEBEC


Canadian Forces Base Montreal - Lasalle Detachment:

Opened in 1951 as HMCS Hochelaga, a Naval Supply depot. The centre was downgraded to a Detachment of CFB Montreal in 1966 and re-designated as No. 4 Supply Depot.

No. 4 Supply Depot closed in 1970.

The site is now an industrial complex and a transit terminal. Nothing remains of the former supply depot today.

Sourse Material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Lachine:

Opened in September 1941 as a staging point for ferrying aircraft and supplies overseas for the war, as well as the home of No. 5 Manning Depot until 1943. The station remained open after World War II, becoming part of the post-war RCAF.

426 Transport Squadron re-formed at Lachine in March 1947, remaining until moving to Trenton 1 September 1959. 436 Transport Squadron re-formed at Dorval on 1 April 1949. Air Transport Command moved to RCAF Station Lachine from RCAF Station Rockcliffe in August 1951.

436 Transport Squadron moved to RCAF Station Downsview on 1 July 1956.

RCAF Station Lachine closed in 1959. Air Transport Command re-located to RCAF Station Trenton on 12 September 1959. The former station is now the Dorval Airport.

Source Material: 8 Wing Trenton News Releases - http://www.8wing.trenton.dnd.ca/archives/news110897.htm, "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak & History of the 400 Series Squadrons - http://www.airforce.dnd.ca/airforce/eng/history_400s/rcafsqns.htm.

*********************************************************************

No. 4 Elementary Flying Training School:

Opened near Windsor Mills on 24 June 1940 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The school closed on 25 August 1944.

The airfield no longer exists today.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

No. 11 Elementary Flying Training School:

Opened near Cap de la Madeline on 14 October 1940 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The school closed on 11 February 1944.

Other than one h-hut, nothing remains of the aerodrome today. Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

No. 22 Elementary Flying Training School / No. 8 Air Observer School:

Opened near Ancienne Lorette in 1941 under the British Commonwealth Air Training plan. The school closed in 1945.

The airport was then taken over by the Department of Transport and now operates as the Aeroport de Quebec. Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment St-Honore:

Opened in June 1942 as Relief Landing Field for No. 1 Operational Training Unit at Baggotville under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan.

The Detachment closed on 5 January 1945.

*********************************************************************

Camp Bouchard:

Opened in 1941 at St Therese, near Montreal as No. 34B Royal Canadian Ordinance Corps Ammunition Depot.

After World War II, the depot was also used as a training area for local Militia units. Most of the property was sold off between 1972-1988.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

No. 1 Wireless School.

Originally opened at RCAF Station Trenton prior to WWII, the school relocated in 1940 to Montreal, taking up residence at the former Nazareth Institute hospital for the blind (built by the Grey Nuns). This complex of 13 buildings were transformed into a training school for wireless operators and air gunners. Flying training for the school was conducted at No. 13 SFTS at St. Hubert.

In August 1944, the school relocated to RCAF Station Mount Hope.

After the war, the building was sold to the provincial government and became the Queen Mary Veterans Hospital in 1946, then Hospital Cote-des-Neiges in 1978. Since 1997, it has been the Institut Universitaire de Geriatrie de Montreal.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak & the McGill Digital Library - http://digital.library.mcgill.ca/hospitals/search/hospinfo.php

*********************************************************************

Naval Radio Station Fort Chimo:

Opened in 1949 as Naval Radio Station Fort Chimo as a High Frequency Direction Finding station.

NRS Fort Chimo had a brief existence as it closed in 1953. The station was replaced by NRS Frobisher Bay.

Source Material: Canada's National Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization web site - www.tscm.com.cse.html.

*********************************************************************

His Majesty's Canadian Ship D'Iberville:

Opened as a recruit training establishment in Quebec City in 1952 as His Majesty's Canadian Ship D'Iberville. However HMCS D'Iberville had a brief existence, as it closed in 1961. The recruit school moved to LaSalle, Que.

Source Material: "Badges of the Canadian Navy" by LT (N) Graeme Arbuckle & "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

SASKATCHEWAN


Royal Canadian Air Force Station Saskatoon:

In 1940, the Federal Government took over the Saskatoon Municipal Airport for use as an RCAF training facility. On 16 September 1940, No. 4 Service Flying Training School officially opened as part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, with Relief Landing Fields at Osler and Vanscoy. The airport facilities were completely overhauled with new hangars, barracks and administrative buildings being constructed. The airfield was expanded and the runways were paved.

No. 4 SFTS closed on 30 March 1945, having graduated over 2000 airmen, but a small RCAF contingent remained at the Saskatoon Airport. 406 (Lynx) Squadron, a fighter squadron that had been adopted by the City of Saskatoon during WWII, was re-activated in 1947 as a light bomber squadron in the RCAF Auxiliary (Reserve). Officially re-named 406 (Lynx) City of Saskatoon Squadron, the squadron took up residence in several of the former No. 4 SFTS buildings.

During the 1950s, Saskatoon became one of the major military centres in Western Canada. As a result of the RCAF's post-war expansion, RCAF Station Saskatoon re-opened as an air training facility in October 1950. That same year, No. 23 Wing was formed to oversee 406 (Linx) Squadron and several other Auxiliary (Reserve) Squadrons in Western Canada. Permanent Married Quarters were built at the end of 1952, and the following year, the Air Marshall Curtis School opened for the children of station personnel.

No. 1 Advance Flying School opened at the station in 1952, one of the many Flying Training Schools opened across Canada to train RAF, RCAF and NATO aircrews. Students at the school trained on Mitchell Bombers and Expeditor aircraft trainers. Other lodger units at the station included, No. 3043 Technical Training Unit (Auxiliary) and No. 4002 Medical Unit (Auxiliary).

RCAF Station Saskatoon honoured former Saskatchewan Lieutenant Governor A.P. (Archie) McNab in 1955 when the PMQ community at the station was named McNab Park.

In 1956, the Instrument Flying School moved to Saskatoon from RCAF Station Centralia.

In 1962, control of RCAF Station Saskatoon was transferred from Training Command to Air Transport Command, but this change would be short-lived.

In the early to mid 1960s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several Army, Navy and RCAF bases were either downsized, merged or closed. As a result, RCAF Station Saskatoon closed in 1964 and both 406 Squadron and 23 Wing were disbanded.

RCAF Detachment No. 1005 Technical Support Depot was established at the site, occupying four of the station�s hangars. The Detachment served as a disposal and storage facility for disused aircraft, including the C119 Flying Boxcar, Expeditor, Neptune and Harvard trainers and the Yukon Transport aircraft. In fact, it was at No. 1005 TSD that the last five Harvard aircraft in the RCAF inventory were brought for disposal.

The Air Marshall Curtis School was transferred to the Saskatoon Public School Board in 1965 and re-named McNab School. The McNab Park PMQ homes were sold off as private residences.

The remainder of the property was turned over to the Federal Department of Transport and reverted to its original role as a civilian airport, now known as the Saskatoon John G. Diefenbaker International Airport.

No. 1005 Technical Support Depot, re-named 407 Technical Services Detachment after the Unification, remained at the Saskatoon Airport until 1978, when the Air Force finally departed Saskatoon.

Parts of the former RCAF Station Saskatoon remain today, including are the ground school, supply building, airmens mess and officers mess, the airmen and Officers barracks, the post-war "Arch" hangar (all built in the 1950s), 4 ammunition storage buildings and the WWII-era drill hall. The five WWII era hangars were torn down several years ago, leaving just the cement pads.

Among the tenants of the airport are the National Aviation Centre, providing servicing and facilities for aircraft.

406 Squadron's traditions live on in Saskatoon through 602 Lynx Wing, Royal Canadian Air Force Association. 406 Squadron was re-activated and is currently located at 12 Wing Shearwater.

Nothing remains at RCAF Detachment Olser as it was ploughed under for farming long ago. The abandoned airfield remains at the former RCAF Detachment Vanscoy.

Source material: Twinaire (newspaper of RCAF Station Saskatoon), Vol. 1, No. 7, March 1955, "Memories of Flying - Old Home Week for Airmen" by Dean Creswell, Saskatoon Star-Phoenix, 22 September 1971, information supplied by June Flegg, Historian, Saskatoon Public Library (2000), National Aviation Centre/National Aviation College web site - http://citylightsnews.com/nac.htm, information supplied by Jeff O'Brien, City Archivist, City of Saskatoon (2000), information supplied by Will Chaburn, Member Regina Chapter, Canadian Aviation Historical Society (2003), information supplied by Shelley Anklewich, Contract Administrator, Saskatoon Airport Authority (2003), information supplied by Harry Setchell (2004), Ozzy's Place: Abandoned Aerodromes of Saskatchewan - http://ozzzy.dyndns.org & information supplied by William A. Restall, Saskatoon Airport (2001).

*********************************************************************

No. 6 Elementary Flying Training School & No. 6 Air Observer School:

Opened near Prince Albert on 22 July 1940 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, with a Relief Landing Field located near Hagan. The school closed on 15 November 1944.

The aerodrome is now the Prince Albert Airport. Among the tenants of the airport are the National Aviation Centre, providing servicing and facilities for aircraft and the National Aviation College, providing flying training.

From 17 March 1941 to 11 November 1942, the station doubled as No. 6 Air Observer School.

All that remains of the former No. 6 EFTS are two World War II era hangars. A monument was errected to pay tribute to the 17 airmen and one civilian who died in training accidents at the school.

RCAF Detachment Hagan no longer exists.

Source material: National Aviation Centre/National Aviation College web site - http://citylightsnews.com/nac.htm, "The Canada Flight Supplement" 1999 & "Wings For Victory" by Spencer Dunmore.

*********************************************************************

No. 3 Air Observer School (Regina) & No. 15 Elementary Flying Training School:

In 1940, the RCAF took over the Regina Municipal Airport for use as a part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The Royal Flying Corps had previously used the airport during WWI.

No. 3 Air Observer School opened 16 September 1940, followed by No. 15 Elementary Flying Training School on 11 November 1940. A Relief Landing Field was constructed near Brora.

On 12 September 1942, No. 3 AOS opened a Detachment at Pearce, Alberta, while also maintaining its site in Regina. The school continued operating until 6 June 1943 when both the Pearce and Regina schools closed.

By the time No. 15 SFTS also closed on 11 August 1944, the school had trained 2011 pilots.

The airport reverted to civilian use and is currently the Regina Airport. A new 6200 ft runway officially opened on 25 April 1953.

Source material: "Regina Airport - A History" produced by Transport Canada, the "Wings Over Alberta" web site - http://collections.ic.gc.ca/flyboys/homefront/bcatp_sites.htm & "Wings For Victory" by Spencer Dunmore.

*********************************************************************

No. 23 Elementary Flying Training School (Davidson):

Opened near Davidson on 9 November 1942 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The school re-located to Yorkton in January 1945.

From 1957-1968, the abandoned runways were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing.

All that remains of the aerodrome are that abandoned runways and the hangar pads.

Source material: Canadian Racer Web site - www.motorsportcentral.com & "Wings For Victory" by Spencer Dunmore.

*********************************************************************

No. 33 Elementary Flying Training School:

Opened on 5 January 1942 near the Town of Caron by the Royal Air Force, under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. A Relief Landing Field was constructed near Boharm. The School closed on 14 January 1944.

The Caron aerodrome was used briefly as a Relief Landing Field for No. 32 Moose Jaw, then abandoned.

In 1946, the site was taken over by the Briercrest Bible Institute and re-named Caronport.

Today, the Briercrest Family of Schools, consisting of Briercrest College and Seminary and Caronport High School, carry on the tradition of providing education at Caronport. The 160 acre campus is home to 1200 permanent residents and approximately 1000 students.

A significant portion the former station remains. One hangar, the Mess Hall, PMQs, the Recreation Centre (although extensively refurbished), one h-hut (originally a classroom, but now used as a dormitory) and various smaller buildings remain. The airfield also remains, but the runways now serve as streets for trailer homes. One of the hangars has been inconverted to a Sports Arena.

Source material: information supplied by Lois Penner Vice President, Advancement Briercrest Family of Schools (2004), Briercrest Bible College web site - www.briercrest.ca , information supplied by Gord Elmer (2004) & "Wings For Victory" by Spencer Dunmore.

*********************************************************************

No. 34 Elementary Flying Training School / No. 25 Elementary Flying Training School:

Originally opened by the Royal Air Force on 11 February 1942, under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, near the Town of Assiniboia (Section 13, Range 9, Township 30, West 2nd). A Relief Landing Field was constructed near Lethburn.

No. 34 EFTS closed on 30 January 1944. The aerodrome was taken over by the RCAF and No. 25 EFTS stood up in its place. No. 25 EFTS had a brief existence though, and by the time it closed on 28 July 1944, 2560 student pilots had graduated.

In August 1944, two new units stood up at the aerodrome: No. 41 Pre-Aircrew Training School, whose mandate was to provide academic training, and No. 403 Aircraft Holding Unit, whose function was the storage of surplus aircraft. Both units closed in 1945.

Very little remains of the old school today, with only the airfield and the gunnery backstop remaining. All the buildings were either torn down or moved off site. Two hangars were moved to Regina and the drill hall to Moose Jaw. The hospital, recreation hall, workshop, officers' barracks and the dental building were moved to Assiniboia itself.

The airfield is now the Assiniboia Airport. a cairn was constructed on the property to pay tribute to the personnel who served at No 34 & No. 25 EFTS.

Source Material: "Wings For Victory" by Spencer Dunmore, information supplied by Sherri Spagrud, Clerk, Town of Assinioia (2004), personal observations of James Forsyth (2008) & the Winnipeg Flying Club web site - www.wfc.mb.ca.

*********************************************************************

No. 11 Service Flying Training School & No. 23 Elementary Flying Training School (Yorkton):

No. 11 SFTS opened on 10 April 1941 north of Yorkton as part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, along with Relief Landing Fields near Sturdee (asphalt runways) and the Rhein District (grass runways). A total of 40 buildings were constructed for the flying school, including a full surgical hospital, one of four for all of No. 2 Training Command.

Unlike most Relief Landing Fields, no buildings were constructed at either the Sturdee or Rhein aerodromes.

No. 11 SFTS closed on 1 December 1944.

No. 23 EFTS re-located from Davidson, Manitoba to Yorkton on 29 January 1945, but it would have a brief existence in Yorkton as it too closed on 15 September 1945.

RCAF Station Yorkton seemed destined to become a part of the post-war RCAF. The aerodrome became a storage depot as well as the home of No. 2 Flying Training School and The 53rd Heavy Anti-aircraft Regiment. This would be short-lived as the station closed in early 1946.

The airport is now the Yorkton Airport. Of all the former school's buildings, only two of the original five hangars remain.

The abandoned airfield at the former RCAF Detachment Sturdee also remains, but nothing remains at RCAF Detachment Rhein.

Source Material: information provided by Canadian Aviation Historical Society (CAHS), information provided by Therese LeBevre-Prince, Heritage Researcher, City of Yorkton (2003), Ozzy's Place: Abandoned Aerodromes of Saskatchewan - http://ozzzy.dyndns.org, "Yorkton This Week" newspaper 30 November 1988 & "The Canada Flight Supplement" 1999.

*********************************************************************

No. 35 Service Flying Training School & No. 13 Service Flying Training School (North Battleford):

Opened by the Royal Air Force on 4 September 1941 near North Battleford as No. 35 Service Flying Training School, a part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. Relief Landing Fields were constructed near Hamlin and Brada. No. 35 SFTS closed 25 February 1944 and the aerodrome was taken over by No. 13 SFTS, originally from St. Hubert, Quebec.

No. 13 SFTS had a brief stay at North Battleford as it closed on 30 March 1945.

From 1962-1963, the abandoned runways were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing.

The aerodrome is now the Cameron Macintosh Airport. All that remains of the wartime schools is one hangar (although the hangar pads for the other six hangars also remain), the Junior Ranks mess hall, the gunnery backstop and the vehicle maintenance shop. Several of the aerodrome's former buildings were moved to the nearby Sharon Schools.

Two of the original runways remain, one expanded to 5000 feet. North Battleford Ultra-lights also uses the airfield for flying training.

The former RCAF Detachment Hamlin is now used as an industrial site. Up to 2007, one of the three runways continued to be maintained for use in agricultural flight training by Battlefords Airspray private airport. The airfield in now closed to all aircraft. The hanger also remains.

Source Material: information provided by Randy Strelioff, Cameron McIntosh Airport (2004), Canadian Racer Web site - www.motorsportcentral.com & information provided by Sharon Schools (2004)

*********************************************************************

No. 38 Service Flying Training School:

Opened on 1 April 1942 near the City of Estevan by the Royal Air Force as part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. Relief Landing Fields were constructed near Shand, Outram and Chandler. The school closed 14 January 1944, due to the reduced need for pilots overseas.

Plans were made to convert the aerodrome into a RCAF Air Navigation School, but this never came to be. Instead No. 201 Holding Unit was established at the aerodrome, later changed to No. 204 Equipment Holding Unit. No. 204 EHU closed on 30 November 1944.

The final chapter in the military history of the airport came with the founding of No. 4 Surplus Equipment Holding Unit on 1 April 1945, for the purpose of disposing of surplus RCAF war equipment. The unit closed on 1 December 1945 and the aerodrome was turned over to the City of Estevan for use as a Municipal Airport. The Estevan Flying Club was also formed at the airport.

In 1989, the former No. 38 SFTS aerodrome closed and the property was sold to the Saskatchewan Power Corporation for a coal mine. A new airport was built north of Estevan. Nothing remains of the aerodrome today.

Source material: The City of Estevan web site - http://cap.estevan.sk.ca/community/history/index.html & "Wings For Victory" by Spencer Dunmore.

*********************************************************************

No. 39 Service Flying Training School:

Opened on 15 December 1941 east of Swift Current as part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, with Relief Landing Fields at St. Aldwyn, Wymark and Ralph. The school closed on 11 February 1944.

The aerodrome is now the Swift Current Airport. Two runways remain in use by the South West Flying Club.

All that remains of the wartime school are one complete hangar, one partial hangar, the tower for the original control room (but not the control room itself), the gunnery backstop, the maintenance garage and the water pumping station.

All that remains of RCAF Detachment St. Aldwyn is the abandoned airfield and the hangar pads.

Source material: "Wings For Victory" by Spencer Dunmore & Kevin Haglund, local resident of Swift Current (2005).

*********************************************************************

No. 41 Service Flying Training School & No. 8 Service Flying Training School (Weyburn):

No. 41 EFTS opened on 5 January 1942 by the Royal Air Force near Weyburn as part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, with a Relief Landing Field near Halbrite. The school closed on 22 January 1944.

No. 8 EFTS (RCAF) stood up in its place, but the school had a brief existence in Weyburn as it re-located to Moncton on 30 June 1944 and the station was abandoned. In two years of operation in Weyburn, the two schools graduated 1,055 pilots.

The aerodrome sat abandoned for until the early 1950s, when a medical facility for mentally handicapped children took over the former station�s buildings, remaining until 1957. Western Christian College then occupied the former aerodrome from 1957 until 1989.

The former station is now the Weyburn Airport.

The abandoned airfield also remains at the former RCAF Detachment Halbrite.

Source material: City of Weyburn web site - http://city.weyburn.sk.ca/modules.php?name=Sections&op=viewarticle&artid=19, information supplied by Cheryl Rommann, City Clerk, City of Weyburn (2004).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Boharm:

Opened in 1940 near Boharm, the detachment served as a Relief Landing Field for No.33 EFTS in Caron, but it possibly was originally intended for No. 32 at Moose Jaw. RCAF Detachment Boharm had a turf airfield laid out in the standard triangle pattern, with a hangar building and living quarters.

When No. 33 EFTS closed in January 1944, Moose Jaw did take over the aerodrome, using the field until operations ceased in Oct. 1944. RCAF Detachment Boharm was abandoned and the land returned to farming.

Source material: , information supplied by Kirk Wallace, Research Department Western Development Museum (2006).

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Buttress:

Opened in 1941 near Butress as the No. 1 Relief Laning Field for No. 32 SFTS at Moose Jaw. The detachment had 3 asphalt runways 100 feet wide and 2,500 feet long, constructed in the standard triangular pattern. Water reservoirs, a barrack block and a garage were added, but no hangar or control tower or barracks. Airmen travelled to the site during the day and returned to the main aerodrome at night.

RCAF Detachment Butress was abandoned after WWII.

The post-war growth of the RCAF resulted in many WWII stations being re-activated. RCAF Detachment Buttress re-opened in May 1952 once agion as the Relief Landing Field for the similarily re-opened RCAF Station Moose Jaw.

By the late 1960s, with the advent of the jet Tutor trainer, the Buttress airfield became obsolete, and it was once again abandoned, this time for good.

All that remains today are the abandoned and crumbling runways. Several farm building line the abandoned runways, which is now private land.

Source material:

Google Maps - http://maps.google.com, 15 Wing web site - www.moosejaw.dnd.ca, information supplied by Kirk Wallace, Research Department Western Development Museum (2006) & the Places to Fly web site - http://www.copanational.org/PlacesToFly.

*********************************************************************

No. 2 Bombing & Gunnery School:

Opened on 28 October 1940 near Mossbank as part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. Like most stations, No. 2 B&GS had all the amenities expected: a swimming pool, bowling alley, recreation hall, seceral canteens and a theatre.

The school closed on 15 December 1944, having trained 2,539 bombers and 3,702 air gunners.

The Mossbank Golf Club now occupies most of the property. A rock cairn was constructed at the golf course to pay tribute to the men & women who served at No. 2 B&GS.

All that remains of the old school are the gunnery backstop, the hangar pads and the abandoned and crumbling airfield, which still sees the occasional crop-duster plane. The Canadian Forces Snowbirds, who conduct training over Mossbank, have even been know to use the airfield on occasion.

Source material: Source material: information supplied by Terri Griffin (2002), Mossbank Golf Club - http://www.saskgolfer.com/sasktrivia.php, information supplied by Roy Tellefson, local resident of Mossbank (2005) & information supplied by Will Chaburn, Member Regina Chapter, Canadian Aviation Historical Society (2001).

*********************************************************************

No. 5 Bombing & Gunnery School:

Opened on 7 January 1941 near the Town of Dafoe as part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The school closed on 11 January 1945, having trained 131,553 aircrew.

The former station property is now used for farming. The only building that remains is one of the hangars. The only other remnants are the hangar pads, the gunnery backstop and the crumbling roadways and airfield. The property owner still uses a portion of the old airfield as a private aerodrome.

Source Material: Town of Dafoe web site - http://www.quill-lakes.com/dafoe/dafoehistory.htm & information supplied by Jim McDougall, McDougall Agencies (2001).

*********************************************************************

No. 7 Initial Training School:

Opened during World War II, Bedford Road High School was leased by the federal government to provide facilities for the RCAF's No. 7 Initial Training School.

No. 7 ITS closed sometime after March 1944.

Source material: information supplied by Jeff O'Brien, City Archivist, City of Saskatoon (2000).

*********************************************************************

YUKON:


Royal Canadian Air Force Station Watson Lake:

Originally opened in the the 30s as a civilian airport, the Watson Lake Airport was taken over by the RCAF in 1941 as part of the Northwest Staging Route. An operations building was built and the runways were paved.

Watson Lake remained an RCAF aerodrome after WWII, but the primary user was Canadian Pacific Arilines. Seven PMQs were constructed for families living at the aerodrome, along with the wartime facilities already present: a curling rink, a theatre, a hobbyshop, messes, barracks and a large sports field.

The RCAF departed the airport in April 1957 and by 1961, the barracks and storage buldings had been removed. The sports fields were re-developed for housing.

********************************************************************* Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Snag:

Opened January 1945.

Closed May 1956.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Detachment Teslin:

Opened January 1945.

Closed May 1955.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Whitehorse:

Originally opened by the Department of Transport, the airfield was taken over to the Royal Canadian Air Force in 1942 as part of the Northwest Staging Route.

Designated as RCAF Station Whitehorse, the station had detachments at Teslin, Aishihik, and Snag and in 1946, at Watson Lake.

After World War II, RCAF Station Whitehorse continued to function primarily as a refueling point on the Alaska route.

The Department of Transport took over the operation of the airport, but the RCAF remained. The station's function changed to primarily a Radio Unit, No. 5 Radio Unit. The station became part of the Canadian Forces Supplementary Radio System in 1966.

Also in 1966, the station was renamed Canadian Forces Station Whitehorse, but this would be short lived as CFS Whitehorse closed in 1968.

*********************************************************************

OUTSIDE CANADA


BERMUDA


Canadian Forces Station Bermuda:

Opened 3 July 1963 on the former site of a World War II Royal Navy Radio Station, Naval Radio Station Bermuda served as a radio station in Canada's National Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization. The establishment of the station was a logical progression, as the Royal Canadian Navy had been using the former Royal Navy Dockyard in Bermuda almost continuously as a training base since the RN withdrew in 1951. A Canadian Forces Liaison Office had previously been established to co-ordinate training activities.

With the Unification, the station was re-named CFS Bermuda in 1968, becoming one of the first Canadian Forces Stations to be staffed by unified forces personnel.

The station closed on 31 December 1993. The former station is now the Daniel's Head Beach Park.

Nothing remains of CFS Bermuda today. Daniel's Head Village Hotel opened on the site in 2000, but has since closed.

Source Material: Communications & Electronics Museum site - www.c-and-e-museum.org, Bermda Vacation Guide - http://www.bermuda.com/info/history/1900sI.html, Bermuda Vacation Guide - http://www.insiders.com/bermuda/main-beaches3.htm, Canadian Forces Station Bermuda web site - www.bermuda-online.org/canadianforcesstationbda.htm & Canada's National Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization web site - www.tscm.com.cse.html.

*********************************************************************

GERMANY


Canadian Forces Base Baden-Soellingen:

Originally opened June 1952 to accommodate a brigade of the French Air Force (Arm�e de l'Air or AA) which arrived in August for the first operational use of the base. However NATO headquarters determined that the base would instead be occupied by the RCAF, thus the station became as RCAF Station Baden-Soellinggen in 1953 and the home of 4 Wing.

Following the France Government announcment in 1963 that all nuclear weapons located on French soil (NATO or French) would be controlled by France itself, 421 Squadron of 2 Wing moved to Baden.

With the Unification of the Forces, the station was re-named CFB Baden.

With the closure of RCAF Station Zweibr�cken, its units consolidating at Lahr and Baden. Further defence cuts and consolidation saw the Canadian Army units of 4 Canadian Mechanized Brigade Group based in Soest area of northern West Germany moved to CFB Lahr. However, a mechanised infantry battalion was stationed alongside the fighter squadrons at Baden-Soellingen. From 1970-1977 it was the 3rd Mechanized Commando, The Canadian Airborne Regiment; th 3rd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment from 1977-1984; the 2nd Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry from 1984-1988 and the 3rd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment from 1988-1993.

In addition, there was also a communications squadron, and after 1987, an air defence battery. A multi-force airfield repair unit formed in the late 80s to fix the runways if needed.

The cuts resulted in a drawback of the air force from 6 squadrons to 3 which were reorganized under the new 1 Canadian Air Group banner.

The ramp-up in defence spending during renewed Cold War tensions in the late 1970s and 1980s saw CFB Baden-Soellingen receive much-needed new infrastructure, including updated quarters for its personnel and their dependents. The year 1984 saw squadrons at CFB Baden-Soellingen begin to re-equip from the CF-104 Starfighter to the CF-18 Hornet with 1986 being the close-out year for the Starfighter on base.

In October 1989 the Berlin Wall came down and by the end of 1990 Germany had reunited, thawing Cold War tensions and removing the role for Canada's active units stationed in Western Europe under NATO command.

The base was downsized to a Detachment of CFB Lahr on 31 July 1993. The base closed along with Larh on 31 August 1994. It is now known as the Baden Airpark.

Visit "Remembering CFB Baden-Soellingen" at http://www.badenremembered.com for the full story on one of Canada's former German bases.

Source Material: "Remembering CFB Baden-Soellingen" - www.badenremembered.com and the Communications & Electronics Museum site - www.c-and-e-museum.org.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Base Lahr:

Opened in 1951 as RCAF Station Lahr. Home of 4 Canadian Mechanized Brigade Group Headquarters and Signal Squadron. Closed 31 August 1994.

Source Material: Communications & Electronics Museum site Museum site - www.c-and-e-museum.org

*********************************************************************

*********************************************************************

*********************************************************************

Closed Bases That Still Have A Military Presence


(Author's note: for this category I have been somewhat selective. As you have read in the "Abandoned Bases" section, some still have cadet units that train at the former bases. For my purposes, I consider a former base to still have a military presence if there is a permanent full-time contingent still on site, such as the former RCAF Station Gimli's Royal Canadian Air Cadet Gliding School or Wolseley Barracks.)

ALBERTA


Canadian Forces Base Calgary:

Originally established as two separate army training barracks - Currie Barracks and Sarcee Barracks. Currie Barracks, named in honour of General Sir Arthur Currie, was established in 1934 on land near the Sarcee Indian Reserve. This was the home of the Lord Strathcona's Horse (Royal Canadians) Headquarters and B Squadron (later replaced by the Lord Strathcona's Horse (Royal Canadians) 2nd Canadian Armoured Regiment), the Royal Canadian Army Service Corps Supply Depot, the Royal Canadian Army Veterinary Corps, the Royal Canadian Signals Communication Centre, and the headquarters for the 13th Military District.

In 1938, No. 1 (Fighter) Squadron and No. 3 (Bomber) Squadron moved to Currie Barracks from RCAF Station Ottawa (Rockcliffe), and occupied the portion of the barracks that later became Royal Canadian Air Force Station Lincoln Park.

On 15 February 1941, No. A-16 Advanced Canadian Infantry Training Centre opened at the barracks, remaining until the end of the War.

Over the years Currie Barracks would be home to several units including: The 1st & 2nd Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (1 PPCLI & 2 PPCLI) arrived at Currie Barracks in 1946 and permanent married quarters (PMQ) were build in 1948. The Queen's Own Rifles of Canada also made Currie Barracks their home from 1953 until the regiment disbanded in 1968. The 1st Battalion, Queens Own Rifles from occupied space at Currie from1953-1960 and The Fort Garry Horse, from 1965 until the unit disbanded in 1970.

2 PPCLI moved to Griesbach Barracks in Edmonton in 1958 and The Lord Strathcona's Horse relocated Sarcee Barracks the same year, remaining until transferring to Germany in 1965. 1 PPCLI re-located to Work Point Barracks in Victoria, B.C. in 1963.

Sarcee Barracks was established originally as a militia training camp in 1910. The government leased a parcel of land form the Sarcee Indian Reservation near the future site of Currie Barracks for the camp and training area. The camp, however, did not become a permanent military camp until 1957.

With the closure of RCAF Station Lincoln Park, the buildings, the hangars north of the airfield and the Lincoln Park PMQs all became part of Currie Barracks.

As a result of the Unification in 1968, Sarcee Barracks and Currie Barracks were merged into one base to become Canadian Forces Base (CFB) Calgary, although the names Sarcee and Currie continued to be used. Also in 1968, 1 Service Battalion was formed. In later years, CFB Calgary would become home to No. 10 Personnel Depot and 1 Canadian Mechanized Brigade Group (1 CMBG), consisting of 1 Service Battalion, 1 Field Ambulance, 1 Military Police Platoon, Lord Strathcona's Horse (Royal Canadian Armoured Corps), the Regional Equipment Depot and 1 Canadian Brigade Group Headquarters and Signals Unit.

1 PPCLI returned to Currie Barracks in 1970.

Sarcee Barracks was re-named Harvey Barracks in 1981. The same year, the Sarcee Training Area was returned to the Tsuu T'ina First Nation, although the Army continued to lease part of the training area from 1985-1996.

In the mid 1990s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed and as a result, CFB Calgary closed on 21 June 1997. 1 CMBG relocated to CFB Edmonton's Grieshbach Barracks.

Area Support Unit Calgary, consisting of 26 Regular Force personnel, was established on a small section of the former Currie Barracks to provide the local Reserve, Cadet and remaining Regular Force units with administrative and logistical support. A new armoury was built to house the remaining Regular Force sections that make up Area Support Unit Calgary.

Also remaining at Currie are 41 Canadian Brigade Group Headquarters (41 CBG HQ), who occupy the former PPCLI building, the LGen The Honorable Stanley Waters Building, and The Museum of the Regiments, who maintain the Army's link to Currie Barracks.

Most of the original buildings remain at Currie Barracks today, which is now devoted to a variety of uses, including a full-service film and television production centre, "Canadian Forces Base Studio Centre", The Sun Centre, the National Hy Performance Training Centre and the Calgary Farmers Market, who occupy the former Lincoln Park Hangars, and the Currie Barracks school, now Master's Academy & College.

The former PMQ area is being redeveloped into a mixed upscale residential area called "Garrison Woods" featuring up to 600,000 residences, condominiums and a small shopping centre. None of the original Currie Barracks PMQ homes remain.

