Australian Chamber Orchestra
1997 Performances

The Australian Chamber Orchestra puts together another set of fine performances in 1997. The Orchestra is Australia's only truly national orchestra which continues to win accolades at home and throughout the world. Support these wonderful performances.

You can subscribe to the 1997 National Concert Season by writing to :

ACO Subscriptions
PO Box 560
Kings Cross NSW 2011

The following is a brief outline of what's on offer in 1997. There are a total of eight up-and-coming performances next year, here are three for starters.


Tognetti, Hallow
Evangelista, Airs d'Espagne
Sibelius, Scene with cranes Op.44 No.2
Prokofiev, Symphony No.1 Op.25 Classical
Rodrigo, Concerto de Aranjuez
Mozart, K.385 Haffner

Opening with a short duet from Richard Tognetti and fiery, young guitarist Slava Grigoryan, we welcome you to a wonderful feast of irony, parody. folkloric revelry and a paragon of classical architecture. We move from the sultry warmth of Jose Evangelista's representations of Spanish folk melodies to the equisite bleakness of Sibelius. The Prokofiev and Mozart, two symphonies of matchless design and style, frame the Rodrido concerto which explores new fields of harmony and rhythm in the use of orchestra and guitar.


Handeli, Messiah

For the first time the ACO presents one of the worlds most popular oratorios with the incomparable Stockholm bach Choir, last heard with the ACO in a performance of Bach's B minor mass in 1990. Andres Ohrwall directs a team of impressive young Australian soloists, bringing new life to Handel's immortal masterpiece.

Beethoven, Overture to Coriolan Op.62
Mendelssohn, Symphony No.1 In C minor Op.11
Beethoven, Violin Concerto in D major Op.61

Anthony Halstead makes a welcome return to the ACO as conductor to apply his consummate musicianship to this trio of early 19th centry works. Beethoven's overture to the tradegy Coriolan and his own violin concerto frame the 15 year old mendelssohn's first blown symphony. Tognetti's last performance of Beethoven's mighty concerto received rave reviews.

home3.gif - 2.7 K

This page hosted by GeoCities Get your own Free Home Page