Harvey Barracks was returned to the Tsuu T'ina First Nation. All that remains are some of the PMQs, occupied by First Nations people, and the roadways. The rest of the former base was leveled. Future plans call for a casino to be built on the land.

Source Material: information supplied by Captain D. Sweeney, Deputy Commanding Officer, Area Support Unit Calgary (1999), information supplied by Carol Stokes, Archivist, The City of Calgary (1999), information supplied by Ken Craig, Volunteer Researcher, Museum of the Regiments, Calgary Alberta (1999), "The Politics of Contested Space: Military Property Development in Calgary" - a thesis paper by P. Whitney Lackenbauer, University of Calgary, Department of History, Faculty of Graduate Studies (1999), DND press release from November 1998, information supplied by Terri Griffin (2002), information supplied by Ian Gray, Calgary resident (2003), information supplied by June Flegg, Historian, Saskatoon Public Library (2000), Calgary Forces Base Studio Centre web site - http://www.cfbstudios.com, Canada Lands Corporation Web site - http://www.clc.ca, information supplied by the Tsuu T'ina Police Service (2004), the personal recollections of the author (2004) & "The Garrison" newspaper from March 1995 and Sept 1999.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Lincoln Park:

Originally established on the southern section of Currie Barracks in 1935 by the RCAF, where an unpaved landing strip had been built for their use. By 1939, No. 1 (Fighter) Squadron had moved to Currie Barracks from RCAF Station Sea Island, and No. 3 (Bomber) Squadron from RCAF Station Ottawa (Rockcliffe). The airmen were forced to share the only barrack block with the Lord Strathcona's Horse, which created problems as the Strathconas awoke to the sound of a bugler every morning at 0500 hours.

On 28 October 1940, a portion of Currie Barracks was sectioned off as a separate base and became No. 3 Service Flying Training School, part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. Relief Landing Fields were constructed near Airdire & Inverlake.

No. 3 SFTS closed on 28 September 1945 and the station became No. 10 Repair Depot (with a Detachment in Moose Jaw) until 1947, when it too closed. The station then became No. 25 Air Material Base Calgary, but was later re-named Royal Canadian Air Force Station Lincoln Park.

During this period, Lincoln Park served as construction headquarters, a repair depot and NATO pilot refresher-training centre, who by this time had paved runways on which to land.

403 "City of Calgary". Squadron was re-formed at Linclon Park as a Fighter Bomber Squadron (Auxiliary) in 1948, remaining until it disbanded in 1964. NATO pilot training continued until 1958, after which the airfield was used only as an emergency landing strip.

In the early to mid 1960s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several Army, Navy and RCAF bases were either downsized, merged or closed. As a result, RCAF Station Lincoln Park closed in 1964. The buildings north of the airfield and the Lincoln Park PMQs became part of Currie Barracks. The reminder of the property was sold to the city of Calgary. Some of the row house PMQs were moved onto one of the former runways at the north end of the property.

From the 1960s to 1983, the abandoned north-south runway was used as a racetrack for sports cars and motorcycles under the name Calgary International Raceway.

Mount Royal College now occupies the part of the property where the airfield was once located, as it has done since 1972.

All that remains of RCAF Station Lincoln Park are the five north-side hangars and the six maintenance hangars south of the former airfield, once used as a part of the Repair Depot, now occupied by the ATCO Industrial Complex. The last portions of the runways disappeared in 2001; only the taxi area remain today.

As well, the Lincoln Park PMQ area is currently being re-developed into the "Garrison Green" residential community, modeled on an old "village style". Some of the former PMQ homes have been moved onto new foundations and extensively renovated. The developer is also including a park named "Peacekeeper Park", which includes a memorials to Canadian Peacekeepers who distinguished themselves and to those who died in the service of their country.

On 28 October 2000, the 60th anniversary of the establishment of No. 3 Service Flying Training School, Mount Royal College held a plaque dedication ceremony to honour the men and women who served at the war-time school.

Source Material: information supplied by Captain D. Sweeney, Deputy Commanding Officer, Area Support Unit Calgary (1998), information supplied by Sherry Eastholm, Manager, Sidney (B.C.) Museum (1999), information supplied by June Flegg, Historian, Saskatoon Public Library (2000), History of the 400 Series Squadrons - http://www.airforce.dnd.ca/airforce/eng/history_400s/rcafsqns.htm, Wings Over Alberty web site - http://collections.ic.gc.ca/flyboys/homefront/bcatp_sites.htm, information supplied by Hunter Wight, Executive Director, Public Affairs and Development, Mount Royal College (2001), information supplied by Deb Bramson, Mount Royal College (2001), the "Wings Over Alberta" web site - http://collections.ic.gc.ca/flyboys/homefront/bcatp_sites.htm, Grandville Island Publishing web site - http://www.granvilleislandpublishing.com/profile/sportscarracing/contents.shtm, the personal recollections of the author (2004) & information supplied by Carol Stokes, Archivist, The City of Calgary (1999).

*********************************************************************

Griesbach Barracks (Edmonton Garrison):

Note: Edmonton Garrison, originally CFB Edmonton, was created by the amalgamation of RCAF Station Namao and Canadian Army�s Griesbach Barracks. The Namao site, now called Steele Barracks, remains open.

Established in 1950 as Griesbach Barracks, the base had its beginnings as an ordnance depot, later becoming the home of the Western Command Headquarters.

No. 14 Service Prison and Detention Barracks opened in 1958 at Griesbach. The prison closed briefly from 1968 until 1975. Also in 1958, the 2nd Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry re-located to Griesbach from Currie Barracks.

As a result of the Unification, RCAF Station Namao was combined with the Army's Griesbach Barracks to form CFB Edmonton on 1 April 1966, falling under control of Air Transport Command.

The Canadian Airborne Regiment was formed at Griesbach in 1968. Two years later, the Canadian Parachute Training Centre re-located to Griesbach from RCAF Station Rivers. Also in 1970, the 1st Battalion, PPCLI re-located to Griesbach in 1970 from Work Point Barracks

In May 1970, 28 Canadian Forces Supply Depot re-located to Griesbach from CFB Shilo. Two months later, the depot was re-designated the Canadian Forces Parachute Maintenance Depot (CFPMD).

In later years, would become home to Land Force Western Area Headquarters and the Canadian Airborne Centre. However, the Canadian Airborne Regiment re-located to CFB Petawawa in 1977.

In 1995, with the disbandment of the Canadian Airborne Regiment, the three feeder units that once provided soldiers to the Airborne, the PPCLI, the Royal Canadian Regiment and the Royal 22nd Regiments (the VanDoos), each established parachute companies. The PPCLI established a Parachute Company at Griesbach Barracks.

In 1996, 1 PPCLI re-located to CFB Namao from CFB Calgary. The CFPMD re-located along with the Canadian Parachute Centre to 8 Wing Trenton in September 1996.

In 1996, corresponding with the move of 3 PPCLI to Griesbach, this parachute company was designated as A Company, 3 PPCLI. Also around this time, CFB Edmonton was re-named Edmonton Garrison.

By the mid 1990s, Department of National Defence cutbacks lead to questioning the necessity of maintaining two Army bases in the Edmonton area. CFB Edmonton (Namao), formerly an Air Force base, had been transferred to the Army in 1994. Ultimately, DND decided to consolidate all military operations at the Namao site, now known as Steele Barracks.

Griesbach Barracks closed in 2000. The site, including the 750 PMQs, were transferred to the Canada Lands Corporation in 2002, who have transformed the former base into "The Village at Griesbach", a residential community modeled in a village concept.

On 28 September 2001, the Canadian Forces Service Prison & Detention Barracks at Griesbach Barracks closed, having been replaced by a new facility at the Namao site.

Today, little remains of this once sprawling base. Most of the former army buildings have been demolished. All that remains is the former high school, now occupied by Land Force Western Area Headquarters; the north-side PMQs, now private rental homes; MGen Griesbach School, now a public school and the old church, now a community centre.

The Royal Canadian Artillery Band remained at Griesbach until September 2004, when they followed the other units to Steele Barracks.

The Dianne and Irving Kipnes Centre for Veterans opened 9 November 2005 on a five-acre site just off Castledowns Road and 153rd Avenue, on the northwest corner of the former Canadian Forces Base Griesbach.

Source Material: information supplied by Jenelle Turpin, Communications Officer - Council Services, City of Edmonton (1999), information supplied by Charles Denis, Manager Customer Services, Canadian Forces Housing Authority (2004), the CFB Edmonton web site - www.cfbedmonton.hstone.com, DND press releases from February 1994 and November 1998, 440 Squadron history web site - http://www.440sqn.com/frames.htm., "The Garrison" newspaper from March 1995, 1 Air Movements Squadron web site - http://www.mts.net/~rburke1/About%20Us.htm, Canadian Forces Parachute Maintenance Depot web site - http://www.8wing.trenton.dnd.ca/cfpmd/pmdhist.htm, the personal recollections of the author (2004), Real Estate Weekly web site - www.rewedmonton.ca/content_view2?CONTENT_ID=1205 & pamphlet printed by Studio High Techniques of Toronto (1998).

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Base Edmonton - Penhold Detachment:

Originally established 11 miles southeast of Red Deer, Alberta in 1940 as a RCAF Manning Depot.

The Royal Air Force took over the property and formed No. 36 Service Flying Training School on 28 September 1941 as part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. Relief Landing Fields were constructed near Inisifail & Blackfalds. The school and airfield closed on 3 November 1944 and only a military radio station remained on site at the time.

The post-war growth of the RCAF resulted in many WWII stations being re-activated. The station re-opened in late 1951 as RCAF Station Penhold and became home to No. 4 Flying Training School, a NATO Flying Training School. In later years, the station would be home to a cadet camp an Air Cadet glider training school and an Air Reserve Training Centre.

By the late 1950s, the threat of a nuclear war had become so great that the Canadian government decided to construct a secret underground bunker to house the major elements of the government in the event of an emergency. Most Provincial Governments followed suit by building their own bunkers. The Alberta Government chose RCAF Station Penhold for the site of their bunker, staffed by 703 (743??) Communication Squadron and also housing the Provincial Warning Centre. A 77,000 square foot bunker was secretly constructed at the station and opened in 1964.

All Government bunkers had a remote communications bunker, located some distance away. This second bunker, usually a single story structure, was staffed exclusively by communications personnel. Penhold's remote communications bunker (17,000 square feet) was constructed several miles south of the station.

43 Radar Squadron opened a Pinetree radar long-range station in February 1964 at a site 14 miles east of RCAF Station Penhold, who provided support to the facility.

In May 1965, flying operations ceased at RCAF Station Penhold and Air Defence Command assumed control of the Station. Penhold's airfield was taken over by the city of Red Deer in 1965 and operated as the Red Deer Reginal Airport, remaining so today.

In the summer of 1966, Regional Air Cadet Glider Training School opened at Penhold. Flying training was conducted at both Penhold and the former RCAF Detachment Innisfail.

As a result of the Unification, the Station was re-named CFB Penhold in 1966.

By 1973, the CF Junior Leadership School and the FPS-27 Radar School had opened at the base. The schools remained at the base until disbanded on 23 June 1986.

In the early 1980's, the Air Cadet School began making use again of the former RCAF Detachment Netook as an alternate airfield to the Gliding School at Innisfail. By 1986, the Gliding School moved permanently to Netook. In 1985, DND announced that the Pinetree Line would be shut down as a part of the North American Air Defence Modernization Plan. Radar equipment at many Canadian Forces Stations was replaced with a new automated system. As a result of this and overall reductions in Canada's Air Force, 43 Radar Squadron disbanded on 1 August 1986 and the radar site was closed.

CFB Penhold was downsized to a Detachment of CFB Edmonton in 1990.

In June 1994, the Air Force Junior Leadership School re-located to CFB Borden and was re-named the Air Command Professional Development Training Centre.

In the mid 1990s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed and as a result, Detachment Penhold closed in 1995. The former base is now the community of Harvard Park.

The communications facility was automated and the personnel responsible for running it were transferred to CFB Edmonton. The bunker was sold to a private developer, but was bought back by the Federal Government and demolished in June 2001 after it was rumoured that a chapter of the Hells Angels was an expressing interest in aquiring it.

The airfield is now the Red Deer Regional Airport. Most of the original buildings remain in use, including all six hangars, the combined mess, several barracks the firehall, the transportations building and the PMQ homes. The former Penhold School however, now sits vacant.

Although no longer military establishment, the military have not completely abandoned Penhold. A portion of the former base was sectioned off and functions as the Penhold Cadet Summer Training Centre. With a permanent staff of 114 members, the centre carries on the tradition of training airmen and women at Penhold. The former base headquarters building is used by the cadet school.

Nothing remains at either the radar site nor the remote communications bunker site.

All that remains of RCAF Detachment Blackfalds is one hangar.

Source Material: DND press releases from May 1989 & February 1994, the Air Cadets Glider Training web site - http://www.mts.net/~rgspra/hist.html, "Bunkers, Bunkers Everywhere" by Paul Ozorak, information supplied by Janet Mawson, local resident of Penhold, Alberta (2001), Sea, Army & Air Cadets web page - http://www.cadets.dnd.ca/intro_e.asp, information provided by the Innisfail Flying Club (2004), information provided by, Judy Carleton, President of the Blackfalds Historical Society (2005), the personal recollections of the author (2004), the Pinetree Line web site - www.pinetreeline.org & "Sentinel" Magazine from April 1968.

*********************************************************************

No. 5 Elementary Flying Training School (Lethbridge) & No. 8 Bombing & Gunnery School:

Opened at the Kenyon Field Airport near Lethbridge in 1940 as No. 5 EFTS, a part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The school operated from the aerodrome at Lethbridge until it re-located to High River in 1941.

In its place, No. 8 B&GS opened on 13 October 1941 to train air bombers and air gunners. By the time the school closed in 1944, over 1600 students had graduated.

The aerodrome reverted back to a civilian airport and is now the Lethbridge County Airport. A new terminal building opened on 19 October 1979, replacing the former RCAF mess which acted as the terminal.

All that remains of the former school are the four World War era II hangars and the mess hall, now occupied by 702 Wing of the Royal Canadian Air Force Association. SRI Homes occupies one of the WWII-era hangars, while Triple M Housing occupies the other three hangers. Only runways 05-23 and 12-30 remain active.

The 18th Air Defence Regiment occupies what appears to be the former drill hall, now known as the Vimy Ridge Armoury.

Source Material: information supplied by The Sir Alexander Gault Museum & Archives (2002), information supplied by Scott Butchart, Lethbridbge County Airport (2004) & the "Wings Over Alberta" web site - http://collections.ic.gc.ca/flyboys/homefront/bcatp_sites.htm., information supplied by Norm Lund, local resident of High River (2001), "Wings For Victory - The Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada", by Spencer Dunmore, information supplied by The Sir Alexander Gault Museum & Archives (2002), the personal recollections of the author (2004) & "Canada Flight Supplement 1999"

*********************************************************************

No. 130 Non-Permanent Active Militia Training Centre / No. A-20 Royal Canadian Army Service Corps Advanced Training Centre:

Opened in 1940 east of Red Deer as No. 130 Non-Permanent Active Militia Training Centre.

On 15 February 1941, the camp became No. A-20 Royal Canadian Army Service Corps Advanced Training Centre. The Camp closed in 1945.

The camp then became No. 8 Canadian Vocational Training Centre, which was charged with the purpose of providing training opportunities for returning veterans. The 78th Field Battery, a sub-unit of the 20th Field Regiment, Royal Canadian Artillery (Militia), took over part of the former camp. As well, both the Red Deer Public and Separate School Boards have operated schools at the site. The old barrack blocks were incorporated into the Lindsay Thurber High School.

Several of the camp's other buildings remain, including the old drill hall, now occupied by the 78th Field Battery and 749 Communications Squadron, and the transportation & maintenance hangars, now the Central Alberta Theatre and the Red Deer Public School Maintenance Division Building.

Source Material: Royal Canadian Legion "Fort York News" from August 2000, the personal recollections of the author (2004) & the Archives Alberta web site - http://asalive.archivesalberta.org:8080/.

*********************************************************************

Netook Gliding Centre:

(Author's note: although Netook does not have a permanent, year round presence, I have placed it in this category as the property is owned by the Air Cadet League.)

Opened as a Relief Landing Field for No. 32 EFTS at Bowden, where student pilots used turf runways for flying training. RCAF Detachment Netook closed in 1944 along with No. 32 EFTS.

In the early 1980s, the Air Force made a return of sorts to the former RCAF Detachment Netook when the Royal Canadian Air Cadets began using the site as an alternate airfield to the Gliding School at Innisfail.

By 1986, the Gliding School moved permanently to Netook where the Netook Gliding Centre carries on the tradition of training airmen and women of the Royal Canadian Air Cadets. In 1990, the Air Cadet League bought the Netook Airfield, cementing the return of the Air Force to Netook.

Besides the grass airfield, all that remains of the WWII school today is one shed/hangar, currently used as an office and storage building for the air cadets. A new steel sided hanger also sits on the property.

Source Material: Netook Air Cadet Gliding Centre web site - http://www.cadets.net/pra/netookgc, the "Wings Over Alberta" web site - http://collections.ic.gc.ca/flyboys/homefront/bcatp_sites.htm, "Wings For Victory - The Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada", by Spencer Dunmore & the personal recollections of the author (2004).

*********************************************************************

BRITISH COLUMBIA


Canadian Forces Base Chilliwack:

Established on 15 February 1941 at Vedder Crossing as Camp Chilliwack for the purpose of defending the West Coast against attacks by the Japanese forces. Camp Chilliwack was also designated as a recruit-training centre, No. 112 Canadian Army Basic Training Centre, and as the new home for A6 Canadian Engineering Training Centre, originally from Camp Dundurn. The camp�s rugged terrain and pleasant climate provided an excellent location for continuous training throughout the year.

After the war, Camp Chilliwack became a permanent Army training establishment, with the additional duties of providing administrative and logistical support to the Regular and Reserve Force Army units on the British Columbia mainland. The engineer school was re-designated as the Canadian Forces School Of Military Engineering. The RCSME at Camp Chilliwack also included a fire-fighting school for the training of Army fire-fighters.

Camp Chilliwack was also the home of the 58th Field Engineer Squadron (re-named 1 Combat Engineer Regiment in 1977), who moved to the site from Victoria in 1957.

As a result of the Unification, Camp Chilliwack was re-named CFB Chilliwack and its support role was expanded to include all the Regular and Reserve Force units on the British Columbia mainland, included taking over administrative control of the Jericho Beach Garrison in Vancouver.

The Royal Canadian School of Military Engineering was re-named the Canadian Forces School of Mechanical Engineering (CFSME) and in 1970, the Canadian Forces Officer Candidate School (CFOCS), the successor of the officer training schools of the three former services, moved to the site from Work Point Barracks in Esquimalt.

In 1994, the 3rd Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (3 PPCLI), an amalgamated Reserve-Regular Force Battalion who are responsible for Reserve infantry training in B.C., moved to CFB Chilliwack from Work Point Barracks in Esquimalt.

In the mid 1990s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed and as a result, CFB Chilliwack closed in 1997. CFOCS moved to CFB St-Jean to merge with the basic recruit school. CFSME re-located to the Combat Training Centre at CFB Gagetown and 3 PPCLI moved to Edmonton Garrison prior to the Base closure. The Chilcotin training area and the firing ranges continue to be used by the local reserve units.

Area Support Unit Chilliwack was established 2 September 1997 on a small section of the former base to provide the administrative and logistical support to Reserve and the remaining Regular Force in British Columbia. The remainder of the former base is rented out to various companies. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police purchased a portion of the former base, including the area once occupied by CFOCS. Approximately $10M dollars in upgrades were spent modifying the facilities to create the RCMP Pacific Region Support Services Centre, which opened in February 2002. Future plans include constructing additional facilities to for the RCMP's fleet maintenance section.

Source Material: information supplied by Captain Audette, Public Affairs Officer, Land Force Western Area Headquarters (1999), information supplied by Sergeant Sylvain Tardif, Military Police Section, Area Support Unit Chilliwack (1999), "Sentinel" Magazine from January - February 1966, Pg. 6-8, information supplied by Barry Miller, Regional Director, Assets & Procurement, RCMP Pacific Region (2001), DND Web Archives - http://www.dnd.ca/admfincs/organiz/cfsuo/csss/ro/ro1997/20ful_e.asp & "The Garrison" newspaper from March 1995.

*********************************************************************

Jericho Beach Garrison:

Originally opened by the Canadian Air Board in 1920 as the Jericho Beach Air Station. The site was turned over the newly formed RCAF in 1925 and re-named RCAF Station Jericho Beach, one of several Flying Boat Stations that would be established on the west coast.

Also in 1925, No. 1 Signal Squadron was formed at Jericho Beach and later; No. 4 and No. 6 Bomber Reconnaissance Squadrons would be stationed at Jericho Beach.

Jericho Beach also has the distinction of being the first seaplane base in Canada to have a unique element attached to it - a division of homing pigeons. Major Clarence MacLaurin began using homing pigeons aboard flying boats at Jericho in 1920. Shortly after the first hangers were completed, Major MacLaurin constructed several pigeon lofts to house and train pigeons for use by aircrews. By 1928, the RCAF had 8 pigeon lofts, the largest located at RCAF Station Ottawa (Rockcliffe). Defence Department cutbacks in the 1930's resulted in the elimination of all pigeon lofts except the ones at Jericho Beach and RCAF Station Dartmouth.

In 1930, RCAF Station Jericho Beach became the RCAF Centre for Seaplane and Flying Boat Training.

In 1940, Jericho Beach's role changed and it became the home of No. 3 Repair Depot. The seaplane squadrons moved to RCAF Station Sea Island. No. 3 Operational Training Unit was established at Jericho Beach, with a detachment at Patricia Bay in 1942, and remained until 1945 when it and No. 3 Repair Depot closed.

The Army's Pacific Command Headquarters moved to RCAF Station Jericho Beach from their location at Work Point Barracks in Esquimalt in 1942. Jericho Beach officially became a permanent fixture of Canada's west coast military in 1946, and control of the base was transferred to the Army. Although RCAF Station Jericho Beach ceased to exist 1 March 1947, No. 12 Group, North-West Air Command, maintained an RCAF presence. No. 12 Group was re-designated No 12 Air Defence Group in 1951 and No. 5 Air Division in 1955.

In later years, the base would become the home of Pacific Command's successor, British Columbia District Headquarters (BC HQ), as well as 442 "Caribou" Squadron, 74 Comm. Group, 744 Comm. Regiment, 12 Medical Company, Canadian Forces Technical Services Detachment, Special Investigative Unit Pacific Detachment and a Recruiting Centre.

In 1964, the PMQ houses connected to the now closed RCAF Station Vancouver (Sea Island) became part of the Jericho Beach.

The base was downsized to a detachment of CFB Chilliwack in 1968, re-named Canadian Forces Base Chilliwack - Vancouver Detachment.

Between 1968 and 1972, the detachment's size was reduced when 72 acres along the waterfront, north of Fourth Avenue, was transferred to the City of Vancouver for recreational use. Most of the former military buildings, including the four hangars that once housed the flying boats were demolished. The PMQ houses formerly belonging to RCAF Station Vancouver were sold and moved onto First Nations Reserves along Georgia Strait.

In the mid 1990s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed and as a result, the Jericho Beach Detachment closed in 1996. A portion of the former Detachment was sectioned off and functions as the Jericho Beach Garrison. The former headquarters building remains in military hands, occupied by 39 Canadian Brigade Group Headquarters (formerly BC District HQ), the 12 Medical Company and 744 Communication Squadron. There are currently plans to re-establish a small military engineering presence on the base.

While several of the Detachment's vacant buildings were torn down, some do remain: the former Junior Ranks barracks is now a youth hostel, the old base recreation hall is now the Jericho Arts Centre and the former Officers' mess is now the West Point Grey Community Centre. Additionally, some WWII-era buildings also remain.

The former PMQ area is being re-developed into Garrison Crossing, an upscale community with a mix of new homes and renovated PMQs.

The 12 Medical Company Museum remains to help preserve Jericho Beach's military heritage.

Source material: information supplied by Sergeant Sylvain Tardif, Military Police Section, Area Support Unit Chilliwack (1999) , pamphlet printed by Studio High Techniques of Toronto (1998), information supplied by Sherry Eastholm, Manager, Sidney (B.C.) Museum (1999), "Sentinel" Magazine from May 1974, Pgs 12 - 15, "Jericho Beach and the West Coast Flying Boat Stations" by Chris Weicht, Heritage BC web site - http://www.heritagebc.ca/military.htm#Barrett, the personal recollections of Vince Bissonnette, former Commanding Officer CF Detachment Jericho Beach (2004), information provided by Major J.D. Barrett, Jericho Beach Garrison (2004), Garrison Crossing web site - http://www.garrisoncrossing.ca/English/Default.htm & "The Garrison" newspaper from March 1995.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Patricia Bay:

Established on 26 October 1939 when the aerodrome at Patricia Bay was taken over by the RAF and RCAF for use as a combined seaplane-landplane station.

During World War II, Patricia Bay was an extremely busy base. The station was divided into three sections: the West Camp, the East Camp and the Seaplane base.

The West Camp housed No. 3 Operational Training Unit from 9 November 1942 until 3 August 1945.

The East Camp housed No. 32 Operational Training Unit (Royal Air Force) from 1 June 1944 until it re-located to RCAF Station Comox. No. 6 Operational Training Unit was established in its place.

The Seaplane base housed a detachment from No. 111 Coastal Artillery Co-operation (No. 111 CAC) who relocated from RCAF Station Sea Island on 19 May 1940, becoming the first squadron to be stationed at Patricia Bay. In August 1940, No. 111 CAC was re-designated No. 111 (Fighter) Squadron. No 120 Bomber Squadron arrived at the station on 1 August 1940.

Some of the other units during and after WWII were: No. 13 Operational Training Unit (RCAF), No. 115 (Fighter) Squadron, with their C-22 Fairchild Bolingbrokes until re-deployed to Annette Island in May 1942, No. 133 Squadron who re-located form Boundary Bay in 1943, No. 135 (Fighter) Squadron, No. 149 (Bomber Torpedo) Squadron, No. 7 Radio Detachment, the 1st Battalion, Edmonton Fusiliers, the 9th & 10th Anti-aircraft Batteries of the Royal Canadian Artillery, No. 122 (Composite) Squadron, with their C-126 Noorduyn Norsemans, and a detachment of the Royal Norwegian Naval Air Force, who arrived in March 1941 for seaplane training. The Ground Warfare School and No. 1 School of Flying Control ran short courses at the station.

In July 1942, No. 132 (Fighter) Squadron arrived at the station.

In July 1944, an Air Cadet Camp was established at Patricia Bay and a month later, the station became a temporary movie studio when MGM arrived to film scenes for the film "Son of Lassie."

RCAF Station Patricia Bay closed on 31 March 1945. The Victoria Flying Club took over the hangars once occupied by 32 OUT at the East Camp on 14 November 1946. The Federal Department of Transportation assumed control of the aerodrome in May 1948, naming it the Sydney Airport. The airport was re-named the Victoria International Airport in 1950.

In 1954 the Royal Canadian Navy assumed control of the West Camp as a naval air station. RCN VU-33 Squadron, a lodger unit of Canada's West Coast Navy Station HMCS Naden, was formed here on 1 November 1954, equipped with a fleet of CP121 Trackers and CT133 Silver-Star jet trainers. VU-33 Squadron was given the responsibility of conducting ship gunnery practice and radar calibration, coastal surveillance, search and rescue and Sonobouy Proving and Testing Service (SPATS). VC-922 Squadron, Royal Canadian Naval Air Reserve was formed at Patricia Bay on 1 December 1953 and manned by reservists from HMCS Malahat Naval Reserve Division in Esquimalt.

VU-33 Squadron re-located to CFB Comox in August 1974, ending over 30 years of military presence at the Victoria Airport. However, this absence of military personnel would prove to be short lived.

In 1985, 443 Anti-submarine Warfare Helicopter Squadron, originally from CFB Shearwater, re-located to the Victoria Airport to provide Sea King helicopter support aboard 2 Navy Frigates and one Helicopter Destroyer stationed at CFB Esquimalt - Naden. The Squadron took over the quarters once occupied by VU-33 Squadron. On 31 January 1995, 443 Squadron changed their name to 443 Maritime Helicopter Squadron.

The former RCAF Station Patricia Bay has seen quite a lot of change since the first plane took off from its runways, but some links to the past remain: several of the World War II era hangars remain in use today.

Source Material: the personal recollections of Petty Officer 2nd Class John Slor (Ret'd) (1999), the personal recollections of Master Warrant Officer R.G. Mastin , 443 Squadron, Patricia Bay (1999), pamphlet printed by Studio High Techniques of Toronto (1998), "Sentinel" Magazine from April 1968 & September 1974, pg. 28, information supplied by Sherry Eastholm, Manager, Sidney (B.C.) Museum (1999), "The Impact of Public Policy on a Naval Reserve Division" by Michael Hadley (1982), information supplied by Ian Waterlow, Archivist & Historian, Sydney, BC, "Badges of the Canadian Navy" by LT (N) Graeme Arbuckle, the RCAF Station Commox web site - http://www.rcaf.com/stations/comox.shtml, Boundary Bay Airport web site - http://www.czbb.com, History of the 400 Series Squadrons - http://www.airforce.dnd.ca/airforce/eng/history_400s/rcafsqns.htm & the 12 Wing Shearwater web page - www.achq.dnd.ca/12wing/Wing/Shear.htm.

*********************************************************************

Vernon Army Cadet Summer Training Centre:

Originally opened in 1909 as a militia training camp for units of the Okanogan Valley. During World War I, the camp was a very busy place for the training of units of the Canadian Expeditionary Force. After the war, the camp returned to being a militia training camp.

In 1940, the Camp was once again taken over by the Regular Force and became the home of No. 110 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre and the Canadian Battle Drill School for the duration of the war. After serving as a demobilization centre for returning soldiers, the camp closed in 1947.

The camp re-opened in 1949 as a summer training centre for the Royal Canadian Army Cadets and remains so to this day, as do the World War II era buildings. However, the professional soldiers have not completely abandoned their former turf as both Regular and Reserve Force Army units utilize the training area on a year round basis.

Historian Francois Arseneault describes the Vernon Army Cadet Summer Training Centre as "...perhaps the best preserved example of a WWII H-hut camp in left Canada, if not the largest. The buildings are remarkable well preserved given the mild winters and dry, relatively bug-free summers".

Source Material: information provided by Francois Arseneault, Historian (2003) & The Canadian Army WWII Training Establishments web site - www.canadiansoldiers.com/wwiitrain.htm.

*********************************************************************

MANITOBA


Canadian Forces Base Portage La Prairie:

Established as No. 14 Elementary Flying Training School on 28 October 1940 - 3 July 1942, a part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. On 28 April 1941 No. 7 Air Observers School also opened at the aerodrome.

In July 1942, No. 14 EFTS disbanded and No. 7 AOS expanded to take over the entire station.

No. 7 AOS closed on 31 March 1945, corresponding with the termination of the BCATP. Immediately afterwards, No 3 Air Navigation School was established at Portage La Prairie, but this was short lived as it was disbanded 31 August 1945.

The station remained open after the war, and in March 1946, No. 1 Manning Depot re-located the Toronto Exhibition Grounds to recruit new pilots. However, this too would be short-lived as the Manning Depot closed one year later. The station continued to be occupied by No. 2 Construction Maintenance Unit as a storage depot and No. 2 Radio wave Propagation Unit, originally from RCAF Station Torbay. In 1949 the station closed and only a small caretaker staff remained. The Federal Department of Transportation assumed control of the airfield.

The post-war expansion of the RCAF resulted in many former aerodromes being re-opened and RCAF Station Portage La Prairie did so on 15 September 1952. No. 2 Advanced Flying School (No. 2 AFS) was established to train RCAF and NATO pilots, first setting up operations at RCAF Station MacDonald on a temporary basis, then re-locating to Portage La Prairie in October 1952. Jet flying training began in 1953 with the arrival of the Lockheed designed T-33 Silver Stars but by 1964, propeller driven aircraft training replaced the jet trainers.

No. 2 AFS relocated to RCAF Station Moose Jaw in August 1964 but the station gained two schools that same month. No. 1 Advanced Flying School re-located from RCAF Station Rivers as did No. 1 Flying Instructors School (basic) from RCAF Station Moose Jaw, making Portage La Prairie a centre for pilot selection, basic helicopter training and flight instructor training for both RCAF and Royal Canadian Navy pilots. No. 1 AFS was later re-named No. 3 Flying Training School.

RCAF Station Portage La Prairie was also the home of two of the RCAF�s precision flying teams, The Red Knights from 1959-1969 and the Golden Centenaries from 1966-1968.

In 1959 RCAF Station Portage La Prairie assumed responsibility for the storage depot detachment established at the former RCAF Station MacDonald.

No. 3 Advance Flying School, originally from RCAF Station Gimli, re-opened at Portage La Prairie in 1965.

As a result of the Unification, the station was re-named CFB Portage La Prairie in 1966. The base gained a school when the newly designated No. 3 Canadian Forces Primary Flying Training School moved to the base from CFB Borden in July 1970, but lost another one year later when No. 2 Canadian Forces Flying Training School moved to CFB Moose Jaw.

In the late 1980s, DND budget reductions lead to the contracting out of flight training to civilian agencies. As a result, CFB Portage La Prairie closed on 1 September 1992.

The site is now the Southport Aerospace Centre, a commercial-industrial centre. Most of the former base's buildings remain. A new air control tower was constructed on the opposite side of the airfield and a new barracks, the Lt. Alan McLeod Building, houses the Air Force student pilots.

Although no longer an Air Force base, No. 3 Canadian Forces Flying Training School, a Detachment of 17 Wing Winnipeg, remains at the former base to oversee Primary Flight Training and Helicopter Training, conducted by the Canadian Aviation Training Centre. A permanent contingent of 41 military personnel remains at the former base, commanded by school Commandant LCol S.H.R. Bannister.

It could be said that RCAF Station Portage La Prairie has finally come full circle, as many of the instructors who trained the student pilots under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan were in-fact civilians working under contract to the Royal Canadian Air Force.

Source material: DND press release from July 1989, "Sentinel" Magazine from May 1970, the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan site -http://www.ualberta.ca/EDMONTON/CONTRIB/airmuseum/aambcatp.html, the RCAF Station Moose Jaw site - http://www.rcaf.com/stations/moosejaw.shtml, & "Portage La Prairie" Fifty Years of Flying Training: 1940-1990� by Major Gordon Greavette, CD, information provided by No. 3 Canadian Forces Flying Training School (2003), the personal recollections of the author (2003) & the Southport Aerospace Centre web site - http://www.southport.mb.ca, Canadian Forces Air Navigation School history - www.cfans.com & http://www.southport.mb.ca/commercl/canforces.htm.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Base Gimli:

Established on 6 September 1943 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan as No. 18 Service Flying Training School, with a relief landing field at Netley. The School closed on 30 May 1945 and the station was put on a care and maintenance basis.

RCAF Detachment Netley was abandoned at the end of the war.

Post-war expansion of the RCAF resulted in several WWII aerodromes being re-activated. RCAF Station Gimli re-opened in 1950 as a jet fighter training station. Several schools were formed, including No. 1 Flying Training School.

In June 1953, No. 2 Flying Training School transferred to the newly re-opened RCAF Station Moose Jaw and No. 3 Advanced Flying School was established at Gimli.

In 1964, No. 3 AFS was re-designated No. 1 Flying Training School.

No. 1 Advanced Flying Training Unit, with their T-33 jet trainers moved to RCAF Station Gimli from Moose Jaw in December 1969.

As a result of the Unification, the Station was re-named CFB Gimli.

CFB Gimli closed in September 1971 and the Advanced Flying Training Unit moved to CFB Cold Lake. In 1972, the Gimli Industrial Business Park was established at the former Air Base. Most of the station's buildings have been torn down, but some do remain, including all the hangers. Only runway 14-32, the taxiway and a small part of another runway remain of the original triagle pattern airfield. A new 7000 ft runway was built parallel to 14-32, but it is closed to aircraft now; instead it used as a racetrack today. CN Railway had a training centre at Gimli Industrial Park from 1977 until 1995.

Current tenants of the Gimli Industrial Business Park include, the Government of Manitoba's water bomber squadron, Manitoba Hydro, the Winnipeg Skydiving Club and two pilot training schools, The Interlake International Pilot Training Centre and Interlake Aviation, who utilize the airfield. As well, the Gimli Motorsport Park conducts motorcycle and sport car racing on runway 32L, which is now closed to aircraft.

The Private Married Quarters, now called the Aspen Park Condominiums, also remain but are all privately owned. Many have been refurbished with new siding.

Although no longer military establishment, the military have not completely abandoned Gimli. 435 Transport and Rescue Squadron based out of 17 Wing Winnipeg use the Gimli Airport when they conduct training exercises over Lake Winnipeg. As well, the Gimli Gliding Centre carries on the tradition of training airmen and women of the Royal Canadian Air Cadets at Gimli. Originally established in 1984, the Gliding Centre remained at Gimli until moving to CFB Penhold in 1987. The school returned to Gimli in 1998 and remains here today. A small permanent staff remains at the site year round, but during the summer months, the military population rises to approximately 200 staff and students. The current student barracks is the former CN Rail building.

As well, Gimli Industrial Business Park hosted The National Search and Rescue Competition, SAREX 97 in September 1997. Competing at the annual skills competition were the Canadian Forces' five SAR units: Winnipeg's 435 Squadron, Trenton's 424 Squadron, Greenwood's 413 Squadron, Comox's 442 Squadron and Gander�s 103 Squadron.

The former RCAF Station Gimli has also become somewhat of a movie studio, with two TV movies having been filmed at the site - "My Life As a Dog" and "The Avro Arrow Story". Gimli was even made front-page news in 1983 when an Air Canada Boeing 767 ran out of fuel near Red Lake, in northern Ontario. The pilot, an experienced glider pilot, glided the plane over 150 miles and landed safely at Gimli. All 60 passengers aboard the "Gimli Glider" survived unharmed.

Source Material: Gimli Industrial Business Park web site - http://www.rmgimli.com/ipark/index2.htm, "Sentinel" Magazine from October 1968 & November 1969, the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan site - http://www.ualberta.ca/EDMONTON/CONTRIB/airmuseum/aambcatp.html & www.airmuseum.ca the 15 Wing Moose Jaw web site - www.15wing.msjw.dnd.ca/15his.htm, the RCAF Station Moose Jaw site - http://www.rcaf.com/stations/moosejaw.shtml, Town of Gimli Community Profile - http://www.communityprofiles.mb.ca/cgi-bin/csd/index.cgi?id=4618033, History of 2CFFTS web site - http://www.moosejaw.dnd.ca/2his_e.asp#to_top, pamphlet printed by Studio High Techniques of Toronto (1998), �Portage La Prairie � Fifty Years of Flying Training: 1940-1990� by Major G.E.I. Greavette, CD, DND press release from September 30, 1997, Sea, Army & Air Cadets web page - http://www.cadets.dnd.ca/intro_e.asp, information provided by the Gimli Gliding Centre (2003), the Winnipeg Sport Car Club web site - http://www.wscc.mb.ca/roadracing.php & the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

NEW BRUNSWICK


Camp Sussex:

Opened in 1928 as a tented Army Training Camp, used by the 28th Cavelry.

During World War II, the camp served as the home to No. A-30 Canadian Infantry Training Centre. "Temporary" H-huts were built at the camp for barracks and administration buildings. In early 1944, No. A-34 Special Officers' Training Centre also opened at the camp.

The camp remained open after World War II, serving as the headquarters of the 8th Canadian Hussars (Princess Louise's).

The camp began downsizing in the early 1950s when the nearby Camp Gagetown was established and finally closed in 1965. The rifle range continued to be used until the early 1980s, when it too closed due to nearby residential development. The former camp's hospital was used as the local hospital until 1979, when it was demolished.

Although nothing remains of Camp Sussex today, the last tank hanger being demolished years ago, the Department of National Defense still owns part of the property. The Brigadier Milton Gregg, VC, Armoury occupies a small portion of the former camp, serving as the home to "B" Squadron of the 8th Canadian Hussars (Princess Louise's) and the training area continues to be used by troops from CFB Gagetown.

The remainder of the former camp is a recreational park, industrial park and educational campus. A future housing development is also planned for the area.

As a nod to the property's military past, the local sports centre is named the 8th Hussars Sports Centre.

Source Material: Town of Sussex - http://www.townofsussex.com/sussex/history.html, the Blacks Harbour Historical Society - http://www.reocities.com/blacksharbour/utopia.html, information supplied by Doug Briggs, Sergeant-at-Arms, Royal Canadian Legion, Sussex Branch(2003), Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic by Paul Ozorak & New Brunswick Historic Images - http://www.rootsweb.com/~nbpstgeo/stge9armycamp.htm.

*********************************************************************

NOVA SCOTIA


Royal Canadian Air Force Station Debert:

Opened in April 1941, RCAF Station Debert was the home to the Royal Air Force's No. 31 Operational Training Unit (opened on 3 June 1941), a Communications Storage Facility and the Royal Canadian Navy's No. 31 Naval Air Gunners School. A Relief Landing Field was also constructed near the Town of Maitland.

No. 31 OTU was later taken over by the RCAF and re-designated No. 7 OTU. RCAF Station Debert closed on 20 June 1945.

Although the Canadian Army continued to use the neighboring Army camp, the airfield sat unused until the RCAF resumed using it for flight training in 1954.

In 1960 the RCAF again departed and the airfield was taken over by the Royal Canadian Navy as a training facility for Navy fighter pilots. Markings were painted on the runways so that the Navy pilots could practice simulated carrier take-offs and landings. By 1969, the Navy had departed and the airfield was once again abandoned. It was sold off in 1970.

From 1968-1973, the abandoned runways were used as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing.

In 1974, the Truro Flying Club took over management of the airfield, now known as the Debert Airport. Two of the original runways and one partial remain in use today.

*************************

Camp Debert:

Opened adjacent to RCAF Station Debert in April 1941 as a staging area and training area for units deploying overseas, as well as an ammunition storage facility. Regiments that trained at the camp included The Regina Rifle Regiment, the Winnipeg Rifles, The Canadian Scottish Regiment, The North Nova Scotia Regiment, The Glengarries and The Duke of York Hussars. A-23 Coast Defence and Anti-Aircraft Advanced Training Centre conducted radar training for the army.

After WWII, Camp Debert continued to be used as an Army training facility for the 3rd Regiment Royal Canadian Horse Artillery (1948-1958) and the Royal Highland Regiment of Canada (1950-1952) served as the home of the 12th Ordinance Ammunition Depot (1948-1958), the 31st Ordnance Ammunition Depot (1948-1965).

The late 1950s and early 1960s were a busy time for Camp Debert for not only the Canadian Army but the Royal Canadian Navy too. The Royal Canadian Navy re-located their Regional Medical Equipment Depot from the HMC Dockyard at HMCS Stadacona to Camp Debert in 1959, taking up residence in one of the former RCAF hangars.

By the late 1950s, the threat of a nuclear war had become so great that the Canadian government decided to construct a secret underground bunker to house the major elements of the government in the event of an emergency. Most Provincial Governments followed suit by building their own bunkers. The Nova Scotia Government chose Camp Debert for the site of their bunker in the early 1960s. The Provincial Warning Centre, the Regional Emergency Government Headquarters and 720 Communications Squadron also took up residence in the bunker. All Government bunkers also doubled as a communications station, and thus had a remote communications bunker located some distance away. This second bunker, usually a single story structure, was staffed exclusively by communications personnel. Debert's remote transmitter bunker site was constructed near Great Village.

In the mid 1960s, Debert began to downsize, beginning with the closure of the ammunition depot in 1965. The overall size of Camp Debert was reduced in 1971 when a large portion of the camp were sold, reducing the camp to 300 hectares from a war-time high of 6000 hectares.

With the Unification of the late 1960s, Camp Debert became a Detachment of CFB Halifax.

Post-unification, the Camp's main function was as a strategic communication station for DND, serving as an Automated Defence Data Network (ADDN) Communications Node site and a station in the NATO Integrated Communications System (NICS), situated in the bunker and under the command of unit 72 Communications Group at CFB Halifax.

In 1994, the Regional Emergency Government Headquarters closed.

In 1995, Camp Debert separated from CFB Halifax, becoming an autonomous station, but this would be short-lived.

In the mid 1990s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed and as a result, Camp Debert closed on 15 July 1996.

Communication Detachment Great Village was established at Debert's remote transmitter bunker site at Great Village. The detachment, which falls under command of 726 Communication Squadron at CFB Halifax, carries out Debert's communication duties.

Although Debert is no longer a military establishment, a small military presence does remain in the form of a Construction Engineering Detachment, the Debert Military Family Resource Centre and the Royal Canadian Air Cadets Regional Gliding School (Atlantic), who today carry on the tradition of training airmen and women at Debert. The communications bunker at Debert is now a cold war museum, similar to the "Diefenbunker" at the former CFS Carp. It also serves as the headquarters for the air cadet gliding school and is occasionally used as a barracks by military units transiting through the area.

The Colchester Development Corporation owns the former camp, now the Debert Air Industrial Park.

Also remining at Debert are both ammunition depots (but empty), the PMQs (9 remain are still used by military families), Hangar No. 3, the guard hut and 3 of the old drill halls. The barracks site is slowly being consumed by vegetation.

The Debert Military History Society opened its doors at the former camp in November 1997 in the only remining "H-hut", to preserve the military history of the former Camp Debert, replacing the CFS Debert Museum which closed in 1995.

In 2005, the bunker at CFS Debert is home to the cadet regional gliding school in the summer, is available to other groups throughout the year, and is occasionally used as a barracks by military units in transit across Nova Scotia. The last Commanding Officer of CFS Debert, Major David Quick, was eager to say in his closing speech that CFS Debert was the best kept secret in the military (Whitaker, 1997).

Source material: "Sentinel" Magazine from August 1974, pg. 29, "Comprehensive Study Environmental Assessment of the Closure of CFS Debert Nova Scotia, Project No. 11522", prepared by Jacques Whitford Environmental Ltd. (July 1997), "Comprehensive Study Summary report Closure of CFS Debert Nova Scotia", prepared by Jacques Whitford Environmental Ltd. (November1997), "Where has the Station Gone? Or What ever happened to CFS Debert?" (15 Jan 97), the Communications & Electronics Museum site - www.c-and-e-museum.org, "Bunkers, Bunkers Everywhere" by Paul Ozorak, "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak, The Debert Military History Society web site - http://www3.ns.sympatico.ca/debert.museum, Colchester Park web site - www.colchesterpark.com, "History of Canadian Airports" by T. M. McGrath & "CFS Debert - The End of an Era" (24 Oct 96), by Warrant Officer R.J. Whitaker, Detachment Commander, Communication Detachment Great Village, NS at http://www.dnd.ca/commelec/nwslettr/vol34/debert.htm.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Base Cornwallis:

Originally opened in May 1942 in Halifax as a Royal Canadian Navy recruit-training centre named His Majesty's Canadian Ship (HMCS) Cornwallis. This location would be short lived and Cornwallis moved to Deep Brook in April 1943 where it would become the largest new entry training facility in the Commonwealth.

The end of WWII saw a reduced need for Naval trainees, and as a result, HMCS Cornwallis closed on 28 February 1946. This would prove to be a short-lived closure, as the RCN re-opened the base in November 1948. A new 19 week course was designed to train sailors for the post-war RCN, a course that would include women (WRENS) by the early 1950s.


After the closure of the Sea Cadet summer camp HMCS ACADIA at the Point Edward Base in 1964, a new Sea Cadet camp was established at Cornwallis. However, the name HMCS Acadia wouldn't follow the cadet camp. The name HMCS Acadia was revived as the name of the Cornwallis cadet school in 1978.

As a result of the Unification in 1968, the base was re-named CFB Cornwallis and expanded their recruit training courses to include all three service branches.

Due to a reduction in recruiting levels, as a part of the overall reduction in the personnel levels in the Canadian Forces, CFB Cornwallis closed in 1994. The recruit school moved to CFB St-Jean to merge with the other CF recruit school. 14 Wing Greenwood now provides the local Reserve and Cadet units with administrative and logistical support.

Today the site is known as Cornwallis Park, a commercial and residential complex and most of the former military buildings remain. Amongst the many commercial tenants of Cornwallis Park are the Lester B. Pearson International Peacekeeping Training Centre - a joint DND - Department of Foreign Affairs venture that provides peacekeeping education, training and research.

Although Cornwallis is no longer a base, a Navy presence does remain in the form of the HMCS Acadia Sea Cadet Summer Training Centre, who today carries on the tradition of training young sailors at Cornwallis.

The HMCS/CFB Cornwallis Military Historical Society acquired the former St Georges Chapel and opened it as the Cornwallis Military Museum in 1997. An application has been made by the Society to the National Historic Sites and Monuments Board to have Cornwallis made a national historic site by Parks Canada.

Source material: DND press release from February 1994, "Sentinel" Magazine from August 1974 & "Badges of the Canadian Navy" by LT (N) Graeme Arbuckle, The HMCS/CFB Cornwallis Military Historical Society web site - http://www3.ns.sympatico.ca/capcom/cornmilmus.html, "The Maple Leaf" - Vol. 4, No. 36, 2001, "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak & Kespuwick Developments' Cornwallis Park Web Site - www.cornwallis.ns.ca.

*********************************************************************

Naval Radio Section Mill Cove:

Officially opened as Canadian Forces Station Mill Cove on 19 December 1967, replacing Naval Radio Station Albro Lake as the Royal Canadian Navy's east-coast radio communications station. CFS Mill Cove was constructed as three distinct sites - the "Upper Site", consisting of the operations site, the "Lower Site", consisting of several administrative buildings and the PMQ's, and the transmission facilities at Newport Corner.

Department of National Defence cutbacks in the early 1990s saw many bases across Canada close, merge or downsize. As a result, the "Lower Site" closed n 1 June 1995. The "Upper Site" and the transmission facilities at Newport Corner remained operational, but were downsized to a remote broadcast control station and a Detachment of Maritime Forces Atlantic Stadacona (CFB Halifax).

The radio unit was re-named Naval Radio Section Mill Cove in March 1998 to officially recognize its naval heritage.

On 10 April 2001 the Navy's radio communications facilities returned to the Halifax area for the first time since 1968 when Naval Radio Section Mill Cove re-located to the new Remote Operations Communication Centre at Stadacona. The Mill Cove and Newport Corner receiver and transmitter sites remain active, controlled remotely from Stadacona.

At Mill Cove, the radio building, the administration buildings, the gym, the fire hall, the Jr. Rank's Mess, the Living Quarters and the workshop buildigs remain, but are vacant and deteriorating. The lower level PMQs are still there and occupied (not by the military), and where the trailers used to park behind the Admin Building is now the home of a beautiful new school. The commissionaires at the main gate are the only personnel that remain at Mill Cove. Newport Corners is staffed only by repair technicians.

Both the Aldergrove and Matsqui radio stations can be remotely controlled by CFB Halifax. Similarily, both Mill Cove and Newport Corner can be remotely controlled CFB Esquimalt

Source Material: "Trident" magazine from June 3, 1987 and June 15, 1995, "The Maple Leaf" Magazine from April 2001, information supplied by Ronald J. Yaschuk, CD (CPO Ret'd) (2007) & information supplied by the Maritime Command Museum, City of Halifax (1999).

For the full history of CFS Mill cove, visit http://webhome.idirect.com/~jproc/rrp/mc_mill_cove.html *********************************************************************

No. 60 Canadian Infantry (Basic) Training Centre:

Originally opened as a basic training centre in March 1941 at the Yarmouth Exhibition grounds. The camp was converted into an infantry training centre in November 1943. By the time the camp closed on 31 October 1945, over 20,000 men had been trained in the art of warefare.

The former drill hall remains and is occupied by the 84th Independent Field Battery (RCA) and a Cadet unit. Some of the H-huts remain also, but with new siding.

Source material: "Abandoned Military Installations in Canada Vol III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak and informaion provided by Christina Blake, Town of Yarmouth (2005).

*********************************************************************

ONTARIO


Canadian Forces Base Toronto:

Established on land occupied by DeHavilland's aircraft factory and airfield in Downsview in 1947 as Royal Canadian Air Force Station Toronto. The base served as a supply base of Air Material Command, in addition to providing operational and logistical support to the RCAF's Regular and Reserve Force squadrons in the Toronto area, including the RCAF Staff College (later the CF Staff College) and the Avenue Road Detachment. The station would also become home to several former World War II squadrons.

In 1946, 400 Auxiliary Squadron was re-activated as a part of the Auxiliary Air Force, with the squadron's Headquarters Unit occupying space at the Avenue Road Detachment. The Squadron was equipped with Vampire MKIII jet fighters, flying them initially from the RCAF Station Malton (now Toronto Pearson International Airport). In acquiring land for the new air station, the RCAF found it necessary to close Sheppard Avenue, so as to expand the airfield. The remains of the former Sheppard Avenue became the main east-west road across the station, renamed Carl Hall Road.

When DeHavilland moved into their new facilities at the south end of the airfield, the RCAF took over the old plant facilities, except for Plant #3 which was still occupied on a leased back basis, an arrangement that would continue until 1989.

Included in this takeover was the original DeHavilland Plant #1. This is where the first DHC-1 Chipmunk, DHC-2 Beaver and DHC-3 Otter were built.

On 1 October 1950, 411 Auxiliary Squadron was also re-activated and both squadrons began training for their role as auxiliary fighter-bomber squadrons on various fixed-wing aircraft, including the Avro 621, the Tomahawk, Mustang, Mosquito, Spitfire, Sabre and others over the years. The base also became the home of No. 1 Repair Depot and No. 1 Construction Engineering Depot. No. 1 Supply Depot moved from the Weston Road Site in September 1953, as did the Canadian Air Crew Selection Unit. 436 (Transport) Squadron re-located from RCAF Station Dorval on 1 July 1956.

VC-920 Squadron of the Royal Canadian Naval Air Service Reserve arrived in 1953 with their fleet of Grumman Avengers and later Trackers. Markings were painted on the runways so that the Navy pilots could practice simulated carrier take-offs and landings. VC-920 Squadron disbanded in 1964.

Some of the other units in the early days of RCAF Station Toronto were 14 Wing Headquarters, later renamed 2 Tactical Aviation Wing and No. 14 Movement Control Detachment. The Defence Research Medical Laboratories, later re-named the Defence Research Establishment Toronto, was established at the Avenue Road Detachment on 1 May 1950. The facility moved to Downsview in October 1953.

In 1954, the RCAF officially assumed control of the airfield from DeHavalland and flight activity increased at the station. The C-10 Heavy Transport Aircraft, flown by 436 (Transport) Squadron, were active at the station from 1956 until 436 Squadron relocated to RCAF Station Uplands in 1964. The last Lancaster Bomber, FM104, was flown to Downsview for retirement in 1964. It sat on the Toronto waterfront for years as a memorial to the RCAF, but is now at the Toronto Aerospace Museum undergoing restoration.

In 1955, the William Baker Park and Stanley Green Park PMQ areas were officially opened.

The station was re-named RCAF Station Downsview on 1 October 1958 and re-designated as a base of Air Transport Command. By early 1958, 400 and 411 Squadrons took on a new role as transport-search and rescue squadrons and the Beechcraft C-45 Expeditors replaced the fighter aircraft. No 1 Mobile Support Equipment Maintenance Depot, who had the responsibility of maintaining the RCAF's fleet of vehicles, moved to Downsview in 1965. Following the disbandment of VC-920 RCN Squadron, the Headquarters Unit of 400 Auxiliary Squadron moved to Downsview in October 1964 and occupied the VC-920�s former quarters.

In July 1966, with the impending closure of RCAF Station Centralia, aircrew selection training was transferred the RCAF Personnel Applied Research Unit (RCAF PARU) at Downsview's Avenue Road Detachment, a part of the Aircrew Selection Unit located at Downsview itself.

As a result of the Unification in 1968, the base was re-named CFB Toronto and its support role was expanded to include all Regular Force, Reserve and Cadet units (Army, Navy and Air Force) in the Toronto Garrison. The RCAF PARU was re-named the Canadian Forces PARU.

CFB Toronto also assumed administrative control of Canadian Forces Reserve Barracks Hamilton, establishing a detachment at the site.

Central Militia Area Headquarters (CMA HQ) moved to Downsview after CFB Oakville closed in 1971. 400 and 411 Squadrons were re-named 400 "City of Toronto" Squadron and 411"County of York" Squadron and both became part of 10 Tactical Air Group, a unit of the army's Force Mobile Command. The Defence Research Establishment Toronto merged with the CF Institute of Environmental Medicine to form the Defence and Civil Institute for Environmental Medicine in 1971. In 1979, Aircrew Selection Unit was re-named the Canadian Forces Aircrew Selection Centre.

When the Allen Expressway was built in 1971, Downsview's east-west runway was closed and a quarter of its eastern portion dissected by the new highway. Toronto Police now use the severed portion of the runway as a driver training area for their police vehicles.

In 1980, 400 and 411 Squadrons switched from fixed-wing aircraft to CH-136 Kiowa helicopters, and by 1982, both squadrons had been re-named as 400 Tactical and Training Helicopter Squadron (400 T & THS) and 411 Tactical Helicopter Squadron (411THS). The role of both squadrons by this time was to conduct security and transport duties during such events as the visit by Pope John Paul II to CFB Toronto in 1984 and the Toronto Economic Summit in 1988.

In 1990, a restructuring of the Armed Forces resulted in the base being transferred from Air Command to the Army's Mobile Command. Although this transfer ended 43 years of Air Force control of the base, CFB Toronto was still very much an active Air Force Base. Land Force Central Area Headquarters (LFCA HQ) was formed at Downsview the same year as part of a new regional command structure for the Army, replacing CMA HQ, which was disbanded.

The Army's Toronto District Headquarters (TDHQ) moved to Downsview in 1994 from the Avenue Road Detachment, taking up residence in the Otter Building, which was the original station headquarters. TDHQ was disbanded in March 1997 and replaced by 32 Canadian Brigade Group Headquarters.

The introduction of the Wing Concept at Air Bases in 1993 resulted in CFB Toronto being designated as 2 Wing, although this was to be short lived as more change was in the wind. By 1994, CFB Toronto's operational importance was declining and along with a reorganization and consolidation of Canadian military bases in the mid 1990s, there was little interest in maintaining a full size base. Combined with the desire of local politicians to acquire some of the land for development, Downsview's fate was effectively sealed. Plans were made to reduce CFB Toronto to a Detachment of CFB Kingston, but this was later changed to outright closure of the base.

CFB Toronto closed on 1 April 1996, the 72nd anniversary of the Royal Canadian Air Force, along with its Avenue Road Detachment. 400 T & THS re-located to CFB Borden, where they currently fly the CH-146 Griffon helicopter, and now fall under the command of 1 Wing Kingston. 411 THS, 2 Tactical Aviation Wing and 2 Tactical Aviation Support Squadron were disbanded and 1 Canadian Forces Supply Depot closed. LFCA HQ had previously re-located to leased office space on Yonge Street in 1994. The Canadian Forces Aircrew Selection Centre relocated to 8 Wing Trenton in 1997. Canada Lands Corporation assumed control of the property and began the process of its disposal.

Garrison Support Unit Toronto, later re-named Area Support Unit Toronto, was established at the former base in 1996 to provide the local Reserve, Cadet and remaining Regular Force units in the Toronto Garrison with administrative, logistical, medical and Military Police support services.

On 26 May 2000, the former base officially became Downsview Park, Canada's first Federal Park within a city.

Today, a significant portion of the former base remains. The east side is a commercial-industrial centre, with tenants including DeHavilland, who continue to occupy the airfield (the oldest active airport) and two hangers on the west side of the airfield. Area 51 Paint Ball, Grand Prix Kartways and an indoor soccer field occupy part of the Plant 2 hangar. The former Supply Depot building is currently used as a movie studio and the Toronto Aerospace Museum occupies the original De Havilland Plant 1, the oldest aircraft factory left in Canada, having stood since 1929.

Gone from the west side of the former base are all the barracks, messes, the Otter Building, the guard house, the curling club and the recreation centre, all of which were torn down to create a passive park. The former row-house quarters on the south-west corner of Keele Street & Sheppard Avenue were also torn down and replaced with luxury townhomes.

The former 1970's era headquarters building is now the headquarters for the Toronto Region Conservation Authority, but the former Military Police guardhouse, once occupied by the Toronto Wildlife Centre is currently vacant.

In July 2002, the Department of National Defence opened a new armoury, named The Denison Armoury, on a vacant piece of land at the former CFB Toronto to house all elements of ASU Toronto, 32 CBG HQ, 2 Intelligence Company, 2 Field Engineer Regiment, 25 (Toronto) Service Battalion and The Governor General's Horse Guards as well as their respective cadet units. The old Denison Armoury, located just south of Downsview's airfield on Dufferin Street, formerly occupied by 25 Service Battalion and The Governor General's Horse Guards, was closed and demolished a year later. Most of the PMQs are still occupied by military families and will be for the foreseeable future. As well, DCIEM remains at the corner of Sheppard and Allan Road.

In 2002, Downsview Park hosted the World Youth Day festivities, including a big outdoor mass hosted by Pope John Paul II. On 30 July 2003, a SARS relief benefit concert was held, with the Rolling Stones headlining the daylong event.

In December 2006, Downsview Park was officially turned over to Parc Downsview Park Inc., the Federal Crown corporation which oversees the park. However, park management has stated that the former base could possibly be used in the future as a staging area for crisis management for terrorist, war or disaster response. Is it possible that CFB Toronto could be reactivated someday?

In September 2007, 2 Military Police Unit (2 MPU) stood up, officially all Military Police units (Regular & Reserve Force) in Ontario, with the exception of Canadian Forces Support Unit (Ottawa) Military Police Platoon. The unit’s headquarters is located at the Denison Armoury, along with 32 Military Police Platoon (Reserve).

Source Material: DND Press releases from August 1988 & February 1994, "The Garrison" Newspaper from March 1995, "Borden Armed Forces Day and Air Show - June 26 & 27, 1999" program guide, The Downsview Family Tree. - A Historical Summary of the Downsview Lands by Wayne Kelly (1998), the Toronto Military Family Resource Centre web site - http://www.pathcom.com/~tmfrc/, Toronto Police web site www.torontopolice.on.ca, Toronto Star Newspaper 25 May 2000, 8 Wing Trenton web site - http://www.8wing.trenton.dnd.ca/archives/news110897.htm, information supplied by the Alberta Aviation Museum (2004), the Toronto Sun "Downsview Remains At The Ready", published 9 June 2006 & the personal recollections of the author (1998 - 2009).

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Base Ottawa (North):

Originally established as a the Rockcliffe Air Station for the new Canadian Air Force in 1919 on the shores of the Ottawa River, the same grounds as a former Army rifle range and training camp that had existed since 1898.

The small airfield, east of the village of Rockcliffe, was home to No. 3 Operations Squadron and an aerial photographic survey unit, later re-named No. 7 General Purpose Squadron, who conducted the first experiments in aerial photography. Rockcliffe was also the only aircraft facility in Canada at the time that housed both land and sea-borne aircraft and was one of six stations for the new Canadian Air Force.

By 1928, Rockcliffe also featured a pigeon loft, the largest of 8 such sites across Canada for the purpose of housing and training homing pigeons for use by RCAF aircrews. Defence Department cutbacks in the 1930's resulted in the elimination of all pigeon lofts except the ones at RCAF Stations Jericho Beach and Dartmouth.

In 1930 the RCAF Test Flight was formed at Rockcliffe, but sadly two years later, on 12 March 1932, the Test Flight saw its first casualty when Colonel William Barker, V.C., co-founder of Bishop-Barker Airplanes Limited, was killed in a test flight accident.

Also during the 1930s, permanent married quarters and an aircraft hangar (hangar #1) were constructed, as was the "White House", the home of the RCAF Photographic Establishment. The large white building was originally built beside the airfield as a Depression make-work project, eventually becoming a landmark at Rockcliffe.

After going through several name changes, (RCAF Unit Ottawa, RCAF Technical Depot Stores), the station had was re-named Royal Canadian Air Force Station Ottawa in 1936. This name change would be short lived as the station was again re-named RCAF Station Rockclifffe in 1940. Some of the station's other units at this time consisted of No. 7 General Purpose Squadron, Air Transport Command, No. 124 Communications Squadron and the newly opened RCAF Hospital.

With the outbreak of World War II, activity greatly increased at RCAF Station Rockcliffe. Three additional wooden hangars were built for the numerous squadrons now based at the station, and The RCAF Women's Division Manning Depot relocated to Rockcliffe from Toronto in 1943.

In 1940 the RCAF Test and Development Establishment was formed to replace the RCAF Test Flight and in 1943 the Heavy Transport Squadron was formed at Rockcliffe to deliver mail and other supplies using converted B-17 bombers.

Post-war, RCAF Station would remain a very important base of operations. In 1945, the RCAF's first jet fighter, a Gloster Meteor F-111, was test-flown at Rockcliffe. No. 408 (Photo) Squadron, later re-named 408 Tactical Fighter Squadron, re-formed at RCAF Station Rockclifffe in January 1949, and remained until it moved to RCAF Station Rivers in 1964. In 1950, Rockcliffe gained a school when the Air Photo Interpretation Centre (APIC) was formed, but lost one when the RCAF School of Photography re-located to RCAF Station Camp Borden the same year. By 1960, APIC merged with the Joint Air Photo Interpretation School from RCAF Station Rivers and the centre became fully responsible for training photo-interpreters. No. 22 (Photographic) Wing was also based at Rockcliffe briefly from 15 December 1953 to 1 April 1957. 412 (Transport) Squadron, who have the distinction of being the first users in the world of jet passenger liners on scheduled transatlantic flights, also made Rockcliffe its home until it moved to RCAF Station Uplands on 1 September 1955. The Central Experimental and Proving Establishment, formed in 1951 to replace the RCAF Test and Development Establishment, also moved to Uplands in 1957.

Rockcliffe also had the role of providing administrative and logistical support to the RCAF's Ottawa area units and squadrons. The headquarters of No. 9 (Transport) Group was formed here in February 1945. Re-named Air Transport Command in April 1948, the headquarters remained until moving to RCAF Station Lachine in August 1951. Air Material Command Headquarters was also located at Rockcliffe from April 1949 until August 1965.

In 1961, the RCAF Hospital closed and was replaced by the National Defence Medical Centre, located outside downtown Ottawa.

The predecessor of the current of the National Aviation Museum, originally opened at RCAF Station Uplands in October 1960, moved to Rockcliffe in 1965 where it remains today.

Military flying ended at Rockcliffe in 1964, leaving behind a legacy of more than 40 years as a military flying station. While RCAF Station Rockcliffe was now solely an administrative base, the airfield remained in use by the Rockcliffe Flying Club. The collection of historic military aircraft at Rockcliffe moved into the hangers on the south end of the airfield in 1965.

As a result of the Unification in 1968, the station was re-named CFB Rockcliffe, but this was changed on 2 October 1972 when it was merged with CFB Uplands. Rockcliffe was designated CFB Ottawa (North) and the former RCAF Station Uplands in the south end of Ottawa, was re-designated CFB Ottawa (South).

The 197s saw a civilian regional passenger carrier operate briefly from the Rockcliffe airfield. Air Transit ran an Ottawa to Montreal flight service from 1974-1976, making it the only commercial passenger air service to have operated at Rockcliffe.

From 1970 -1983, Parliament Hill's Ceremonial Guard used Hangar #1 as their headquarters and drill practice area.

Department of National Defence cutbacks in the early 1990s saw many bases across Canada close or downsize and even though Rockcliffe was in the Nation�s capital, it was not spared a similar fate. Both Rockcliffe and Uplands closed in 1994.

Rockcliffe is now almost completely abandoned. Most of the buildings have been torn down and the roadways encircle empty weed-covered fields. The former RCAF hangars on the south side of the airfield were torn down in 1989. Only the PMQs, the Canadian Forces Housing Agency and the Military Family Resource Centre are still in use by the Canadian Forces at Rockcliffe. Some former military buildings are currently used as part of the National Research Council's campus. One of the buildings even has the Royal Canadian Corps of signals emblem in stone above a doorway. This building was once occupied by E Squadron of the Royal Canadian Corps of Signals.

Future plans call for the complete abandonment of Rockcliffe and consolidation of activities at National Defence Headquarters and small sections at Uplands. Some of the PMQs have already been sold for civilian use. Other than the airfield, very little remains at Rockcliffe. The National Aviation Museum continues to serve as a permanent display facility for military and civilian aircraft at Rockcliffe.

In 2006, all of the former base except the airfield was sold to private interests for condos and other developments.

In it's heyday, Rockcliffe had as many as 16 Air Force squadrons at any one time, more than any other Air Station in Canada.

***********************************

Canadian Forces Base Ottawa (South):

Originally established on 5 August 1940 as No. 2 Service Flying Training School under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, with Relief Landing Fields located at Carp and Edwards.

No. 2 SFTS closed on 14 April 1947, but flying training continued until in 1947, when the Station became home to Maintenance Command Headquarters.

Flying activities resumed at Royal Canadian Air Force Station Uplands in the early 50s with the arrival of various fighter squadrons, some of which were re-activated from World War II squadrons. 439 "Saber Toothed Tiger" Squadron, the first squadron to use the F-16 jet fighter who, re-formed on 1 September 1951, as did 416 Linx Squadron. Both Squadrons departed for Europe the following year, 439 Squadron to 1 Wing North Luffenham and 416 Squadron to 2 Wing Grostenquin, France. 422 Fighter Squadron re-formed at RCAF Station Uplands on 1 January 1953, but re-located to 4 Wing Baden-Soellingen on 27 August 1953. Others who called Uplands home were 3 Air Movement Unit and 428 Ghost Squadron, who flew the Canadian designed Avro CF-100, 434 Fighter Squadron, originally a bomber squadron, re-formed at Uplands on 1 July 1952 but transferred to 3 Wing Zweibrucken less than one year later. 412 Transport Squadron, who have the distinction of being the first squadron to fly jet passenger liners on scheduled transatlantic flights, arrived from RCAF Station Rockcliffe on 1 September 1955. The Central Experimental and Proving Establishment, later re-named the Aeronautical Evaluation and Test Establishment (AE & TE) moved to Uplands from Rockcliffe in 1957. Today the AE & TE is based at 4 Wing Cold Lake.

410 Squadron, disbanded at 1 Wing in Marville, France on 1 October 1956, re-formed a month later at Uplands as an All-weather Fighter Squadron for the North American Air Defence Command. The squadron disbanded again on 1 April 1964. Four months later, 426 Transport Squadron re-located to Uplands from RCAF Station Downsview.

The predecessor of the current of the National Aviation Museum opened at RCAF Station Uplands in October 1960. Later on, its aircraft collection was merged with those of the RCAF and the Canadian War Museum. This led to the creation of the National Aeronautical Collection. This Collection came under the control of National Museum of Science and Technology in 1968 and was renamed National Aviation Museum in 1982. The museum moved to Rockcliffe in 1965. In 1968, the base was re-named CFB Uplands as part of the Unification, but by 1972 the name was again changed to CFB Ottawa (South).

In 1970, 450 (Heavy Transport) Squadron, formerly No. 1 Transport Helicopter Platoon of the Royal Canadian Army Service Corps, moved to Uplands from RCAF Station St Hubert (along with their detachment from RCAF Station Namao) with their squadrons of Huey, Labrador, Voyageur and Chinook helicopters. The Squadron was again re-designated, this time simply 450 (Transport) Helicopter Squadron. 436 Transport Squadron re-located to CFB Trenton on 11 August 1971 where they currently fly the CC-130 Hercules aircraft.

The 1970s and 1980s were a busy time for Uplands. The Canadian Forces Airborne Sensing Unit was established in 1971 to conduct testing using various aircraft including the CF-100 Canuck, Dassault Falcon and Dakotas. The unit was replaced by a civilian agency, the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing in 1975.

By the 1980s, the Electronic Warfare Squadron, 414 Squadron at CFB North Bay had opened a detachment at CFB Ottawa (South). 412 (T) Squadron was providing air services for the Prime Minister, as well as VIP transportation around the world.

450 Helicopter Squadron, who were now the only combat ready Ottawa area squadron, were training as a part of the RCMP Special Emergency Response Team. The first CF-18 fighter aircraft brought into service was presented to the Air Force by then-Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau at CFB Ottawa (S) on 25 October 1982.

In the mid 1990s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed and even though Uplands was in the Nation�s capital, it was not spared a similar fate. As a result, both Uplands and Rockcliffe closed in 1994.

In their place, a support unit named Canadian Forces Support Unit Ottawa was established at Uplands and National Defence Headquarters to provide the local Reserve, Cadet and remaining Regular Force units with administrative and logistical support. 450 (Transport) Helicopter Squadron re-located to 1 Wing St. Hubert in August 1994.

Today, only small sections at Uplands remain in military hands. The PMQs, the CF Band, the CF Photo Unit, the Military Police, the CFSU Transportation & Maintenance Section, the Central Material Traffic Terminal, the CF Crypto Support Unit and the Military Family Resource Centre remain at Uplands. None of the World War II hangers remain, but two of the post-war "Arch" hangers and assorted administrative buildings do remain. Large sections of the former base contain only empty fields.

412 (Transport) Squadron downsized from 120 personnel to only 29, and relocated to the civilian side of the former Uplands airport. Their current Headquarters, The Pilot Officer John Gillespie Magee Jr Annex officially opened on 11 January 1995. Transport Canada now has the responsibility for the maintenance of the Squadron's remaining four CC-144 Challenger jets. The airfield remains in use as the Ottawa International Airport.

412 (Transport) Squadron web site - http://www.airforce.forces.ca/8wing/squadron/412hist_e.asp

For information on CFB Ottawa South, visit Terry Martin's "CFB OTTAWA-UPLANDS" web page - www.totavia.com/terry/cyow/uplands. This site also has links to pages on 450 and 412. Sqns.

Source Material: DND Press Releases from May 1987 & June 1989, "Sentinel" Magazine from April 1970, pg **, & Summer 1971 & May 1974, pgs 12 - 15, the personal recollections of the author (1998), information supplied by Renald Fortier, Curator, Aviation History, National Aviation Museum, Rockcliffe, Ontario, 8 Wing Trenton News Archive - www.8wing.trenton.dnd.ca/archives/news110897.htm, Terry Martin's "CFB OTTAWA-UPLANDS" web page - www.totavia.com/terry/cyow/uplands, "Farewell To Rockcliffe" by Buzz Bourdon, Airforce Magazine, Fall 2004 & 450 Squadron web page www.totavia.com/terry/cyow/uplands/450sqn.htm.

*********************************************************************

Wolseley Barracks:

Established near London in 1885 on farmland belonging to John Carling, son of the famous brewer, as a training camp for "D" Company of the Infantry Corps, later re-named The Royal Canadian Regiment - Canada's oldest infantry regiment. The Militia had used the site for summer training camps since the mid-1860's. The camp was named Wolseley Barracks in honour of Field Marshall, the Right Honorable Viscount Wolseley in 1894. The Regimental Headquarters of The Royal Canadian Regiment (RCR) moved to Wolseley Barracks in 1923.

Wolseley Barracks, named in honour of Field Marshall, the Right Honorable Viscount Wolseley, was picked for the site in 1894. The Regimental Headquarters of The Royal Canadian Regiment (RCR) moved to Wolseley Barracks in 1923.

On 1 November 1936, the Canadian Tank School was established at Wolseley Barracks with Captain (later Major-General) Frederic ("Worthy") Worthington, MC, MM, PPCLI as its first Commander. However it was later determined that Wolseley Barracks lacked the proper facilities for tank training, so the school was re-located to Camp Borden on 1 May 1938.

Although this was the training camp for the RCR, this function was relinquished from 1914-1923 and again from 1939-1953 when Woseley Barracks was used as a training camp for all of the regiments in the southwest Ontario region. The RCR resumed training their own in 1953 with the establishment of the Regimental Depot at Wolseley Barracks.

In 1954, the 3rd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment (3 RCR), a Militia Regiment consisting of members from the Canadian Fusiliers and The Oxford Rifles, was established at Wolseley Barracks to serve alongside the Regular Force 1st Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment.

As a result of the Unification, the barracks was re-named CFB London in 1966, although the name Wolseley Barracks continues to be used today, and it's function changed to that of a Material Command support base for southwestern Ontario. The Regimental Depot closed in 1968 and a new tri-service basic training school was established at CFB Cornwallis. In 1970, 3 RCR was re-designated as 4 RCR while a new Regular Force 3 RCR was formed at CFB Petawawa.

In 1992, CFB London was downsized to a detachment of CFB Toronto. 1 RCR departed for CFB Petawawa later that year.

On 1 April 1996 Detachment London closed, but a small portion of the former base was sectioned off and still functions as a military establishment, as does the nearby Highbury Complex. The units still occupying Wolseley Barracks are The 1st Hussars (RCAC), 22 Service Battalion, 31 Canadian Brigade Group Headquarters, 4 RCR, 31 Military Police Platoon, and Land Force Central Area Training Centre Meaford - London Detachment. The Vehicle Maintenance Section of 22 Service Battalion remains at the Highbury Complex. As well, the RCR Regimental Museum and the RCR Regimental Headquarters remain in "A" Block, otherwise known as Wolseley Hall. Wolseley Hall has been designated as a national historic site. All the PMQ's were sold and are now privately owned residences.

Of the closed section of the former base, only three buildings remain: the base gym, which is now the Carling Heights Optimist Community Recreation Centre, the former century house used as the "Military Stores", now offices for Block Parents and a maintenance garage, now empty but used briefly by the City of London Parks & Recreation Department. All other buildings were torn down.

Garrison Support Unit London (GSU London) was established at Wolseley Barracks in 1996 to provide the local Reserve, Cadet and remaining Regular Force units with administrative and logistical support. GSU London was re-named Area Support Unit London in 1998.

In March 2006, a new support complex opened at Wolseley Barracks to house the units located at the Highbury Complex. The six buildings formerly occupied by these units were demolished, thus ending the military occupation of the Highbury Complex. Building 52 at Wolseley Barracks will also be demolished and it's occupants re-located to the new support complex.

Source Material: Information supplied by K. Noble, Administrator/HR Support Officer, Area Support Unit London (1998), information supplied by MCpl G.H. Johnson, Assistant Curator, The Royal Canadian Regiment Museum (1999), Armour School History web page - http://www.brunnet.net/armourschool/History.htm, DND news release - 23 December 2004 & the personal recollections of the author (1998 & 2001).

*********************************************************************
Camp Picton:
(No. 31 Bombing & Gunnery School)

Originally opened 28 April 1941 by the RAF as No. 31 Bombing & Gunnery School, part of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The school closed on 17 November 1944. On 18 November 1944, the RCAF established No. 5 Reserve Equipment maintenance Unit for the storage and disposal of surplus aircraft. The unit ceased operations in January 1946.

The Royal Canadian School of Artillery then took over the aerodrome, although the RCAF kept a small detachment on site.

The aerodrome officially became Camp Picton on 1 July 1961 and the Royal Canadian School of Artillery shortly afterwards. The camp then became home to the 1st Battalion, Canadian Guards. Camp Picton was re-named CFB Picton as part of the Unification in April 1966, but this would be short-lived. In the early to mid 1960's, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several Army, Navy and RCAF bases were either downsized, merged or closed. As a result, CFB Picton closed in September 1969.

Most of the former Camp, now the Loch Sloy Industrial Park, remains as it was the day it closed, although not all the buildings are occupied. 851 Royal Canadian Air Cadet Squadron has been making regular use of the Camp year-round since the late 1970s, including the airfield for a Glider Training School.

Source Material: "Abandoned Military Installations Of Canada Volume I: Ontario" by Paul Ozorak, the personal recollections of the author (1997) & The Ontario Ghost Towns web site - http://www.ghosttownpix.com/ontario/towns/cfbpicton.shtml.

*********************************************************************

PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND


Canadian Forces Base Summerside:

Opened 23 April 1941 as RCAF Station Summerside, the home of No. 9 Service Flying Training School, a flight school founded under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. Two relief landing sites were also established at the same time as No. 9 SFTS, and one in Wellington, PEI and the other one at Mount Pleasant, PEI, although it was later became the site of No 10 B&G School. No. 9 SFTS stay at Summerside would be short lived as it moved to RCAF Station Centralia in July 1942 and No. 1 General Reconnaissance School opened in its place. The school was re-designated No. 1 Reconnaissance and Navigation School in 1945.

RCAF Station Summerside was effectively closed in 1946. Only the Air Cadet Summer Training Camp and a small caretaker staff, whose job it was to maintain the buildings, remained at the Station. The Relief landing field at Wellington was also closed at the end of the war and today, nothing remains of it.

In 1948, RCAF Station Summerside was re-activated as part of the post-war RCAF. No. 1 Air Navigation School (No. 1 ANS) was established at the station a NATO training facility. When the school left Summerside for RCAF Station Winnipeg in 1953, the Central Navigation School, which had been disbanded at RCAF Station Rivers in 1945, was re-activated at Summerside. This new school remained at Summerside for a year, before following No. 1 ANS to Winnipeg. No. 2 Maritime Operational Training Unit was then established to train aircrews in anti-submarine warfare.

In 1949, Permanent Married Quarters were built, named Slemon Park in honor of Air Marshall Roy Slemon.

Over the years Summerside would also be the home of 880 Maritime Reconnaissance Squadron, 413 Transport and Rescue Squadron, 31 Support Air Group (Royal Canadian Navy), 429 Maritime Patrol Squadron (2 (M) OTU designation when performing non-training operational duties) and 420 Air Reserve Squadron.

In 1959, the Maritime Proving and Evaluation Unit (MP & EU) opened at RCAF Station Summerside. The unit's function was to develop and test equipment and procedures used by Maritime Air Command.

On 1 May 1961, the Royal Canadian Navy re-activated 415 Maritime Patrol Squadron at Summerside, an anti-submarine aircraft squadron and equipped it with the CP-107 Argus Aircraft.

The unification brought change to RCAF Station Summerside. The station was re-named CFB Summerside in 1966 and control was transferred to the newly created Maritime Command. By 1968, 2 (M) OTU had departed for CFB Greenwood switching places with Greenwood's No. 103 Rescue Unit. MP & EU also moved to CFB Greenwood in 1978, as did 415 Squadron in 1981, changing their fleet of Argus aircraft for the Aurora.

By the 1980s, the Summerside's primary role was surveillance support for Fisheries and Oceans Canada. The remaining squadrons, the Tracker Squadrons 880 SAR Squadron and 420 Air Reserve Squadron, were tasked to conduct routine fisheries patrols. However, the Tracker Aircraft had long since exceeded their life spans and the Federal Government elected not to replace them. As a result of planned reductions in Canada's Air Force, Summerside's importance declined, especially given that its role as a Maritime support base could effectively be covered by CFB Shearwater and CFB Greenwood. As a result, CFB Summerside closed on 1 April 1991.

880 Maritime Reconnaissance Squadron was disbanded, 420 Air Reserve Squadron re-located to CFB Shearwater and 413 Search & Rescue Squadron to CFB Greenwood.

The site is now a commercial-industrial centre named Slemon Park, home of the Summerside Aerospace Centre, the Summerside Airport, the Holland College School of Justice and Atlantic Police Academy. The Department of National Defence still owns some of the buildings, including the one occupied by "B" Squadron, The Prince Edward Island Regiment. As well, The Royal Canadian Air Cadets Atlantic Region Gliding School operates a summer Regional Gliding Centre at the airport.

Administrative & logistical support for the remaining Regular Force, Reserve and Cadet Units on Prince Edward Island comes from the Charlottetown Detachment of CFB Gagetown, established on 1 April 1991 and located at the West Royalty Industrial Park in Charlottetown.

Today, Argus, Voodo and Tracker aircraft sand on permanent display, serving as a reminder of Summerside's past.

Source material: DND press release from July 1990, the Slemon Park web site - www.peisland.com/slemon/park.htm, information supplied by Mike Thususka, City of Summerside, Economic Development (1999), 14 Wing Heritage web site - http://www2.14wing.dnd.ca/14wgheritage/index.html, the personal recollections of Major Harley Lang (Ret'd) (1999), Canadian Forces Air Navigation School history - www.cfans.com, "Abandoned Military Installations Of Canada Volume III: Atlantic" by Paul Ozorak & "Armed Forces Day 1990 - CFB Summerside" Program Guide.

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

Downsized Bases or Bases That Have Changed Their Functction


BRITISH COLUMBIA


Work Point Barracks:

Opened in 1887 at the entrance to Victoria Harbour as the home for C Battery, Royal Canadian Artillery (RCA), who moved here from Quebec. A military prison was built in 1904, featuring a 10 foot outer brick wall and barred windows.

B Company, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (PPCLI) were quartered here from 1920 until they left for England in 1939. Later the 58th Field Engineer Squadron (58 FER - re-named 1 Combat Engineer Regiment in 1977) made Work Point their home.

In 1957 C Battery, RCA departed, as did 58 FER to Camp Chilliwack. The 1st Battalion, PPCLI returned to Work Point Barracks in 1963 and remained until 1970, when the battalion was replaced by the 1st Battalion, The Queen's Own Rifles of Canada (1 QOR). On March 17, 1970, 1 QOR was re-badged the 3rd Battalion, PPCLI, and became an amalgamated Reserve-Regular Force Battalion, responsible for Reserve infantry training in B.C.

With the Unification of the Forces, Work Point Barracks became part of CFB Esquimalt. The officer training schools of the three former services were merged into one, the Canadian Forces Officer Candidate School (CFOCS), and re-located to CFB Cilliwack in 1970.

In 1994, 3 PPCLI also moved from Work Point Barracks to CFB Chilliwack. The Naval Officer Training Centre Venture, moved to Work Point Barracks from the World War II era building it occupied at HMC Dockyard Esquimalt. By 1997, a new 2,000-square-metre building was constructed overlooking Victoria Harbour, including space for administration offices, instructional & training, sports facilities and a student lounge.

On 30 September 2005, the new Kingsmill building was officially dedicated. The six-story accommodation building provides 172 rooms for naval officer trainees. In the spring of 2006, the Officer's Mess and Quarters was declared surplus and despite a campaign by the local community to save the heritage building, it was demolished.

The old military prison closed long ago and is now used for storage.

*********************************************************************

Naval Radio Section Aldergrove:

Originally established during World War II on the grounds of HMC Dockyard at His Majesty's Canadian Ship (HMCS) Naden, the Royal Canadian Navy base for the Pacific Fleet. However, interference from the base created a problem for receiving radio signals and the radio station had to be relocated.

A Wireless Telegraph receiver station was established near the town of Aldergrove in December 1942, and the following November, a Wireless Telegraph broadcast station was established near the town of Matsqui Prairie. After World War II ended, activity at both stations was greatly reduced.

On 1 June 1955, the radio station resumed full operations, providing ship/shore and air/ground communications for Canadian and Allied Armed Forces on the Pacific coast. The station was re-named Her Majesty's Canadian Naval Radio Station Aldergrove, but a year later the name was changed to simply Her Majesty's Canadian Ship Aldergrove.

As a result of the Unification, HMCS Aldergrove was again re-named Canadian Forces Station Aldergrove in 1967.

In the mid 1990s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed and as a result, CFS Aldergrove was downsized to a remote broadcast control station and a Detachment of CFB Esquimalt (Naden). The Detachment was again re-named Naval Radio Section Aldergrove in 1996 to officially acknowledge the unit's naval heritage.

In 2001 Naval Radio Section Aldergrove returned to the HMC Dockyard at CFB Esquimalt (Naden) for the first time since 1942. The transmitter and receiver sites at Aldergrove and Matsqui remain operational, but several buildings at Aldergrive have been domolished including the single quarters, the stations water tower, and the junior ranks club.

Both Aldergrove and Matsqui can be remotely controlled by CFB Halifax. Similarily, both the Mill Cove and Newport Corner can be remotely controlled by CFB Esquimalt.

NRS Aldergrove remains the home to several Reserve and Cadet units: B Troop, 15th Field Artillery Regiment, B Company, The Royal Westminster Regiment, 746 "Lightning Hawk" Royal Canadian Air Cadet Squadron, 169 COLUMBIA Royal Canadian Sea Cadet Corps & 1922 Royal Canadian Army Cadet Corps, "Royal Westminster Regiment.

Source material: DND press release from February 1994, information provided by Michael DesMazes, Local Historian (2002) & information provided by Petty Officer 1st Class J. MacDonald, Information Systems Manager, Naval Radio Section Aldergrove (2000).

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Leitrim - Detachment Massett:

Originally opened as a Royal Canadian Navy radio intercept station, Naval Wireless Station Massett (old spelling) on 23 February 1943. Situated at the top of the Queen Charlotte Islands, the station proved to be an ideal location for shop-to-shore communications.

Also during 1943, the RCAF's No. 9 Construction Maintenance Unit arrived and constructed an airfield and several buildings. The station even had a detachment of Cano Code trained Special Operators posted to the site in 1944.

The end World War II saw the closure of many military bases and Naval Wireless Station Massett was no exception, closing in the fall of 1945. The site remained in RCN hands on a care and maintenance basis.

Naval Radio Station Masset resumed operations in 1949 as a High Frequency Direction Finding and Signal Intelligence station at not one, but 3 sites. The Delkatla site was re-activated as the main operations centre, another operations centre and the accommodations block were situated at the "old site" in Masset and the transmitter/receiver site was in Haida Village. By the mid 1950's, married quarters had been constructed at the Masset site.

In 1964 operations were centralized at the Masset site and the Delkatla and Haida sites closed. A new antenna system was built and the station received a complete upgrade in it's facilities, including new married quarters, a new operations site, new barracks, mess and recreation facilities.

As a result of the Unification, NRS Masset was re-named CFS Masset and the station became part of the Canadian Forces Supplementary Radio System.

In 1971, Masset's importance was bolstered when the station assumed the area of responsibility once the control of the former Canadian Forces Station Ladner. As well, the United States Navy Security Group had a small contingent of personnel posted to Masset.

Department of National Defence cutbacks resulted in the station being downsized to remote operation on 4 April 1997. The station was re-designated CFS Leitrim Detachment Masset and only 10 military personnel remain for technical support, drawing support from 19 Wing Comox.

Most of the buildings at the former station have been sold to the Village of Masset, except for a few of the PMQs & the gym. A top floor was added to the Golf Clubhouse and that is the all ranks mess

All that remains of the "old Massett site" is a deserted roadway.

Source material: DND press release from February 1994, CFS Masset site - http://www.island.net/~labrador/cfsm.htm, CFS Masset site - http://www.reocities.com/Pentagon/Bunker/7803/masset.htm & information personal recollections of Petty Officer 1st Class Kevin Lamorie (2004).

*********************************************************************

Camp Nanaimo:

Opened in 1939 as a militia training camp, Camp Nanaimo was also used as a Combined Operations base for the training of army and naval groups, until 1943.

The camp closed in 1946 and many of the buildings were sold for civilian use. The former military hospital became a Department of Indian Affairs hospital.

The camp later reopened as the home of the 5th Field Artillery, "B" Company of the Canadian Scottish Regiment, and the 748 Communications Troop.

By the late 1950s, the threat of a nuclear war had become so great that the Canadian government decided to construct a secret underground bunker to house the major elements of the government in the event of an emergency. Most Provincial Governments followed suit by building their own bunkers. The British Columbia Government chose Camp Nanaimo for the site of their bunker. A smaller transmitter bunker was built at Nanoose Bay.

By 1970, Camp Nanaimo began downsizing. Approximately half of the camp was sold and by 1973, the vacated portion of the camp had been taken over by Malaspina University College.

Today, most of the WWII era buildings hve been demolished. The former camp remains the home of 740 Communication Squadron and 748 (Nanaimo) Communication Squadron (Reserve), both housed since 1988 in a building named after RCMP Constable Scott Gordon Berry who was killed in 1986, and The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's), housed in a new armoury opened in late 2004. The camp's firing range also remains operational, but the bunker was demolished in 1999.

Camp Nanaimo is a Detachment of CFB Esquimalt.

Source Material: Malaspina University College web site - http://www.mala.bc.ca/www/discover/muchist/chpt3.htm, information supplied by Jerry Berry, resident of Nanaimo (2005) & the Heritage BC web stie - http://www.heritagebc.ca/heritage_bc04.htm.

*********************************************************************

Camp Albert Head:

Originally an artillery coastal battery from 1938-1946. Post-war it was used by the militia, regular army and navy, including Naval Officer Training Centre and cadets.

Source Material: information supplied by Debbie Towell, Curator, CFB Esquimalt Naval & Military Museum.

*********************************************************************

NEW BRUNSWICK


Moncton Garrison:

Originally established in 1940 as the home of No. 5 Equipment Depot, a supply centre for all the east-coast RCAF stations.

As a result of the Unification, the Station was re-named CFB Moncton and control of the base was transferred to Maritime Command in 1966. The role of the base was to provide administrative and logistical support to 5 Canadian Forces Supply Depot, a Recruiting Centre, the Eastern New Brunswick Militia District Headquarters and the local Reserve Force and Cadet units.

In the mid 1990s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed and as a result, CFB Moncton was reduced to a detachment of CFB Gagetown in 1995. Command of the Detachment was transferred Land Forces Command. No. 5 Canadian Forces Equipment Depot closed on 1 April 1 1996.

In 1995, No. 1 Construction Engineering Unit re-located from Winnipeg�s Kapyong Barracks.

Currently occupying the detachment, re-named Moncton Garrison, are the 4th Air Defence Regiment Royal Canadian Artillery, 37 Canadian Brigade Group Headquarters, No. 1 Engineer Support Unit (formerly No. 1 Construction Engineering Unit), 32 Service Battalion, the 8th Hussars and Canadian Forces Support Establishment Moncton, who provide the local Reserve, Cadet and remaining Regular Force units with administrative and logistical support.

Some of the former CFB Moncton remains as it was, although not all the buildings are used. A small portion of the property was severed off and transferred to the Canada Lands Corporation. The Royal Canadian Legion now occupies the former Officer's Mess and the PMQs remain occupied by military families.

Source material: DND press releases from May 1989 & February 1994, information supplied by John Allain Corporation of the City of Moncton (1999), information supplied by Claude Despres, Corporation of the City of Moncton (1999), New Brunswick Military Heritage Project - http://www.unb.ca/nbmhp/02_NBMHPsites.htm, New Brunswick Military Heritage Project - http://www.unb.ca/nbmhp/02_NBMHPsites.htm, information supplied by Doug Zwicker, 1 Engineer Support Unit (2004), "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic " by Author Paul Ozorak & information supplied by Bill Soucoup, Constable, RCMP Patrol Section Codiac Regional RCMP Detachment Moncton (1999).

*********************************************************************

NORTHWEST TERRITORIES


Canadian Forces Station Alert:

Located on the northeastern tip of Ellesmere Island approximately 817 km from the North Pole, this is Canada's most northerly station. The Alert Wireless Station was originally established on 9 April 1950 by the RCAF as a part of the Joint Arctic Weather Station System, a co-operative effort of the Canadian Department of Transport and the United States Weather Bureau.

In 1958 the station took on the function of a High Frequency Direction Finding and Signal Intelligence station operated by the RCAF. In 1959, the Royal Canadian Corps of Signals assumed control of the station. By 1961, members of the Royal Canadian Navy were also posted to the station.

Alert is named after the British ship HMS, which spent the winter 1875-1876 at Ellesmere Island near the site of the present station.

As a result of the Unification, the station was re-named CFS Alert and became a part of the Canadian Forces Supplementary Radio System.

In the mid 1990s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed. As a result, CFS Alert was downsized and converted to remote operation in 1998, along with CFS Masset and CFB Gander's Radio Station. Staffing levels at Alert were reduced from 215 to 74 personnel. In 2006, further reductions in the military staffing occurred.

On 1 April 2009, CFS Alert became an Air Force component and unit of 8 Wing Trenton. Today, Alert's mission remains signals intelligence collection and radar station in support of search and rescue. Currently, Alert has 55 personnel: 2 military, 30 commercial contractors and 4 Environment Canada employees.

Source material: DND press release from February 1994 and September 1998, Communications & Electronics Museum site - www.c-and-e-museum.org & CFS Alert site - http://www.reocities.com/Pentagon/Bunker/7803/alert.htm.

*********************************************************************

Forward Operating Location Iqaluit:

Originally opened as Naval Radio Station Frobisher Bay in 1953 as a High Frequency Direction Finding Station, replacing the former NRS Fort Chimo, one of Canada's National Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization. The airfield at the station had existed since 1944, when it was build by American engineers and later transferred to the Canadian Government.

No. 926 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron (USAF) operated the radar facilities at the station from 1953 to 1961. The RCAF assumed control of Frobisher Bay during the summer of 1958.

The "Upper site" of the station was abandoned in 1974. The "Lower site", renamed Iqaluit, has been a Forward Operating Location since the early 1990s. The airfield is still in use.

Source Material: Canada's national Signals Intelligence (SIGINT) organization web site - http://www.tscm.com/cse.html, Communications & Electronics Museum site www.c-and-e-museum.org & the Pinetree Line web site - http://www.pinetreeline.org/other/other17/other17a.html.

For the full story of NRS Frobisher Bay, visit Pinetree Line web site - http://www.pinetreeline.org.

*********************************************************************

NOVA SCOTIA


12 Wing Shearwater:

12 Wing Shearwater has the distinction of being the birthplace of Canadian Naval Aviation. From 1948 until they were disbanded in 1975, Royal Canadian Naval Air Station HMCS Shearwater was the home base of Canada's naval air squadrons.

Originally established at Baker Point by the United States Navy in 1918 as United States Naval Air Station Halifax, it was shortly afterwards the station was taken over by the Royal Canadian Navy and re-named Royal Canadian Naval Air Station Dartmouth. However, Canada's first experiment with a Naval Air Service would be short lived as it was disbanded shortly after World War I ended.

The Station fell into virtual disuse by the military, becoming simply a storage depot for surplus war equipment. Flying operations at the Station were limited to aerial photography and fishery patrols conducted by the Canadian Air Board.

The Royal Canadian Air Force was established in 1924 and by the 1930's had grown to such a point that new Air Stations were needed. In 1934, the Station re-opened as RCAF Station Dartmouth and became the home of No. 5 (Flying Boat) Squadron, who conducted flying operations for the RCMP and the military. A pigeon loft was also constructed at the station, one of 8 such sites across Canada for the purpose of housing and training homing pigeons for use by RCAF aircrews.

Defence Department cutbacks in the 1930's resulted in the elimination of all pigeon lofts except the ones at RCAF Stations Jericho Beach and Dartmouth.

The onset of World War II brought about a whole new phase in the history of RCAF Station Dartmouth. The Royal Navy formed a Naval Air Section at Dartmouth and as a result, a new airfield was constructed. Several Air Force and Naval fighter, bomber and transport squadrons were moved to the Station, such as No. 5 and No. 11 Bomber Squadrons.

No. 118 (Coastal Artillery Co-operation) Squadron transferred from RCAF Station Saint John in April 1944, but later disbanded. 431 Bomber Squadron, RCAF, formed in England, re-located to RCAF Station Dartmouth at the end of World War II disbanding there on 5 September 1945. The Squadron was re-activated on 1 April 1978 as 431 Air Demonstration Squadron, more commonly known as the Snowbirds, Canada's premier flyers.

In 1946 the Royal Canadian Naval Air Service, later re-named the Naval Air Branch, was formed and in 1948, RCAF Station Dartmouth was taken over by the Navy for use as a Naval Air Station. The Station was re-named Royal Canadian Naval Air Station, HMCS Shearwater, "...following the Royal Navy tradition of naming air stations after sea birds," (12 Wing Shearwater web page) and became home to the Atlantic Fleet's Aircraft Carriers and Naval Air Squadrons. The Shearwater Station Squadron Fleet Requirement Unit, later re-named VU-32 Squadron, was formed in May 1946 and VS-881 Naval Air Squadron in May 1947 as part of the 18th Carrier Air Group. In October 1947 No. 103 Rescue Unit relocated from Shearwater to RCAF Station Greenwood.

In 1951, HMCS Shearwater became the primary home to the Royal Canadian Navy's new helicopter squadrons and training units. It was the RCN in-fact who pioneered the concept of flying helicopters from destroyer size ships, a concept that was adopted by other navies of the world. No. 1 Helicopter Flight stood up in August 1951 and was tasked with search and rescue, aerial photography, recovery of ships' practice torpedoes and light transport duties.

On 5 November 1952, Experimental Squadron Ten (VX-10) was formed to test and evaluate maritime aircraft and related equipment. VF-870 Squadron and VF-871 Squadron were formed at Shearwater in January & May 1951 respectively, as was VT-40 Air Training Squadron in May 1954. By 1956, Shearwater also became the home of HS-50 Anti-submarine Helicopter Squadron, HU-21 Squadron and VS-880 Squadron, formerly from RCAF Station Summerside. VT-40 Squadron merged with VU-32 Squadron in May 1959.

In November 1955, VF 870 and VF 871 squadrons replaced their Sea Fury aircraft with the F2H3 Banshee all-weather jet fighter, the pride of naval aviation in Canada. However the Banshee would have a short career in the service of the navy. In 1962, the Canadian Government disposed of the Banshee aircraft and elected not to replace them and thus, VF 870 squadron disbanded in September 1962 (VF 871 merged with VF 870 on 16 March 1959). RCN fighter squadrons had lasted a mere 16 years.

As a result of the Unification in 1968, HMCS Shearwater was re-named CFB Shearwater. The Naval Air Branch was eventually disbanded and all flying duties became the responsibility of Air Force personnel. Canada's last Aircraft Carrier, HMCS Bonaventure was de-commissioned in 1970 and as a result, the Navy's fixed-wing aircraft were now all shore-based.

Also in 1970, VX-10 Squadron was disbanded and its personnel were transferred to the Aerospace Engineering Test Establishment at CFB Uplands.

The disbandment of the RCN Air Arm led to a change of duties for many of the former aircraft carrier squadrons. VS-880 Squadron, with their fleet of Tracker aircraft, switched from an anti-submarine warfare (ASW) role to surveillance duties in conjunction with the federal Department of Fisheries, operating out of Shearwater and their forward detachment at the Torbay Airport. 443 Anti-submarine Warfare Helicopter Squadron re-activated at Shearwater on 25 October 1974.

CFB Shearwater officially reverted back to an Air Force establishment in 1975, when control of the base was transferred to Air Command, although it's primary function was still to provide helicopter and aircraft support to the Navy. As the home of 420 (Fighter) Squadron, the Fleet Diving Unit, the Maritime Command Sea Survival School, 406 Squadron, 415 (Swordfish) Squadron, 413 Transport & Rescue Squadron and the Atlantic fleet's Sea King helicopters, 423 Squadron, Shearwater was an extremely busy Maritime Air Base.

The Helicopter Operational Test & Evaluation Facility (HOTEF) was established at Shearwater in 1980, charged with the responsibility of researching and testing operational equipment for the Sea King helicopters, as well and unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV) and other support equipment trials, marking the return of a dedicated naval air testing facility for the first time since the disbandment of VX-10 Squadron in 1970.

In June 1992, VU-32 Squadron disbanded in a ceremony held at Shearwater, ending 46 years of service to the Canadian Navy. 434 Composite Squadron, originally a bomber squadron, re-formed on 4 July 1992. The squadron was later re-designated a Combat Support Squadron.

The introduction of the Wing concept at Air Force establishments resulted in the base being re-named 12 Wing Shearwater in 1993. However, more change in the wind due to the Federal Government's planned reductions in Canada's Air Force. As a result, Shearwater was downsized to a detachment of CFB Halifax in 1994, although it remained a component of No. 1 Canadian Air Division, Headquartered in Winnipeg.

12 Air Movements Squadron and the Helicopter Operational and Testing Evaluation Facility also remain at 12 Wing. When the Sea King replacement, the Sikorsky CH-148 Cyclone, comes on line in 2008, it will be HOTEF that will conduct the trials on the new helicopter.

443 Anti-submarine Warfare Helicopter Squadron re-located at the Victoria International Airport in British Columbia in 1985 as a detached squadron of 12 Wing. Shearwater's fighter-aircraft squadrons 434 and 420 Squadrons re-located to 14 Wing Greenwood.

12 Wing Shearwater is now solely a helicopter facility and remains the centre of naval aviation in Canada as the principal home of 30 CH-124 Sea King helicopters Maritime helicopters flown by 406 Maritime Operational Training Squadron and 423 Maritime Helicopter Squadron. Runway 10-28 remains active for their use and the Shearwater Flying Club, but the rest of the airfield was abandoned.

Approximately three-quarters of the base property was turned over to the Canada Lands Corporation for disposal. The Air Force is also retaining all but one of the hangars, the messes, barracks, supply, transport, construction engineering buildings and the World War I era "Y" hangar (on the opposite site of Highway 322 down to the shore), currently used by the Fleet Diving Unit (Atlantic).

Source Material: DND press release from February 1994, "Sentinel" Magazine from March 1967, pg **, June 1968, May 1970, September 1971, May 1974, pgs 12 - 15, June 1974, pg. 9, and February 1992, pg. 21, the personal recollections of Petty Officer 2nd Class John Slor (Ret'd), (1999), pamphlet printed by Studio High Techniques of Toronto (1998), information provided by The National Aviation Museum, Rockcliffe, Ontario (1999), 14 Wing Heritage web site - http://www2.14wing.dnd.ca/14wgheritage/index.html , "Badges of the Canadian Navy" by LT (N) Graeme Arbuckle, the 12 Wing Shearwater web page - http://www.shearwater.dnd.ca, information provided by Ernest Cable Shearwater Aviation Museum Historian (2003), The Manitoba Military Heritage Project - http://www.unb.ca/nbmhp/02_NBMHPsites.htm & the Shearwater Aviation Museum On-line - www.shearwateraviationmuseum.ns.ca.

*********************************************************************

Naval Radio Station Newport Corner:

Naval Radio Station Newport Corner was established in 1942 near Newport Corner, Nova Scotia, as a transmitter station for Naval Radio Station Albro Lake.

NRS Albro Lake and its sub-unit NRS Newport Corner was renamed HMC NRS Albro Lake on July 1, 1956.

With the closure of CFS Albro Lake, Newport Corner became the transmitter station for CFS Mill Cove, functioning much as before.

Defence cutbacks in the late 1990s saw both the NRS Newport Corner transmitter and NRS Mill Cove receivers were automated. They are currently operated remotely HMCS Trinity at CFB Halifax and function as detachments to CFB Halifax.

*********************************************************************

ONTARIO


Canadian Forces College (Armour Heights):

Originally established as a training base for the newly formed Royal Flying Corps in July 1917, one of three in the Toronto area. An airfield was constructed near the site of the present Avenue Rd and 401 interchange, and early the following year, the School of Special Flying opened. Student pilots received instruction on the basics of flight, aerial reconnaissance and aerial combat. However, the school had a short life as it closed around the time the Armistice was signed in November 1918.

In 1919, Bishop-Barker Airplanes Limited, founded by World War I Royal Flying Corps veterans William "Billy" Bishop and William Barker, took over the Armour Heights aerodrome. This business venture was also short-lived, closing in 1921, and one of Canada's busiest airfields at the time was simply abandoned.

The property came back into military hands in 1942, when the RCAF acquired the property for the RCAF War Staff College, which officially opened on 1 August 1943. When the War ended in 1945, the college was re-designated as simply the RCAF Staff College.

The college became a tri-service college in 1966, re-named the Canadian Forces College (CFC). Today, the CFC teaches the Command and Staff course to officers of all three service branches.

The Armour Heights property has changed greatly since 1917, and is now completely surrounded by residential and commercial development. Most of the college's original buildings have been demolished and replaced with modern ones like The Ralston Residence, a 95 suite barrack block and the Dextraze Fitness Centre. The only exception is the stone building currently housing the Armour Heights Officers Mess, built in 1914 as the home of Colonel F.B. Robins, Honorary Colonel of the Toronto Scottish Regiment.

Not the slightest trace remains of the airfield today.

Source Material: the Canadian Forces College web site: http://www.cfc.forces.gc.ca/home_e.html, information supplied by Major M.D. Pollard (Ret'd), Webmaster, Canadian Forces College (2004), the Lost Rivers web site - http://www.lostrivers.ca/points/air.htm, the National Archives of Canada - http://www.archives.ca/05/0518/05180203/0518020303_e.html & the personal recollections of the author (1998).

*********************************************************************

22 Wing North Bay:

Originally established in 1933 as an emergency landing field, the aerodrome was later designated as RCAF Station North Bay. During World War II, RCAF Station North Bay served as an auxiliary training base and a whistle-stop for Liberator and Lancaster Bombers being transported across the Atlantic to England. RCAF Station North Bay closed at the end of WWII.

The post-war growth of the RCAF resulted in many WWII stations being re-activated and as a result, RCAF Station North Bay re-opened in 1951 as a flying training school and fighter base. Several fighter squadrons were established including 430 Day (Fighter) Squadron, re-formed at North Bay 1 November 1951, transferring to 2 Wing Grostenquin a year later, 445 All Weather (Fighter) Squadron, formed on 1 April 1953 and 443 All Weather (Fighter) Squadron, who arrived from RCAF Station Cold Lake in October 1955.

419 All-Weather Fighter Squadron re-formed at RCAF Station North Bay on 15 March 1955 and shortly afterwards moved to 4 Wing Baden-Soellingen. 445 All Weather (Fighter) Squadron also departed, re-locating to 1 Wing Marville, France in November 1956. 443 All-Weather Fighter Squadron moved to RCAF Station North Bay from RCAF Station Cold Lake on 15 November 1954. The squadron disbanded there on 1 August 1961.

In 1962, an underground communications complex and the Semi Automatic Ground Environment (SAGE) operations centre opened at RCAF Station North Bay under the North American Aerospace Defence (NORAD) Command to provide surveillance, identification, control, and warning for the defence of Canada and North America. Air Defence Command Headquarters was established at the station, as was 446 SAM (Surface-to-Air Missile) Squadron in with their BOMARC missiles. The BOMARC missiles remained at North Bay until they were decommissioned in 1973, after the disbandment of 446 SAM Squadron.

As a result of the Unification, the Station was re-named CFB North Bay in 1966. 414 (Electronic Warfare) Squadron was based out of North Bay from 1972 until 1992, with a detachment at CFB Ottawa (South), and the Air Weapons Control & Countermeasures School also made North Bay its home.

The introduction of the Wing concept at Air Force establishments resulted in the base being re-named 22 Wing North Bay in 1993.

In 1996, 22 Wing began the process of downsizing due to reductions in Canada's Air Force. All flying squadrons departed and 22 Wing ceased to be a fighter base.

Air Base Property Corporation took over the parts of the base now deemed surplus and established a new Aerospace Park. Some of the tenants of the Aerospace Park are Canadore College's School of Aviation, The Integrated Transport Initiative International Intermodal Center and Bombardier Aerospace. The airfield is now the Jack Garland Airport.

Although 22 Wing North Bay is no longer a fighter base, it remains Canada's NORAD base. 21 Aerospace Control and Warning (21 AC&W) Squadron, who moved to North Bay from CF Detachment St. Margaret's in 1988, provide monitoring of North America, including assisting the RCMP with surveillance in drug interdiction operations involving aircraft crossing Canadian territory. All NORAD information collected is forwarded to the NORAD Headquarters in Cheyenne Mountain, Colorado. As well, 51 AC&W (Operational Training) Squadron conduct training for Aerospace Control and Warning at North Bay.

22 Wing even hosts a United States Air Force unit, 922 Support Squadron and the Royal Canadian Air Cadets Central Region Gliding School operates one of eight summer Regional Gliding Centre at the airport.

In February 2002, the Department of National Defence announced plans to replace the underground complex with one above ground.

Source Material: 22 Wing North Bay web page - http://www.city.north-bay.on.ca/22wing/22wing.htm, the Jack Garland Airport Web Page - http://www.city.north-bay.on.ca/airport, the North Bay Integrated Transport Initiative web site - http://www.city.north-bay.on.ca/nbiti/index.htm, History of the 400 Series Squadrons - http://www.airforce.dnd.ca/airforce/eng/history_400s/rcafsqns.htm �The Maple Leaf� magazine, dated 6 February 2002 and "Sentinel" Magazine from July 1976.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Detachment Mountain View:

Originally opened on 23 June 1941 under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan as No. 6 Bombing & Gunnery School (No. 6 B&GS). The station was later re-designated RCAF Station Mountain View when No. 6 B&GS became known as the Ground Instruction School and was amalgamated with the Air Armament School No. 6 B&GS from RCAF Station Trenton. Both schools moved to RCAF Station Trenton in 1947.

In 1946, the RCAF Fire-fighting School moved to Mountain View from RCAF Station Trenton and remained until it moved again to RCAF Station Aylmer in 1951. That same year, Mountain View was reduced to a detachment RCAF Station Trenton and remains so to this day.

Units located at Mountain View include Trenton's Aircraft Development Maintenance Unit and the Royal Canadian Air Cadets Central Region Gliding School, who operate one of eight summer Regional Gliding Centre at the airport.

Only two of the World War II era hangars remain (hangars 1 & 3). Hangars 2, 3 & 5 were torn down in 2007. The airfield remains in use, but all the barracks are long gone.

On 8 September 2000, the Canadian Parachute Centre at 8 Wing Trenton opened its new drop zone at Mountain View. Drop Zone Hodgson was dedicated to the memory of Chief Warrant Officer Robert Hodgson, MMM, CD, who died of cancer in November 1999 after 29 years service with the Royal Canadian Regiment. CWO Hodgson had served as the first Regimental Sergeant Major of the Canadian Parachute Centre after its move from CFB Edmonton to 8 Wing Trenton in 1996.

In 2006, a new gravel runway was constructed parallel to the existing runway provide Hercules aircraft crews a venue to hone essential skills of landing on austere landing strips such as in Afghanistan.

Source Material: "Sentinel" Magazine from July - August 1969, pg 17 & November - December 1971 pg 2, information supplied by the Camp Borden Museum, "Wings For Victory - The Remarkable Story of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan in Canada" by Spencer Dunmore, DND news release - http://www.8wing.trenton.dnd.ca/news/2000/11/cfbpec.htm, the Central Region Cadet Gliding School web site - http://www.8wing.trenton.dnd.ca/crhq/central-e.htm#top The Garrison. Newspaper from 18 October 2000, information supplied by Capt. Beth Wakulczyk, Public Affairs Officer, 8 Wing Trenton, information supplied by Drew A. Craig, 8 Wing Trenton, Wing Environmental Officer (2008) and the "RCAF Station Trenton" web site at www.rcaf.com.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Reserve Barracks Hamilton:

Commissioned on 1 October 1941 on the dockyards of Burlington Bay as His Majesty's Canadian Ship (HMCS) STAR, this was once the third most important Naval training facility in Canada and the fifth largest. As the new home for the Hamilton Half Company of the Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve, later re-named HMCS STAR Naval Reserve Division, this was the first place many naval recruits saw during the Second World War.

In 1952, STAR's importance as a naval training facility bolstered by the establishment of the Great Lakes Training Centre. Two reserve training ships, HMCS Porte St Louis and HMCS Porte St. Jean, were permanently stationed at HMCS STAR. The following year the Commander of Naval Divisions (COND) moved to the STAR from Ottawa.

In 1953, a Naval Reserve air squadron was established at HMCS York in Toronto. Although HMCS STAR was not agiven its own squadron due to its close proximity to HMCS York, the unit maintained a support unit for ground crew and maintenance. No. 1 Training Air Group sent STAR one Hurricane and two Seafire aircraft for their use at RCAF Station Hamilton (now known as the Hamilton International Airport) and the unit conducted joint training with HMCS York at RCAF Station Downsview.

The Unification in the mid 1960s brought change to HMCS STAR. The Hamilton Service Battalion and The Hamilton Medical Company, later re-named 23 Service Battalion and 23 Medical Company, moved to the site after the closure of the Burlington Street Armoury in September 1967, taking over the COND building. COND moved to HMCS Stadacona in Halifax along with HMCS Porte St Louis and HMCS Porte St. Jean. The Great Lakes Training Centre was disbanded, as was the Air Arm maintenance unit (in 1964). HMCS STAR Naval Reseve Division was now simply a tenant on the base.

The name of the establishment was changed to Canadian Forces Reserve Barracks Hamilton in 1969 and was placed under control of CFB Toronto, an Air Force Base. The physical size of the base was reduced, with STAR's former sports field being turned over to the City of Hamilton. It is now known asEastwood Park. Later the Hamilton Militia District Headquarters moved to the site and stayed until it disbanded in 1995.

In the mid-1990s, CFRB Hamilton began to feel some of the effect of the Federal Government's commitment to revitalizing the neglected Naval Reserve. In May 1997, HMCS STAR officially opened their new state-of-the-art building, replacing all of the original World War II era "temporary" buildings that had housed the Division since its commissioning in 1941.

On 30 August 2003, CFRB Hamilton became the new home for HMCS Haida, the last of the 27 Tribal Class destroyers built for the Royal Canadian Navy between 1937 and 1945. HMCS Haida had been moored as a floating museum in Toronto Harbour since 1965.

Source Material: "HMCS STAR - A Naval Reserve History" by Commander Robert J. Williamson, CD, Commanding Officer, HMCS STAR - 1985-1988, "Sentinel" magazine from October 1966, HMCS Haida web site - http://hmcshaida.ca & the personal recollections of the author (1998-2006).

*********************************************************************

SASKATCHEWAN


Camp Dundurn:

During World War II, Camp Dundurn became a major training centre and transit point for personnel going overseas. The RCAF also built a bombing range at the camp and the Canadian Womens' Army Corps established one of its first units in Canada at Camp Dundurn .

A27 Canadian Armoured Corps Training Centre re-located to Camp Dundurn on 28 January 1942 from Camp Borden. The school was re-named A27 Canadian Reconnaissance Training Centre.

Although A27 CRTC closed in March 1945, the camp would remain open as a permanent Army camp. No. 6 Ordinance Ammunition Depot opened at the camp in 1947 and Permanent Married Quarters were constructed.

In the early to mid 1960s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several Army, Navy and RCAF bases were either downsized, merged or closed. As a result, Camp Dundurn was downsized to a detachment of CFB Moose Jaw in 1966. No. 6 Ordinance Ammunition Depot was re-named Canadian Forces Ammunition Depot Dundurn.

Today the camp continues to serve as the home of Canadian Forces Ammunition Depot Dundurn, as well as a training area and rifle range for Militia and Regular Force units in Saskatchewan.

Dundurn is now a detachment of 17 Wing Winnipeg.

Source Material: information supplied by Will Chaburn, Member Regina Chapter, Canadian Aviation Historical Society (2001), CF Det Dundurn Detachment Fire Service web site - http://www.reocities.com/platoontwo, History of the Air Cadets Glider Training web site - http://www.mts.net/~rgspra/hist.html & the Town of Dundurn web site - http://sesd.sk.ca/dundurn/town/default.htm.

*********************************************************************

QUEBEC


Montreal Garrison - 5 Area Support Group:

CFB Montreal opened at Longue Pointe in 1966 as the home of No. 25 Supply Depot. The new base also assumed command of the HMCS Hochelaga, the Naval Supply Depot at Lasalle, re-designating the site as No. 4 Supply Depot.

In 1969, CFB Saint Hubert also became a detachment of CFB Montreal.

In 1995, CFB Montreal ceased to exist as an autonomous base when No. 5 Area Support Group was established. The Longue Point site became Montreal Garrison and today, the massive complex still functions as Eastern Canada's supply depot, No. 25 Supply Depot, as well as serving as the headquarters for Area Support Unit Montreal and No. 4 Intelligence Company.

Source Material: Information provided by Captain S. Latraverse, Staff Officer, Area Support Unit Montreal (2000) and the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

Saint-Hubert Garrison - 5 Area Support Group:

Originally opened in 1927 as the St. Hubert Airport, it served as Montreal's primary airport before Dorval International opened.

The airport was taken over by the RCAF on 1 September 1941 as the home of No. 13 Service Flying Training School under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. A Relief Landing Field was constructed near Farnham. No. 13 SFTS re-located to North Battleford, Saskatchewan in February 1944 and the station was re-designated RCAF Station Saint-Hubert.

RCAF Station Saint-Hubert remained open after World War II as part of the post-war RCAF. Numerous wartime squadrons were re-formed at Saint-Hubert, making it a very busy air station. However, RCAF Detachment Farnham was not included in this post-war growth and it was simply abandoned. Nothing remains of the Detachment today.

410 Squadron was formed at RCAF Station Saint-Hubert as a fighter squadron on 1 December 1948. The squadron later departed for 1 Wing in Marville, France to become part of No. 1 Air Division Europe. 441 Fighter Squadron re-formed on 1 March 1951 departing for 1 Wing in North Luffenham on 13 February 1952. 427 Fighter Squadron re-formed on 1 August 1952, departing for 3 Wing Zweibracken a year later. 444 Fighter Squadron, originally from RCAF Station Rivers re-formed on 1 March 1953, departing for 4 Wing Baden on 27 August 1953. 438 Squadron re-formed in April 1946, adding the title City of Montreal Squadron in 1950. 416 All-Weather Fighter Squadron re-located to Saint-Hubert from 2 Wing Grostenquin 1 February 1957, moving again 4 years later to RCAF Station Bagotville.

429 (Tactical Transport) Squadron formed at RCAF Station Saint-Hubert on 21 June 1967. Equipped with Buffalo aircraft, the squadrons roles included operational ground and aircrew training, transport, airborne support for the army and search and rescue (SAR) duties. A detachment of 429 Squadron was posted to RCAF Station Namao to support the army. No. 1 Transport Helicopter Platoon, a unit of the Royal Canadian Army Service Corps, moved to RCAF Station Saint-Hubert from RCAF Station Rivers in 1966. In 1968, No. 1 THP was renamed 450 (Heavy Transport) Helicopter Squadron moved to RCAF Station Uplands.

As a result of the Unification, the Station was re-named CFB Saint-Hubert. In later years, Saint-Hubert would become the home of Mobile Command Headquarters and 10 Tactical Air Group (10 TAG).

In the early to mid 1960s, a reorganization and consolidation occurred within the Canadian Military. Several Army, Navy and RCAF bases were either downsized, merged or closed. As a result, the base was downgraded to a detachment of CFB Montreal on 1 September 1969.

438 Squadron City of Montreal Squadron converted to a tactical helicopter squadron in 1981.

429 (Tactical Transport) Squadron relocated to CFB Trenton in 1990.

The introduction of the Wing concept at Air Force establishments resulted in the base being designated 1 Wing in 1993, although this would be short-lived as I Wing later re-located to CFB Kingston. 450 Squadron, now a Tactical Helicopter Squadron, returned to Saint-Hubert from CFB Ottawa South (Uplands) in August 1994. The squadron disbanded on 25 June 1996.

In the mid 1990s, another of many consolidations occurred within the Canadian Military. Several bases were either downsized, merged or closed. A result, Detachment Saint-Hubert closed in 1995.

A small section of the former base next to the airfield was severed off and still functions as a military establishment. Designated as a part of No. 5 Area Support Group, the facility is now known as Saint-Hubert Garrison. Units occupy some of the old hangers at St Hubert Garrison include 438 Tactical Helicopter Squadron (a combined Reserve-Regular Force Squadron), 51 Service Battalion and 2 cadet units, 643 Royal Canadian Air Cadets Squadron and 2623 Royal Canadian Army Cadet Corps.

The rest of the former CF Detachment Saint-Hubert was sold off and is now an Industrial Park including a film production studio, which spent nearly $30-million converting a hangar into a sound stage and building related facilities on 22 acres of the property.

The airfield reverted back to a civilian airport, the Saint-Hubert Airport.

Source Material: "The Garrison" newspaper from March 1995, pamphlet printed by Studio High Techniques of Toronto (1998), information provided by Captain S. Latraverse, Staff Officer, Area Support Unit Montreal (2000), "Sentinel" Magazine from March 1968, June 1968 and February-March 1971, pgs. 1-10, the 429 Squadron web page - http://www.secant.co.uk/bullseye98/429sqn.htm, History of the 400 Series Squadrons - http://www.airforce.dnd.ca/airforce/eng/history_400s/rcafsqns.htm, "Wings For Victory" by Spencer Dunmore, the 450 Squadron web page - www.totavia.com/terry/cyow/uplands/450sqn.htm, the Globe & Mail from Tuesday, March 18, 2003 - Page B10, Montreal's Saint Hubert Airport Enthusiast�s Page - http://www.fortunecity.co.uk/shangrila/cannes/66/st-hubert.html & the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

Saint-Jean Garrison - 5 Area Support Group:

Opened on 7 July 1941 as No. 9 Air Observer School under the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. The site was later re-designated RCAF Station Saint-Jean.

Although No. 9 AOS closed on 30 April 1945, No. 13 EFTS re-located to the station from Saint Eugene, Ontario. Flying training ended at No. 13 EFTS on 23 August and by 17 September, the school closed.

While most WWII stations closed, Saint Jean remained open as part of the post-war RCAF. The station became the home of College Militaire Royal de Saint-Jean, as well as the Canadian Forces Technical, Recruit, Language and Management Schools.

As a result of the Unification, the Station was re-named CFB Saint-Jean. L'Ecole Technique des Forces Canadiennes (CF Technical School) was formed in April 1969 for language instruction.

The introduction of the Wing concept at Air Force establishments resulted in the base being re-named 16 Wing Saint-Jean in 1993. 16 Wing, originally formed in Hamilton in 1951 as 16 (Reserve) Wing and disbanded 13 years later, was re-formed at CFB Saint-Jean on 1 April 1993 as a non-flying Air Command unit. The unit relocated to CFB Borden in 1994, where it remains today and responsibility for the station was transferred to Land Forces Command.

By 1996 more change was in the wind for CFB St-Jean. DND budget reductions resulted in the closure of 2 of Canada's 3 military colleges, with Le College Militaire Royal being one of them. The Canadian Forces Technical School moved to CFB Borden and CFB Kingston and L'Ecole Technique des Forces Canadiennes relocated to various locations. CFB Saint-Jean was downsized and ceased to exist as an autonomous base when No. 5 Area Support Group was established. The base was re-named St. Jean Garrison.

Although some parts of the base were severed off and sold, most of it remains intact and continues to serve as the home of the CF Recruit School and the Royal Canadian Air Cadets Regional Gliding School (Eastern). The airfield operates as the Saint-Jean Airport.

Source material: DND press release from February 1994, "Wings For Victory" by Spencer Dunmore, the 16 Wing Borden web site - www.bconnex.net/~wing-hq. & the personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

THE PINETREE LINE:


In the early 1950s the Pinetree Line network of radar stations was established. This line, which stretched along the 50th parallel, down the eastern coast and into southern Ontario and Quebec, acted as an early warning detection system against a Soviet air attack. The Pinetree Line was shut down in the mid 1980s as part of the North American Air Defence Modernization Plan.

For the full history of the following former Pinetree Radar stations, visit the Pinetree Line web site - http://www.pinetreeline.org.

or read "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontario", "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume II: Quebec" and "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic by Author Paul Ozorak.

The source material that I used is from the above sources and any others listed in the individual entry.

Unless indicated, no military presence remains at the former Pinetree Stations.

*********************************************************************

ALBERTA


43 Radar Squadron:

One of the last Pinetree stations to open, the facility opened in 1964 at a site 14 miles from RCAF Station Penhold. 43 Radar Squadron disbanded on 1 August 1986 and the radar site was closed.

Nothing remains of the radar station today. The station's FPS-6X Height Finder radar was moved and mounted at CFB Penhold as a monument to the men and women of 43 Radar Squadron.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Beaverlodge:

Opened in 1953 as Saskatoon Mountain Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run by No. 919 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Control of the station was transferred to the RCAF in 1963, with the radar functions being run by No. 57 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Re-named RCAF Station Beaverlodge, then CFS Beaverlodge. The station closed in 1988.

Several of the former CFS Beaverlodge's buildings remained until the mid 1990s, when they were all demolished. Nothing remains today.

*********************************************************************

BRITISH COLUMBIA


Canadian Forces Station Kamloops:

Established as part of the Pinetree Line of radar stations in 1958 and designated No. 825 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron of the United States Air Force. The station was later transferred to the RCAF and re-designated No. 56 Aircraft Control and Warning Squadron, RCAF Station Kamloops.

After the Unification, the station was re-named CFS Kamloops.

CFS Kamloops closed on 1 April 1988, the 64th anniversary of the Royal Canadian Air Force. Although all the buildings remain, the site is now virtually abandoned, except for two areas now used by BC Telephone and the Ministry of Transportation.

The Station briefly came back to life when the movie "Cadence", staring Charlie Sheen and Lawrence Fishburne, was filmed at the site in 1990.

Source Material: DND press release from July 1989.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Baldy Hughes:

Opened in 1955 Baldy Hughes Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run by No. 918 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Control of the station was transferred to the RCAF in the early 1960s and radar functions taken over by No. 54 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron.

Re-named RCAF Station Baldy Hughes, then CFS Baldy Hughes.

The station closed in 1988. Some of the buildings remain occupied, some are in better condition than others.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Holberg:

Opened in 1954 as RCAF Station Holberg, with the radar functions being run by No. 501 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron, later re-designated No. 53 AC & W Squadron. The station was re-named CFS Holberg.

CFS Holberg closed on 31 August 1990, one of the last Pinetree radar stations to close. Other than the radar towers, which remain as one of four Canadian Coastal Radar facilities, nothing else of the former CFS Holberg remains today.

*********************************************************************

Puntzi Mountain Air Force Station (United States Air Force):

Opened in 1952 as Puntzi Mountain Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run first by No. 917 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron, then 55 AC &W Squadron.

The station closed in 1966 and today, very little remains. BC Telephone use a small portion for their communications equipment.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Tofino:

Originally opened 1943 as a "Radio Detachment", part of a chain of radar stations conducting surveillance of the Pacific Coast. The chain was disbanded in 1945. Due to it's remote location, the station had its own airfield.

The station re-opened in 1955 using some of the WWII buildings, with the radar functions being run by No. 52 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. The station had a very brief existence as it closed on 10 January 1958. The airfield was transferred to the Department of Transportation.

Nothing remains of the former radar station today. A plaque was placed on Radar Hill to commemorate the men & women who served with No. 52 AC & W Squadron.

*********************************************************************

MANITOBA


Canadian Forces Station Beausejour:

Opened in 1953 as Beausejour Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run by No. 916 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Control of the station was transferred to the RCAF in 1962, with the radar functions being run by No. 48 Radar Squadron. The station was re-named RCAF Station Beausejour, then CFS Beausejour. The station closed in 1986.

The former station is now the Manitoba Regional Correctional Centre. Most of the buildings remain. The former gatehouse was converted into a staff lounge when a new gatehouse was built.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Gypsumville:

Opened in 1962 as RCAF Station Gypsumville, the last of the Pinetree radar stations to become operational, with the radar functions being run by No. 47 Radar Squadron. Re-named CFS Gypsumville in 1968.

The station closed in 1987. The only remains of the former station are the roadways, foundations and half-demolished buildings. A FPS 507 HF Radar remains at the entrance to the former station as a memorial to the men and women who served at RCAF/CFS Gypsumville.

*********************************************************************

NEW BRUNSWICK


Canadian Forces Base Chatham - St Margaret's Detachment:

Opened in 1952 as RCAF Station St Margaret's, the home of No. 2 Aircraft Control & Warning Unit (AC&W), which replaced the disbanded 2 ADCC from RCAF Station Chatham.

In 1953, RCAF Station St Margaret's became part of the newly formed Pinetree Line, a network of radar stations established as an early warning detection system against a Soviet air attack.

As a result of the Unification, St. Margaret's became a Detachment of CFB Chatham.

In 1985, DND announced that the Pinetree Line would be shut down as a part of the North American Air Defence Modernization Plan. Radar equipment at many Canadian Forces Stations was replaced with a new automated system. As a result, CF Detachment St. Margaret's closed on 1 April 1988, the 64th anniversary of the Royal Canadian Air Force. 21 AC&W Squadron re-located to 22 Wing North Bay on 6 October 1988 and was re-designated as 21 Aerospace Control & Warning Squadron.

Many of the former station's buildings and PMQs remain today.

The station's former receiver site located on Route 11 between Chatham and St. Margaret's still exists, but the small brick building that housed the radio equipment is to be demolished. The Transmitter site was demolished many years ago.

Additional Source Material: DND press release from May 1989 & information supplied by Sherman Fisher, local resident involved in the construction of RCAF Station Chatham and RCAF Station St. Margaret's (2001).

*********************************************************************

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR


Cartwright Air Force Station (United States Air Force):

Opened in 1953 as Cartwright Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run by No. 922 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron.

The station closed in 1968. Only concrete building foundations remain.

*********************************************************************

Hopedale Air Force Station (United States Air Force):

Opened in 1953 as Hopedale Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run by No. 923 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron.

The station closed in 1968. Only concrete building foundations remain. Since 1992, the Canadian Forces have operated a Short Range Radar facility at a nearby site, a part of the North Warning System.

*********************************************************************

Red Cliff Air Force Station (United States Air Force):

Opened in 1954 as Red Cliff Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run first by No. 108 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron, then 642 AC & W Squadron. The station had a brief life, as it closed in 1961.

The former station in now used by local militia units as a Fighting in Built-up Areas (FIBA) training area. Some of the buildings remain, but abandoned.

*********************************************************************

St. Anthony Air Force Station (United States Air Force):

Opened in 1953 as St. Anthony Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run first by No. 921 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron, then 642 AC & W Squadron. The station had a brief life, as it closed in 1968.

Some of the buildings remain and in use, but many have been reduced to concrete foundations only.

*********************************************************************

Ernest Harmon Air Force Station (United States Air Force):

Opened in 1953 as Ernest Harmon Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run first by No. 105 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron, then 640 AC & W Squadron. The station closed in 1971.

The site is now used as a Commercial-industrial area and telecommunications centre. The operations area is now only a concrete foundation.

*********************************************************************

NORTH-WEST TERRITORIES


Resolution Island Air Force Station (United States Air Force):

Opened in 1954 as Resolution Island Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run by No. 920 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Although officially a Pinetree site, it was rumored to be a listening post for spying on the Russians. The station closed in 1961.

The site was re-activated by the Canadian Government as an unmanned North Warning System radar site in 1991. Most of the original buildings remain, mixed with new radar towers.

*********************************************************************

NOVA SCOTIA


Canadian Forces Station Sydney:

Opened as part of the Pinetree Line of radar stations on the On 15 March 1953, located on the northern fringes of the city, with the radar functions being run by No. 221 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. The station was re-named CFS Sydney.

Canadian Forces Station Sydney closed in 1993.

Today, the former CFS Sydney is known as Pinetree Estates. Carefield Manor, a nursing home, occupies part of the former station. Most of the station's buildings remain, but some are boarded up and unused.

An unmanned Canadian Coastal Radar station, one of three on Canada's East Coast, was also established to carry on with CFS Sydney's radar duties.

Additional Source material: The Communications & Electronics Museum site � www.c-and-e-museum.org, DND press release from July 1989.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Barrington:

Originally opened as a Royal Canadian Navy Radar site during World War II, the site was re-opened in 1957 as Barrington Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run by No. 627 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Control of the station was transferred to the RCAF in 1962, with the radar functions being run by No. 23 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Re-named RCAF Station Barrington, then CFS Barrington. The station closed in 1990.

An unmanned Canadian Coastal Radar station, one of three on Canada's East Coast, was established at the site (Fighter Group / Canadian NORAD Region - Detachment Barrington) to carry on with CFS Barrington's radar duties. The site is controlled remotely from the NORAD bunker at 22 wing North Bay.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Beaverbank:

Opened in 1954 as RCAF Station Beaverbank, with the radar functions being run by No. 22 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron.

The station had a short life as it closed in 1964. When the Royal Canadian Navy were looking for a replacement site for Naval Radio Station Albro Lake, the Beaverbank site was considered, but ultimately it was not chosen.

Today, only the operations building remains at the former station. The remaining buildings and PMQs were demolished in the fall of 2004.

*********************************************************************

ONTARIO:


Canadian Forces Station Armstrong:

Opened in 1954 as Armstrong Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run by No. 914 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Control of the station was transferred to the RCAF in the early 1960s, with the radar functions being run by No. 38 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron.

Re-named RCAF Station Armstrong, then CFS Armstrong.

The station closed in 1975. Some of the buildings remain occupied and some are in better condition than others.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Edgar:

Originally designated No. 204 RCAF Radio Station, RCAF Station Edgar was the southern most station in the Pinetree Line. No. 204 became operational in September 1952 and one month later, the unit was re-designated No. 31 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron and the station itself RCAF Station Edgar. Although Pinetree stations were much smaller than full-size bases like Camp Borden, they were still self-contained cities featuring standard military housing & barracks, a school, a recreation centre with a bowling alley & swimming pool, an infirmary, a chapel, a firehall, a water treatment & distribution facility, a central heating plant, auto repair shops, cafeteria facilities and sports fields.

All Pinetree stations were equipped with one Search Radar, one Height-Finder Radar and a third back-up radar, and were situated at 150-mile intervals mostly along the 50th parallel, but also down the eastern coast and into southern Ontario and Quebec.

Unlike most Pinetree stations, RCAF Station Edgar also served as a Ground-Control Intercept station in addition to its primary function as an Early Warning Detection station. It was the job of No. 31 AC&W Squadron to track any incoming Soviet threats and then dispatch and direct fighter interceptors to head-off inbound Soviet bombers or missiles.

Overseeing No. 31 AC&W Squadron was No. 3 Air Defence Control Centre, also located at RCAF Station Edgar. No. 3 ADCC also coordinated the operations of No. 32 Squadron at RCAF Station Foymount, No. 33 at RCAF Station Falconbridge, No. 34 at RCAF Station Senneterre and 912th Squadron of and the United States Air Force' at the Ramore Air Station (later taken over by the RCAF and re-named RCAF Station Ramore). With the creation of the North American Aerospace Defense Command (NORAD) in the late 1950s, No. 3 ADCC was re-designated the Ottawa NORAD Sector Headquarters.

When the Pinetree Line was first established, the RCAF utilized a manual system of plotting the movement of all aircraft on a large plotting board in the Operations Control Centre, situated inside a large reinforced concrete building, with Fighter Control Operators directing this process. In 1961, this system was replaced by the new Semi-Automatic Ground Environment (SAGE) system. A computer now determined the height, speed and direction of enemy targets and relayed the information to the Sector Control Headquarters. This change of operating procedures also lead to No. 31 AC&W Squadron being re-named No. 31 Radar Squadron and RCAF Station Edgar being placed under supervision of the Syracuse NORAD Sector Headquarters.

In May 1963, Ottawa NORAD Sector Headquarters re-located to RCAF Station North Bay and No. 31 Radar Squadron was later put under control of the Detroit Sector.

Continued upgrades in radar equipment lead to greater coverage areas for Pinetree stations. As a result, stations like RCAF Station Edgar were now deemed unnecessary as neighboring RCAF Stations Foymount and Falconbridge were now able to cover Edgar's area of responsibility. As a result, operations at RCAF Station Edgar were terminated on March 20, 1964 and the station closed at the end of the month. A station disbandment parade was held on 8 April 1964, with the RCAF flag being lowered for the last time.

The Ontario Government purchased the property for just over $218,000 and in 1965, the former station became the Edgar Adult Occupational Centre for handicapped adults. This facility closed in 1999 and the Ontario Realty Corporation put up the property for sale, marketing it for possible industrial or institutional usage. It has yet to be sold.

Today the former station sits vacant, except for the security guards guarding the property. The Department of National Defence has made a return of sorts to Edgar, as various Army Reserve units occasionally utilize the property for training. All of the station's buildings remain except for the Operations Control Centre building and the radar towers (they were demolished long ago), but they are slowly deteriorating. It remains to be seen what will finally become of this once important Cold War relic.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Falconbridge:

Opened in 1952 as RCAF Station Falconbridge, with the radar functions being run by No. 33 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Re-named CFS Falconbridge. The station closed in 1986.

The PMQs and some of the buildings remain occupied, but others, including the operations building are abandoned.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Foymount:

Opened in 1952 as RCAF Station Foymount, with the radar functions being run by No. 32 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Re-named CFS Foymount. The station closed in 1974.

Portions of the former station remain in use as a commercial complex. The PMQ homes are private residences, but 3 apartment complexes are vacant.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Lowther:

Opened in 1957 as Lowther Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run by No. 639 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Control of the station was transferred to the RCAF in the early 1960�s, with the radar functions being run by No. 36 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Re-named RCAF Station Lowther, then CFS Lowther. The station closed in 1987.

The former station is currently used as a commercial-industrial testing centre. Only the abandoned roadways remain.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Moosonee:

Opened in 1961 as RCAF Station Moosonee, with the radar functions being run by No. 15 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Re-named CFS Armstrong. The station closed in 1975. Parts of the station remain in use as the Northern Lights Secondary School, with the PMQs serving as housing.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Pagwa:

Opened in 1953 as Pagwa Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run by No. 913 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Control of the station was transferred to the RCAF in the early 1960�s, with the radar functions being run by No. 37 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Re-named RCAF Station Pagwa. The station closed in 1966.

Some of the station's buildings remain.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Ramore:

Opened in 1953 as Ramore Air Force Station of the United States Air Force. The station was later transferred to the RCAF. Re-named RCAF Station Ramore, then CFS Ramore. The station closed in 1975.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Sioux Lookout:

Opened in 1952 as Sioux Lookout Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run by No. 912 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Control of the station was transferred to the RCAF in the early 1960s, with the radar functions being run by No. 39 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Re-named RCAF Station Sioux Lookout, then CFS Sioux Lookout. The station closed in 1987. Most of the buildings remain, but unused.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Lowther:

Opened in 1957 as Lowther Air Force Station of the United States Air Force, with the radar functions being run by No. 639 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Control of the station was transferred to the RCAF in the early 1960s, with the radar functions being run by No. 36 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Re-named RCAF Station Lowther, then CFS Lowther. The station closed in 1987.

Other that the abandoned roadways, nothing remains of CFS Lowther today.

*********************************************************************

QUEBEC


Canadian Forces Station Senneterre:

Opened as RCAF Station Senneterre on 1 June 1953, the home of No. 34 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron, one of Canada's Pinetree Line radar stations.

After the closure of CFS Val d'Or in 1976, CFS Senneterre took over Search and Rescue operations for Quebec's northwestern region.

In 1985, DND announced that the Pinetree Line would be shut down as a part of the North American Air Defence Modernization Plan. As a result, CFS Senneterre closed on 1 August 1988.

Source Material: DND Press Releases from June 1989.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Mont Apica:

Opened in 1952 as RCAF Station Mont Apica, with the radar functions being run by No. 201 Radio Station. No. 201 Radio Station was itself re-named No. 12 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Part of the Station's role was as a control centre for the fighter squadrons of Air Defence Command and a long-range radar station.

In 1963, The Intercept Controller School was established at the Station., remaining until disbanding in 1969.

The domestic area at CFS Mont Apica was closed in 1990 but the radar centre remained open for a few years first as a detachment of Fighter Group HQ and later, as a sub-unit of 3 Wing, CFB Bagotville. Radar personnel commuted every day by bus from Bagotville. Finally, the radars were turned off in 1993 and taken down.

CFS Mont Apica finally closed down in 1993. Nothing remains of CFS Mont Apacia today. 12 Radar Squadron relocated to 3 Wing Baggotvile, where it continues to provide radar tracking for fighter aircrew training.

Additional Source Material: DND press release from May 1989 & July 1989.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Val d'or, opened as RCAF Station Val d�Or (? - 1976)

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Chibougamau:

Opened in 1962 as RCAF Station Chibougamau, with the radar functions being run by No. 10 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Re-named CFS Chibougamau. The station closed in 1988. Most of the former station remains, with parts being used by the City of Chibougamau. The operations building was used briefly by Transport Canada, but was demolished in 1993.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station St Sylvester:

Opened in 1953 as RCAF Station Ste.-Marie, with the radar functions being run by No. 206 RCAF Radio Station. The radar unit was later re-named No. 13 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. The station itself was re-named RCAF Station St.-Sylvestre, then CFS Station St.-Sylvestre. The station closed in 1964. The only remains of the former station are the guardhouse, recreation hall and the medical building.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Lac St Denis:

Opened in 1952 as RCAF Station Lac St Denis, with the radar functions being run by No. 201 RCAF Radio Unit, later re-designated No. 12 AC & W Squadron. The station was re-named CFS Lac St Denis. CFS Lac St Denis closed in 1986. The former station is now a commercial-industrial complex named Doman St Denis. Most of the former stations remains.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Moisie:

Opened in 1953 as RCAF Station Moisie with the radar functions being run by No. 211 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. The station was re-named CFS Moisie. CFS Lac Moisie closed in 1986. Unknown what remains today.

*********************************************************************

Royal Canadian Air Force Station Parent:

Opened in 1953, with radar functions being run by No. 207 RCAF Radio Station. This was one of the last Pinetree stations to be built. The radar unit was later re-designated 14 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. The station closed in 1964. The PMQs remain today, but little else.

*********************************************************************

SASKATCHEWAN


Canadian Forces Station Yorkton:

RCAF Station Yorkton opened as a Pinetree Line radar station on 15 October 1962, about 10 miles west of the former wartime training base No. 11 Service Flying Training School. 46 Radar Squadron was formed to handle the radar duties, reporting to the Central NORAD Region.

The station was re-named CFS Yorkton in May 1967.

CFS Yorkton closed on 1 August 1986. The site is now the Whitespruce Centre, a youth addiction facility. Most of the original buildings remain and are in good condition.

Source Material: "Sentinel" Magazine from June 1968, pg 46, History of 2CFFTS web site - http://www.moosejaw.dnd.ca/2his_e.asp#to_top, the Pinetree Line web site - http://www.pinetreeline.org & the Air Cadets Glider Training web site - http://www.mts.net/~rgspra/hist.html.

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Alsask:

Opened in 1962 as RCAF Station Alsask, with the radar functions being run by No. 44 Aircraft Control & Warning Squadron. Re-named CFS Alsask in 1968, the station closed in 1987. Most of the station remains today. The gym and pool are used by residents of Alsask. The former Construction Engineering building is a mechanical shop and one of the old buildings is used as offices for the Alsask Golf Club and a craft centre.

The barracks were used for a period as a senior citizens residence, but the centre is now closed. One of the PMQ trailers is still occupied, but will be vacated in the near future. Most of the others were moved off site years ago.

All that remains of the operations centre is one lone radar tower (minus the radar unit), complete with radome. The radar tower had been used by Transport Canada for tracking civilian aircraft until 1996. A proposal to turn the old radar tower into a Radome museum never came to fruition.

Source material: Information supplied by Gord Chiliak, Mayor of Alsask (2004) & the personal recollections of the author (2004).

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station Dana:

Opened in 1962 as RCAF Station Dana, with the radar functions being run by No. 45 Radar Squadron.

Re-named CFS Dana in 1968.

The station closed in 1987. The site is now the Signal Hill Buffalo Farm. Most of the building remain but are unoccupied.

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

THE MID CANADA LINE

Between the DEW Line and the Pinetree Line was the Mid Canada Line, consisting of 8 Sector Control Stations and approximately 90 unmanned Doppler radar sites. The line operated for a very brief time from 1958 until 1965, when improvements in technology made the line unnecessary. All the stations are now closed there is no military presence at any of the former stations today.

The Mid Canada Line sites were:

RCAF Station Dawson Creek:

Opened on 1 October 1956, as part of the Mid-Canada Line, the second of three Early Warning Lines under command of NORAD, which stretched along the 55th parallel. Like all MCL stations, Dawson Creek was responsible for the maintenance of ten Doppler Detection Stations, small unmanned stations consisting of radar and communications equipment.

As there was no airfield at RCAF Station Dawson Creek (only a helicopter pad), the local municipal airport, a former WWII RCAF station used as part of the North-West Staging Route, was utilized for aircraft.

With advances in technology, the MCL eventually became redundant and associated stations were closed. RCAF Station Dawson Creek closed on 31 March 1964.

Since September 1966, the former station has been the Dawson Creek Campus of Northern Lights College. Most of the buildings remain, including the helicopter hangar, which now houses the Aircraft Maintenance Engineering faculty, the communications building, which is now the college administration building, the messes, which house the Professional Cook faculty. The former barracks now serve as student residences.

Source Material: information supplied by Northern Lights College (2004).

*********************************************************************

RCAF Station Cranberry Portage (Manitoba)

Opened in April 1957. Closed in January 1964. The property was bought by the Manitoba Government and converted into a residential high school, Frontier Collegiate. Only the hanger and radar tower remain today.

Source Material: Frontier Collegiate web site - http://home.merlin.mb.ca/~froncoll/fcihistory.htm *********************************************************************

RCAF Station Winisk (Ontario)

Opened near the mouth of the Winisk River in January 1957. The station closed in April 1965. Most of the station remains, but the buildings that remain are abandoned.

*********************************************************************

RCAF Station Knob Lake (Quebec)

- the airfield is now the Schefferville Airport.

*********************************************************************

RCAF Station Stoney Mountain (Alberta)

RCAF Station Bird (Manitoba)

RCAF Station Great Whale River (Quebec)

RCAF Station Hopedale Labrador (Newfoundland)

Source Material (for all): Larry Wilson Web site - http://www.lswilson.ca.

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

THE NORTHWEST STAGING ROUTE:


Established during WWII, the Northwest Staging Route was a chain of aerodromes at 100 mile intervals from Edmonton to Fairbanks for the purpose of transporting aircraft and supplies from the continental US to Alaska and radio ranging stations at 200 mile intervals. There is no military presence at the former NWSR stations today.

RCAF Detachment Grande Prairie:

RCAF Detachment Fort St. John:

RCAF Detachment Fort Nelson:

RCAF Detachment Watson Lake:

RCAF Detachment Whitehorse:

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

DISTANT EARLY WARNING LINE:


Construction began in November 1954. Operational July 1957. In all, 58 DEW Line stations were built, including 30 in Canada from Cape Dyer, NWT to Komakuk Beach, Yukon.

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

ABANDONED ARMOURIES:


Not all communities have a full size base in the area, but years ago, even the smallest communities had an armoury or drill shed at which the local Militia trained. Some were large ornate buildings, and some were smaller that barn, but all served their purpose. In some cases, the buildings outlived their usefulness as a military facility, and others closed when the local militia unit disbanded. Some of the former Amouries that dot the country are:

**********

ALBERTA:


LCol W.C. Craig Armoury:

Opened in 1940 in Vermillion, Alberta. Closed in 1965. The former armoury is now a Legion Hall and also used by local cadets and the rifle club.

Source Material: information supplied by Bob Maggs, resident of Vermillion (2004).

*********************************************************************

ONTARIO:


Mulcaster Street Armoury:

Opened in Barrie in 1888 at the corner of Mulcaster Street and Collier Street as the home for The Simcoe Foresters of Barrie. With the outbreak of war in 1914, it had become apparent that the Mulcaster Street Armoury was inadequate for the Forester's needs. A new Armoury was constructed at Queen's Park, the former site an armoury once occupied by Simcoe Foresters predecessor, No. 1 Rifle Company of Simcoe County.

The Barrie Armoury opened in 1916 and the main contingent of the Simcoe Foresters moved to the Armoury, although the Mulcaster Street Armoury would continue to be used as a satellite location until 1946 when the Battalion would finally depart. The building was taken over by the Board of Works.

From 1995 to 2007, the armoury served as the constituency office of Joe Tascona, Progressive Conservative Member of the Ontario Legislative Assembly for the riding of Barrie - Simcoe - Bradford, in addition to the Grey & Simcoe Foresters Museum The Grey & Simcoe Foresters still occupy the Barrie Armoury.

Today, only the G&SF Museum remains.

Source Material: "The Armoury / Farmers Market" Building - "36 Mulcaster Street" supplied by Heritage Barrie (2003), information supplied by LCol Lorne Williams, Honoury Lieutenant Colonel, Grey & Simcoe Foresters (2003) and the personal recollections of the author (2002).

*********************************************************************

Niagara Falls Armoury:

Opened in 1911 in Niagara Falls to house the Lincoln & Welland Regiment and the 56th Field Regiment, Royal Canadian Artillery (RCA). The armoury closed on 21 November 1999 and was transferred to the Canada Lands Corporation.

Source Material: "The Garrison" newspaper from December 15, 1999.

*********************************************************************

Durham Armoury:

Opened in the Town of Durham at the corner of Elgin St North and George Street East in 1910 to house the 31st Grey Battalion and later, with the outbreak of World War I, the 147th Grey Battalion. After the war ended, the armoury was used as a social hall for returning veterans, but by the late 1920�s, the armoury had fallen into disuse and neglect.

With the outbreak of World War II in 1939, the armoury was re-activated as a recruiting and training establishment. The Grey & Simcoe Foresters, a battalion formed in 1936 with the amalgamation of the 147th Grey Battalion and the Simcoe Foresters from the Town of Barrie, took over the armoury and the surrounding land for a training area. When the war ended, the armoury remained an active part of the post-war militia.

Defence Department cutbacks in the late 1950s lead to the closure of many military establishments and the Durham Armoury were no exception. The armoury closed in 1960 and was sold to Don Pust, a local resident who would later spend 20 years as the Chief of the Durham & District Fire Department. The former Durham Armoury is now a chiropractic clinic and the land once used as the training area is now the Durham Conservation Area.

Source Material: History of the Town of Durham 1842-1994 by the Durham Historical Society (1994).

*********************************************************************

Dennison Armoury:

The original Dennison Armoury opened in 1965 at the corner of Dufferin Street and Highway 401, as home to the Governor General's Horse Guards and the Toronto Service Battalion, later re-named 25 (Toronto) Service Battalion.

The Dennison Armoury closed in 2002 when a new armoury, also named Dennison Armoury, opened on a small plot of vacant land at the former CFB Toronto. The former armoury was torn down a year later and today, not the slightest trace remains.

Source Material: personal recollections of the author (2003).

*********************************************************************

Major F.A. Tilston (VC) Armoury (The Windsor Armoury):

The original Tilson Armoury opened in 1900 near the corner of University Ave West & Oulette Ave in downtown Windsor. The armoury was originally named the Windsor Armoury, but this was later changed to honour WWII Victoria Cross winner Frederick Albert Tilston.

After one hindered years of use, the armoury was much too small for its tenants - The Windsor Regiment, The Essex & Kent Scottish Regiment, and the 21 Service Battalion. The armoury had originally been built to house one infantry unit, and was never intended to also house the vehicles that a mechanized unit would require.

In 2003, The Department of National Defence and the City of Windsor entered into a unique arrangement: a joint training facility for use by both the Army Reserves and the Windsor Police. The new armoury, located on the corner of Sandwich Street and Ojibway Parkway, opened in June 2004.

On 16 October 2004, The Windsor Regiment, The Essex & Kent Scottish Regiment, the 21 Service Battalion and the Windsor Police Service held an official march-out parade from the old Tilston Armoury to the new Major F.A. Tilston (VC) Armoury and Police Training Centre, formally closing the door on over 100 years of army presence in downtown Windsor.

Source Material: information supplied by Capt. Brian Chaney, Officer Commanding, 22 MP Platoon (2004), information supplied by the Windsor Police Service - www.police.windsor.on.ca & The Department of National Defence news release 12 June 2001.

*********************************************************************

Cobourg Armoury:

Opened in 1904 as the home of the Cobourg Heavy Battery and the Northumberland Battalion of Infantry.

During World War II, the armoury was the HQ for the 14th Field Artillery, the 347th Field and the 36th Field. After the War, the 33rd Medium Regiment was stationed at the armoury. Summer recruit courses were held from 1957 - 1964.

The armoury was declared surplus and closed on 1 April 1970, ending 103 years of artillery in Cobourg.

Source Material: Cobourg: Early Days and Modern Times by John Spilsbury and the recollecitons of the author.

*********************************************************************

Wallis House Armoury:

Former home of 28 (Ottawa) Service Battalion .

Source Material: Doug Perrault, Ottawa Residenct (2004).

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

THE FUTURE


This web page has primarily focused on the military of the past and what we have lost in regards to military establishments. However, times are changing yet again, and the Canadian government is indeed spending money on revitalizing the military. New equipment is being bought, certain bases are being expanded and some new facilities are being constructed.

*********************************************************************

ALBERTA


Camp Wainwright:

Established on the site of the former Buffalo National Park in 1941. As no permanent barracks existed at the time, the first occupants of the camp, the 6th Infantry Division, were quarters in tents.

In 1944 Internment Camp 103 was established on site and 1700 German POW's were imprisoned here until July 1946, after which the camp reverted to a training area for Regular and Reserve force soldiers.

In 1950, 25 Infantry Brigade, Canada's Army commitment to the UN's Commonwealth Contingent in Korea, began training here, but it wasn't until 1952 that the camp's first permanent buildings were constructed.

In July 1974, the First Canadian Mechanized Brigade Operational Training Detachment, the successor to the Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (PPCLI) Regimental Depot, was established at Camp Wainwright. The Operational Training Detachment was re-named the PPCLI Battle School on 1 May 1984 and the Land Force Western Area Training Centre Battle School in 1996.

Today Camp Wainwright , featuring 609 square kilometers of training area, 25 weapon ranges from pistol to artillery and an airfield sufficient to land transport aircraft, is the largest training area in Western Canada and the primary training area for the Regular and Reserve Force Army and Air Force units of the Western area. Other users of the camp are Cadet units, the British Army, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and Corrections Canada.

In April 2006 the Canadian Manoeuvre Training Centre, officially opened at Camp Wainright, a unique training centre that prepares troops for deployment to such areas as Afghanistan.

In July 2008, 60 newly build PMQS were unveiled at Camp Wainright, the first PMQs built on any Canadian base since the 1950s.

Source Material: History of Buffalo National Park-Camp Wainwright - http://www.agt.net/public/ppclibsl/html_files/camp_wainwright.htm

*********************************************************************

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR


9 Wing Gander:

The current 9 Wing Gander is the sole survivor of numerous military and civilian government sites in the Gander area. In 1938, the British Air Ministry established a radar station for monitoring Trans-Atlantic air traffic. As well, the RCAF established an Air Station on a site that is now the Gander International Airport. The Station was used throughout the war by British, American and Canadian pilots, and at the time of construction, was the largest airfield in the world.

By 1940, the station had became the responsibility of the federal Department of Transport and remained so for the remainder of the war. Personnel from the Royal Canadian Navy were assigned to monitor the station's radar. Naval Radio Station Gander was re-opened in 1949 as a HF-DF station. In 1954, the United States Air Force established an interceptor radar and signal intelligence collection station near Gander, although RCAF personnel staffed it.

As a result of the Unification, the Station 's name was changed to CFS Gander in 1966.

In May 1977 Air Command assumed control of the Station. The Supplementary Radio Station at the base was re-named 770 Communications Research Squadron became simply a lodger unit at the station.

By 1988 the Station, now the home of 103 Rescue Unit and 770 Communications Research Squadron had been upgraded to a full Base and was again re-named CFB Gander.

In 1985, the North American Air Defence Modernization Plan resulted in the radar equipment at many Canadian Forces Stations was replaced with a new automated system. The long-range radar equipment was replaced with a Minimally Attended Radar system in 1990.

The introduction of the Wing concept at Air Force establishments resulted in the base being re-named 9 Wing Gander in 1993. 444 Combat Support Squadron, originally a tactical helicopter squadron from CFB Lahr Germany, re-formed at Gander in 1993.

On 23 June 1997, Prince Phillip presented 103 RU with their colours and the unit was renamed 103 Search and Rescue Squadron. On 3 July 1997, the last American Exchange position departed 770 CRS, ending fifty-six years of American military presence on Newfoundland soil.

Another milestone in Gander's history was the August 1997 renaming of 770 Communication Research Squadron to Canadian Forces Station Leitrim Detachment Gander.

Today, 9 Wing Gander is the Search and Rescue centre for Newfoundland and Labrador. As well Gander is the home of NATO Tactical Flying Training School, playing host to aircrews from Germany, Britain and The Netherlands.

Source material: DND press releases from May 1989 & February 1994, the Communications & Electronics Museum site - www.c-and-e-museum.org, History of the 400 Series Squadrons - http://www.airforce.dnd.ca/airforce/eng/history_400s/rcafsqns.htm and the 9 Wing Gander web sites - http://www.airforce.dnd.ca/eng/wingf.htm#to_top & http://www.cancom.net/~sarsqn .

*********************************************************************

Canadian Forces Station St. John's:

Originally established as a Naval Shore Station, His Majesty's Canadian Ship Avalon at Buchmaster's Field on 1 May 1951. The station served as the shore establishment for the Flag officer of St. John's from 31 May 1951 until 31 July 1955.

The establishment moved to the former United States Navy base at Pepperrell on 10 December 1962, remaining at this location until closing completely in April 1964. The site lay dormant until 1968, when it re-opened as CFS St John's.

CFS St. John's is an operational support base, housing 15 lodger units including 728 Communications Squadron, HMCS AVALON Sea Cadet Summer Training Centre and a detachment of the Canadian Forces Naval Engineering School.

In its primary role, CFS St. John�s supports naval vessels deployed from CFB Halifax which patrol waters off Newfoundland and Labrador. The station also supports as many as 30 visiting NATO naval vessels each year.

Source Material: "Badges of the Canadian Navy" by LT (N) Graeme Arbuckle & DND press releases from May 1989 & July 2003 - http://www.forces.gc.ca/site/Feature_Story/2003/jul03/03_f_e.asp.

*********************************************************************

NORTH-WEST TERRITORIES


Canadian Forces Northern Area Headquarters:

Established on 15 May 1970 to assist and maintain sovereignty north of the 60th parallel and support CF operations in the north. CFNAH has responsibilty for almost 4 million swquare kilometres of territory.

440 Tpt Sqn relocated from 17 Wing Winnipeg in 1994.

Source Material: CFS Alert web site - www.dnd.ca/eng/archive/1998/aug98/CFSAlert, History of the 400 Series Squadrons - http://www.airforce.dnd.ca/airforce/eng/history_400s/rcafsqns.htm.

*********************************************************************

NOVA SCOTIA


Camp Aldershot:

Opened in 1904 as a militia training camp for infantry, cavalry and field artillery soldiers. At the time, most of the troops were house in tents, but a few temporary buildings were constructed. With the outbreak of the Great War in 1914, the camp became a very busy training facility, with upward of 7000 troops training there at any one time.

After the war, the temporary buildings were torn down, but the camp continued its role as a militia training camp. Only one building remained; Borden Hall, built in 1916.

With the outbreak of World War II in 1939, the camp once again became a training facility for active service troops. Designated No. 14 Advanced Infantry (Rifle) Training Centre, the camp also included a School of Instruction, an Officer Training School and other trades training. Although numerous buildings were erected, the troops were still housed in tents, just like their World War I predecessors. After the war, the camp reverted back to a militia and cadet training camp.

From 1952 - 1959, various battalions of The Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) of Canada rotated through Camp Aldershot, and the Regimental Depot was on site until it relocated to Camp Sussex, New Brunswick in 1955.

For many years the camp sat relatively idle, with the exception of occasional weekend training by the West Nova Scotia Regiment and other militia regiments and cadet units. In 1973, a $535,000 renovation project was initiated to create a year-round militia training facility at Camp Aldershot.

As part of the Land Reserve Modernization Project in the late 1990s, Camp Aldershot was once again the recipient of an upgrade project. In 1999, Aldershot opened their new $30 million amenities including new barracks and training facility, a dining hall, a drill hall and weapons simulation centre, and a technical support centre, as well as road, electrical and water system upgrades, and installation of fibre optic cabling. Several of the camp's old World War II era buildings were demolished.

Camp Aldershot currently serves as the home of the Area Rank and Trade School.

Source Material: "Sentinel" Magazine from June 1973, DND Press Release dated 5 August 1999, "The Atlantic Soldier" newspaper, dated 22 September 1999 & information supplied by Captain G.A. Melville, Land Force Atlantic Area Headquarters (2003).

*********************************************************************

ONTARIO


Land Force Central Area Training Centre Meaford:

Originally opened in 1942 as a detachment of Camp Borden, the Meaford Army Armoured Fighting Vehicle Range (also known locally as the Meaford Tank Range) served as a training camp for the Royal Canadian Armoured Corps School, as well as a gunnery range for various artillery regiments.

The Camp would remain open as a part of the post-war Army. In 1955, the Royal Canadian Armoured Corps School was given full responsibility for the Meaford AFV Range. The Field Training Section ran the training at the camp with their fleet of Centurions & Sherman tanks and 22 Sherman APCs.

Meaford was a very busy training camp until the late 1960's when all Armoured Corps activity ceased. The Royal Canadian Armoured Corps School departed Borden for CFB Gagetown in 1970. Although the site never officially closed, only the guards at the main gate remained. Militia units in Southern Ontario began using the site as a training area in the early 1970s, although the derelict World War II-era barracks remained empty.

In 1973 the Owen Sound Chamber of Commerce petitioned the Federal government to develop the land as a Federal park, to be named the Lester Bowles Pearson Memorial National Park, but the idea was rejected.

By the late 1980s, the Federal Government recognized a need to revitalize the neglected Militia. Subsequently, the Meaford Training Area was re-activated as a permanent establishment in 1989 for the purpose of training Militia soldiers. Named CFB Borden - Meaford Detachment, the base received more that $80 million for the construction of roads, barracks, messes, offices, recreational facilities and work-shops. The training centre was re-named Militia Training and Support Centre Meaford in 1992.

In 1995, the Headquarters Company of the Royal Canadian Regiment Battle School relocated to MTSC Meaford from CFB Petawawa, allowing Meaford to become a major training centre in Ontario. That same year, MTSC Meaford was once again re-named Land Force Central Area Training Centre Meaford and all support elements at the base became the responsibility of a civilian company, Canadian Base Operators, Inc.

"Today the Centre is considered to be state-of-the-art. It's primary purpose: to revolutionize the training of reserves" (ATC Meaford - A Short Base History).

Source Material: ATC Meaford - A Short Base History, supplied by Lieutenant-Colonel M.P. Zuwerkalow, Commanding Officer, Land Force Central Area Training Centre Meaford (1999), "The Owen Sound Sun Times" from 21 September 1995, ATC Meaford web site - http://www.meaford.com/atc2.html, the personal recollections of ex-Private Phillip Schwartz, Grey & Simcoe Foresters (2002), the Armour School web site - http://www.army.forces.gc.ca/Armour_school/histor_e.asp, information supplied by the Midland Huronia Museum (2004) & the personal recollections of Colonel J.C. Forsyth, OBStJ, CD, Honorary Colonel, Royal Hamilton Light Infantry - 1993-present (1999).

*********************************************************************

QUEBEC


The Point-a-Carcy Naval Complex:

Opened in Quebec City in the spring of 1995 on the site of the former World War II Naval Shore Station HMCS Chaleur II, the Naval Complex brings together into one location Naval Reserve Headquarters, the Canadian Forces Fleet School, HMCS Montcaln Naval Reserve Division, the Compagnie franche de la Marine, the Naval Reserve Band, the Mobile Ship Command of the Coastal Defence, and the Naval Cadet Corp's Champlain. The $41 million complex serves as another training establishment for Naval Reservists and Regular Force officers throughout Canada, specializing in the Hard Sea trades. Complete with residences for 237 students, eating and recreational facilities, a big focus of the Point-a-Carcy Naval Complex is training sailors for duties on the Maritime Coastal Defence Vessels (MCDVs).

Source material: "The Naval Reserve - Link" from May 1995 & "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontario" and "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume II: Quebec" by Paul Ozorak.

*********************************************************************

Camp Vimy:

In 1997, more permanent facilities were opened to facilitate training of reserves and to support the existing ranges and training areas.

Source material: "Le Fleur de Lys" from September 1999.

*********************************************************************

SASKATCHEWAN


15 Wing Moose Jaw:

Originally opened on 1 June 1941 as No. 32 Service Flying Training School. Relief Landing Fields were also constructed near Buttress and Burdick. By the time the school closed 17 October 1944, 1,207 pilots had graduated. RCAF Detachments Buttress and Burdick were abandoned.

No. 2 Reserve Equipment and Maintenance Unit occupied the aerodrome until it closed in 1947. The aerodrome then became a civilian airport, but the Department of National Defence retained control of the property.

The post-war growth of the RCAF resulted in many WWII stations being re-activated. In July 1952 RCAF Station Moose Jaw re-opened as the new home of No. 2 Flying Training School, which re-located to the station from RCAF Station Gimli.

In 1964, RCAF Station Moose Jaw became the first all-jet training station with the arrival of the Canadian-built CT-114 Tutor jets, an aircraft still flown by 431 Air Demonstration Squadron, "The Sonwbirds".

As part of the Unification, the station was re-named Canadian Forces Base Moose Jaw.

The end of the Cold War in 1991 placed that future of CFB Moose Jaw in doubt, but the base, re-named 15 Wing Moose Jaw in 1993, did survive.

Today, 15 Wing Moose Jaw is the home of the NATO Flying Training Centre, westablished in July 2000, whose mandate is to train pilots not only for Canada, but for her NATO allies and friendly, non-NATO countries.

On 27 May 2004, members of the Air Force Association of Canada and 15 Wing unveiled a plaque honouring the men and women who served at No. 32 SFTS.

Source Material: 15 Wing web site - www.moosejaw.dnd.ca.

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

CAMP BORDEN AND THE RCAF


Written by 16 Wing Borden (1998)
Re-printed with the permission of Colonel D.B. Malloy, CD, Wing Commander, 16 Wing Borden

Military aviation in Borden goes back to early 1917 when a series of "temporary" hangars and aviation facilities were built to support the training of aviators for the Royal Flying Corps. After the Great War, Camp Borden became the central point around which military aviation would develop in Canada. In 1919, an Imperial Gift of over one-hundred war surplus aircraft found their way to Canada, most of them going to Borden to provide the nucleus of a national Air Force. Following the creation of the Canadian Air Force in 1920, Camp Borden was once again selected as the main training centre for aviation. During the Twenties, Camp Borden saw the birth of the Royal Canadian Air Force and claimed many firsts including the graduation of the first RCAF pilots in 1924. Camp Borden was also home to the first RCAF aerobatics team, the Siskins, in the early 1930's.

At the opening of World War II, the implementation of the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan (BCATP) resulted in the relocation of air and ground training to several new stations across the country. In Borden, No. 1 Service Flying Training School (1 SFTS) continued to provide aircrew training to RCAF pilots as well as other Allied countries.

The end of the BCATP and the downsizing of post-war RCAF meant the closing of No. 1 SFTS and the re-opening in Borden of No. 2 Technical Training School. By 1958, most aircraft maintainer training had returned to Borden. On February 1, 1968, the Unification of Canada's armed forces marked the end of the RCAF. Since that day, various Air Trade schools in Borden have provided basic technical training for most occupations of the Air Operations Branch of the Canadian Forces. Today, the members of 16 Wing take pride in preserving such a long tradition of excellence in training Canada's Air Force.

Eighty years after their construction, many of the Royal Flying Corp's "temporary" hangars still stand. They are the only remaining witnesses of the many great moments in the history of Camp Borden, the birthplace of the Royal Canadian Air Force.

Read the book CAMP BORDEN - BIRTHPLACE OF THE RCAF 1917-1999, edited by Master Warrant Officer Norm Marion, published by 16 Wing Borden, ISBN 0-9684862-0-7, 198 pages, available from 16 Wing HQ, Bldg A-142, CFB Borden, PO Box 1000 Stn Main, Borden, Ontario, L0M 1CO, Attn: Lieutenant (N) Pat Cornect, $25 payable to 16 Wing History Book, or visit 16 Wing Borden at - http://www.bconnex.net/~wing-hq.

**********

Canadian Forces Base Borden:

Simcoe County has always had a proud military heritage. Canadian Forces Base Borden has been a fixture in the area since it opened on July 11, 1916. Named after Sir Frederick Borden, Minister of Militia under Prime Minister Wilfrid Laurier, Camp Borden was originally established when 850 acres, a lot of it sand dunes, was converted into an infantry training centre. The first occupants of the camp, the 157th (Simcoe Foresters) Infantry Battalion, under command of Lieut-Col. D. H. MacLaren, and 177th (Simcoe Foresters) Infantry Battalion, under command of Lieut-Col. J. B. McPhee. Both Battalions, part of the Canadian Expeditionary Force, were housed in bell tents, as there were no barracks at the time.

The Royal Flying Corps arrived the next year, establishing an aerodrome at the camp. On 2 May 1917 Canada's first military airfield officially opened, designated No. 42 Wing Camp Borden. By the time the Royal Canadian Air Force was established in 1924, RCAF Station Camp Borden would be the largest military flying station of its time and home to the School of Aviation.

The Depot of Royal Canadian Corps of Signals was established at Camp Borden in 1923. The Signals Corps re-located first to RCAF Station Trenton in 1936, then to the Signal Training Centre at Camp Barriefield in August 1937.

By the 1930s the two camps, operating as separate military establishments, would become home to numerous training schools including Signals, Armour, Infantry, Service Corps, Medical, Dental, Provost, Intelligence, Nuclear-biochemical schools, the School for Army Co-operation and the School for Air Armaments & Bombing.

In 1931, many of the RCAF's flying activies were re-located to the newly opened RCAF Station Trenton. It was around this time that Borden became a permanent training centre.

On 1 May 1938, the Canadian Tank School moved from Wolseley Barracks to Borden along with its founder, MGen Frederic Worthington, known affectionately to his troops as "Worthy". The school was re-named the Canadian Armoured Fighting Vehicle School.

With the outbreak of WWII in 1939 the Canadian Government conceived a plan to train pilots, navigators, air gunners, air bombers and flight engineers for the Royal Canadian Air Force, the Royal Air Force, and other Commonwealth air forces. What became of this plan, the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan, was nothing short of remarkable.

The BCATP saw more than 130,000 personnel from Great Britain, Canada, Australia and New Zealand graduate from 107 training schools across Canada, � a remarkable feat by any standards. Canada was an ideal location to train aircrew as it was far enough away from the fighting, with plenty of land away from towns and cities to build training schools. Many of today's municipal airports were originally RCAF aerodromes.

No. 1 Service Flying Training School (1 SFTS) was established at RCAF Station Camp Borden on 22 July 1940. All flying training schools had one or two relief landing fields located nearby. The relief field, usually consisting of either grass or asphalt runways, one hangar, maintenance facilities and barracks for overnight stays, allowed pilot trainees to conduct circuit training on landing and taking-off in their airplanes. Some also served as sub-unit training schools.

RCAF Detachment Edenvale, also known as No. 1 Relief Landing Field, opened in 1940 near the village of Edenvale (Lots 13, 14 & 15, Concession 10 in Sunnidale Township). The triangular airfield consisted of three 3000 ft asphalt runways. Edenvale was also home to the Advanced Training Unit, a sub-unit of No. 1 SFTS, which conducted bombing training. Students spent 3 weeks at the ATU, living in the original farmhouse on the property, while the instructors stayed in the barracks.

RCAF Detachment Alliston, also known as No. 2 Relief Landing Field, also opened in 1940 near the village of Alliston (Lots 6, 7 & 8, Concession 11, Tecumseth Township). RCAF Detachment Alliston consisted of three runways in a triangular pattern, but unlike Edenvale, they were compressed grass runways and there were no lights for night landings.

The outbreak of WWII also saw the Army's Camp Borden become an important training centre for Canada's emerging Armoured Corps. As the school had no tanks to use for training, Worthy went to the U.S. looking for assistance. With the help of General George Patton, Worthy unofficially bought 265 Renauld tanks, built in 1917 but still in new condition, from the storage facility at the Rock Island Arsenal. As the U.S. was still neutral at this time and could not officially sell arms to other countries, the tanks were sold as scrap metal and shipped to the Camp Borden foundry.

The wartime Canadian Armoured Fighting Vehicle School got off to a rocky start, however. In early 1940, National Defence Headquarters (NDHQ) ordered the Tank School to close and convert to infantry training. Worthy saw this as a big mistake, and did not disband the tactics, wireless and gunnery training sections of CAVFTC, something that NDHQ did not notice this for a long time. The ill-advised decision to terminate armoured training was reversed on 13 August 1940, with the official formation of the Canadian Armoured Corps. Former Calvery units were converted to Armoured.

The Canadian Armoured Fighting Vehicle School would go through several more name changes before finally settling on A33 Canadian Armoured Corps Training Establishment. Two smaller schools were also established - A27 Canadian Armoured Corps Training Centre and A28 Canadian Armoured Corps Training Centre. A27 CACTC moved to Camp Dundurn in January 1942.

Range facilities were constructed at Borden for the Armoured School, but proved inadequate due to other training going on at the same time. As a result, the Meaford Armoured Fighting Vehicle Range, known locally as "The Meaford Tank Range" opened in 1942 on 17,500 acres of land on the shores of Georgian Bay.

Locally, the Grey & Simcoe Foresters of Barrie were placed on active service in 1940. The Grey & Simcoe Foresters were broken into Two Battalions, with the newly formed 2nd Battalion remaining a reserve force regiment, providing reinforcements for the active service 1st Battalion. At the time, the Grey & Simcoe Foresters were an infantry regiment, but on 15 May 1942, 1st Battalion was re-designated an armoured regiment. Re-named 26 Army Tank Regiment, Grey & Simcoe Foresters, a designation they would hold until 1943, when the unit dispersed and it's members assimilated with other Active Force armoured regiments.

It's also interesting to note that for the duration of the war, wives of married Permanent Force members were relocated to accommodations in Barrie. Also in 1940, the RCAF established No. 13 X Depot, a detachment of No. 1 Supply depot in Weston, at the north end of the army camp as an ammunition depot. Also in 1940, several other wartime schools opened including A10 & A11 Canadian Infantry Training Centre, A19 Canadian Army Service Corps Training Centre, A22 Canadian Army Medical Corps Training Centre and A32 Canadian Provost Corps Training Centre.

Flying training at Borden ended with the closure of No. 1 Service Flying Training School in 1946, and for the next 20 years, RCAF Station Camp Borden concentrated primarily on technical training, run by No. 2 Technical Training School. Camp Borden also continued to serve as a post-war Army training centre for combat arms and support trades.

Some RCAF airfields throughout the country became, or reverted to municipal airports, like the Oshawa Airport, the Kingston Airport and even Pearson International Airport in Toronto. Other airfields, like RCAF Detachments Edenvale and Alliston, were simply abandoned. All RCAF buildings were either torn down or moved after the War.

In 1950, the Edenvale Aerodrome came back to life as a racetrack for sports car and motorcycle racing. Known at various times as the Stayner Speedway and the Edenvale Raceway, the former airfield continued in this capacity until 1959, when it was once again abandoned.

The RCAF School of Photography re-located to Borden from RCAF Station Rockcliffe in 1950 and the Ground Control Apporach School re-located from RCAF Station Aylmer in December 1957.

By the late 1950s, the threat of a nuclear war had become so great that the Canadian government decided to construct a secret underground bunker to house the major elements of the government in the event of an emergency. A four story underground bunker, officially known as No. 1 Army Signals Unit, but nick-named by the press (so much for the secret) as the "Diefen-bunker", after Prime Minister John Diefenbaker, was constructed near the Village of Carp outside of Ottawa. Most Provincial Governments followed suit by building their own bunkers. The Ontario Government chose Camp Borden for the site of their bunker. All Government bunkers also doubled as a communications station, and thus had a remote communications bunker located some distance away. This second bunker, usually a single story structure, was staffed exclusively by communications personnel.

For their remote bunker, Camp Borden chose the site of the former RCAF Detachment Edenvale. In 1962, the site was re-activated as the Edenvale Transmitter Station, and a bunker was constructed beside one of the old runways. Communications personnel from Camp Borden staffed the facility.

In 1966, RCAF Station Camp Borden and Canadian Army Camp Borden merged into one large base: CFB Borden. No. 13 X Depot was re-named Canadian Forces Ammunition Depot Angus.

CFB Borden was now a virtual city unto itself, boasting 1000 PMQs, 3 public schools, a high school, a shopping centre, 2 golf courses, 2 skating rinks, 3 curling rinks, 2 gyms, 2 outdoor pools and 2 theatres amongst other amenities.

Several new schools were added to Borden's already large roster including Aerospace and Ordinance, Physical Education and Recreation Instructor, Instructional Techniques, CF Fire Fighting Academy, Music, Aerospace Technology, Leadership, Languages, and Chaplain Schools.

Military flying training returned in 1966 when the Primary Flying School re-located to Borden after the closure of RCAF Station Centralia, north of London. This move was short-lived however, as the school once again re-located to CFB Portage La Prairie in Manitoba in 1970. The Borden Flying Club, who also re-located to Borden from RCAF Station Centralia in 1958, continued to use the airfield until re-locating again to the Lake Simcoe Regional Airport in 2002.

Infantry training also ended at Borden in the late 1960's when the Infantry School relocated. An infantry presence did return in 1993 with the arrival of the 3rd Battalion, Royal Canadian Regiment, a 10-90 Battalion (10% Regular Force, 90% Reserve Force), but by 1997 3 RCR had departed for CFB Petawawa.

Armoured Corps training probably enjoyed the longest continuous stay at Borden, from 1938 until the Royal Canadian Armoured Corps School relocated to CFB Gagetown, New Brunswick in 1970.

In 1970 the Ammunition Depot became an independent unit, the Canadian Forces Ammunition Depot Angus.

With the end of the Cold War in 1991, several changes occurred at Borden. The Borden Bunker, which fortunately was never used for anything beyond being a communications station, was vacated in 1994. The bunker would later serve as the Headquarters for the Regional Cadet Support Unit (Central) from 2001-2004, until they re-located to the Maple Conference Centre, formerly the Officers Mess for RCAF Station Camp Borden.

The Edenvale Transmitter Station bunker was ovacated in 1988, but it wasn't until 1994 when the station finally closed. The bunker was sealed up and the Edenvale property was once again abandoned.

In 1996, military flying training returned to Borden when 400 Squadron moved to Borden after the closure of CFB Toronto, marking the first time a flying unit had been stationed at Borden since 1970. The Squadron, a combined Regular Force - Reserve Force unit under command of 1 Wing (located at CFB Kingston), with their fleet of CH146 Griffin helicopters, operate from a helicopter pad and the two large, 1950s era "Arch-style" hangars at the east end of the airfield. A new control tower was constructed for their use in 1999.

While helicopter training did return to Borden, aircraft training did not and the crumbling airfield was officially closed in 2002, leaving the Borden aerodrome a shadow of its former self. Only eight of the original eighteen Royal Flying Corps hangars remain today, and the existence of this important element in Canada's military and aviation history is in serious doubt. Despite the fact that the hangars have been dedicated as historic buildings, up to four more may have to be demolished. Additionally, two hangars have been individually dedicated: Hangar #11 was dedicated to the memory of World War I Victoria Cross winner Lieutenant Alan McLeod, VC, on 3 April 2004 and Hangar #18 was named the Grant Building in memory of WWII hero Flight Lieutenant Duncan Marshall "Bitsy" Grant, DFC, in October 2002.

In January 2005, like the Edenvale Bunker, the Borden Bunker was sealed up and with it, the door was closed on an interesting chapter in the history of CFB Borden.

That's the past, but what is going on at Borden today? In addition to being the home to 400 Squadron, 2 other operational Reserve Force units are stationed at Borden: 3 Canadian Ranger Patrol Group and 700 Communications Squadron, all of which conduct year-round training for their members at Borden.

However, Borden's primary focus is providing training for the "Support Trades", that being administration, supply, truck drivers, medical personnel, military police, firefighters, mechanics, weapons technicians and aircraft technician trades, just to name a few. These support trades are the backbone of the military. The infantry may be the ones on the front line fighting the enemy, but they wouldn't be able to do their jobs for long if not for the support trades. For example, Supply technicians provide the infantry with their bullets and food, the truck drivers to deliver the bullets and food and the medical personnel to "patch them up" when they are wounded. Helicopter and fighter pilots also wouldn't be able to do their jobs if not for the Aircraft Structures Technicians. This is where Base Borden provides a vital function.

The schools under the command of the Canadian Forces Support Training Group are: Canadian Forces Chaplain School, Canadian Forces Fire Academy, Canadian Forces Nuclear Biological Chemical School, Canadian Forces School of Administration & Logistics, Canadian Forces School of Electrical and Mechanical Engineering and Canadian Forces Training & Development Centre.

The Canadian Forces Support Training Group also oversees 3 additional schools: Canadian Forces School of Military Intelligence (located at CFB Kingston), Canadian Forces School of Construction Engineering (located at CFB Kingston) and Canadian Forces School of Military Engineering (located at CFB Gagetown).

16 Wing Borden, guardians of the Air Force presence at Base Borden, is Canada's largest Air Force training wing. 16 Wing oversees 3 training schools: Canadian Forces School of Aerospace Technology and Engineering, which trains almost half of all Air Force personnel, Air Command Academy, which provides Air Force leadership and Professional Development training and Canadian Forces School of Aerospace Control Operations, located at the NAVCAN Training School in Cornwall, who provide training to military air traffic and weapons controllers.

Other schools and units located at Base Borden: Canadian Forces Health Services Academy, Canadian Forces Language School Detachment Borden, Canadian Forces Military Police Academy, Canadian Forces Recruiting Group Headquarters, Regional Cadet Support Unit (Central) Headquarters, which supports the Blackdown Army Cadet Summer Training Centre, Regional Cadet Instructor School, and one of the Royal Canadian Air Cadets Central Region Gliding Centres.

In 1999, Borden made a return to providing basic training to Canadian Forces recruits. The Naval Reserve Training Division Borden was established to train both Regular and Reserve Force sailors. 16 Wing also provided basic training for members of the Air Force Reserve for a period.

Base Borden's most recent initiative is the establishment of the Canadian Forces Leadership & Recruit School (CFL & RS) Detachment to handle overflow recruits from the CFL & RS in St. Jean, Quebec. Due to increasing enrollment levels, 300 recruits began their basic training at Borden in September 2005. This training program is expected to last until atleast 2007, when the Borden Detachment could become a permanent school.

As for the former RCAF Detachment Edenvale, in 2002, Toronto businessman Milan Kroupa purchased Lots 13 & 14 from the Federal Government and by 2004, the old aerodrome came back to life when Kroupa opened his newest business venture, the Edenvale Flying Club (www.edenflight.com). Runway 08-26, the east-west runway, was re-opened and a new 50" x 150" x 14" steel-sided hangar was built alongside. The original farmhouse, once the Sweetbriar Lodge Nursing home, was renovated and now serves as the administration building for the Edenvale Flying Club.

In 2006, two additional hangars were built and this year, the Borden Flying Club moved its operations to Edenvale from the Lake Simcoe Regional Airport. Other tenants at the aerodrome include the Collingwood Classic Aircraft Foundation and the Edenvale Radio Control Flyers Club.

Future plans call for a new taxiway to be built along runway 08-25, as well as the re-opening of a second runway.

Lot 15, where the RCAF buildings, hangar and the taxiway were built remains owned by other interests.

The Edenvale Radio Control Flyers Club uses a small section of abandoned south-taxiway for flying model aircraft.

Not the slightest trace remains of RCAF Detachment Alliston remains today.

Recommended readings more on the above: For the full history of the Pinetree Line radar stations, visit the Pinetree Line web site at � www.pinetreeline.org. Visit the Diefenbunker web site at www.diefenbunker.ca. The Edenvale Radio Control Flyers Club web site - www.edenvaleflyers.ca. The Edenvale Flying Club web site - www.edenflight.com. The Edenvale Aerodrome web site at www.edenvaleaerodrome.com. Read "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume I: Ontario", "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume II: Quebec", "Abandoned Military Installations of Canada Volume III: Atlantic", and "Bunkers, Bunkers Everywhere" by Paul Ozorak.

Source Material: www.c-and-e-museum.org, information supplied by Greg Barker, Department of Justice Canada (2001), information supplied by Fred Simpson, Treasurer, Borden Flying Club (2002), Sentinel Magazine from September 1966 & September 1972, Armour School History web page - http://www.brunnet.net/armourschool/History.htm, the personal recollections of the author (2000), Central Region Cadets web site - http://www.central.cadets.ca/public/ecadre_e.html ,The Borden Gazette, dated 13 March 2002 & information supplied by Master Warrant Officer Norman Marion, 16 Wing Public Affairs Officer/Wing Historian (2001 - 2004).

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

THE ROYAL CANADIAN NAVAL AIR SERVICE - "THE FLEET AIR ARM"/b>


Written by Bruce Forsyth.

The origins of the Royal Canadian Naval Air Service go back to World War I, when the Royal Naval Air Service (RNAS) was formed in April 1915. Among the first British naval aviators were over 600 members of the Royal Canadian Naval Service. The RNAS was short lived, however, disbanding in April 1918. The personnel of the RNAS were merged with the Army's Royal Flying Corps, thus forming the Royal Air Force.

In the meantime, Canada went ahead with its own plans to form a naval air service and on 5 September 1918, the Royal Canadian Naval Air Service was established. Like the RNAS, it too was short lived. The signing of the Armistice in November 1918, ended Canada's first foray into naval aviation.

During World War II, the idea of a Canadian naval air service was revived by the British Admiralty. Among the recommendations of Captain (N) H.N. Lay, RCN, Director of Operations for the formation of a naval air service, was a clarification of the differences between the duties of the RCN pilots and the Royal Canadian Air Force pilots. The RCN air service would be a carrier based element, while the RCAF would conduct coastal operations with shore-based aircraft.

For the duration of WWII, Royal Canadian Navy Reserve and RCN Volunteer Reserve pilots served with the Royal Navy Fleet Air Arm, distinguishing themselves as effective combat pilots. One of these pilots was Victoria Cross winner Lieutenant (N) Robert Hampton Gray, VC, DSC. Lieutenant (N) Gray, a member of the Royal Canadian Navy Volunteer Reserve aboard HMS Formidable, was posthumously awarded the VC for actions on 9 August 1945, when he lead an attack on Japanese shipping in Onagawa Wan (Bay), the Island of Honshu in Japan.

Canada did have two aircraft carriers during WWII: HMCS NABOB, commissioned 9 March 1943 and HMCS PUNCHER, commissioned 5 February 1944. Although Canadian sailors manned both ships, they were commissioned as Royal Navy ships and the aircrews were members of the Royal Navy Fleet Air Arm. Canada would have to wait until the end of WWII before a distinct Royal Canadian Navy Fleet Air Arm would come into being.

On 24 January 1946, the RCN commissioned its first official aircraft carrier, His Majesty's Canadian Ship Warrior, formerly known as HMS Warrior. Two air squadrons were also formed the same day: 825 Squadron and 803 Squadron, making them the first official RCN air squadrons. HMCS Warrior served the RCN for a brief two- year period, before it was replaced by HMCS Magnificent, a similar class vessel.

The new air element was christened the Fleet Air Arm in May 1946, following in the footsteps of the Royal Navy. A year later, the name was officially changed to the Naval Air Branch. However, the name Fleet Air Arm� remained in the lexicon of many naval personnel in an unofficial capacity right up to the end of the branch's days.

Naval Aviation in Canada received another big boost with the acquisition of RCAF Station Dartmouth in September 1948. Keeping with the Royal Navy tradition of naming bases after sea birds, the station was re-named Royal Canadian Naval Air Station HMCS Shearwater. Royal Canadian Naval air squadrons had been based at Dartmouth since 1946, but they were simply tenants of the RCAF. Now naval air squadrons had a place to truly call their own.

In April 1950, the RCN took possession of 75 Avenger aircraft from the United States Navy, fitted with the latest anti-submarine warfare (ASW) equipment. The first ASW helicopter squadron was formed aboard HMCS Magnificent in 1955. The success of helicopters aboard ship was a particularly significant accomplishment for the RCN. In the early 1960s, the St. Laurent class destroyers were upgraded to destroyer-helicopter vessels, complete with helicopter flight-decks, making the RCN the first navy in the world to use helicopters on small surface ships.

The Royal Canadian Naval Reserve was also given authority to form air squadrons. In May 1953, VC 920 Squadron was formed as tender to HMCS York. Next came VC 921, formed as a tender to HMCS Cataraqui on 30 September 1953 and VC 922, formed as tender to HMCS Malahat on 1 December 1953. HMCS Montcalm and HMCS Techumseh formed VC 923 and VC 924 Squadrons respectively on 1 June 1954. Although HMCS Star did not have its own squadron due to its close proximity to HMCS York, the unit maintained a support unit for ground crew and maintenance. HMCS Star also had one Swordfish and two Seafire aircraft for their use at RCAF Station Hamilton and the unit conducted joint training with HMCS York at RCAF Station Downsview.

HMCS York's VC 20 squadron, with their fleet of Avengers, had the distinction of being the only Naval Reserve air squadron to achieve carrier qualification. Markings were painted on the runways at RCAF Station Downsview so that York’s pilots could practice simulated aircraft carrier take-offs and landings.

In November 1955, the Royal Canadian Navy took possession of its first fighter jet, the F2H3 Banshee all-weather jet fighter, the crown jewel of naval aviation in Canada. VF 870 and VF 871 Squadrons replaced their Sea Fury aircraft with the new Banshee, flying them from both the flight deck of Canada's newest aircraft carrier, HMCS Bonaventure, and their home base at Shearwater. During their lifetime the Banshee squadrons would play an important role in the defence of the Canadian Sector for the North American Air Defence Command (NORAD). The Banshee jet fighter even out-performed the RCAF's CF-100 jet fighter, a great source of pride for Canada's naval aviators.

In 1960, the RCN assumed control of the airfield at the former RCAF Station Debert, using it as a training facility for Navy fighter pilots. Like at RCAF Station Downsview, markings were painted on the runways to simulate a carrier deck. This would be a short-lived venture as the Debert facility was abandoned in the late 1960s.

Despite all the successes of the Royal Canadian Naval Air Branch, the climate was once again turning against Canada's naval aviators. In 1962, the RCN turned down the opportunity to buy a United States Navy Essex-class carrier, with its state-of-the-art flight deck. The Banshees were slated for replacement, but instead of acquiring a new fighter for Canada's Navy, the Canadian Government disbanded the Banshee squadrons. RCN fighter squadrons had lasted a mere 16 years.

The RCN Reserve also suffered due to the downturn in Canadian naval aviation, with most RCNR air squadrons being paid off by 1959. Only HMCS York’s VC 920 Squadron and HMCS Malahat's VC 922 Squadron lasted longer, with both being paid off in 1964.

The unification of Canada's Armed Forces in the mid 1960s was the beginning of the end for the Royal Canadian Naval Air Branch. In 1968, the Naval Air Branch became Maritime Air Group, a sub-unit of Maritime Command. HMCS Bonaventure, Canada's only remaining aircraft carrier, was decommissioned in 1970. Shockingly, "The Bonnie" had just received a $17 million re-fit three years earlier. Many RCN members would argue its decommissioning seemed more political than one of practicality.

Although helicopters would still fly from the decks of the fleet's Destroyers, all of the fleet's fixed wing aircraft were now shore based.

The end of Canadian naval aviation came in 1975 when Air Command assumed control of Maritime Air Group. The Royal Canadian Naval Air Branch officially ceased to exist.

Lieutenant-Commander (Retired) Stuart Soward puts it best when he says, "No doubt history will establish that Canadian Naval Aviation failed through neglect and misunderstanding on the one hand and RCAF hostility toward RCN Aviation on the other" (Quote from Hands To Flying Stations, Vol. 2, by Stuart Soward).

**********

In all, Canada had five aircraft-carriers:

HMCS NABOB, Ameer Class Escort Carrier, commissioned 9 March 1943 with Avengers and Wildcats aircraft. Canadian manned but commissioned as RN ship. It was paid off 30 Sept 1944.

HMCS PUNCHER, Ameer Class Escort Carrier, commissioned 5 February 1944. It flew Barracudas (821 Squadron) and Wildcats (881 Squadron.). Canadian manned but commissioned as RN ship. It was paid off 16 Jan 1946.

HMCS WARRIOR, a Colossus Class Light Fleet Carrier, commissioned 24 January 1946, originally HMS WARRIOR of the Royal Navy. Officially, it was the first RCN carrier. It flew Seafires (803 Squadron) and Fireflies (825 Squadron). It was paid off 23 March 1948.

HMCS MAGNIFICENT, Majestic Class Light Fleet Carrier, commissioned 7 April 1948. It flew Sea Furies (803 squadron) Avengers (825 squadron) Sikorsky HO4S3G Helicopters (HS 50 Squadron). It was paid off 14 June 1957.

HMCS BONAVENTURE , Majestic Class Light Fleet Carrier, commissioned 17 January 1957, originally HMS POWERFUL of the Royal Navy. It flew the F2H3 Banshee flown by VF 870, 871, VX 10 (Jet), CS2F Tracker flown by VS 880, 881, VX 10 (twin engine prop), CHSS2 Sea King, flown by HS 50 (Helicopter, jet), Sikorsky HO4S (Helicopter, piston engine) flown by HU 21 and a COD aircraft (Carrier On Deck), a stripped down version of the Tracker, flown by VU 32 Squadron. It was paid off 3 July 1970.

Source Material: "THE BONNIE" by J. Allan Snowie.

Special thanks to Lieutenant-Commander (Retired) Stuart Soward, CD, Commander (Retired) Robert Williamson, CD, Commander (Retired) Fred Lee, CD, and Lieutenant-Commander Graeme G. Arbuckle, CD, CMS Staff Officer Heritage, for their assistance with this article.

Additional source material: Grant Dawson's Homepage - Canadian Military Aviation Photographic Archives - http://www.chat.carleton.ca/~gdawson/milpics.html.

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

THE BRITISH COMMONWEALTH AIR TRAINING PLAN


In 1939, the Canadian Government, in an effort to play an important role in the imminent war with Germany, conceived a plan to train pilots, navigators, air gunners, air bombers and flight engineers for the Royal Canadian Air Force, the Royal Air Force, and other Commonwealth air forces. Although the original intent of this plan was to keep as many Canadian servicemen close to home as possible to avoid the great loss of life experienced in World War I, what became of this plan was nothing short of remarkable.

The British Commonwealth Air Training Plan saw more than 130,000 personnel from Great Britain, Canada, Australia and New Zealand graduate from 107 training schools across Canada - a remarkable feat by any standards; one that Presedent Franklin Delano Roosevelt called the "Aerodrome of Democracy".

Canada was an ideal location to train aircrew as it was far enough away from the fighting, with plenty of land away from towns and cities to build training schools. Dozens of airfields were constructed in specific locations across the country, seemingly random, but with an eye to the post-war years when the airfields would be turned over to the local communities. Many municipal airports were originally RCAF aerodromes.

Author's note: unless otherwise indicated, the source material for this section comes from the book "Wings For Victory" by Spencer Dunmore.

*********************************************************************

Canada's British Commonwealth Air Training Plan Stations:

Most Elementary Flying Training Schools & Service Flying Training Schools had one or two relief landing fields located nearby. The relief field usually consisted of one hangar, maintenance facilities and a barracks for overnight stays. Some of these relief fields also housed advanced training units for bombing training. The instructors at the EFTS were mostly civilian pilots employed by various flying training schools from across Canada, hired on contract to the RCAF to train the student pilots.

*********************************************************************

No. 1 Training Command

Headquarters in Toronto

Elementary Flying Training Schools:

No.1 Malton 1940-1942.
No. 2 Thunder Bay 1940-1944.
No. 3 London 1940-1942.
No. 7 Windsor 1940-1944. Relief Landing Field located at Maidstone.
No. 9 St Catharines 1940-1944. Relief Landing Field located at Willoughby.
No. 10 Mount Hope. 1940-1942.
No. 10 Pendleton. 1942-1945. Relief Landing Field located at Limoges.
No. 12 Goderich 1940-1944. Relief Landing Field located at Goderich South.
No. 13 St. Eugene. 1940-1945. School moved to St. Jean. Relief Landing Field located at Hawksbury.
No. 20 Oshawa 1941-1944. Relief Landing Field located at Whitby, near Camp X.

Service Flying Training Schools:

No. 1 Camp Borden 1939-1946. No. 1 Relief Landing Field located at Edenvale. No. 2 Relief Landing Field located at Alliston.
No. 2 Ottawa 1940-1945. No. 1 Relief Landing Field located at Carp. No. 2 Relief Landing Field located at Edwards.
No. 5 Brantford 1940-1944. No. 1 Relief Landing Field located at Burtch.
No. 6 Dunnville 1940-1944. No. 1 Relief landing field located at Welland.
No. 9 Centralia 1942-1945. No. 1 Relief Landing Field located at Grand Bend. No. 2 Relief Landing Field located at St. Joseph.
No. 14 Aylmer 1940-1944. School re-located to Kingston in 1944. No. 1 Relief Landing Field located at St. Thomas. No. 2 Relief Landing Field located in Tilsonburg.
No. 16 Haggersville 1942-1945. No. 1 Relief Landing Field located at Kohler. No. 2 Relief Landing Field located at Dufferin.
No. 31 Kingston 1940-1944. Redesigned No. 14 SFTS from 1944-1945. Relief Landing Fields located at Sandhurst & Gananoque.

Instrument Flying School:
Deseronto 1943-1945.

Air Navigation Schools:
No. 31 Port Albert 1940-1945.
No. 33 Hamilton 1941-1944.

Air Observers:
No. 1 Malton 1940�1945.
No. 4 London 1940-1944.

Initial Training School:
No. 1 Toronto 1940-1945.
No. 6 Toronto 1941-1944.

Technical Training School:
St Thomas 1939-1945.

Technical Detachment:
No. 12 Toronto

AID Inspector Schools:
Toronto

Administration School:
Trenton

Equipment & Accounting School:
St Thomas 1940-1942.

Air Armament School:
Mountain View 1941-1947.

Equipment Depot:
No. 1 Toronto. Relocated from Ottawa in 1940. Located at Queens Quay until 1946. Moved to new facilities in Weston. This facility closed in 1954. Now Knob Hill Farms.

Repair Depot:
No. 6 Trenton

Central Flying School:
Trenton. Opened in 1940. Still active.

Wireless School:
No. 1 Hamilton 1944-1945.
No. 4 Guelph 1941-1945.

Radio School:
No. 31 Clinton. 1941-1971.

School of Aviation Medicine :
Toronto

Bombing and Gunnery Schools:
No. 1 Jarvis 1940-1945.
No. 4 Fingal 1940-1945.
No. 6 Mountain View 1941-1947.
No. 31 Picton 1941-1944.

Composite Training School:
Trenton.

X Depot:
No. 13 Camp Borden.

Link Trainer Instructor School:
No. 1 Toronto.

Flight Engineer School:
No. 1 Aylmer 1944-1945.

Flight Instructor School:
No. 1 Trenton 1942-1945.
No. 3 Arnprior 1942-1944. Relief Landing Field located at Pontiac, Quebec.

Recruiting Centres:
No. 7 North Bay.
No. 8 Windsor.
No 9 London.
No. 10 Hamilton.
No. 11 Toronto.

Manning Depot:
No. 1 Toronto 1939-1944.

Women's Division:
No. 6 Toronto.

School of Cookery:
Guelph.

No. 1 Winter Experimental & Training Flight:
Kapaskasing 1943-1944.

*********************************************************************

No. 2 Training Command

April 15, 1940 first formed at Winnipeg, Manitoba
April 15, 1940 Training School Number 7 set up in Saskatoon

Elementary Flying Training Schools:
No.2 Fort William, Saskatchewan. Relief Landing Field at
No. 6 Prince Albert, Saskatchewan 1940-1944. Relief Landing Field located at Hagan.
No. 14 Portage la Prarie, Manitoba 1940-1942.
No. 19 Virden, Manitoba 1941-1944. Relief Landing Field at Lenore.
No. 23 Davidson, Saskatchewan 1941-1945. Relief Landing Field at Davidson West. School moved to Yorkton, Saskatchewan.
No. 23 Yorkton, Saskatchewan 1941-1945. Relief Landing Fields at Sturdee and Rhein.
No. 26 Neepawa, Manitoba 30 Jan-25 Aug 1944. Relief Landing Field at
No. 35 Neepawa, Manitoba (RAF school re-formed as No.26 EFTS) 1941-1944.

Service Flying Training Schools:
No. 4 Saskatoon, Saskatchewan 1940-1945. Relief Landing Fields at Osler and Vanscoy.
No. 10 Dauphin, Manitoba 1940-1945. Relief Landing Fields at North Junction & Valley.
No. 11 Yorkton, Saskatchewan 1941-1945. Relief Landing Fields at Sturdee and Rhein.
No. 12 Brandon, Manitoba 1941-1945. Relief Landing Fields at Chater and Douglas.
No. 13 North Battleford, Saskatchewan 1944-1945. Relief Landing Fields at Hamlin and Brada.
No. 17 Souris, Manitoba 1943-1945. Relief Landing Fields at Hartney and Elgin.
No. 18 Gimli, Manitoba 1943-1945. Relief Landing Field at Netley.
No. 33 Carberry, Manitoba (RAF) 1940-1944. Relief Landing Fields at Oberon and Petrel.
No. 35 North Battleford, Saskatchewan (RAF school incorporated into No.13) 1941-1945. Relief Landing Fields at Hamlin and Brada.

Air Observers:
No. 5 Winnipeg, Manitoba 1941-1945.
No. 6 Prince Albert, Saskatchewan 1941-1942.
No. 7 Portage la Prarie, Manitoba 1941-1945.

Central Navigation School:
No. 1 Rivers, Manitoba 1942-1945.

Wireless School:
No. 3 Winnipeg, Manitoba 1941-1945.

Bombing and Gunnery Schools:
No. 3 MacDonald, Manitoba 1941-1945.
No. 5 Dafoe, Saskatchewan 1941-1945.
No. 7 Paulson, Manitoba 1941-1945.

Initial Training School:
No. 7 Saskatoon, Saskatchewan 1941-1944.

*********************************************************************

No. 3 Training Command

Initial Training School:
No. 3 Victoriaville 1941-1944.

Elementary Flying Training Schools:
No. 4 Windsor Mills, Quebec 1940-1944.
No. 11 Cap de la Madeline, Quebec 1940-1944.
No. 17 Stanley, Nova Sotia 1941-1944.
No 21 Chatham, New Brunswick 1941-1942.
No. 22 Ancienne Lorette, Quebec 1941-1942.

Service Flying Training Schools:
No. 2 Ottawa, Ontario 1940-1945.
No. 8 Moncton, New Brunswick 1940-1944. Relief Landing Field at Sailsbury. School moved to Weyburn, Saskatchewan.
No. 9 Summerside, Prince Edward Island 1941-1942. Relief landing field at Wellington, PEI.
No 13 St. Hubert, Quebec 1941-1944. No. 2 RLF located at Farnham.

Air Observer School:
No. 8 Quebec 1941-1945.
No. 9 St Jean, Quebec 1941-1945.
No. 10 Chatham, New Brunswick 1941-1945.

Air Navigation Schools:
No. 2 Pennfield Ridge, New Brunswick 1941-1944.
No. 32 Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island 1944-1945.

Naval Air Gunners School:
No. 1 Yarmouth, Nova Scotia 1943-1945.

Operational Training Units:
No. 1 Baggotville, Queubec. RLF located at St-Homore.
No. 8 Greenwood, Nova Scotia 1942-1944.
No. 31 Debert, Nova Scotia 1941-1945.
No. 34 Pennfield Ridge, New Brunswick 1942-1944.
No. 36 Greenwood, Nova Scotia 1942-1944.

Repair Depot:
No. 9 St Johns, Quebec.

Wireless School:
No. 1 Moncton, New Brunswick 1940-1944.

Bombing & Gunnery Schools:
No. 9 Mount Joli, Quebec 1941-1945.

General Reconnecence School:
No. 1 Summerside, Prince Edward Island 1942-1945.
No.31 Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island 1941-1944.

Equipment Depot:
No. 12 Montreal, Quebec.

Equipment Unit:
No. 17 Ottawa, Ontario.
No. 18 Moncton, New Brunswick.

School of Aeronautical Engineering:
Montreal, Quebec.

Technical Detachment:
No. 14 Ottawa, Ontario.
No. 17 Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Movements Group:
No. 11 Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Y Depots:
No. 1 Moncton, New Brunswick.

RAF Personnel Depot:
No. 31 Moncton, New Brunswick 1941-1945.

Manning Depots:
No. 4 Quebec, Quebec.
No. 5 Lachine, Quebec.

Recruit Depots:
No. 12 Ottawa, Ontario.
No. 13 Montreal, Quebec.
No. 14 Quebec City, Quebec.
No. 15 Moncton, New Brunswick.
No. 16 Halifax, Nova Scotia.

Womens Division:
No. 7 Rockcliffe, Ontario.
Officer Training School:
No. 1 Ste Marguerite, Quebec 1943-1944.

*********************************************************************

No. 4 Training Command

April 29, 1940 first formed at Regina, Saskatchewan
October 1, 1941 moved to Calgary Alberta

Initial Training Schools:
No. 2 Regina Saskatchewan.
No. 4 Edmonton, Alberta.

Elementary Flying Training Schools:
No. 5 Lethbridge, Alberta 1940-1941. School moved to High River, Alberta June 1941.
No. 5 High River, Alberta 1941-1945. Relief Landing Field at Frank's Lake.
No. 8 Vancouver, B.C. 1940-1941.
No. 15 Regina, Saskatchewan 1941-1944. Relief Landing Field at Brora.
No. 16 Edmonton, Alberta 1940-1942. Relief Landing Field at
No. 18 Boundary Bay, B.C. 1941-1945. Relief Landing Field at Langley.
No. 24 Abbotsford, B.C. 1943-1944. Relief Landing Field at Sumas.
No. 25 Assiniboia, Saskatchewan Jan-July 1944. Relief Landing Field at Lethburn.
No. 31 De Winton, Alberta (RAF school) 1941-1944. Relief Landing Field at Gladys & Shepard.
No. 32 Bowden, Alberta (RAF school) 1941-1944. Relief Landing Field at Netook.
No. 33 Caron, Saskatchewan (RAF school) 1942-1944. Relief Landing Field at Boharm.
No. 34 Assiniboia, Saskatchewan (RAF school incorporated into No. 25) 1942-1944. Relief Landing Field at Lethburn.
No. 36. Pearce, Alberta (RAF school) March-Aug 1942. Relief Landing Field at

Service Flying Training Schools:
No. 3 Calgary, Alberta 1940-1945. Relief Landing Fields at Airdire & Inverlake.
No. 7 Fort Macleod, Alberta 1940-1944. Relief Landing Field at Granum.
No. 8 Weyburn, Saskatchewan Jan-June 1944. Relief Landing Field at Halbrite.
No. 15 Claresholm, Alberta 1941-1945. Relief Landings Field at Woodhouse & Pultney.
No. 19 Vulcan, Alberta 1943-1945. Relief Landing Fields at Ensign & Champion.
No. 32 Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan (RAF school) 1940-1944. Relief Landing Fields at Buttress and Burdick.
No. 34 Medicine Hat, Alberta (RAF school) 1941-1944. Relief Landing Fields at Holsom & Whitla.
No. 36 Penhold, Alberta (RAF school) 1941-1944. Relief Landing Fields at Inisifail & Blackfalds.
No. 37 Calgary, Alberta (RAF) 1941-1944. Relief Landing Field at Shepard.
No. 38 Estevan, Saskatchewan (RAF School) 1941-1944. Relief Landing Fields at Shand, Outram and Chandler.
No. 39 Swift Current, Saskatchewan 1941-1944. Relief Landing Fields at St Aldwyn, Wymark and Ralph.
No. 41 Weyburn, Saskatchewan (RAF school incorporated into No. 8) 1942-1944. Relief Landing Field at Halbrite.

Flying Instructor School:
No. 2 Vulcan, Alberta 1942-1943. Moved to Pearce, Alberta.

Operational Training Squadron (WAC):
No. 13 Sea Island, B.C. (moved to Patricia Bay, B.C. November 1940)

Operational Training Unit (WAC):
No. 3 Patricia Bay & Jericho Beach, B.C. 1942-1945.
No. 5 Boundary Bay, B.C. & Abbottsford, B.C. 1942-1945.
No. 6 Patricia Bay, B.C. 1941-1942.
No. 6 Comox, B.C. 1942 -1944.
No. 32 Patricia Bay, B.C. (RAF school incorporated into No.3) 1944, part of post-war RCAF.

Air Observers Schools:
No. 2 Edmonton, Alberta
No. 3 Regina, Saskatchewan (moved to Pearce, Alberta in September 1942).

Wireless School:
No. 2 Calgary, Alberta 1940-1945.

Bombing and Gunnery Schools:
No. 2 Mossbank, Saskatchewan 1940-1944.
No. 8 Lethbridge, Alberta 1941-1944.

Radio Mechanics Depot:
University of British Columbia 1941-1943.

Repair Depot:
No. 3 Vancouver, BC 1937-1945.
No. 22 Sea Island, BC 1944-1945.

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

CANADIAN ARMY TRAINING CENTRES OF WORLD WAR II

ALBERTA

No. 131 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Camrose
No. 132 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Grande Prairie
No. 133 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Wetaskiwin
No. 2 Canadian Women's Army Corps - Vermilion

A20 Royal Canadian Army Service Corps Training Centre - Red Deer

A16 Canadian Infantry Training Centre - Calgary

BRITISH COLUMBIA

Officers Training Centre - Gordon Head

No. 110 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Vernon
No. 112 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Camp Chilliwack

A6 Canadian Engineer Training Centre - Camp Chilliwack

MANITOBA

No. 100 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Portage La Prairie
No. 103 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Winnipeg

A3 Canadian Artillery Training Centre - Camp Shilo
A4 Canadian Artillery Training Centre - Brandon

A15 Canadian Infantry Training Centre - Camp Shilo

NEW BRUNSWICK

A34 Special Officers Training Centre - Sussex
No. 70 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Fredericton
No. 71 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Edmunston

A30 Canadian Infantry Training Centre - Sussex

NOVA SCOITA

No. 60 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Yarmouth
No. 61 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - New Glasgow

A-23 Coast Defence and Anti-Aircraft Artillery Advanced Training Centre - Camp Debert

A14 Canadian Infantry Training Centre - Camp Aldershot

ONTARIO

Royal Military College - Kingston
No. 30 Officers' Training Centre - Brockville (1940-1945)

No. 6 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Stratford (1942-1943)
No. 10 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Kitchener (1940-1943) (re-designated No. 3 CWAC B TC)
No. 11 Non-Permanent Active Militia Training Centre - Woodstock (1940-1941) (re-designated S11 AD&MS)
No. 12 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Chatham (1940-1945)
No. 13 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Listowel (1942-1943) (re-designated No. 3 CAC B TC)
No. 20 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Brantford (1940-1945)
No. 21 Non-Permanent Active Militia Training Centre - Long Branch (1940-1941) (re-designated A25 CSA TC)
No. 23 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Newmarket (1940-1945)
No. 24 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Brampton (1940-1945)
No. 25 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Simcoe (1942-1943)
No. 26 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Orillia (1942-1943) (re-designated No. 26 CAC B TC, then 26 CI B TC)
No. 31 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Cornwall (1940-1944)
No. 32 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Peterborough (1940-1943) (re-designated No. 32 CAMC B TC)
No. 33 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Ottawa (19)
No. 102 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Fort William (1940-1943)

A25 Canadian Army Small Arms Training Centre - Long Branch (1941-1945)

No. 3 Canadian Army Women's Corps (Basic) Training Centre - Kitchener (1943-1945)

No. 22 Canadian Army Educational (Basic) Training Centre - North Bay (1940-1944)

A13 Canadian Armoured (Basic) Training Centre - Listowel (1943)
A26 Canadian Armoured (Basic) Training Centre - Orillia (1943-1944)
A33 Canadian Armoured Corps Training Establishment Camp - Camp Borden

A19 Canadian Army Service Corps Training Centre - Camp Borden

A1 Canadian Artillery Training Centre - Camp Petawawa
A2 Canadian Artillery Training Centre - Camp Petawawa

A5 Canadian Engineer Training Centre - Camp Petawawa

A10 Canadian Infantry Training Centre - Camp Borden
A11 Canadian Infantry Training Centre - Camp Borden
A13 Canadian Infantry (Basic) Training Centre - Listowel (1943)
A25 Canadian Infantry (Basic) Training Centre - Simcoe (1943-1945)
A26 Canadian Infantry (Basic) Training Centre - Orillia (1944-1945)

A29 Canadian Infantry Training Centre - Listowel (1942) Camp Ipperwash (1942-1945)
A32 Canadian Infantry Training Centre - Peterborough (1945)

A22 Canadian Army Medical Corps Training Centre - Camp Borden
A32 Canadian Army Medical Corps Training Centre - Peterborough (1943-1945)

No. 1 Canadian Ordinance Corps Proving Ground Detachment - Ottawa (1941-1944) (after going through several name changes, eventually re-designated Land Engineering Testing Establishment)
A21 Royal Canadian Ordinance Corps Training Centre - Camp Barriefield

A32 Canadian Provost Corps Training Centre - Camp Borden

A7 Canadian Signal Corps Training Centre - Camp Barriefield

S11 Advanced Driving & Maintenance School - Woodstock (1941-1946)

Special Training School 103 (Camp X) - Oshawa (1941-1944) (re-designated No. 3 Oshawa Wireless Station 1944-1969)

Canadian Army Trades School - Hamilton (1941-1946)

Standard Barracks - Hamilton (1940-1942)

S48 Canadian School of Army Administration - Kemptville (1941-1943) (re-designated S7 Canadian Army Administration School 1942-1944)

QUEBEC

Officer Training Centre - Three Rivers
Canadian Officer Cadet and Basic Training Centre - St Jerome

No. 41 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Huntingdon
No. 43 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Sherbrooke
No. 45 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Sorel
No. 47 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Valleyfield
No. 48 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - St. Johns
No. 51 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Chicoutiimi
No. 53 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Lauzon
No. 54 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Montmagny
No. 55 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Rimouski

No. 42 Canadian Army Educational (Basic) Training Centre - Joliette

No. 1 Canadian Woman�s Army Corps Advanced Training Centre - St. Annes

A12 Canadian Infantry Training Centre - Camp Farnham
A13 Canadian Infantry Training Centre - Camp Valcartier
A17 Canadian Machine Gun Training Centre - Three Rivers

SASKATCHEWAN

No. 120 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Regina
No. 121 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Maple Creek
No. 122 Canadian Army (Basic) Training Centre - Prince Albert

A27 Canadian Reconnaissance Training Centre - Camp Dundurn

Source Material: "Sixty Years of War - The Official History of the Canadian Army in World War II Volume 1" by Colonel C.P. Stacey & The Canadian Army WWII Training Establishments web site - www.canadiansoldiers.com/wwiitrain.htm.

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

THE AVRO ARROW


In August 1999, it was revealed that one of the Avro Arrow engines, Iriquois Engind #116, believed to be the only one left in existance, had been located lying in peices in a museum warehouse in Cardington, England.

The Royal Air Force Museum apparenly knew of it's existance, but kept this infomation a secret for four decades.

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

SOO KEE DELIVERS THE "LAUNDLEE"


The following article was originally published in the January - February 1966 issue of "Sentinel" Magazine. I have been trying to find out who holds the rights to Sentinel articles so that I may seek permission to re-print this article on a man who was a true friend of the Royal Canadian Navy. I have been unable to do this, but if anyone knows, please e-mail me at: thunderbird_star@hotmail.com. In the meanwhile, I would like to share this with everyone.

SOO KEE DELIVERS THE "LAUNDLEE"

Old-time navy men lost a good friend and their favorite laundryman recently when Soue Kee, 80, died in the Chinese Hospital at Victoria. His broad grin and high-pitched cry of "laundlee" was known to sailors from coast to coast who became his friends during his 33 years of laundering for the crews of the navy ships at Esquimalt.

He never ceased to amaze young ordinary seamen with his system of bookkeeping. He took down no names or amounts owed, but the laundry always came back to its rightful owner, and the charge would be exact. He was the unofficial finance company for many a sailor who ran out of ready cash between paydays. The loans were always interest free and were always repaid.

The crew of the former light cruiser HMCS Ontario would greet Soue Kee's daily arrival with almost as much pomp and ceremony as they would any visiting brass. When he mounted the ship's gangway, he was piped aboard like a celebrity, and he always replied with a smart salute.

He retired from the laundry business six years ago.

Although he was known to sailors as Soue Kee, it was not his real name, but that of his laundry. He was born Tank Kam Chew in Canton some 80 years ago. He came to Canada when he was 25 and operated his laundry for 50 years in Esquimalt. The old Soue Kee laundry was at 62 Pioneer Street, but both the building and the street have long disappeared, absorbed by the growth of HMC Dockyard. Five Chief Petty Officers and a Petty Officer were the pallbearers at the services for their friend.

*********************************************************************

CENTRALIA SAM


The following article was originally published in "Sentinel" Magazine in 1974. I have been trying to find out who holds the rights to Sentinel articles so that I may seek permission to re-print this article on a man who was a true friend of the Royal Canadian Navy. I have been unable to do this, but if anyone knows, please e-mail me at: thunderbird_star@hotmail.com. In the meanwhile, I would like to share this with everyone.

CENTRALIA SAM


Recalling basic training at RCAF Station Centralia, a kaleidoscope of memories spring to mind: drill sergeants, conduct cards, polishing aircraft, Grand Bend, and drinking a "Sam Special". Sam Aquilina, chief bartender at the Flight Cadet�s Mess, Sam is known to literally thousands of cadets who passed through Centralia between 1951 and 1966, as the jovial, attentive and courteous friend behind the bar.

Sam remained in the area when Centralia closed in 1966 and celebrates his 70 th birthday this year on November 6. Anyone wishing to drop him a line or a card can write him at: 357 Andrew Street, Exeter, Ont.

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

THE CAUSE OF WORLD WAR I - THE ASSASSINATION OF THE CROWN PRINCE OF AUSTRIA-HUNGARY:


Despite all the major reasons why the war might have started, the actual incident which started WWI, took place in a small corner of Europe called Sarajevo, a city in the Austrian State of Bosnia.

Both Serbia and Bosnia were regions that had just recently broken away form Turkey. Bosnia was immediately taken over by Austria-Hungary and Serbia became an independent state, ut both were small and weak, but each looked for help from bigger countries. Serbia found an ally in Russia, and Russia swore to stand by Serbia in times of need.

Serbia also was unfriendly to Austria-Hungary, her neighbor to the north. It's interesting to note that both Russia (as a member of the Entente) and Austria-Hungary (as a member of the Alliance) were automatically on opposite sides of the fence on most important issues.

On 28 June 1914, the crown Prince of Austria, Archduke Franz Ferdinand, paid a visit to Sarajevo to inspect the army. His eventual murders were not much more that teenagers. They knew very little about European politics, and really didn't realize what their actions would cause. They wanted Bosnia to be part of Serbia, and thought that guns, bombs and terror were the only ways to achieve this goal. They were all very frightened on that June morning, and because of this, their first attempts at political terror would be failures. Gavrilo Princip, a Bosnian member of the terrorist group the Black Hand, had seen his intended target. The Archduke was shopping in the marketplace at Sarajevo. He had not killed him at that time, because Princip wanted the execution of Archduke Franz Ferdinand to be seen by more people. On that fateful day, Princip and his allies were scattered along a road called the Appel Quay, which ran alongside a river. The Appel Quay was to be the road the Archduke would take when coming to visit the town.

The Archduke and his wife, Countess Sophie, arrived at the station just outside of the town at 9:30 am. They did a quick inspection of a military base across the street from the station, then climbed into a limousine for the ride into town. Their limousine was the second car in a motorcade. Also riding in the motorcade were soldiers, town officials such as the town's mayor, General Potiorek, and the man who owed the limousine, Count Harrach. Countess Sophie was a beautiful woman, dressed in a flowing white ruffled dress with a high collar, wearing a huge white hat on here head. Archduke Ferdinand had on a military uniform, which featured a blue coat; black trousers and a hat topped with large, green ostrich feathers. As the motorcade drove along Appel Quay, spectators who lined the parade route cheered it. In amongst the spectators were two of Princip's terrorist allies, but these boys were so frightened that they did nothing to harm the Archduke.

As the cars drove further along Appel Quay, they passed a terrorist named Gabrinovic, who had a bomb. He threw it at the Archduke's car, but the Archduke saw it coming. He stood up and knocked the bomb onto the road. The bomb exploded on the next car in the motorcade, injuring several people. "After I threw the bomb," Gabrinovic later said, "I noticed how calmly Ferdinand turned towards me and gave me a long, cold glare." Gabrinovic then swallowed some poison and jumped into the river, but he did not die. He was fished out had arrested. While this was happening, the rest of the motorcade sped on to the town hall where Mayor Potiorek was waiting to greet the Archduke, who by now had become angry and decided to cancel the rest of the tour.

Archduke Ferdinand decided to leave Sarajevo, but before he did, he wanted to go to a military hospital to visit some wounded soldiers. It was decided that, instead of driving along the advertised route, the Archduke's car would continue along the Appel Quay. Count Harrach decided to stand on the limousine's running board incase there was another attack. As it turned out, he stood on what was to be the wrong side of the car. In all the confusion, no one told the car's driver about the change of route.

The car started back along the Appel Quay, but at Franz Joseph Street, the driver turned right instead of going straight. Mayor Potiorek told him to turn around. This was a mistake, although no one knew it at the time. Princip stepped forward and fired two shots form his revolver. The first struck Countess Sophie in the abdomen, killing her instantly.

The Archduke was shot near the heart with the second shot. He uttered only one word, 'Sofia', then fell back and collapsed. Within minutes, the Archduke was also dead.

Princip swallowed some poison, but it didn't work. He was revived by the police, who proceeded to beat him up.

By 10:15 am, only minutes after he had arrived, Archduke Franz Ferdinand and Countess Sophie were dead.

Undoubtedly Princip, had no idea what the Archduke's death would do the rest of the world. It gave Austria-Hungary an excuse to invade Serbia. Russia then declared war on Austria-Hungary. Germany declared war on Russia, and attacked France. Britain then declared war on Germany.

With this one small act of violence, Europe was thrust into war.

*************************

MAJOR BATTLES OF WWI

YPRES - This battle took place in April 1915. Here, the Germans attacked a Canadian Force that was green and inexperienced in the ways of war. This battle marked the first time either side in the war used poison gas in battle, which had been outlawed. The Canadians had no gas masks and attempted to get by with a wet strip of cotton tied over the nose and mouth. Despite their lack of protection and preparation, the Canadians held their position. This marked one of the first Canadian victories of the Great War.

THE SOMME - The Somme was one of the biggest battles of the war, lasting over 5 months and costing the allies (Canadians, British, etc.) over 600,000 casualties. The battle, which began in September 1916, marked the first time ever that tanks were used in battle. The tanks proved ineffective as they easily became bogged down in the mud, but they would soon change the face of warfare.

VIMY RIDGE - The Battle of Vimy Ridge marked the first time the Canadian Expeditionary Force had attacked as a National unit, not under command of British Forces. The battle, fought in a tremendous sleet storm, was the most important victory on the Western Front at the time. Won over Easter Monday 1917, the Canadians took 4000 German prisoners, but lost 3600 lives.

PASSCHENDAELE - The Battle of Passchendaele took place in the fall of 1917. Although 700 Canadians died and 1500 wounded in this month-long battle, it was all for nothing as the Germans won back the territory soon afterwards. Even British politicians, including Even Prime Minister Lloyd George, thought that the Passchendalele offensive was a waste and insane. The generals who order the attack were relieved of command after the battle.

Most of the fighting was done in a sea of mud, where footing was difficult and cover non-existent. It marked the first time that the Germans used mustard gas, a poisonous subsistence that caused severe burns to the skin.

************************

THE COST OF WORLD WAR I :

The human and material loses of World War I, which lasted 1565 days, sere staggering. Some 65, 000, 000 men were mobilized during the war, out of which about 9, 000, 000 - one in seven - died in action; 22, 000, 000, one in three, were disabled; 7, 000, 000 were permanently disabled; more than 5, 000, 000 men were reported missing. The civilian losses were far exceeded the military losses. The total real economic cost was nearly $400, 000, 000, 000.

************************

THE COST OF WORLD WAR II FOR CANADA:

- 21,000 Canadian soldiers participated in the 6 June 1944 D-Day landing. - 340 Canadian soldiers lost their lives on D-Day. Another 574 were wounded and 47 were taken prisoner.

- More that one million men and women volunteered for military service in the World War II at a time when the country's population was just 11 million.

- More than 400,000 soldiers were from Ontario - During the war, 45,000 Canadians lost their lives while another 55,000 were woulded.

- More than 45,000 women enlisted in the Canadian military, more that 10 per cent servedoverseas. During the war, 46 nurses lost their lives. - Canada had the highest number of enlisted personnel per capita of any country in WWII.

*********************************************************************

COLOURS LAID UP


Colours were removed from the protestant Chapel at CFB Clinton and laid up in the Wesley-Willis United Church in the town of Clinton.

The base was due to close on 31 August.

After the ceremony, Major Frank Golding, Clinton's final commanding officer, said: "To those present today and to all who will worship in this church in the future, may these symbols serve as a valuable reminder of the friendship that has existed between the townsfolk of Clinton and the military for the past 30 years."

Originally published in Sentinel Magazine, September 1971.

*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************
*********************************************************************

VS-880 Squadron, with their fleet of Tracker aircraft, switched from an anti-submarine warfare (ASW) role to surveillance duties in conjunction with the federal Department of Fisheries, operating out of Shearwater and their forward detachment at the Torbay Airport.

To view an abandoned American missile base, go to www.triggur.org/silo.

Please also visit the Department of National Defence's site at www.dnd.ca.

Please come back soon and visit me as I am continually updating this page.